Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Steve Drazkowski (R)

Back to profile


Monday, January 11, 2021

St. Paul – Today, Representatives Steve Drazkowski, Tim Miller, Cal Bahr, Jeremy Munson, and Erik Mortensen made the following statement: 

We, the undersigned members of the Minnesota House of Representatives unequivocally condemn the violence that happened at the United States Capitol in Washington D.C. on January 6. We expect a thorough investigation and that the perpetrators be arrested, tried, and punished under all applicable laws. 

The rally at the Minnesota State Capitol from 11:00am to 2:30pm on the same day was a stark contrast to the one in Washington, D.C. Some of us attended and even spoke at that rally, and while we were present, there was no “violent rhetoric” and no “threats of violence.” The crowds were peaceful and stayed outside of the fences and on public sidewalks. The law enforcement standing guard were recognized and thanked for their service. It is worth pointing out that tens of thousands also peacefully protested in Washington D.C. and their participation should be noted as well.   

We do not condone violence and destruction, such as what happened last spring in the Minneapolis and Saint Paul riots. We do not condone the destruction of property, like that of those riots and the defacing and damage to the Columbus statue on the capitol grounds. We do not condone threats of violence and the burning of effigies in front of the home of a public figure such as was done by a crowd led by now Rep. John Thompson in Hugo last summer. We agree that it is time that political leaders of all persuasions make it clear that these behaviors have no place in our political process.  Additionally, the actions of people determined to sow chaos, destruction, and distrust should not be used to stifle dissent or peaceful protest.

Rep. Steve Drazkowski (Republican-Mazeppa), Rep. Tim Miller (Republican-Prinsburg), Rep. Cal Bahr (Republican-East Bethel), Rep. Jeremy Munson (Republican-Lake Crystal), and Rep. Erik Mortensen (Republican-Shakopee).


Recent News for Rep. Steve Drazkowski