
 

Research Department Minnesota House of Representatives 600 State Office Building 
 R:\HRD_Summ\2017\1227e1 Davids.tax.docx  Last printed 5/15/2017 1:23:00 PM 

 
 File Number: H.F. 1227 Date: May 15, 2017 

 Version: The first engrossment 

   

 Authors: Davids 

 Subject: Department of Revenue 2017 Policy Provisions 

 Analyst: Steve Hinze (steve.hinze@house.mn) 

  Chris Kleman (christopher.kleman@house.mn)  

  Pat Dalton (pat.dalton@houe.mn) 

  Joel Michael (joel.michael@house.mn) 

  Nina Manzi (651-296-5204) 

  Sean Williams (sean.williams@house.mn)  

 

This publication can be made available in alternative formats upon request.  Please call 651-296-6753 

(voice); or the Minnesota State Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529 (TTY) for assistance.  Summaries are 

also available on our website at: www.house.mn/hrd/. 

 

 

Article 1: Department 2017 Policy Provisions: Property tax and Local Government Aids 

1  Flight property apportionment. Changes apportionment of the value of flight property 

from one-third each on total tonnage first received within the state, total flight time in the 

state, and revenue ton miles in the state to be based on one-half each of the percentage of 

revenue ton miles flown within the state and total departures within the state. 

Effective in assessment year 2018. 

2  Statement of exemption. Authorizes the commissioner to determine for which types of 

exempt property statements of exemption must be annually filed and to publish the list on the 

DOR website. The commissioner’s determinations are not a rule subject to the 

Administrative Procedures Act. 

Effective for applications for exemption submitted in 2018 and thereafter. 

3  Solar energy production tax reports. Allows the commissioner to grant an extension of 

time to file solar energy production tax reports for up to 15 days on a showing of good cause. 

Effective for reports filed in 2018 and thereafter. 

4  Certificate of real estate value threshold. Increases the threshold amount of consideration 

paid for real estate that triggers the need for filing a certificate of real estate value from 

$1,000 to $1,500. 
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Effective for certificates of value filed after December 31, 2017. 

5  Certificate of real estate value; paper copies. Removes the requirement that DOR provide 

paper certificate of value forms to counties; these certificates are now submitted 

electronically. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

6  Certificate of real estate value; paper copies. Removes the requirement that county 

auditors provide copies of certificates of real estate value to the assessor and DOR. 

Effective for certificates of value filed after December 31, 2017 

7  Homestead application. Requires the homestead application to include the name and Social 

Security number of the applicant’s spouse, without regard to whether the spouse lives at the 

homestead. Extends this requirement to the spouses of relatives who occupy relative 

homesteads. 

Effective beginning with homestead applications filed in 2018. 

8  Homestead data. Requires the annual electronic sharing of homestead data by counties with 

the commissioner to include the name and Social Security number of the property owner’s 

spouse, or, for relative homesteads, the name and Social Security number of the qualifying 

relative’s spouse. 

Effective beginning with homestead applications filed in 2018. 

9  Proof of compliance; local boards. Requires local boards of appeal and equalization to have 

at least one member attend training every four years; the powers of boards that fail to meet 

the requirement are transferred to the county for at least two years. 

Effective for board meetings in 2018 and following years. 

10  Proof of compliance; county boards. Requires county boards of appeal and equalization to 

have at least one member attend training every four years; the powers of boards that fail to 

meet the requirement are transferred to the special board of appeal and equalization for at 

least two years. 

Effective for board meetings in 2018 and following years. 

11  Repealer. Repeals section 270.074, subd. 2, which provides for alternative apportionment of 

air flight property on petition to the commissioner. 

Article 2: Department of Revenue Sales and Use, and Special Taxes Policy Provisions 

1  Use tax on snowmobiles. Requires the commissioner of revenue or authorized deputy 

registrars acting as agents of the commissioner to collect use tax when a snowmobile is 

registered by an individual who does not document payment of the tax and to pay refunds of 

use tax paid in error. 

Effective for registrations after June 30, 2017. 

2  Use tax on all-terrain vehicles (ATVs). Requires the commissioner of revenue or 

authorized deputy registrars acting as agents of the commissioner to collect use tax when an 
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ATV is registered by an individual who does not document payment of the tax and to pay 

refunds of use tax paid in error. 

Effective for registrations after June 30, 2017. 

3  Use tax on watercraft. Requires the commissioner of revenue or authorized deputy 

registrars acting as agents of the commissioner to collect use tax when a watercraft is 

registered by an individual who does not document payment of the tax and to pay refunds of 

use tax paid in error. 

Effective for registrations after June 30, 2017. 

4  Disclosure to Department of Natural Resources (DNR). Authorizes the commissioner of 

revenue to disclose return information related to sales and use taxes on snowmobiles, ATVs, 

and watercraft to the DNR and authorized deputy registrars of motor vehicles for use in 

administering use tax under sections 1 to 3. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

5  Disclosure to Department of Transportation. Authorizes the commissioner of revenue to 

disclose return information related to sales and use taxes on aircraft to the Department of 

Transportation for use in administering sales and use tax on the lease, purchase, or sale of 

aircraft. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

6  Purchaser refunds. Provides that refunds for sales for resale will not be paid to purchasers if 

the vendor has a published no resale policy. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

7  Aviation gasoline. Defines aviation gasoline as gasoline used in airplanes. Aviation gasoline 

specifically includes gasoline sold as “aviation gasoline” that meets American Society for 

Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards as appropriate for use in airplanes. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

8  Agreements related to sales and use tax on snowmobiles, ATVs and watercraft. 

Authorizes the commissioner of revenue to enter an agreement with the DNR commissioner, 

in consultation with the commissioner of public safety, so that the DNR and authorized 

deputy registrars of motor vehicles are agents of the commissioner of revenue to collect use 

tax on snowmobiles, ATVs, and watercraft from a person applying for a registration or 

license if the applicant cannot prove that sales or use tax was paid, that the purchase was 

exempt, or that the purchase was from a Minnesota dealer as provided in sections 1 to 3. The 

DNR and deputy registrars may issue refunds of use tax paid in error. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

9  Motor vehicle sales tax presumption. Provides that when a foreign business entity 

purchases a motor vehicle that is under the control of a Minnesota resident, the Minnesota 

resident is presumed the owner for sales tax purposes if two or more of six listed factors are 

met. The Minnesota resident is considered to be “in control” of the vehicle if the resident is a 
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partner, member or shareholder of the foreign business entity, is insured to drive the vehicle, 

and operates or stores the vehicle in Minnesota for any period of time. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

10  Returns; firefighter relief surcharge. Reduces the number of tax returns companies for the 

firefighter relief surcharge from three to two, by combining the March and May filings. 

Effective for returns due after October 31, 2017. 

11  Repealer. Repeals Minnesota Rules, part 8125.1300, subpart 3, which addresses refunds of 

tax paid on gasoline used to propel aircraft and is made obsolete by the changes in section 7. 

Effective the day following final enactment. 

Article 3: Department of Revenue Paid Preparer Policy Provisions 

Overview 

Expands provisions related to individuals who prepare income tax returns to 

apply paid preparers of all types of tax returns. 

Authorizes the commissioner of revenue issue a cease and desist order for 

improper preparer behavior. 

Imposes new penalties of: 

 up to $5,000 imposed by the commissioner for each violation of a 

cease and desist order; 

 up to $10,000 imposed by the court for each violation of a cease and 

desist order; and 

 $500 for failing to provide a tax preparer identification number. 

Recodifies provisions related to definitions of tax preparers, refund anticipation 

loans (RALs), and refund anticipation checks (RACs). 

1  Definitions. Applies the definitions in section 270C.445, which relates to tax preparation 

services, continue to apply to refund anticipation loans, and refund anticipation checks, 

which under the Revisor’s instruction in section 21 are recodified from section 270C.445 to 

the new section 270C.4451, and to injunction actions under section 270C.447. Under current 

law, section 270C.447 contains its own definition of tax preparer which section 22 repeals. 

The result is to consolidate definitions related to preparers in this section. Expands the 

definition of preparers from those who prepare individual income tax returns to include those 

who prepare any kind of tax return required to be filed with the commissioner of revenue, as 

well as claims for refunds, claims for homestead credit state refunds or renter property tax 

refunds, and the credit for military service in a combat zone. Clarifies that certified service 

providers, third-party bulk filers, and persons copying or providing other mechanical 

assistance are not preparers. 
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2  Tax preparers; standards of conduct. Adds the following prohibitions to the standards of 

conduct for tax preparers: 

 Failing to provide the preparer’s identification number on the return if otherwise 

required under state or federal law. 

 Reporting household income on homestead credit state refund or renter property tax 

refund returns that the preparer knows or should know is inaccurate. 

 Engaging in conduct subject to civil penalty. 

 Failing to conform to the standards of conduct for preparers in administrative rules. 

 Engaging in incompetent or disreputable conduct as provided in administrative rules. 

3  Nongame wildlife checkoff. Changes a reference from “form” to “claim” to be consistent 

with definitions in section 1.  

4  Penalty; administrative order. Prohibits preparers from applying for refunds penalties for 

violations of the standards of conduct or cease and desist orders. 

Authorizes the commissioner to issue an administrative cease and desist order to a preparer 

who has violated the standards of conduct for preparers, the requirement that preparers issue 

itemized receipts, or requirements related to RALs and RACs. The administrative order is in 

addition to the current $1,000 administrative penalty. The subject of a cease and desist order 

may request administrative review of the order under the contested case procedure by filing a 

hearing request within 30 days. The hearing must be conducted within ten days. 

Adds a penalty of up to $5,000 for each violation of a cease and desist order, and may collect 

the penalty as an income tax liability. This penalty is in addition to the $1,000 penalty under 

current law and both are allowed expedited review from the Office of Administrative 

Hearings.  

Adds a five year statute of limitations for imposing both the administrative penalty in current 

law and the proposed administrative order. 

5  Exchange of data; State Board of Accountancy. Makes conforming cross-reference 

changes. 

6  Exchange of data; Lawyers Board of Professional Responsibility. Makes conforming 

cross-reference changes. 

7  Exchange of data; commissioner of revenue. Makes conforming cross-reference changes. 

8  Enforcement; civil actions. Makes conforming cross-reference changes. 

9  Exemptions; enforcement provisions. Authorizes the commissioner to impose 

administrative penalties and issue cease and desist orders to preparers who are otherwise 

exempt (attorneys, accounting professionals, enrolled agents, or an employee acting at their 

direction) if the individual has: 

 had his or her professional license suspended for cause (other than failure to pay a 

professional license fee); 
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 been convicted of a crime involving dishonesty or breach of trust; 

 been censured, suspended, or disbarred under U.S. Treasury Department Circular 

230, governing practice before the IRS; 

 been sanctioned by a civil or criminal court; or 

 demonstrated a pattern of willful disreputable conduct. 
 

Also clarifies that registered accounting practitioners, registered accounting practitioner 

firms, and certified public accounting firms, all of which are subject to the jurisdiction of the 

State Board of Accountancy, are exempt from preparer regulations to the same extent as 

certified public accountants and other exempt individuals. Individuals acting as supervisors 

to exempt tax preparers are also exempt. 

10  Powers additional. Clarifies that the commissioner’s powers and authority related to tax 

preparers are in addition to the commissioner’s other powers. 

11  Publication of list of tax preparers subject to penalties. Expands the list of circumstances 

that require the commissioner to include a preparer on the published list of preparers subject 

to penalty to preparers who have been: 

 convicted of crimes related to identity theft; 

 subject to administrative penalty for more than one violation of the standards of 

conduct or regulations related to RALs and RACs; 

 issued a cease and desist order that has become final; or 

 subject to administrative penalty for failure to obey a cease and desist order. 
 

Publication does not apply if convictions or orders are under appeal or if the time for appeal 

has not expired. 

12  Notice to tax preparer. Removes the requirement that the written notice to tax preparers of 

pending publication be made by certified mail; this will allow notice by methods other than 

the U.S. Mail. 

13  Form of list. Conforms language related to the commissioner’s discretion over the medium 

and method of list publication to other changes in the article. 

14  Removal from list. Extends from 90 days to three years the time period after satisfaction of 

the preparer’s sentence before the preparer may be removed from list; clarifies that this 

period includes probation and payment of penalties. 

15  Civil action. Requires the court to grant a permanent injunction or other appropriate relief if 

the commissioner shows that the preparer has violated a law administered by the 

commissioner or a cease and desist order under section 4 and adds Ramsey County District 

Court as a venue for DOR’s civil action. 

16  Injunction prohibiting specific conduct. Adds violation of a cease and desist order under 

section 4 to the items that may be enjoined. 
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17  Injunction prohibiting business activities. Changes references from “tax return preparers” 

to “tax preparers” consistent with the definitions in section 1. 

18  Enforcement of cease and desist orders. Directs the court to consider allegations in a cease 

and desist order under section 4 as conclusively established for final orders. 

Grants the court new authority to enforce cease and desist orders, including an additional 

civil penalty of up to $10,000 per violation of an order. Authorizes the commissioner to 

collect penalties as income tax liabilities. Prohibits the court from requiring the 

commissioner to post bond in actions under this section. 

19  Tax preparers; civil penalties. Extends the current law $500 civil penalty for reckless 

disregard or willful understatement of tax in chapter 289A to claims for credit for military 

service in a combat zone, and replaces a definition of tax preparer with a reference to the 

definition in section 1.  

20  Preparer identification number. Imposes a $500 civil penalty for failure to provide a tax 

preparer identification number. Also conforms chapter 289A requirements for provision of 

tax preparer identification numbers with changes in the article, including a cross-reference to 

the definition of tax preparer in section 1. This expands the requirement to additional tax 

types beyond the individual income tax. 

21  Revisor instruction. Directs the Revisor to recodify subdivisions relating to RALs and 

RACs into a new section 270C.4551 in the next compilation of Minnesota Statutes. 

22  Repealer. Repeals:  

 section 270C.445, subdivision 1, which specifies the tax preparers subject to DOR 

oversight; that is replaced by the expanded definitions in section 1.  

 section 270C.447, subdivision 4, a definition of tax return preparer that is replaced by 

the consolidated definition in section 1. 

 


