Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Flanagan sworn in as newest member of Minnesota House

Rep. Peggy Flanagan, right, is sworn into office Monday by House Minority Leader Paul Thissen. Flanagan won a special election Nov. 3 to fill the District 46A seat vacated earlier this year by former Rep. Ryan Winkler. Photo by Paul Battaglia

Peggy Flanagan on Monday officially became the newest member of the Minnesota House of Representatives.

The St. Louis Park DFLer was sworn in during a ceremony at the Veterans Services Building in St. Paul. She ran unopposed in a Nov. 3 special election to replace former Rep. Ryan Winkler in District 46A. Winkler resigned his seat July 1.

“Taking the oath of office, I am mindful of the important role that community members and representatives play in our democracy, and I’m excited to get to work,” Flanagan said in a news release. “The residents of 46A have put their faith in me to be a strong advocate for them at the State Capitol in St. Paul.”

Type Not Set

Flanagan, 36, becomes the 45th woman — and second Native American woman — in the 134-member body.

The executive director of a nonprofit child-advocacy organization, Flanagan has been assigned Winkler’s old office, 309 State Office Building, and telephone number, (651) 296-7026. Her committee assignments are yet to be determined.

Republicans still hold a 72-61 advantage in the House. 

Another special election is scheduled Dec. 8 to fill the District 3A seat in that became vacant when Rep. David Dill passed away Aug. 8 after a battle with cancer.

Related Articles

Priority Dailies

Lawmakers and omnibus bills: A love-hate relationship
Finally, spring is in the air, heralded by early blooming flowers popping out of the ground to bring relief to winter-weary souls. Springtime at the Capitol is also the seas...
State’s projected budget surplus swells to $9.25 billion
What was expected in November to be a $7.7 billion General Fund surplus is now up to $9.253 billion for the current biennium, according to an updated budget forecast.

Minnesota House on Twitter