Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Christensen will not run for re-election to House in 2022

Rep. Shelly Christensen (DFL-Stillwater) announced Thursday that she will not run for re-election to the Minnesota House of Representatives in 2022.

Christensen, now in her second term, said in a statement that she came to her decision “after much reflection” and that representing the state and the people of District 39B had been one of the highlights of her life.

“I am forever grateful to my community members who put their trust in me, and my fellow legislators,” Christensen said. “Together we have made real progress. I look forward to serving at the House throughout this year and will continue to advocate for civility and bipartisan teamwork in my policy-making.”

[WATCH 2019 new member interview with Rep. Christensen]

Christensen currently serves as vice chair of the House Higher Education Finance and Policy Committee, and is a member of the Climate, Education Policy and Legacy Finance committees.

full list of current legislators not seeking re-election or running for another position has been compiled by the Legislative Reference Library.

Related Articles

Priority Dailies

Demuth to lead House Republicans in 2023-24 biennium
In the upcoming 2023-24 biennium, House Republicans will be led by Rep. Lisa Demuth (R-Cold Spring).
Hortman to remain speaker, Long selected as next majority leader
House Speaker Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) has been chosen to again take the gavel when the 93rd legislative session begins Jan. 3.

Minnesota House on Twitter