Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

Legislative News and Views - Rep. Connie Bernardy (DFL)

Back to profile

Release: Minnesota Legislature Holds Joint Convention to Elect University of Minnesota Regents

Monday, March 15, 2021

St. Paul, MN – The Minnesota House of Representatives today elected four regents to govern the University of Minnesota: Ruth Johnson for the 1st Congressional District; James Farnsworth for the 4th Congressional District; Kodi Verhalen for the 6th Congressional District; and Doug Huebsch for the 7th Congressional District.

There were 20 applications submitted for consideration for the four open seats. Newly elected Regents will serve a six-year term.

Representative Connie Bernardy (DFL-New Brighton), Chair of the Higher Education Finance and Policy Division noted these newly-elected regents bring important skills and strengths to lead a complex university system amid a global pandemic.

“I’m pleased we were able to come together on a bipartisan, bicameral level to elect these new regents. I thank them, the outgoing regents, and the current regents for their service to our state,” said Chair Bernardy.


Recent News for Rep. Connie Bernardy