Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Frank Hornstein (DFL)

Back to profile

Release: New Legislation to Expand and Improve Hate Crime Reporting Advances in the House

Monday, May 4, 2020


ST. PAUL, MN – Legislation to expand and improve reporting of hate crimes has advanced out of the House Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Division. The bill requires updated training for peace officers on crimes motivated by bias and directs the Minnesota Department of Human Rights to consult with the Board of Peace Officer Standards on proposed improvements.

Representative Frank Hornstein (DFL- Minneapolis), the chief author of the bill, released the following statement:

“This important measure will raise awareness of the urgent need to update our hate crime statutes,” said Rep. Hornstein. “It gives law enforcement and communities the tools they need to address this mounting concern. All Minnesotans deserve to feel safe. Our communities should expect no less.”

Reps. Hodan Hassan (DFL-Minneapolis) and Kaohly Her (DFL-St. Paul) are coauthors of the legislation.

"We have seen a spike in hate crimes in the last few years, attacks on places of worship, vandalism against businesses, and terrorism against minority communities,” said Rep. Hassan. “The constant harassment and violence towards our racial and religious minorities, as well as our LGBTQ community is unacceptable. H.F. 3837 will help us to improve reporting of hate crimes, collect more data, and recommend appropriate training for law enforcement. It is time for legislation to catch up with this crisis.”

“Persistent bigotry, intolerance, and fear mongering against our neighbors has led to an increase in hate crimes,” said Rep. Her. “In order to prevent hate crimes, we need to update and improve the way they are reported and handled. This legislation will reinforce efforts to root out hate and to create a stronger and more inclusive Minnesota.”

The bill awaits action in the Minnesota Senate.