House Research Navigation

Print Twitter RSS Email

Legislature > House of Representatives > House Research > Data & Tools > MN Gov't in Brief


Counties, cities, and towns represent the three kinds of general purpose local units of government in Minnesota. Minnesota has about 3,287 local government units in total.

There are 87 counties in Minnesota.

  • Governed by five- or seven-member elected board of county commissioners.
  • Structures, powers, and duties are in law, except that Ramsey County is also governed by its county home rule charter

January 2017

House Research Department  ♦  600 State Office Building, Saint Paul, MN  55155  ♦  ♦  651-296-6753