Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Chris Swedzinski (R)

Back to profile

Rep. Swedzinski: Time for ballots to be cast in new mail-only voting precincts

Thursday, October 22, 2020

ST. PAUL – State Rep. Chris Swedzinski, R-Ghent, encourages area voters who reside in new mail-only voting precincts to make sure they complete and return their ballot or vote in person at their local county election office.

For Swedzinski’s District 16A, the impacted townships include Augusta, Baxter, Cerro Gordo, Garfield, Hamlin, Lake Shore, and Providence in Lac Qui Parle County; Clifton, Island Lake, Lynd, Nordland and Westerheim in Lyon; and Echo, Lisbon, Minnesota Falls, Normania, Sandnes, Stony Run, Tyro and Wergeland in Yellow Medicine, along with the area cities of Louisburg, Marietta, Lynd, Hanley Falls, Hazel Run and Porter. 

 “Minnesota prides itself on strong voter turnout and people take this responsibility seriously,” Swedzinski said. “This particular election cycle includes a bit of a curveball by the addition of some new mail-only precincts. Republican, Democrat or Independent, I hope people are aware of these changes so they don’t miss out on their chance to cast a ballot.”

Residents that live in vote-by-mail only precincts have the option of voting in person at their county election office through Election Day, Nov. 3.