Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Laurie Pryor (DFL)

Back to profile

RELEASE: Pryor Sworn-In as New State Rep. for District 48A

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

St. Paul, Minn.- Today on the opening day of the 2017 Legislative Session, Rep. Laurie Pryor (DFL – Minnetonka) took the oath of office to represent District 48A in the Minnesota House of Representatives. Rep. Pryor takes over from former Rep. Yvonne Selcer who chose not to seek re-election in November.

“This is such an enormous privilege to get to represent my community up at the Capitol, and i look forward to working across the aisle to seek common ground,” Rep. Pryor said. “While the challenges we face as a state are significant, Minnesotans are counting on us to get the job done, and I’m committed to doing just that.”

Rep. Pryor will represent parts of the cities of Minnetonka and Eden Prairie in the House. A retired communications and management consultant as well as a longtime community volunteer, she plans to focus on issues such as educational opportunities, a modern transportation infrastructure, economic growth and improving the health care system, among others.

“While getting sworn-in today is certainly special, much work is ahead of us to ensure kids have opportunities to learn, small and medium sized businesses have the resources they need to grow, and that Minnesotans can easily and safely travel for work, school and recreation,” Rep. Pryor said. “This is work that will require all of us to collaborate, no matter which political party we come from. I hope we can put aside partisanship and accomplish bold things for our citizens.”

Before session, Rep. Pryor was appointed to the following House committees: Education Innovation Policy, Higher Education and Career Readiness Policy and Finance, and the Veterans Affairs Division.

Rep. Pryor encourages constituents to reach out to her about any issue. She can be reached by email at or by phone at 651-296-3964, and encourages constituents to sign up for periodic email updates at her House website, located at