Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

State Fair poll shows majority favors masks in schools, increased role for Legislature

Capitol Snow

A majority of those who responded to the 2021 House of Representatives State Fair Poll support requiring K-12 students to wear masks in school during the 2021-22 school year. The poll found 51.3% of respondents support the idea, 41.3% said they are against the requirement and 7.4% are undecided.

Polltakers also favor an expanded role for the Legislature when it comes to oversight of the governor’s peacetime emergency powers. Asked whether lawmakers should have the power to terminate any rule or order issued by the governor if a peacetime emergency lasts more than 30 days, 45.9% answered “yes,” 37.4% said “no” and 16.7% are undecided.

Conducted by the nonpartisan House Public Information Services Office, the poll is an informal, unscientific survey of issues discussed in prior legislative sessions and may again be topics of discussion in 2022. This year’s poll was taken by 5,231 fairgoers, a significant drop from 2019, when 11,239 people took the poll, reflecting the overall decline in attendance at this year’s fair. See the full results

Live Video

Event Schedule

OCTOBER 27: House Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee
Wednesday, October 27 2021 10/27/2021 10:00 AM
Watch: Live Event
Updates from state agencies on Chronic Wasting Disease efforts, Emerald Ash Borer grants, and Local Government Water Infrastructure grants.

OCTOBER 27: House Commerce Finance and Policy Committee
Wednesday, October 27 2021 10/27/2021 1:00 PM
Watch: Live Event
* The bills on the agenda are being heard on an informational only basis - no formal action will be taken.
* Inclusion in this informational hearing does not necessarily indicate a bill’s advancement during the regular session.
Informational basis only (in no particular order):.
HFXXXX - draft CK057 (Koznick) - allowing growlers to be sold in 32oz bottles.
HFXXXX - draft CK063 (Nash) - allowing strong beer licenses for certain town ball game events.
HFXXXX - draft CK064 (Nash) - allowing certain 3.2 percent malt liquor license to authorize the sale of malt liquor not exceeding 4.5 percent alcohol by volume.
HFXXXX - draft CK066 (Baker) - authorizing licenses for on-sale at the Willmar Civic Center.
HFXXXX - draft CK072 (Kotyza-Witthuhn) - regulating direct shippers of wine; imposing sales and use taxes, liquor gross receipts taxes, and excise taxes on direct shipments of wine; providing for licensing and required reports; providing for classification of data.
HFXXXX - draft CK082 (Wolgamott) - Eliminating the prohibition on growler sales by certain brewers.
HFXXXX - draft CK085 (Jordan) - allowing distilleries of any size to operate a cocktail room.
HFXXXX - SF2525 (Becker-Finn) - microdistillery definition modification.
HFXXXX - draft CK087 (Agbaje) - modifying the annual production limit for microdistillery on-and off-sale to exclude spirits bottled under a third-party contract.
HFXXXX - draft CK073 (Davnie) - allowing producers to provide liquor to nonprofit organizations for tasting events.
HFXXXX - SF2096 - (Koegel) For-sale items at exclusive liquor stores.
HF27 (Jurgens) Sunday liquor sales hours modified.
HF62 (Scott) Farm winery agricultural requirements eliminated.
HF122 (Hertaus) Liquor; city population requirement to qualify for exemption from temporary license restrictions modified.
HF374 (O’Driscoll) Sauk Rapids; on-sale liquor licenses authorized.
HF902 (Becker-Finn) License restrictions modified.
HF1050 (Nash) Brewer off-sale license condition modified.
HF1192 (Olson, L.) Liquor taxation provisions modified; microdistillery off-sale limit modified; malt liquor packaging and off-sale requirements modified; brand registration requirements modified; bar and restaurant off-sale limitation authorized; and clarifying, conforming, and technical changes made.
HF1214 (Daudt) Coupons permitted as payment for liquor purchase.
HF1214 (Daudt) Exclusive liquor store permitted sale items modified.
HF1216 (Daudt) Municipality issuance of off-sale liquor license to any one person or place prohibition repealed.
HF1597 (Daudt) Wine and beer sale by food retailers authorized.
HF1640 (Hornstein) Farm winery license issuance to sake producer authorized.
HF1963 (Kresha) Wine transfer allowed between commonly owned liquor stores.
HF2132 (Berg) On-sale liquor license holder outdoor consumption authorized.
HF2256 (Erickson) On-sale intoxicating liquor licenses authorized for event centers located on a farm.
HF2619 (Bliss) Commerce; variance request licensee regulatory requirements modified.

2022 Regular Legislative Session
Monday, January 31 2022 1/31/2022 12:00 PM
Watch: Live Event
The House stands adjourned until Monday, January 31, 2022, at 12:00 noon.

News and Notes

Special Session Bill Introductions: HF69

Stepping down

See which House and Senate members are not seeking re-election in 2022.

Stay informed

Follow us on social media: Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

Follow that bill

You can follow bills throughout the legislative process by signing up for MyBills, a personalized way to track House and Senate bills by number. Find more information on how to follow House and Senate bills here


Want to contact your U.S. representative, the governor or a state agency? Click here for a roster of federal and state contacts.