Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Minnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Dean Urdahl (R)

Back to profile


Wednesday, July 29, 2009
ST. PAUL - Nationally recognized historian Ed Bearss will be featured at Fort Snelling in St. Paul during upcoming events scheduled to observe the 200th anniversary of President Lincoln’s birth. Bearss, former chief historian emeritus of the National Park Service, will deliver a “Lincoln and Minnesota’s Civil War Regiment” presentation at Fort Snelling Auditorium 7 p.m., Aug. 4. Admission is free and Bearss will detail Minnesota’s important role in the Union’s victory in the U.S. Civil War. Bearss is a United States Marine Corps veteran of World War II, a military historian and author known for his work on the Civil War era. He served as Chief Historian of the National Park Service from 1981 to 1994 and was a featured contributor to the Ken Burns series, the Civil War. recognized Bearss as one of “35 Who Made a Difference” for his ability to captivate audiences as a tour guide of historic battlefields. A feature paints the picture of Bearss during one of his trademark tours: “Several dozen listeners stand silent, transfixed. In Civil War circles, Bearss is nothing short of a rock star. … others have been known to wear T-shirts depicting his face on Mount Rushmore or transposed onto Elvis’ white jumpsuit with the simple legend: ‘THE KING.’” “Ed Bearss is uniquely talented,” said Lincoln Commission chairman Rep. Dean Urdahl, R-Grove City. “People travel from all across America and the world to hear him speak, but we have the privilege of hosting him in our own back yard. We are extremely fortunate for this opportunity.” More information regarding Bearss’ appearance and other events scheduled by the Minnesota Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission may be found at -30- Dean Urdahl represents District 18B in the Minnesota House of Representatives. The district includes most of Meeker County and a portion of Wright County. This is Urdahl’s fourth term in the Legislature after being elected in 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2008.
Recent News for Rep. Dean Urdahl