Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Cedrick Frazier (DFL)

Back to profile

DFL POCI Caucus Statement on Senate Hearing on Violent Crimes

Friday, October 22, 2021

SAINT PAUL, Minn. –  The People of Color and Indigenous (POCI) Caucus released the following statement regarding yesterday's joint Senate hearing of the Public Safety and Transportation Committees on violent crime, during which public testimony exclusively featured members of law enforcement:

“Over and over again, Senate Republicans have failed to meaningfully engage with community members to truly improve public safety in our state. Yesterday, their committees heard from members from law enforcement, but excluded the voices of the people they are sworn to protect and serve. They also continue to discount and dismiss the very real trauma Black, Indigenous, Latino, Asian, and all non-white Minnesotans experience as a result of gun violence and, too often, following interactions with police.

“Our communities are facing serious and significant challenges as we seek to ensure everyone – no matter where they live or what they look like – can come home safe at the end of the day. To achieve this goal, Minnesotans aren’t looking for the one-sided political grandstanding that they’re getting from Republican Senators. Instead, they’re looking for real leadership, which will require all of us to work together at the state level, in cooperation with our local partners, to ensure everyone can live, work, learn, and recreate in safe communities.”

The People of Color & Indigenous (POCI) Caucus includes Reps. Esther Agbaje (59B), Jamie Becker-Finn (42B), Cedrick Frazier (45A), Aisha Gomez (62B), Hodan Hassan (Vice- Chair 62A), Kaohly Her (64A), Athena Hollins (66B), Fue Lee (59A), Carlos Mariani (65B), Rena Moran (65A), Mohamud Noor (60B), Ruth Richardson (52B), John Thompson (67A), Samantha Vang (Chair, 40B), Jay Xiong (67B), Tou Xiong (53B), and Senators Bobby Joe Champion (59), Omar Fateh (62), Melisa Franzen (49), Foung Hawj (67), Mary Kunesh (41), Patricia Torres Ray (Chair, 63).