Minnesota House of Representatives


State Representative Erin Murphy

331 State Office BuildingState Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

For more information contact: Michael Howard 651-296-4169

Posted: 2012-11-08 00:00:00
Share on: 

Press/News Releases

State Representative Erin Murphy elected Majority Leader

St. Paul, Minnesota — The Minnesota House DFL caucus elected State Representative Paul Thissen Speaker of the House-Designate at their organizational caucus this evening. They also elected State Representative Erin Murphy as House Majority Leader.

“I am honored to have the support of Minnesotans and my colleagues for this opportunity to work to move Minnesota forward,” said Thissen. “As Speaker of the House, I will work hard and listen to Minnesotans so we can make progress on the bread-and-butter issues facing our state. To move forward, we must work together with Governor Dayton and legislators on both sides of the aisle so we get passed the gridlock and govern effectively. We face big challenges but we can meet them if we work together. It is time to roll up our sleeves and get to work.”

State Representative Erin Murphy was elected House Majority Leader tonight by her House colleagues.

“I am humbled by this honor and thank my colleagues for entrusting me with this position,” said Murphy. “This is a diverse caucus, but we share a commitment to moving our state forward and to priorities that will build a strong and lasting middle class economy. I look forward to working with Speaker Thissen and legislators from both parties to govern this state in a manner that reflects the wishes of Minnesotans for progress, results and a better future for our state.”

The new House DFL majority will consist of 73 members — pending a recount in District 8B.

Speaker of the House-Designate Paul Thissen served the past two years as House Minority Leader. He was first elected in 2002.

Majority Leader Murphy led efforts to recruit candidates during the past two years and has previously served as an assistant leader. She was first elected in 2006.

Minnesota House of Representatives  ·   100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN   55155   ·   Webmaster@house.mn