Minnesota House of Representatives


State Representative Erin Murphy

331 State Office BuildingState Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

For more information contact: Michael Howard 651-296-4169

Posted: 2008-11-18 00:00:00
Share on: 

Press/News Releases


State Representative Erin Murphy (DFL- St. Paul) was elected one of nine Assistant Majority Leaders during a caucus of the 87-member DFL majority in the Minnesota House of Representatives. Murphy was re-elected to her second term in the Minnesota House on November 4.
“It’s an honor to be chosen by my peers in the Minnesota House to this leadership position," said Murphy. “The difficult economic times will require we work together strategically to make meaningful progress for Minnesotans. As Assistant Leader, I will provide a strong voice for our need to strengthen our economy with new green jobs, health care reform that moves us closer to affordable coverage for all, and strong schools in every corner of the state. The economic crisis is a challenge and it is an opportunity for innovation and reform.”
In addition to Murphy, the House DFL Majority also elected as Assistant Majority Leaders Reps. Steve Simon of St. Louis Park, Melissa Hortman of Brooklyn Park, Terry Morrow of St. Peter, Andy Welti of Plainview, Larry Hosch of St. Joseph, Michael Nelson of Brooklyn Park, Kate Knuth of New Brighton and Dianne Loeffler of Minneapolis. House Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher of Minneapolis and Majority Leader Tony Sertich of Chisolm were re-elected by the caucus in an earlier meeting last week.
The Assistant Majority Leaders provide leadership support and input to the Speaker of the House and Majority Leader, helping to move key legislation through the process. They also assist first-term members, set and enforce House rules and undertake other leadership duties.


Minnesota House of Representatives  ·   100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN   55155   ·   Webmaster@house.mn