Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Dean Urdahl (R)

Back to profile


Tuesday, October 27, 2009
ST. PAUL – State Rep. Dean Urdahl has been named to a bipartisan group of Minnesota House members brought together to find ways of improving Minnesota’s small-business community. The group is called the Small-Business Caucus and it faces significant challenges. Another budget shortfall is looming in Minnesota and the National Tax Foundation’s State Business Tax Climate Index ranks Minnesota’s tax structure among the nation’s worst. “The focus of our economic recovery must be directly aimed at creating new jobs and protecting existing ones,” said Urdahl, R-Grove City. “I will be working to put a plan in place that will not just give us a short-term shot in the arm, but provide tools for small businesses in our area and throughout the state tools that will help them thrive. New jobs will improve our quality of life and broaden the tax base to help put the state on a more stable economic course.” Urdahl successfully authored bills in the 2009 legislative session to provide small businesses with more employment flexibility, protect long-term care workers, help livestock farmers improve their operations, and spur job growth through capital investment. He is one of eight Republicans serving on the 30-member small-business caucus and is one of only two members named from districts west of the Twin Cities area. Rep. Ron Shimanski, R-Hutchinson, is the other, meaning both halves of District 18 will be represented on the caucus. “The metro legislators aren’t always aware of issues we face out here,” Urdahl said. “I will make sure the rest of the group understands the challenges of operating a small business in our area so we can introduce more helpful legislation in the upcoming session. I welcome input from local small-business owners throughout this process.” -30- Dean Urdahl represents District 18B in the Minnesota House of Representatives. The district includes most of Meeker County and a portion of Wright County. This is Urdahl’s fourth term in the Legislature after being elected in 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2008.
Recent News for Rep. Dean Urdahl