Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Paul Torkelson (R)

Back to profile


Wednesday, February 22, 2012
ST. PAUL – State Representative Paul Torkelson (R-Nelson Township) and residents of southwestern Minnesota have learned the maps of new legislative districts in the State Legislature. A special panel of five state judges released its redistricting plan for the Minnesota Legislature on February 21. The plan is necessary due to population changes from the 2010 census. Here is the redistricting breakdown, as it relates to Torkelson’s current and future district. The new House District 16B will now be comprised of all of Brown and portions of Redwood and Renville counties. Included are the cities of New Ulm, Hanska, Sleepy Eye, Springfield, Comfrey, Morgan, Sanborn, Franklin, Redwood Falls, Lucan, Wabasso, and Belview. Currently, there is no incumbent state representative that serves this area. The new House District 23B will be comprised of portions of Watonwan, Blue Earth, Waseca, and Le Sueur counties. Included are the cities of St. James, La Salle, Madelia, Vernon Center, Amboy, Good Thunder, Mapleton, New Richland, Minnesota Lake, Janesville, Madison Lake, Waterville and Elysian. Both Representative Torkelson and Representative Tony Cornish (R-Good Thunder) currently reside in the new District 23B. “The new district lines are challenging, but I’ve worked hard in St. Paul representing rural values in the past, and I intend to be back here next session doing the same thing,” Torkelson said. The new district goes into effect in January.