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Article 1: Licensing  

This article provides for increases in licensing and background study fees. 

1         Annual license or certification fee for programs without a licensed capacity. Amends § 

245A.10, subd. 5. Adds that licensed programs providing residential-based habilitation 

services under home and community-based waivered services shall pay an annual license 

fee with a base rate of $250 plus $38 times the number of clients served. Provides that state-

operated programs are exempt.  

2         Supplemental nursing services agencies. Amends § 245C.10, subd. 2. Increases the fee for a 

background study from $8 to $20.  

3         Personal care provider organizations. Amends § 245C.10, subd. 3. Increases the fee for a 

background study from $12 to $20.  

4         Use. Amends § 245C.32, subd. 2. Increases the fee that the commissioner of human services 

may charge for the costs of conducting a background study from $12 to $20.  

Article 2: State-operated Services  

This article provides the commissioner of human services authority to develop 

pilot projects, implement adult mental health enterprise activities, to develop 

additional sites for the Minnesota Security Hospital, and to close regional 

treatment centers. 

1. 1         Program design and implementation. Amends § 245.4661, subd. 2. Adds that pilot projects 

for adult mental health service delivery can utilize appropriations made to regional 

treatment centers and state-operated services if appropriated specifically by section 

246.0136.  

2         Duties of commissioner. Amends § 245.4661, subd. 6. Allows the commissioner, for 

purposes of pilot projects, to use the resources of regional treatment centers if consistent 

with section 246.0136.  

3         Planning for enterprise activities. Amends § 246.0136, subd. 1. Adds that the commissioner 

has authority to implement enterprise activities for adult mental health.  

4         Minnesota Security Hospital. Amends § 253.20. Allows the commissioner to erect, equip 

and maintain buildings to be known as the Minnesota Security Hospital at other geographic 

locations in addition to St. Peter.  

5         Authorization to close and vacate regional treatment center and state-operated nursing home 

campuses. Directs the commissioner of human services to notify the chairs of the house and 

senate committees having jurisdiction over human services before closing and vacating 

regional treatment centers and state-operated nursing homes. Directs that the commissioner 

must determine that criteria established under Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 14, 

article 6, section 64 have been met.  



 

 

Article 3: Health Care  

This article makes changes in state health care program administration, 

reimbursement, and eligibility. 

1. 1         Health care access fund. Amends § 16A.724. Requires the commissioner of finance, 

effective July 1, 2006, to deposit revenues collected from the MA hospital surcharge (1.56 

percent of net revenues) and HMO surcharge (.6 percent of premium revenue) into the 

health care access fund. Requires the commissioner, to the extent that resources in the 

health care access fund exceed expenditures, to transfer the excess funds to the general fund 

on June 30 of each year, starting in FY2005.  

(a) Transfers may not exceed $192,442,000 in FY 2005 and for FY 2008 and thereafter, 

may not exceed $50,000,000  

(b) For fiscal years 2005 to 2007, classifies MinnesotaCare as a forecasted program and 

directs the commissioner, as necessary, to reduce transfers from the health care access fund 

to meet expenditures and transfer funds from the general fund to the health care access fund 

to meet expenditures.  

Provides an effective date of the day following final enactment.  

2         Specific powers. Amends § 256.01, subd. 2. A new paragraph (bb) gives the commissioner 

of human services authority to administer a drug rebate program for drugs purchased for 

GAMC enrollees. Effective January 1, 2006, limits GAMC drug coverage to prescription 

drugs that are covered under MA and are provided by manufacturers that have executed 

GAMC rebate agreements. Dedicates rebates to funding the pharmaceutical assistance 

program.  

A new paragraph (cc) gives the commissioner authority to administer a pharmaceutical 

assistance program, that may include a drug discount card, assistance to the prescription 

drug assistance program administered by the Minnesota board on aging, and other efforts to 

assist citizens in obtaining free or discounted prescription drugs. Also gives the 

commissioner authority to administer a drug rebate program for any discount card program 

established, and requires rebates to be used to provide a discount on the prescription drugs 

provided to enrollees of the discount card program.  

3         Authorization for test sites for health care programs. Amends § 256.01, by adding subd. 2a. 

Allows the commissioner, in cooperation with county agencies, to test and compare a 

variety of administrative models to demonstrate and evaluate outcomes of integrating health 

care program business procedures and points of access. (This is to be done in coordination 

with the development and implementation of HealthMatch.) Requires the commissioner, 

based on the evaluation, to recommend the most efficient and effective model for statewide 

implementation.  

4         Retention rates. Amends § 256.019, subd. 1. Allows counties to keep one-half of the 

nonfederal share of MinnesotaCare recoveries, if the recovery is collected and posted by the 

county agency.  

5         State agency hearings. Amends § 256.045, subd. 3. Makes state agency hearings available 

to applicants aggrieved by an adverse decision to an application or redetermination for a 

Medicare Part D prescription drug subsidy under section 256.04, subdivision 4a.  

6         Prepaid health plan appeals. Amends § 256.045, subd. 3a. Eliminates the requirement that a 



 

 

prepaid health plan, when a recipient complaint is filed, notify the ombudsman within three 

working days.  

7         Hearing authority. Amends § 256.046, subd. 1. Allows DHS, in lieu of a local agency, to 

initiate an administrative fraud disqualification hearing when the state agency is directly 

responsible for administration of the health care program for which benefits were 

wrongfully obtained.  

8         Withholding. Amends § 256.9657, by adding subd. 7a. Allows DHS, in cases in which a 

provider required to pay an MA surcharge is more than two months delinquent, to withhold 

some or all of the amount of the delinquent surcharge, with any interest and penalties, from 

any money the department owes the provider. Specifies procedures and requirements for 

prior notice, provider informal objections and appeals, refunds, and written settlement 

agreements. Classifies all unpaid surcharges and any interest and penalties as overpayments 

for purposes of section 256B.0641 (provisions that allow the commissioner to recover 

overpayments).  

9         Payments. Amends § 256.969, subd. 3a. Reduces inpatient hospital payments by 5 percent, 

for fee-for-service admissions occurring on or after July 1, 2005. Excludes certain mental 

health services and services provided by Indian health service facilities from this reduction.  

10     Third-party payer. Amends § 256B.02, subd. 12. States that a third-party payer includes an 

entity under contract with the recipient to cover all or part of the recipient's medical costs. 

Also makes technical changes.  

11     Medicare prescription drug subsidy. Amends § 256B.04, by adding subd. 4a. Requires the 

commissioner to perform all duties necessary to administer eligibility determinations for the 

Medicare Part D prescription drug subsidy and facilitate the enrollment of eligible MA 

recipients into Medicare prescription drug plans, as required by the federal Medicare 

Modernization Act.  

12     Reduction of excess assets. Amends § 256B.056, by adding subd. 3d. Specifies methods of 

reducing assets to allowable MA program limits (restores rule authority inadvertently 

repealed). Allows assets to be reduced in the three calendar months before the month of 

application by: (1) designating burial funds up to $1500 for each applicant, spouse, and 

MA-eligible dependent child; and (2) paying health service bills incurred in the retroactive 

period for which the applicant seeks eligibility. Allows assets to be reduced beginning the 

month of application by: (1) paying bills for health services that would otherwise be paid by 

MA; and (2) using any means other than a transfer of assets for less than fair market value.  

13     Excess income. Amends § 256B.056, subd. 5. Requires recipients on a one-month 

spenddown who chose to pay the spenddown amount in advance to pay the spenddown 

amount on or before the last business day of the month, in order to be eligible for that 

payment option for the following month. (Current law requires payment by the 20
th

 of the 

month.) Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch implementation, 

whichever is later.  

14     Individuals on fixed or excluded income. Amends § 256B.056, subd. 5a. Requires 

recipients who receive only fixed unearned or excluded income to report and verify their 

income every 12 months, with the 12-month period beginning the month of application 

(current law requires this "annually"). Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon 

HealthMatch implementation, whichever is later.  

15     Individuals with low income. Amends § 256B.056, subd. 5b. Requires recipients not 

residing in a long-term care facility with slightly fluctuating income below the MA limit to 

report and verify their income every six months, with the six-month period beginning the 

month of application (current law requires this to be done semiannually). Provides an 

effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch implementation, whichever is later.  

16     Period of eligibility. Amends § 256B.056, subd. 7. Provides that MA eligibility for 



 

 

retroactive months is determined independently from eligibility for the month of application 

and future months. States that the 12-month period for purposes of eligibility 

redetermination begins the month of application. Provides an effective date of March 1, 

2006, or upon HealthMatch implementation, whichever is later.  

17     Notice. Amends § 256B.056, by adding subd. 9. Requires the state agency to be given 

notice of monetary claims against a person, entity, or corporation that may be liable to pay 

all or part of the cost of medical care that the state agency has paid or is liable for. Specifies 

procedures for giving notice.  

18     Eligibility verification. Amends § 256B.056, by adding subd. 10. (a) Requires the 

commissioner to require women who are applying for a continuation of MA following the 

60-day postpartum period to complete a renewal form and verify assets. 

(b) Requires the commissioner to determine whether auto-newborns are eligible for private-

sector health coverage, and pay for private-sector coverage if this is cost-effective. 

(c) Directs the commissioner to modify the Minnesota health care programs application to 

require more detailed information on assets and income, and to verify assets and income for 

all applicants and for all renewals. 

(d) Directs the commissioner to require recipients to report and verify new employment 

income within 10 days, and disenroll recipients who do not provide this verification.  

19     Availability of income for institutionalized persons. Amends § 256B.0575. For purposes of 

the provision that allows amounts for reasonable expenses incurred for medical or remedial 

care to be deducted from an institutionalized person's income, defines "reasonable 

expenses" as those that have not been previously deducted from income and that are 

incurred during the current period of eligibility, including retroactive months, for MA 

payment of long-term care services.  

20     Period of ineligibility. Amends § 256B.0595, subd. 2. Allows a cause of action against a 

person receiving a transfer of assets, if the transfer was reported to the local agency after the 

date that advance notice of a period of ineligibility could be provided to the recipient, and 

the recipient received MA services. States that the section is effective for transfers 

occurring on or after July 1, 2005.  

21     Citizenship requirements. Amends § 256B.06, subd. 4. Eliminates state-only funded MA 

coverage for pregnant women who are undocumented or nonimmigrants who have other 

health insurance. Provides coverage for eligible pregnant women to the extent funding is 

available under the state children's health insurance program.  

22     Services provided in a hospital emergency room. Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 1a. 

States that MA does not cover non-emergency visits to a hospital emergency room, and 

does not pay for services provided in that setting that are not part of an emergency visit.  

23     Sex reassignment surgery. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 3a. States that MA does not cover 

sex reassignment surgery, and eliminates language that allowed coverage of gender 

reassignment surgery and related services if the individual had been receiving gender 

reassignment services prior to July 1, 1998.  

24     Circumcision for newborns. Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 3c. Prohibits MA 

coverage of newborn circumcision, unless the procedure is medically necessary or required 

because of a well-established religious practice.  

25     Health services policy committee. Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 3d. Requires the 

commissioner, after receiving recommendations from specified groups, to establish an 11-

member Health Services Policy Committee. Requires the committee to advise the 

commissioner on health services issues related to health care benefits under state health care 



 

 

programs. Requires the committee to meet at least quarterly and to annually elect a 

physician chair to work with the commissioner's medical director to establish meeting 

agendas.  

26     Health services policy committee members. Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 3e. 

Specifies membership of the health services policy committee.  

27     Health services policy committee terms and compensation. Amends § 256B.0625, by 

adding subd. 3f. Specifies terms, provides for payment of an honorarium and expenses, and 

states that the committee does not expire.  

28     Drugs. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13. Effective January 1, 2006, prohibits MA coverage 

of drugs that are coverable under Medicare Part D, for individuals eligible for drug 

coverage under that program. Allows MA coverage of drugs from drug classes listed in 

federal law for which Medicaid programs can exclude or restrict coverage.  

29     Drug utilization review board. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13a. Requires the 

commissioner, after receiving recommendations from professional medical and pharmacy 

associations and consumer groups, to designate members of the Drug Utilization Review 

Board. Strikes language requiring members to be selected from lists submitted by 

professional organizations. Allows the DHS medical director to serve as an ex officio, 

nonvoting member. Allows members to be reappointed by the commissioner.  

30     Formulary committee. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13c. Requires the drug formulary 

committee to be staffed by an employee of DHS who services as an ex officio, nonvoting 

member. Also designates the medical director as an ex officio, nonvoting member.  

31     Payment rates. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13e. The amendment to paragraph (a) reduces 

the actual acquisition cost of a drug from average wholesale price (AWP) minus 11.5 

percent to AWP minus 12 percent. Also eliminates obsolete language.  

The amendment to paragraph (d) sets the payment amount of drugs administered in an 

outpatient setting at the lower of the usual and customary cost or the amount established by 

Medicare. (Strikes language setting the payment amount at the lower of the usual and 

customary cost, AWP minus 5 percent, or the maximum allowable cost.)  

A new paragraph (e) allows the commissioner to negotiate reimbursement rates for 

specialty pharmacy products that are lower than the rates specified in paragraph (a). Allows 

the commissioner to require state health care program enrollees to obtain specialty 

pharmacy products from providers with whom the commissioner has negotiated a lower 

rate. Provides a definition of specialty pharmacy products and requires the commissioner to 

consult with the formulary committee to develop a list of specialty pharmacy products.  

A new paragraph (f) allows the commissioner to require state health care program enrollees 

to obtain drugs used to treat hemophilia from a comprehensive hemophilia diagnostic 

center, provided that the center is a covered entity in the 340B drug-pricing program.  

32     Prior authorization. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 13f. The amendment to paragraph (d) 

eliminates the July 1, 2005 sunset for a provision that exempts antihemophilic factor drugs, 

prescribed for the treatment of hemophilia and blood disorders when no generic drug is 

available, from MA prior authorization under any supplemental drug rebate program or 

multistate preferred drug list. Provides an effective date of June 30, 2005. A new paragraph 

(f) allows the commissioner to automatically require prior authorization, for a period not to 

exceed 180 days, for any drug approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on or 

after July 1, 2005. Requires the formulary committee to recommend general criteria for 

prior authorization, but does not require the committee to review each individual drug. 

Requires the commissioner to follow the general prior authorization provisions, in order to 



 

 

continue prior authorizations after the 180-day period has expired.  

33     Medication therapy management care. Amends § 256B.0625, by adding subd. 13h. (a) 

Provides MA and GAMC coverage for medication therapy management for a recipient 

taking four or more medications to treat or prevent two or more chronic medical conditions, 

or for a recipient with a drug therapy problem identified or prior authorized by the 

commissioner that has resulted in or is likely to result in significant nondrug program costs. 

Allows coverage under MinnesotaCare if the commissioner determines this is cost effective. 

Defines "medication therapy management" as the provision of specified pharmaceutical 

care services by a licensed pharmacist to optimize the therapeutic outcomes of the patient's 

medications. States that nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to expand or modify 

the scope of practice of a pharmacist.  

(b) Lists criteria that pharmacists must meet in order to be eligible for reimbursement for 

medication therapy management.  

(c) Allows the commissioner to enroll individual pharmacists as MA and GAMC providers, 

for purposes of reimbursement for medication therapy management services. Allows the 

commissioner to establish contact requirements between the pharmacist and recipient.  

(d) Requires the commissioner, after receiving recommendations from specified groups, to 

establish an eleven-member Medication Therapy Management Advisory Committee, to 

advise the commissioner on the implementation and administration of medication therapy 

management services. Specifies membership and governance of the committee.  

(e) Requires the commissioner to evaluate the effect of medication therapy management on 

quality of care, patient outcomes, and program costs, and to include a description of MA 

savings. Requires the evaluation to be submitted to the legislature by December 15, 2007. 

Allows the commissioner to contract with a vendor or academic institution in order to 

complete the evaluation.  

34     Transportation costs. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 17. Increases MA reimbursement rates 

for special transportation services provided to persons who need a stretcher-accessible 

vehicle from $36 to $60 for the base rate and from $1.40 to $2.40 per mile.  

35     Medically necessary items and services. Adds § 256B.06245. 

  Subd. 1. General requirement for coverage. Provides that MA enrollees are 

eligible to receive, and MA shall provide payment for, only those medical items and 

services that are within the scope of defined benefits the enrollee is eligible for, and 

determined by MA to be medically necessary. 

  Subd. 2. Medical necessity. (a) Requires an item or service, in order to be 

determined medically necessary, to be recommended by a physician or other licensed 

healthcare provider practicing within the scope of the physician's license, and to 

satisfy the criteria in this section. 

(b) The item or service must be required in order to diagnose or treat an enrollee's 

medical condition; the convenience of the enrollee, the enrollee's family, or a 

provider shall not be a factor or justification. 

(c) Requires the item or service must be safe and effective, and specifies criteria. 



 

 

(d) Requires the item to be the least costly alternative course of diagnosis or treatment 

that is adequate for the medical condition of the enrollee, and specifies criteria. 

  Subd. 3. Determination of commissioner. States that it is the responsibility of 

the commissioner to ultimately determine what medical items and services are 

medically necessary. Further states that the fact that a provider has prescribed, 

recommended, or approved an item or service does not, in itself, make the item or 

service medically necessary. 

  Subd. 4. Applicability. Provides that the medical necessity standard in this 

section is to govern delivery of all services and items to all enrollees or classes of 

beneficiaries in the MA program. Allows the commissioner to make limited special 

provisions for particular items or services, such as long-term care, or as required for 

compliance with federal law. 

  Subd. 5. Medical protocols. Provides that medical protocols developed using 

evidence-based medicine that are authorized by the commissioner satisfy the standard 

of medical necessity. Requires the protocols to be published to all MA providers and 

managed care organizations. 

 Subd. 6. Rulemaking. Authorizes the commissioner to adopt any rules necessary 

to implement this section.  

36     Limiting coverage of health care services for public programs. Adds § 256B.0633.  

  Subd. 1. Prior authorization or services. (a) Effective July 1, 2005, requires prior 

authorization under MA, GAMC, and MinnesotaCare for the services described in 

subdivision 2. Requires prepaid health plans to use prior authorization unless the plan 

is otherwise using evidence-based practices. 

(b) Requires prior authorization to be conducted by the medical director of DHS in 

conjunction with a medical policy advisory council. Requires the medical director to 

use publicly available evidence-based guidelines developed by specified groups, to 

the extent these are available. Requires the commissioner to contract prior 

authorization to a Minnesota-licensed utilization review organization, if the 

commissioner does not have a medical director and medical policy in place. 

  Subd. 2. Services requiring prior authorization. Requires the following services 

to be prior authorized: (1) elective outpatient high technology imaging, including 

PET scans, MRI, CT, and nuclear cardiology; (2) spinal fusion, unless in an 

emergency situation related to trauma; (3) bariatric surgery; (4) orthodontia; (5) 

cesarean section or insertion of tympanostomy tubes, except in an emergency; and (6) 

hysterectomy. 

  Subd. 3. Service requiring review before addition to public programs benefit sets. 

Prohibits new medical devices, brand drugs, or medical procedures from being 

included in the MA, GAMC, and MinnesotaCare benefit sets unless a technology 

assessment has been completed and the potential benefits proven to outweigh the 

additional costs. Requires technology assessments by independent organizations with 

no conflict of interest to be used.  

37     Participation required for reimbursement under other state health care programs. Amends § 



 

 

256B.0644. Exempts persons providing dental services from the requirement that providers 

participate in state health care programs in order to serve as providers for state and public 

employees, workers' compensation, and MCHA.  

38     Fee-for-service. Amends § 256B.075, subd. 2. Directs the commissioner to develop and 

implement a pilot intensive care management project for MA children with complex and 

chronic medical issues who are not able to participate in the metro-based U Special Kids 

program due to geographic distance.  

39     Policy, applicability, purpose, and construction; definition. Amends § 256B.15, subd. 1. 

States that all provisions in section 256B.15, subdivisions 1, 1d, 1f, 1g, 1h, 1i, and 1j that 

relate to the continuation of a recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interests in real property 

after death of the recipient, for purposes of recovering medical assistance, are effective only 

for life estates and joint tenancies established on or after August 1, 2003.  

Effective date. Provides a retroactive effective date of August 1, 2003.  

40     Facility fee payment. Amends § 256B.32, subd. 1. Reduces fee-for-service payments for 

outpatient hospital facility services by 5 percent, for services provided on or after July 1, 

2005. Exempts Indian health service facilities from this reduction.  

41     Limitation of choice. Amends § 256B.69, subd. 4. Specifies that the PMAP exemption for 

persons enrolled in individual health plans applies only to non-Medicare plans.  

42     Payment reduction. Amends § 256B.69, by adding subd. 5i. Reduces managed care 

payments by 2.01 percent under MA, and 2.20 percent under GAMC, for services provided 

on or after January 1, 2006. Excludes payments for nursing home services, home and 

community-based waivers, and payments to demonstration projects for persons with 

disabilities from this reduction.  

43     Hospital outpatient reimbursement. Amends § 256B.75. Reduces fee-for-service payments 

for outpatient hospital facility services by 5 percent, for services provided on or after July 1, 

2005. Exempts Indian health service facilities from this reduction.  

44     General assistance medical care; eligibility. Amends § 256D.03, subd. 3. Eliminates GAMC 

eligibility for individuals with incomes greater than 75 percent but not exceeding 175 

percent of FPG (those individuals eligible for GAMC hospital-only coverage). Establishes a 

GAMC spenddown at 50 percent of FPG. Allows GAMC eligibility for persons who reside 

in group residential housing who can meet a spenddown using the cost of remedial services. 

Makes other conforming changes. Provides an October 1, 2005 effective date.  

45     General assistance medical care; services. Amends § 256D.03, subd. 4. The amendment to 

paragraph (b) states that GAMC does not cover sex reassignment surgery and strikes 

language that allowed coverage of gender reassignment surgery and related services if the 

individual began receiving gender reassignment services prior to July 1, 1995. Makes 

conforming changes related to the elimination of GAMC hospital-only coverage for 

individuals with incomes greater than 75 percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG. 

Also corrects a cross-reference.  

46     General assistance medical care; medical necessity. Amends § 256D.03, by adding subd. 

4a. Requires a medical item or service to meet the medical necessity standards in § 

256B.06245, in order to be covered under GAMC.  

47     Payments after October 1, 2005. Amends § 256D.03, by adding subd. 10. Requires GAMC 

payments made on or after October 1, 2005 to be made from the health care access fund.  

48     Social security number required. Amends § 256D.045. States that GA applicants who refuse 

to provide a Social Security number because of a well-established religious objection may 

be eligible for GAMC. Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch 

implementation, whichever is later.  

49     Child. Amends § 256L.01, subd. 1a. Allows individuals who are enrolled more than one-



 

 

half time in postsecondary education to qualify under MinnesotaCare as a "child" only if 

they are under age 19, and do not have private sector health coverage available through the 

postsecondary education institution or parents. The higher age limit for "child" of 21 will 

apply only to individuals not enrolled, or enrolled less than one-half time, in postsecondary 

education. Provides an effective date of July 1, 2005, or upon federal approval, whichever is 

later.  

50     Gross individual or gross family income. Amends § 256L.01, subd. 4. Requires gross 

income for the non-farm self-employed to be calculated using the MA methodology for 

determining allowable and nonallowable expenses and countable income. Specifies that 

gross individual or family income for purposes of MinnesotaCare means income calculated 

for the six-month period of eligibility. (This is consistent with a recent law change requiring 

enrollees to renew eligibility every six months, effective October 1, 2004.) Eliminates the 

requirement that applicants report the most recent financial situation of the family if it has 

changed from the period of time covered by the federal income tax form. Provides an 

effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch implementation, whichever is later.  

51     Income. Amends § 256L.01, subd. 5. The amendment to paragraph (a) Requires 

MinnesotaCare to count the earned and unearned income of all persons residing in a 

household or family when determining eligibility, including that of unrelated persons.  

The amendment to paragraph (b) requires the commissioner to use reasonable methods to 

calculate gross earned and unearned income for purposes of MinnesotaCare, including but 

not limited to projecting income based on income received within the past 30 days, last 90 

days, or last 12 months. Provides a July 1, 2005 effective date.  

Provides an effective date of July 1, 2005 (or upon federal approval, whichever is later).  

52     Covered health services. Amends § 256L.03, subd. 1. Makes a conforming change related 

to elimination of MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults without children. Provides an October 

1, 2005 effective date.  

53     Inpatient hospital services. Amends § 256L.03, subd. 3. Makes a conforming change related 

to elimination of MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults without children and the reduction in 

the income limit for parents. Provides an October 1, 2005 effective date.  

54     Co-payments and coinsurance. Amends § 256L.03, subd. 5. Adds MinnesotaCare copays of 

$3 per nonpreventive visit and $6 for nonemergency visits to a hospital-based emergency 

room. Limits these co-pays to one per day per provider. Also makes a conforming change 

related to the reduction of the income limit for parents. Provides a January 1, 2006 effective 

date for the copayment change.  

55     Medical necessity. Amends § 256L.03, by adding subd. 7. Requires a medical item or 

service to meet the medical necessity standards under section 256B.06245, in order to be 

covered under MinnesotaCare.  

56     Families with children. Amends § 256L.04, subd. 1. Effective October 1, 2005, eliminates 

MinnesotaCare eligibility for parents, grandparents, foster parents, relative caretakers, and 

legal guardians ages 21 and over with gross incomes that exceed 175 percent of FPG. (The 

income limit for these groups under current law is 275 percent of FPG.) Strikes obsolete 

language related to the definition of dependent sibling.  

57     Social Security number required. Amends § 256L.04, by adding subd. 1a. Requires 

applicants for MinnesotaCare coverage to provide a Social Security number. Prohibits the 

commissioner from denying eligibility if an applicant is awaiting issuance of a Social 

Security number. Provides exemptions for newborns and individuals who refuse to provide 

a number because of well-established religious objections.  

58     Cooperation in establishing third-party liability, paternity, and other medical support. 



 

 

Amends § 256L.04, subd. 2. Includes, in the definition of "cooperation," complying with 

the requirement that applicants give the state agency notice of any monetary claims against 

a third party that may be liable to pay for the cost of medical care.  

59     Applications for other benefits. Amends § 256L.04, by adding subd. 2a. Requires 

individuals and families, in order to be eligible for MinnesotaCare, to take all necessary 

steps to obtain the benefits described in 42 CFR 435.608 (annuities, pensions, retirement, 

and disability benefits). Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch 

implementation, whichever is later.  

60     Applicants potentially eligible for medical assistance. Amends § 256L.04, subd. 8. Makes 

conforming changes related to the elimination of MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults 

without children. Provides an October 1, 2005 effective date.  

61     Commissioner's duties. Amends § 256L.05, subd. 2. Directs the commissioner, in 

determining MinnesotaCare eligibility, to require applicants and enrollees seeking renewal 

to verify both earned and unearned income, and if employed to submit to their employers a 

form to verify whether they and dependents have access to employer subsidized coverage.  

62     Effective date of coverage. Amends § 256L.05, subd. 3. Provides that the effective date of 

coverage under MinnesotaCare for newly adoptive children is the month of placement or 

the month placement is reported, whichever is later, rather than the date of entry into the 

family. Provides that the effective date of coverage for other new family members is the 

first day of the month following the month in which the change is reported, rather than the 

first day of the month following the month in which eligibility is approved or at renewal. 

Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch implementation, 

whichever is later.  

63     Renewal of eligibility. Amends § 256L.05, subd. 3a. For purposes of MinnesotaCare 

eligibility renewal, specifies that the first six-month period of eligibility begins the month 

the application is received by the commissioner (current law refers to the month after the 

month the application is approved). Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006 or upon 

HealthMatch implementation, whichever is later.  

64     Availability of private insurance. Amends § 256L.05, subd. 5. Makes a conforming change 

related to elimination of MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults without children. Provides an 

October 1, 2005 effective date.  

65     Commissioner's duties and payment. Amends § 256L.06, subd. 3. Requires the 

commissioner to develop and implement procedures to adjust MinnesotaCare premiums for 

both increases and decreases in income, at the time the change in income is reported.  

66     General requirements. Amends § 256L.07, subd. 1. The amendment to paragraph (b) states 

that beginning October 1, 2005, parents, grandparents, foster parents, relative caretakers, 

and legal guardians age 21 and over are no longer eligible for MinnesotaCare if their gross 

incomes exceeds 175 percent of FPG. Provides that pregnant women whose income rises 

above 275 percent of FPG remain eligible for MinnesotaCare through the end of the 60-day 

postpartum period.  

An amendment to paragraph (c) reduces, from 12 to six months, the notice period given 

children who are no longer eligible for MinnesotaCare under the MCHA exception. (This 

exception allows children in households with incomes above the program income limit to 

remain on the program if ten percent of family income is less than the premium for a $500 

deductible policy available through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association.)  

Makes conforming changes and eliminates obsolete language.  

67     Other health coverage. Amends § 256L.07, subd. 3. The amendment to paragraph (b) 

clarifies language classifying Medicare Part A and B coverage as health coverage (for 



 

 

purposes of the requirement that MinnesotaCare enrollees have no health coverage while 

enrolled or for four months prior to application) by specifying that an applicant or enrollee 

who is entitled to Medicare Part A or enrolled in Medicare Part B is considered to have 

health coverage. Also provides that an applicant or enrollee who is entitled to premium free 

Medicare Part A may not refuse to apply for or enroll in the coverage.  

The amendment to paragraph (e) clarifies the exemption from the MinnesotaCare four-

month uninsured requirement for cost-effective health insurance paid for by MA, by 

specifying that the exemption does not apply if the insurance continued after MA no longer 

considered it cost-effective or after MA closed.  

68     Voluntary disenrollment for members of military. Amends § 256L.07, subd. 5. Allows 

MinnesotaCare enrollees who are members of the military, and their families, who 

voluntarily disenroll when one or more family members are called to active duty, to reenroll 

during or following that member's tour of active duty. Requires income and asset increases 

reported at the time of reenrollment to be disregarded and provides a good cause exemption 

from the requirement that persons voluntarily disenrolling not reenroll for four calendar 

months. Provides an effective date of July 1, 2005.  

69     Residency requirement. Amends § 256L.09, subd. 2. Makes a conforming change related to 

elimination of MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults without children. Also strikes an 

obsolete cross-reference. Provides an October 1, 2005 effective date.  

70     Enrollees 18 or older. Amends § 256L.11, subd. 6. Makes conforming changes related to 

elimination of MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults without children and the reduction in the 

income limit for parents. Corrects cross-references. Provides an October 1, 2005 effective 

date.  

71     Co-payments and benefit limits. Amends § 256L.12, subd. 6. Strikes a reference to the 

MinnesotaCare limited benefit set provided under current law to adults without children 

with incomes greater than 75 percent but not exceeding 175 percent of FPG. (This is related 

to elimination of eligibility for adults without children.) Provides an October 1, 2005 

effective date.  

72     Rate setting; rateable reduction. Amends § 256L.12, by adding subd. 9b. For services 

provided on or after January 1, 2006, reduces MinnesotaCare payment rates to managed 

care plans by 1.83 percent.  

73     Sliding fee scale to determine percentage of monthly gross individual or family income. 

Amends § 256L.15, subd. 2. Specifies that sliding fee scale premium determinations under 

MinnesotaCare are to be based on monthly gross income. Requires the commissioner, when 

a family or individual reports increased income after enrollment, to adjust premiums at the 

time the change in income is reported. (Current law prohibits a premium increase until 

eligibility renewal.) Provides an effective date of March 1, 2006, or upon HealthMatch 

implementation, whichever is later.  

A new paragraph (c) increases MinnesotaCare premiums by ten percent, effective July 1, 

2005.  

74     Exceptions to sliding scale. Amends § 256L.15, subd. 3. Increases the annual premium for 

MinnesotaCare children in families with incomes not exceeding 150 percent of FPG, from 

$48 to $60 per year.  

75     Premium surcharge. Amends § 256L.15, by adding subd. 4. (a) Requires the 

commissioner to impose a two percent surcharge on MinnesotaCare premiums due on or 

after July 1, 2005, and deposit surcharge amounts into a surcharge account for each 

enrollee. Requires amounts deposited to accrue interest at one percent. 



 

 

(b) Requires the commissioner to use money in each enrollee's surcharge account to pay for 

any premium amounts owed due to failure to promptly report changes in income, and for 

the cost of any services provided to an enrollee who received services due to a failure to 

report required information to the commissioner. 

(c) Requires the commissioner to transfer amounts in the account, plus interest, to 

individuals who voluntarily terminate coverage; this is not required for persons who are 

disenrolled for nonpayment of premium.  

76     Limit on total assets. Amends § 256L.17, subd. 2. Effective July 1, 2005, reduces the 

MinnesotaCare asset limit from $10,000 for a household of one/$20,000 for a household of 

two or more, to the MA asset limit ($3,000 for one/$6,000 for two, plus $200 for each 

additional dependent). (Children and pregnant women are not subject to the MinnesotaCare 

asset limit.)  

77     Documentation and verification. Amends § 256L.17, subd. 3. Eliminates the use of a check-

off form related to the MinnesotaCare asset requirement, and requires compliance with the 

asset requirement to be verified using the verification and documentation procedures of the 

MA program.  

78     Public health care programs and certain trusts. Adds § 501B.895.  

Policy, applicability and purpose. Paragraph (a). States that it is the public policy of the 

state that all individuals use all available resources to pay for long-term care before turning 

to Minnesota health care program funds. Directs that any irrevocable inter vivos trust or 

similar instrument created on or after July 1, 2005, shall be revocable by operation of law 

for the sole purpose of payment of health care and long-term care service costs. States that 

any inter vivos irrevocable trust or similar instrument shall be deemed to be located in and 

subject to the laws of this state. States such an instrument is created as of the date it is fully 

executed by all of the settlers or others.  

Paragraph (b). Defines irrevocable inter vivos trusts for purposes of this section as a trust or 

similar instrument executed by a grantor, or anyone with authority to act upon the grantor's 

behalf, to an individual or an entity with a fiduciary responsibility who will manage the 

trust for the benefit of the grantor or others.  

Paragraph (c). States that this section is deemed to be included as a provision of all trusts 

first created on and after July 1, 2005, whether or not it appears in the instruments. Provides 

that all individuals establishing, administering and benefiting or who may benefit from 

trusts established after the effective date are deemed to have irrevocably consented to the 

provisions of this section.  

Paragraph (d). Provides that this section does not apply to trusts that qualify as excluded 

assets as special needs trusts under 42 U.S.C. § 1396p (d)(4)(a) and (c).  

Effective date. Provides that this section is effective the day following final enactment and 

applies to all trusts first created on or after July 1, 2005, and applies to all interests in real or 

personal property regardless of the date the interest was created, reserved or acquired.  

79     Time limits; claim limits; liens on life estates and joint tenancies. Amends § 514.981, subd. 

6. Amends a section dealing with MA liens, to provide that all provisions related to the 

continuation of a recipient's life estate or joint tenancy interests in real property after death 

of the recipient, for purposes of recovering medical assistance, are effective only for life 



 

 

estates and joint tenancies established on or after August 1, 2003.  

Effective date. Provides a retroactive effective date of August 1, 2003.  

80     Use of a broker to manage special transportation services. Amends Laws 2003, 1
st
 Sp. 

Session chapter 14, article 12, section 93. Prohibits the commissioner of human services 

from using a broker or coordinator to manage special transportation services for fee-for-

service enrollees residing in a nursing home until July 1, 2006. Strikes obsolete language 

related to a review of special transportation services.  

81     Advisory committee on non-emergency transportation services. Directs the commissioner 

of human services to establish a seven-member advisory committee on MA non-emergency 

transportation services. Specifies membership and requires the committee to monitor and 

evaluate the provision of these services and present recommendations for any necessary 

changes to the commissioner.  

82     Planning process for managed care. Requires the commissioner of human services to 

develop a planning process to implement at least one additional managed care arrangement 

to provide services (excluding continuing care services) to MA fee-for-service enrollees, 

effective January 1, 2007. Specifies membership of an advisory committee and requires the 

department to seek any additional federal authority necessary to provide basic health care 

services through contracted managed care arrangements.  

83     Federal approval related to medical assistance income limit for pregnant women and 

special work expense deduction. Requires the commissioner of human services, by July 1, 

2005, to apply for any federal waivers and approvals necessary to retain the MA income 

limit for pregnant women at 200 percent of FPG and not apply the special work expense 

deduction for infants and pregnant women. Requires the commissioner to update the 

relevant committee chairs and ranking minority members on the status of the waiver 

request.  

84     Federal approval. (a) Requires the commissioner to seek federal approval to implement § 

256L.01, subd. 5 (counting of income of unrelated persons and modification of exemption 

from counting student income).  

(b) Directs the commissioner of human services to establish a seven-member advisory 

committee on MA non-emergency transportation services. Specifies membership and 

requires the committee to monitor and evaluate the provision of  

85     Health care financing report. Requires the commissioner to develop recommendations to 

simplify the financing of publicly funded health care programs, and report to the relevant 

legislative committee chairs during the 2007 session.  

86     General provisions governing the change in effective date for life estate and joint tenancy 

interest provisions.  

Subd. 1. Establishment of a life estate or joint tenancy interest. Specifies when a life 

estate or joint tenancy interest is established, for purposes of sections 1 and 2.  

Subd. 2. Medical assistance. Defines "medical assistance" as the medical assistance, 

general assistance medical care, and alternative care programs.  

Subd. 3. Lien notices. States that lien notices against life estate or joint tenancy 

interests established prior to August 1, 2003 end and become unenforceable upon the 

death of the life tenant or joint tenant and shall be disregarded by examiners of title 

and not carried forward. States that this subdivision does not apply if the terms of the 



 

 

life estate provide otherwise.  

Effective date. Provides a retroactive effective date of August 1, 2003.  

87     Commissioner's duties related to the change in effective date for life estate and joint tenancy 

interest provisions. Requires the Commissioner of Human Services and county agencies 

that have recovered MA or alternative care payments due to the continuation of life estate or 

joint tenancy interests in real property to refund those recoveries, without interest. Specifies 

the procedures to be used in providing refunds.  

Effective date. Provides a retroactive effective date of August 1, 2003.  

88     Immunity. Provides the Commissioner of Human Services, county agencies, elected 

officials and their employees with immunity from liability for actions taken pursuant to the 

2003 act that continued life estate and joint tenancy interests.  

Effective date. Provides a retroactive effective date of August 1, 2003.  

89     Repealer.  

(a) Repeals sections 256L.035 (MinnesotaCare limited benefit set), 256L.04, subdivision 7 

(MinnesotaCare eligibility for adults without children), and 256L.09, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6, 

and 7 (MinnesotaCare durational residency requirement for adults without children), 

effective October 1, 2005.  

(b) Repeals section 256.955 (prescription drug program) effective January 1, 2006.  

(c) Repeals section 256B.075, subd. 5 and section 295.581 (prohibition on non-

MinnesotaCare transfers from health care access fund) effective the day following final 

enactment.  

(d) Repeals section 256L.04, subd. 11 (MinnesotaCare outreach grants) effective July 1, 

2005.  

Article 4: Nursing Facility Reimbursement  

This article requires the commissioner of human services to establish a new 

nursing facility reimbursement system and contains other provisions related to 

nursing facilities. 

1. 1         Exceptions for replacement beds. Amends § 144A.071, subd. 4a. Provides an exception to 

the nursing facility moratorium for two facilities. 

(1) Allows a facility in Columbia Heights with 120 beds to remove from layaway 

status 35 or 98 beds placed on layaway in a previous exception, and relicense and 

recertify these beds in stages in a newly constructed nursing facility in Ramsey 

located on a long-term care campus. 

(2) Allows a facility in Anoka with 57 beds to remove from layaway status an 

additional 33 beds and relicense and recertify these beds in a newly constructed 

nursing facility in Anoka County not closer than five miles from any other facility, 

along with 57 beds relocated from the facility in Anoka. 

(3) Requires beds to be relicensed and recertified prior to June 30, 2009. 



 

 

(4) Requires payments rates of the new facilities to be equal to those of the existing 

facilities. 

(5) Allows the facilities to annually certify to the commissioner that they are 

discharging eight or more individuals per year for each newly licensed bed. 

Requires reductions in facility payment rates if these targets are not met or if 

facilities fail to provide annual certification.  

2         Extension of approval for a facility in Otter Tail county. Amends § 144A073, by adding 

subd. 10a. Directs the commissioner of health to extend approval for an additional 24 

months for a moratorium exception project proposed by a nursing facility in Otter Tail 

county and approved by the commissioner on December 20, 2002, as part of the 

competitive moratorium exception process.  

3         Nursing facility rate increases beginning July 1, 1999 and July 1, 2000. Amends § 

256B.431, subd. 28. Eliminates a reference to determining future nursing facility rates 

under "any other section" (a conforming change to establishment of a new nursing facility 

reimbursement system).  

4         Facility rate increases effective July 1, 2000. Amends § 256B.431, subd. 29. Eliminates a 

reference to determining future nursing facility rates under "any other section" (a 

conforming change to establishment of a new nursing facility reimbursement system).  

5         Exclusion of raw food cost adjustment. Amends § 256B.431, subd. 35. Requires 

adjustments for raw food costs related to providing special diets based on religious beliefs 

to not be included in the support services per diem under the new reimbursement system, 

and instead added to the external fixed costs payment rate.  

6         Nursing facility rate increases beginning October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006. Amends § 

256B.431, by adding subd. 41. Increases nursing facility total operating payment rates by 

two percent, for the rate years beginning October1, 2005, and October1, 2006. Requires at 

least two-thirds of each year's adjustment to be used for employee salaries, benefits, and 

associated costs. Requires each facility to report to the commissioner on how the additional 

funding was used. Allows costs for salary and benefits increases incurred by facilities since 

July 1, 2003 to be counted toward the amount required to be spent on salaries and benefits.  

7         Rate increase for facilities in Stearns, Sherburne, and Benton counties. Amends § 

256B.431, by adding subd. 42. Effective October 1, 2005, requires operating payment rates 

of nursing facilities in Stearns, Sherburne, and Benton counties to be increased to be equal, 

for a RUGs rate with a weight of 1.00, to the 30
th

 percentile of the geographic group III rate 

for the same RUGs weight. Provides that the subdivision applies only if it results in a rate 

increase.  

8         Definitions. Amends § 256B.432, subd. 1. Modifies the definition of nursing facility for 

purposes of determining allocation of central, affiliated, or corporate office costs  

9         Effective date. Amends § 256B.432, subd. 2. Specifies that the provisions related to 

allocating central, affiliated, or corporate office costs also apply to facilities reimbursed 

under the alternative payment system and the new nursing facility reimbursement system.  

10     Allocation; costs allocable on a functional basis. Amends § 256B.432, subd. 4a. Requires 

costs not directly identified to be allocated to nursing facilities on a basis designed to 

equitably allocate the costs to facilities or activities receiving the benefit of the costs, and on 

a functional basis where practical and the amounts are material. Specifies the procedures 

that must be followed if the central office wishes to change its allocation bases.  

11     Allocation of remaining costs; allocation ratio. Amends § 256B.432, subd. 5. If remaining 

costs (after allocation of costs that can be directly identified) are partially attributable to the 

start-up of home and community-based services intended to fill a gap identified by the local 

agency, allows the facility to assign these costs to the appropriate cost category of the 



 

 

facility for up to two years.  

12     Related organization costs. Amends § 256B.432, by adding subd. 6a. Specifies that costs 

applicable to services, capital assets, and supplies furnished to a nursing facility by a related 

organization may be included in the allowable cost of the facility at the purchase price paid 

and at the cost incurred by the related organization, if these prices or costs do not exceed 

that of comparable services, assets, or supplies that could be purchased elsewhere. States 

that the related organization's costs must not include markup or profit. If the related 

organization makes sales to nonrelated organizations, states that the cost to the nursing 

facility is the nonrelated organization's price, if sales to such organizations are at least 50 

percent of total annual sales.  

13     Duration and termination of contracts. Amends § 256B.434, subd. 3. Increases the term of 

contracts under the alternative payment system from one year to a term not to exceed four 

years.  

14     Alternate rates for nursing facilities. Amends § 256B.434, subd. 4. Provides that the annual 

inflation adjustment for nursing facilities under the alternative payment system applies only 

to the property-related payment rate, for the rate years beginning July 1, 2005 through July 

1, 2009. Also provides that beginning in 2005, the property rate adjustment for nursing 

homes reimbursed under both the alternative payment and cost-based systems shall be 

effective October 1.  

15     Facility rate increases. Amends § 256B.434, subd. 4a. Eliminates a reference to determining 

future nursing facility rates under "any other section" (a conforming change to 

establishment of a new nursing facility reimbursement system).  

16     Facility rate increases effective July 1, 2000. Amends § 256B.434, subd. 4b. Eliminates a 

reference to determining future nursing facility rates under "any other section" (a 

conforming change to establishment of a new nursing facility reimbursement system).  

17     Facility rate increases effective January 1, 2002. Amends § 256B.434, subd. 4c. Eliminates 

a reference to determining future nursing facility rates under "any other section" (a 

conforming change to establishment of a new nursing facility reimbursement system).  

18     Facility rate increases effective July 1, 2001. Amends § 256B.434, subd. 4d. Eliminates a 

reference to determining future nursing facility rates under "any other section" (a 

conforming change to establishment of a new nursing facility reimbursement system).  

19     Phase-out of alternative payment system contracts. Amends § 256B.434, by adding subd. 

18. Requires nursing facilities reimbursed under the alternative payment system to cease 

their contractual agreement with the commissioner effective October 1, 2009. Requires 

these facilities to be paid the contract payment rate for the remainder of the phase-in period.  

20     Case mix indices. Amends § 256B.438, subd. 3. If new case mix indices are implemented 

together with a new payment system, provides that the requirement that rates be rebased in 

manner that is budget neutral for each facility does not apply.  

21     Nursing facility reimbursement system effective October 1, 2005. Adds § 256B.441.  

Subd. 1. In general. (a) Requires the commissioner to establish a value-based nursing 

facility reimbursement system with facility-specific, prospective rates. Requires rates 

to be determined using an annual statistical and cost report, using a total payment rate 

comprised of: direct care services, support services, external fixed, and property-

related rate components. Requires the total payment rate to be adjusted for quality of 

services, recognition of staffing levels, geographic variation in labor costs, rental 

value, and resident acuity.  

(b) Specifies that rates are rebased annually, and that the cost reporting year begins 

October 1 and ends on the following September 30. Requires a statistical and cost 



 

 

report to be filed by each facility, beginning January 15, 2006. Requires notice of 

rates to be distributed by August 15, with rates taking effect October 1.  

(c) Requires the commissioner to phase-in the new system beginning October 1, 

2006, with full phase-in completed by October 1, 2009.  

Subd. 2 through 42. Provide definitions related to the new reimbursement system.  

"Direct care costs category" means costs for nursing services, activities, and social 

services.  

"External fixed costs category" means costs related to the nursing home surcharge, 

licensure fees, long-term care consultation fees, family advisory council fees, 

scholarships, planned closure rate adjustments, property taxes and property insurance, 

and PERA.  

"Facility average case mix index (CMI)" means a numerical score that describes the 

relative resource use of residents, computed as standardized days divided by total 

days for all residents.  

"Normalized direct care costs per day" means direct care costs divided by 

standardized days, and is the cost per day for direct care services associated with a 

RUGs index of 1.00.  

"Peer groups" means: (1) C and NC/short stay/R80 - facilities that have three or more 

admissions per bed per year, are hospital-attached, or are licensed under Minnesota 

Rules to serve persons with physical disabilities; (2) boarding care homes - facilities 

that have more than 50 percent of beds licensed as boarding care homes; and (3) 

standard - all other facilities. 

"Standardized days" means the sum of resident days by case mix category multiplied 

by the RUG index for each category.  

"Support services costs category" means costs for dietary, housekeeping, laundry, 

maintenance, and administration.  

Subd. 43. Reporting of statistical and cost information. Specifies requirements for 

reporting of statistical and cost information by facilities. Allows the commissioner to 

grant extensions and requires the commissioner to reduce reimbursement payments 

until information is filed. Allows facilities, within 12 months of the due date of a 

report, to file an amendment to correct errors or omissions if this would result in a 

rate increase of at least .15 percent of the statewide weighted average operating 

payment rate, and requires facilities to file at any time an amendment that would 

result in a rate reduction of at least .15 percent of the statewide weighted average 

operating payment rate. Requires the commissioner to make retroactive rate 

adjustments. States that retroactive rate adjustments are not applied to private pay 

residents. Requires the commissioner to recover overpayments resulting from 

inaccurate or false information or failure to amend a report, and allows the 

commissioner to take other action against the facility.  



 

 

Subd. 44. Calculation of direct care per diem costs. Requires the commissioner to 

calculate for each facility the normalized per diem cost for direct care services, by 

dividing total allowable costs for direct care services by standardized days.  

Subd. 45. Calculation of support services per diem costs. Requires the commissioner 

to calculate for each facility the per diem cost for support services by dividing total 

allowable costs for support services by resident days.  

Subd. 46. Calculation of a quality score. (a) Requires the commissioner to determine 

a quality score for each facility, using the quality measures established, according to 

methods determined by the commissioner in consultation with stakeholders and 

experts. Exempts these measures from chapter 14.  

(b) Requires a score to be determined for each quality measure and the scores for all 

quality measures totaled. Allows the commissioner to annually revise the 

determination of quality measures used and the methods of calculating scores. 

(c) For the initial rate year, requires the following quality measures to be used: (1) 

staff turnover; (2) staff retention; (3) use of pool staff; (4) quality indicators from the 

minimum data set; (5) survey deficiencies.  

(d) Specifies procedures for revising and establishing quality scores.  

Subd. 47. Calculation of payment rate for direct care services. For each rate year, 

requires the payment rate for direct care services to be a variable amount, determined 

annually, that is based on the facility's staffing level in the reporting year, adjusted for 

peer group, geography, and case mix. Specifies the methodology to be used to 

calculate this payment rate. If the wage adjusted direct care hours per standardized 

day (a value calculated in the formula that reflects wage rate and number of staffing 

hours) exceeds the value calculated for the prior year, limits this value to that of the 

prior year, unless an appropriation is made to allow an increase in the value.  

  Subd. 48. Calculation of payment rate for support services. States that the payment 

rate for support services shall be a fixed amount adjusted for the facility's peer group 

and geography. Specifies the methodology to be used to calculate this payment rate.  

  Subd. 49. Calculation of quality add-on. States that the payment rate for the quality 

add-on is a variable amount based on each facility's quality score. For the rate year 

beginning October 1, 2006, provides that the maximum quality add-on is five percent. 

Allows the commissioner to increase the maximum quality add-on as new quality 

measures are incorporated and existing measures updated or improved. Specifies the 

methodology to be used to calculate the quality add-on.  

Subd. 50. Geographic adjustments of labor-related costs. Directs the commissioner to 

determine adjusters for the labor-related share of the operating rate. This is 

determined by dividing the sum of compensation for all facilities in an economic 

development region by facilities' total compensated hours, and then dividing this by 

the sum of compensation for all facilities in the state divided by total compensated 

hours.  

Subd. 51. Adjuster for operating payment rates. Requires the commissioner to provide 



 

 

legislative committee chairs, by January 15 of odd-numbered years, with information 

on adjusters for payment rates, target prices, or other factors, for direct care and 

support service costs. The information must include the projected change in the CPI-

U, costs and savings to the state of using any factor other than 100 percent, and other 

factors that may be considered.  

Subd. 52. Calculation of payment rate for external fixed costs. Specifies the methods 

the commissioner must use to calculate the payment rate for external fixed costs.  

Subd. 53. Phase-in. Specifies timing and procedures for phasing-in rates determined 

under the new reimbursement system.  

(a) Requires the rates in effect on June 30, 2006 to remain in effect through 

September 30, 2006.  

(b) Specifies notice requirements for the new blended rates.  

(c) Limits the automatic rate adjustment for facilities in the alternative payment 

system to the property payment rate. For facilities reimbursed under the cost-based 

system, requires property rates to continue to be determined as specified in rule.  

(d) Requires the operating payment rate under the prior rate setting method for the 

rate years beginning October 1, 2006, to be the rate in effect on June 30, 2006. For 

the rate years beginning October 1, 2007 and October 1, 2008, requires the 

commissioner to use the amounts in effect on the prior September 30.  

(e) Specifies the indices to be used for index maximization (the classification of a 

resident who could be assigned to more than one category to the category with the 

highest case mix index).  

(f) to (i) Establish the following schedule of blended rates for the phase-in period:  

October 1, 2006: 10 percent of the rate is determined under the new system and 90 

percent under the prior rate-setting method.  

October 1, 2007: 40 percent of the rate is determined under the new system and 60 

percent under the prior rate-setting method.  

October 1, 2008: 70 percent of the rate is determined under the new system and 30 

percent under the prior rate-setting method.  

Beginning October 1, 2009, 100 percent of the rate must be determined under the new 

system.  

(j) For the rate years beginning October 1 of 2006, 2007, and 2008, provides that if 

the rate determined under this section for a facility is less than the rate determined 

under the prior-rate setting method, the actual operating payment rate shall be the rate 

in effect on September 30, 2006. For the rate year beginning October 1, 2009, limits 

any rate reduction under this section to no more than $10 less than the rate 



 

 

determined under the prior rate-setting method. For rate years beginning on or after 

October 1, 2010, for facilities for which the rate determined under this section is less 

than the rate determined under the prior rate-setting method, provides that the actual 

operating payment rate is the rate determined under this section. 

Subd. 54. Audit authority. Establishes procedures and criteria for desk and field 

audits by the commissioner.  

Subd. 55. Remedies for disputes. Establishes procedures for provider appeals and 

review of appeals by the commissioner.  

Subd. 56. Interim rates. Requires the commissioner to determine interim payment 

rates for nursing facilities with no cost history. Specifies the methodology for 

determining interim rates. Allows the commissioner to negotiate interim rates when a 

facility is purchased by an unrelated party.  

22     Notice to residents. Amends § 256B.47, subd. 2. Makes changes in cross-references, to 

conform to the establishment of a new reimbursement system.  

23     Effective date. Amends Laws 2004, chapter 267, article 12, § 4. Amends the effective date 

for a provision allowing PERA benefits for employees of Renville Nursing Home.  

24     Moratorium project deadline extension in Aitkin County. Requires the commissioner of 

health to extend project approval until December 31, 2006, for a nursing home moratorium 

exception project to remodel a 48-bed facility in Aitkin county, approved under the 

competitive moratorium exception process in 2002. (Under current law, approval expires 

after 18 months, unless construction has commenced; exceptions approved between July 1, 

2001, and June 30, 2003, have had approval extended an additional 18 months.)  

25     Moratorium project deadline extension in Renville County. Requires the commissioner of 

health to extend project approval until December 31, 2006, for a nursing home moratorium 

exception project to remodel a 60-bed facility in Renville county, approved under the 

competitive moratorium exception process in 2002.  

26     Recommendations for criteria and rate negotiations for nursing facilities. Requires the 

commissioner of human services to provide recommendations to the legislature by 

December 15, 2006 defining criteria and rate negotiations for nursing facilities that provide 

specialized care or that have extenuating circumstances. Also requires the commissioner to 

provide recommendations to the legislature by December 15, 2006 on changes to the 

current nursing facility property system.  

Article 5: Continuing Care for the Elderly and Disabled  

This article modifies provisions related to continuing care for the elderly and 

disabled. 

1. 1         Contribution amount. Amends § 252.27, subd. 2a. Modifies the sliding scale for parental 

fees reducing fees for parents with incomes within certain ranges.  

2         Employed persons with disabilities. Amends § 256B.057, subd. 9. Requires the 

commissioner, effective July 1, 2005, to reimburse MA enrollees who qualify as employed 

persons with disabilities (MA-EPD) for cost-effective Medicare Part B premiums, 

regardless of income. (Current law limits reimbursement to enrollees with incomes not 

exceeding 200 percent of FPG.) Also provides that inflation adjustments for Social Security 

benefits do not count as income for MA-EPD enrollees until July 1 of each year.  

3         Long-term care partnership. Adds § 256B.0571. Directs the commissioner to establish a 



 

 

long-term care partnership program and specifies program requirements.  

Subd. 1 through 7. Define terms.  

Subd. 8. Program established. (a) Requires the commissioner of human services, in 

cooperation with the commissioner of commerce, to establish the Minnesota 

partnership for long-term care program to finance long-term care through a 

combination of private insurance and MA.  

(b) In order to participate, requires individuals to: (1) be a Minnesota resident, (2) 

purchase a partnership policy that is delivered, issued, or renewed on or after the 

effective date of this section, and maintain the partnership policy; and (3) exhaust the 

minimum benefits of the policy.  

Subd. 9. Medical assistance eligibility. (a) Requires the commissioner to determine 

eligibility according to paragraphs (b) and (c).  

(b) Requires the commissioner, after disregarding the amount of assets exempted 

under MA, to disregard an additional amount of assets equal to the dollar amount of 

coverage utilized under the partnership policy.  

(c) Requires the commissioner to consider the individual's income according to MA 

requirements.  

Subd. 10. Approved policies. (a) Requires a partnership policy to meet all the 

requirements in paragraphs (b) to (h).  

(b) Minimum coverage must be for not less than three years and for a dollar amount 

equal to 36 months of nursing home care, and must provide for home health care days 

to be substituted for nursing home care days at a 2:1 ratio.  

(c) Minimum daily benefits must be $150 for nursing home care or $75 for home 

care, with these benefit amounts adjusted annually for purposes of both payment of 

benefits to the insured and minimum requirements for an approved policy.  

(d) A third party must be entitled to receive notice if a policy is about to lapse, and an 

additional 30-day grace period must be granted following notification of that person.  

(e) The policy must cover nursing home, home care, and care management services, 

and up to14 days of nursing care in a hospital while waiting for long-term care 

placement.  

(f) Payment for nursing care in a hospital must not exceed the daily benefit amount 

for nursing home care.  

(g) A partnership policy must offer, as options for an adjusted premium: an 

elimination period of not more than 180 days, and nonforfeiture benefits.  

(h) Requires an issuer of a partnership policy to comply with any federal law or 



 

 

regulations authorizing partnership policies in Minnesota. Gives the commissioner 

authority to enforce this paragraph.  

Subd. 11. Limitations on estate recovery. Prohibits the state from seeking recovery 

against the estate of an individual who participated in the partnership program, or the 

individual's spouse, for MA benefits received by that individual.  

Effective date. (a) Provides that if any provision of the section is prohibited by federal 

law, no provision shall become effective until federal law is changed to permit full 

implementation. Specifies requirements for providing notice of federal law changes 

or approval.  

(b) If federal law is changed to allow for a waiver of any provisions prohibited by 

federal law, directs the commissioner to apply for waivers, and provides that the 

provision shall become effective upon federal approval, and provision of notice.  

4         Targeted case management; definitions. Amends § 256B.0621, subd. 2. Modifies the 

definition of "relocation targeted case management" to include both county targeted case 

management and public or private vendor service coordination.  

5         Eligibility. Amends § 256B.0621, subd. 3. Modifies eligibility provision for relocation 

targeted case management or home care targeted case management.  

6         Relocation targeted county case management provider qualifications. Amends § 256B.0621, 

subd. 4. Specifies that the provider qualifications listed apply to county case management 

providers. Provides that counties must require contracted providers to provide information 

on all conflicts of interest and obtain the recipient's informed consent or provide the 

recipient with alternatives.  

7         Home care targeted case management and relocation service coordination provider 

qualifications. Amends § 256B.0621, subd. 5. Specifies the provider qualifications for 

providers of home care targeted case management and relocation service coordination.  

8         Eligible services. Amends § 256B.0621, subd. 6. (a) Modifies the services eligible for MA 

reimbursement as targeted case management.  

(b) Specifies what is included in relocation targeted county case management, relocation 

service coordination, and home care targeted case management.  

9         Time lines. Amends § 256B.0621, subd. 7. Specifies that eligible recipients must be 

assigned a county case manager for relocation targeted case management. Allows a 

recipient to obtain relocation service coordination from a qualified provider if the county, 

county's contractor, or tribe does not provide case management services as required.  

10     Data use agreement and notice of relocation targeted case management availability. 

Amends § 256B.0621, by adding subd. 11. (a) Requires the commissioner to execute a data 

use agreement with CMS to obtain the long-term care minimum data set data to assist 

residents of nursing facilities who have indicated a desire to live in the community. 

Requires the commissioner to enter into an agreement with the Centers for Independent 

Living to provide information about assistance for persons who want to move to the 

community.  

(b) Requires the commissioner to provide notification to MA eligible persons who are 

residing in institutions of the availability of relocation targeted case management services, 

including county and senior and disability organization contact information.  

11     Skilled and intermediate nursing care. Amends § 256B.0625, subd. 2. Provides an 

exemption from the requirement that a hospital be classified under federal law as a sole 



 

 

community provider in order to receive MA payments for swing bed services. This 

exemption applies to facilities that had an agreement with the commissioner, as of January 

1, 2004, to provide swing bed services.  

Background: Federal law defines a sole community provider as a hospital that is located 

more than 35 miles from other hospitals, or meets other specified criteria related to patient 

use of other hospitals, distance or travel time, or lack of access to other hospitals. Federal 

law requires sole community providers to be reimbursed under the Medicare prospective 

payment system. Critical access hospitals are exempt from this prospective payment system 

and are reimbursed on a cost basis. A determination has therefore been made that critical 

access hospitals no longer qualify for swing bed services under current state law, since they 

cannot be classified as sole community providers.  

Provides that the section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to swing 

bed services provided on or after March 5, 2005.  

12     Eligibility for services. Amends § 256B.0913, subd. 2. Makes alternative care services 

available to persons age 65 or older who would be MA-eligible within 120 days of 

admission to a nursing facility. Currently, alternative care services are available to persons 

who become MA-eligible within 180 days of admission to a nursing facility.  

13     Eligibility for funding for services for nonmedical assistance recipients. Amends § 

256B.0913, subd. 4. Changes the length of time within which a person must become 

eligible for MA from 180 days to 120 days of admission to a nursing facility.  

14     Transitional supports allowance. Amends § 256B.0916, by adding subd. 10. Requires a 

transitional supports allowance to be available to all persons under a home and community-

based waiver who are moving from a licensed setting to a community setting. Defines 

transitional supports allowance. Lists covered costs. Makes this section effective upon 

federal approval and to the extent approved as a federal waiver amendment.  

15     Quality assurance system established. Amends § 256B.095. Extends the sunset date for the 

quality assurance system from June 30, 2007, to June 30, 2009.  

16     Membership. Amends § 256B.0951, subd. 1. Extends the sunset date for the Quality 

Assurance Commission from June 30, 2007, to June 30, 2009.  

17     Quality assurance teams. Amends § 256B.0952, subd. 5. Modifies per diem payments for 

quality assurance team members for time spent on alternative quality assurance process 

matters. Under current law, only team members who do not receive a salary or wages from 

an employer may receive per diem payments from the county. This proposal allows for any 

team member to be paid a per diem for time spent on alternative quality assurance process 

matters.  

18     Process components. Amends § 256B.0953, subd. 1. Modifies the random sample of 

program consumers by reducing the minimum sample size from three to two consumers.  

19     Division of cost. Amends § 256B.19, subd. 1. Modifies the division of costs between the 

state and counties for the cost of placements that have exceeded 90 days in ICFs/MR that 

have seven or more beds. Makes the division of costs 95 percent state funds and 5 percent 

county funds. Makes this section effective the day following final enactment. Under current 

law, the division of costs is 80 percent state funds and 20 percent county funds.  

20     Services and supports. Amends § 256B.49, subd. 16. Requires a transitional supports 

allowance to be available to all persons under a home and community-based waiver who are 

moving from a licensed setting to a community setting. Defines transitional supports 

allowance. Lists covered costs. Makes this section effective upon federal approval and to 

the extent approved as a federal waiver amendment.  

21     ICF/MR rate increases beginning October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006. Amends § 



 

 

256B.5012, by adding subd. 6. Increases ICF/MR total operating payment rates by two 

percent, for the rate years beginning October 1, 2005 and October 1, 2006. Requires at least 

two-thirds of each year's adjustment to be used for employee salaries, benefits, and 

associated costs. Requires facilities to report to the commissioner on how the additional 

funding is used.  

22     Alternative integrated long-term care services; elderly and disabled persons. Amends § 

256B.69, subd. 23.  

(e) Allows the commissioner of human services, in consultation with the commissioners of 

commerce and health, to approve and implement programs for all-inclusive care for the 

elderly (PACE), according to federal laws and regulations governing the program and state 

law or rules applicable to participating providers. Provides that the process for solicitation 

and approval of programs can begin only after the commissioner receives grant money 

sufficient to cover the state share of actuarial and administrative costs for FYs 2006 through 

2009. Specifies the following:  

 a PACE provider is not required to be licensed or certified as a health plan 

company  

 persons age 55 and older who have been screened and found eligible for elderly 

waiver or CADI waiver services, or who are already Medicaid eligible and meet 

the level of care criteria for waiver services may enroll in PACE  

 Medicare and Medicaid services will be provided according to this subdivision 

and federal requirements  

 PACE enrollees will receive Medicaid home and community-based services 

through a PACE provider as an alternative to waiver services  

the commissioner shall establish Medicaid rates for PACE providers that do not exceed 

costs under fee-for-service or relevant managed care programs.  

A new paragraph (f) directs the commissioner to seek federal approval to expand the 

Minnesota disability health options (MnDHO) program in stages, first to regional 

population centers outside the metro area and then to all areas of the state.  

23     Reimbursement for health care services. Adds § 256B.762. Increases MA reimbursement 

rates by five percent for the following services, when the services are provided as home 

health services:  

(1) skilled nursing visit;  

(2) physical therapy visit;  

(3) occupational therapy visit;  

(4) speech therapy visit; and  

(5) home health aide visit.  



 

 

These rates are effective for services provided on or after October 1, 2005.  

24     Provider rate increases. Amends § 256B.765. Increases reimbursement rates for specified 

community-based long-term care providers by two percent, for the rate years beginning 

October 1, 2005, and October 1, 2006. Requires at least two-thirds of each year's adjustment 

to be used for employee salaries, benefits, and associated costs. Requires each provider to 

report to the commissioner on how the additional funding was used. Also makes technical 

changes in codification.  

25     ICF/MR plan. Requires the commissioner to consult with ICF/MR providers, advocates, 

counties, and consumer families to develop recommendations and legislation concerning 

the future services provided to people now served in ICFs/MR. Requires the 

recommendations to be reported to the house and senate committees with jurisdiction over 

health and human services policy and finance issues by January 15, 2006. Lists several 

items the commissioner must consider in preparing the report. Makes this section effective 

the day following final enactment.  

26     Direction to the commissioner; licensing and alternative quality assurance study. Requires 

the commissioner to arrange for a study, including recommendations for statewide 

development and implementation of regional or local quality assurance models for 

disability services. Specifies what the study shall include. Requires the study to be done in 

consultation with counties, consumers of service, providers, and representatives of the 

Quality Assurance Commission. Requires the study to be submitted to the chairs of the 

legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services by July 1, 2006. 

Requires the commissioner to submit proposed legislation for implementation of a 

statewide system of quality assurance to the chairs of the legislative committees with 

jurisdiction over health and human services by December 15, 2006.  

27     Consumer-directed community supports exception. Upon federal approval, requires the 

commissioner to allow exceptions to exceed the state set budget formula amount when 

certain requirements are met, for specified persons using the CDCS option.  

28     Costs associated with physical activity. Upon federal approval, requires that costs 

associated with structured physical activity or other physical activities in the community 

support plan be allowable expenses for adults under the CDCS option.  

29     Waiver amendment. Requires the commissioner to submit a waiver amendment to CMS 

consistent with sections 27 and 28 by August 1, 2005.  

30     Independent evaluation and review of unallowable items. Requires the commissioner to 

include specified participation, recommendations, and review in the independent evaluation 

of the CDCS option. Makes this section effective the day following final enactment.  

31     Federal approval. Requires the commissioner, by August 1, 2005, to request any federal 

approval and plan amendments necessary to implement the transitional supports allowance 

and the choice of case management service coordination provisions.  

32     Dental access for persons with disabilities. Requires the commissioner of human services to 

study access to dental services for persons with disabilities and present recommendations 

for improving access to the legislature by January 15, 2006.  

33     Disabilities services interagency work group. Requires the Department of Human Services, 

the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, and the Minnesota State Council on Disability to 

convene an interagency work group to make recommendations on specified topics relating 

to persons with disabilities who are attempting to relocate from or avoid placement in 

institutional settings. Requires the group to report to each participating state agency and the 

chairs of legislative health and human services policy and finance committees by October 

15, 2006. Makes this section expire October 15, 2006.  



 

 

Article 6: Miscellaneous  

This article modifies the duties of the commissioner and requires a study on 

deemed income of sponsors of noncitizens. 

1. 1         Specific powers. Amends § 256.01, subd. 2. Modifies the duties of the commissioner by 

requiring the commissioner to authorize the method of payment to or from DHS. Provides 

that this authorization includes the receipt or disbursement of funds held by DHS in a 

fiduciary capacity as part of the programs administered by DHS.  

2         Annual report. Amends § 256.01, by adding subd. 23. Requires the commissioner to 

annually report the number of eligible applicants who applied for MA, GAMC, and 

MinnesotaCare who had not lived in Minnesota for the 12 months prior to the application 

month. Specifies that the report shall indicate the number of applicants by state or category 

of foreign country of prior residence.  

3         Direction to commissioner; study on deemed income of sponsors of noncitizens. Requires 

the commissioner to assess county compliance with deeming of income and assets of 

sponsors of noncitizens required under the MA, GAMC, GA, MFIP, and MinnesotaCare 

programs. Requires the commissioner to report findings on county compliance and make 

recommendations to ensure compliance to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 

human services by January 15, 2006.  

Article 7: Mental Health Services  

This article establishes standards for treatment foster care. It includes mental 

health telemedicine and psychiatric consultation as covered services for the 

various medical assistance programs. It provides for transitional youth intensive 

rehabilitative mental health services. 

1. 1         Admission criteria. Amends § 245.4885, subd. 1.  

 Deletes the word "screen" and substitutes the phrase "determine the needed level of 

care."  

 Adds treatment foster care to the list of programs serving children referred for 

treatment for severe emotional disturbance. Counties are responsible for determining 

the appropriate program prior to the child's placement.  

 Deletes the requirement that for children being held for emergency treatment, 

screening must occur within three working days of admission, and moves it to a new 

section.  

Adds that a diagnostic assessment must now include an assessment of the child's need for 

out-of-home care using a tool approved by the commissioner of human services.  

2         Emergency admission. Amends § 245.4885 by adding subd. 1a. Requires a level of care 

determination to be completed within three working days if a child is admitted for 

emergency treatment in treatment foster care, a residential treatment facility, an acute care 

hospital, or held for emergency treatment under section 253B.05, subdivision 1.  

This section is effective July 1, 2006.  



 

 

3         Qualifications. Amends § 245.4885, subd. 2. Substitutes "level of care determination" for 

"screening." Adds treatment foster care to the listed services. Makes a technical change 

removing unused waiver authority.  

This section is effective July 1, 2006.  

4         Mental health telemedicine. Amends § 256B.0625 by adding a subd. 46. Adds coverage, 

subject to federal approval, for mental health telemedicine services to the medical assistance 

program.  

5         Treatment foster care services. Amends § 256B.0625 by adding subd. 47. Adds coverage, 

subject to federal approval, for treatment foster care services to the medical assistance 

program.  

6         Psychiatric consultation to primary care practitioners. Amends § 256B.0625 by adding 

subd. 48. Adds coverage for psychiatric consultation to primary care providers to the 

medical assistance program.  

This section is effective January 1, 2006.  

7         Treatment foster care. Adds § 256B.0946.  

Subd. 1. Covered service. Paragraph (a). Provides that medical assistance covers 

medically necessary services offered by eligible providers to children placed in 

treatment foster care.  

Paragraph (b). States that services for children in treatment foster care must meet the 

relevant standards for mental health services. Specific service components to be 

eligible for medical assistance reimbursement must meet the following standards:  

 Case management must comply with the Minnesota Rules, parts 9520.0900 to 

9520.0926, excluding subparts 6 and 10;  

 Psychotherapy and skills training must comply with section 256B.0943; and  

 Family psychoeducation services must be supervised by a mental health 

professional.  

Subd. 2. Determination of client eligibility . Provides that a diagnostic assessment, an 

evaluation of level of care, and an individual treatment plan are to be used in 

determining whether a child is eligible for treatment foster care services.  

Paragraph (a). Provides the requirements for the diagnostic assessment that must be 

performed. States that this assessment is to be conducted within 180 days prior to the 

start of services and must be completed annually until the child is age 18.  

Paragraph (b). Provides that the placing county must conduct the level of care 

evaluation with an instrument approved by the commissioner.  

Paragraph (c). Provides the components of the individual treatment plan.  

Subd. 3. Eligible providers. States that a provider agency must have an individual 

placement agreement for each child and must be a licensed child-placing agency. An 



 

 

agency must be a county, an Indian health services facility, or a noncounty entity 

under contract with a county board.  

Subd. 4. Eligible provider responsibilities. Paragraph (a). Instructs that a provider 

must develop written policies and procedures.  

Paragraph (b). Directs that caseload size must reasonably enable the provider to play 

an active role in serving the needs of the client, birth family, and foster family.  

Subd. 5. Service authorization. Provides that the commissioner will authorize services 

under this section.  

Subd. 6. Excluded services. Paragraph (a). Lists services that are not eligible as 

components of treatment foster care.  

Paragraph (b). States that children receiving treatment foster care services are not 

eligible for medical assistance reimbursement for case management services under 

section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, or psychotherapy and skills training under section 

256B.0625, subdivision 35b.  

This section is effective July 1, 2006.  

8         Transitional youth intensive rehabilitate mental health services. Adds§ 256B.0947.  

Subd. 1. Scope. Provides that, with federal approval, medical assistance will cover the 

medically necessary services defined in subdivision 2 for eligible recipients defined 

in subdivision 3 by providers meeting the standards of this section.  

Subd. 2. Definitions. Paragraph (a). Defines "intensive nonresidential rehabilitate 

mental health services" as children's mental health services provided by a team of 

multidisciplinary staff for those youth with a serious mental illness who require 

intensive services.  

Paragraph (b). Defines "evidence based practices" as nationally recognized mental 

health services, proven by substantial research, that are effective in helping 

individuals with serious mental illness.  

Paragraph (c). Defines "treatment team" as all staff who provide services to 

recipients. Lists the individuals to be included in the treatment team.  

Subd. 3. Eligibility for transitional youth. To be eligible for the services in this 

section, an individual must be age 16 or 17; diagnosed with a medical condition, such 

as emotional disturbance or traumatic brain injury; have substantial disability and 

functional impairment so that self-sufficiency in adulthood or emancipation is 

unlikely; and have had a recent diagnostic assessment indicating that services in this 

section are medically necessary.  

Subd. 4. Provider certification and contract requirements. States that a provider must 

have a contract with the host county and be certified by the commissioner of human 

services. Directs the commissioner to establish procedures for counties and providers 

to submit contracts and other documentation that will allow the commissioner to 



 

 

determine whether standards in this section are met.  

Subd. 5. Standards applicable to nonresidential providers. Paragraph (a). States that 

services must be provided by a certified provider that is an Indian health services 

facility or a tribal-owned organization; a county-operated entity; or a noncounty 

entity recommended for certification by the host county. The provider must meet 

administrative and clinical infrastructure requirements outlined in section 256B.0943, 

subdivisions 5 and 6.  

Paragraph (b). Directs that the clinical supervisor must be an active member of the 

treatment team, meeting with the treatment staff at least weekly for recipient-specific 

case reviews and planning.  

Paragraph (c). Provides that a mental health practitioner or mental health professional 

must be promptly accessible to the treatment staff.  

Paragraph (d). Directs that the initial functional assessment must be completed within 

ten days of intake and updated at least every three months.  

Paragraph (e). Directs that the initial individual treatment plan must be completed 

within ten days of intake and updated at least monthly.  

Subd. 6. Additional standards for nonresidential services. Provides the standards for 

intensive nonresidential rehabilitative mental health services:  

 Services must be provided by a team, not an individual.  

 The clinical supervisor must function, at least part-time as a practicing 

clinician.  

 The staffing ratio must not exceed ten recipients to one full-time 

equivalent treatment team position.  

 Services must be available at times to meet the client's needs.  

 There must be active outreach to the recipient's family and significant 

others.  

 There must be ongoing communication and collaboration between the 

treatment team, family and significant others.  

 Interventions must promote positive interpersonal relationships.  

Subd. 7. Medical assistance payment for intensive rehabilitative mental health 

services. Paragraph (a). States that services shall be based on one daily rate per 

provider.  

Paragraph (b). Provides that payment will not be made to more than one entity for 



 

 

each recipient on a given day except as indicated in paragraph (c).  

Paragraph (c). States that the host county shall recommend to the commissioner one 

rate for each entity that will bill for medical assistance. Directs the host county to 

consider the costs for similar services, actual costs incurred by entities providing the 

services, the intensity and frequency of services to be provided, the degree to which 

recipients will receive other services, and the costs of other services that will be 

separately reimbursed.  

Paragraph (d). Provides that reimbursement rates must not include medical assistance 

room and board rate and services, such as partial hospitalization and inpatient 

services, not covered by this section. Directs that physical services are not a 

component of the treatment team and may be billed separately.  

Paragraph (e). States that case management services must be provided when services 

are provided by an assertive community team.  

Paragraph (f). Provides that a provider's rate must not exceed the rate charged by the 

provider to other payor's.  

Paragraph (g). Directs the commissioner to approve or reject the county's rate 

recommendation based on the commissioner's own analysis.  

Subd. 8. Provider enrollment, rate setting for county-operated entities. Requires 

counties that employ their own staff to apply directly to the commissioner for 

enrollment and rate setting.  

9         General assistance medical care; services. Amends § 256D.03, subd. 4. Adds mental health 

telemedicine and psychiatric consultation to the list of covered services under the general 

assistance medical care program.  

This section is effective January 1, 2006.  

10     Covered health services. Amends § 256L.03, subd. 1. Adds mental health telemedicine and 

psychiatric consultation to the list of covered services under the MinnesotaCare program.  

This section is effective January 1, 2006.  



 

 

Article 8: Health Policy  

This article contains provisions related to programs and entities administered or 

regulated by the commissioner of health. The article: increases fees related to 

wells, health care facilities, vital records, environmental laboratories, and food 

and beverage establishments; establishes a rural pharmacy grant program; makes 

changes related to loan forgiveness programs; establishes reporting requirements 

related to parental/guardian abortion notification; establishes requirements related 

shaken baby syndrome and postpartum depression education; establishes a 

voluntary trauma system; establishes a cancer drug repository program; limits the 

use and eligibility of family planning grants; establishes an abortion alternatives 

grant program; establishes the "Unborn Child Pain Prevention Act;" eliminates 

the Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice; 

and makes other changes. 

1. 1         Abortion notification data. Amends § 13.3806, subd. 21. Adds a cross-reference to the Data 

Practices Act to the new abortion notification data provisions in § 144.3431.  

2         Health information technology and infrastructure advisory committee. Adds § 62J.495. 

Establishes the Health Information Technology and Infrastructure Advisory Committee. (A 

similar work group was established in 2004 (Minnesota Laws, ch. 288, art. 7, § 7). The 

establishment of the Health Information Technology and Infrastructure Advisory 

Committee is meant to continue this work group.)  

Subd. 1. Legislative findings and purpose. Adds a statement of purpose, stating that 

there is a need for collaboration among various stakeholders in designing and 

implementing a statewide interoperable health information infrastructure.  

Subd. 2. Establishment; members; duties. Directs the commissioner of health to 

establish the Health Information Technology and Infrastructure Advisory Committee 

to advise the commissioner on:  

 the use of health information technology by the state, licensed health care 

providers and facilities, and local public health agencies;  

 recommendations for implementing a statewide interoperable health 

information infrastructure; and  

 other related issues requested by the commissioner.  

Requires the members of the Health Information Technology and Infrastructure 

Advisory Committee to include: the commissioners (or the designees) of health, 

human services, and commerce; and those appointed by the commissioner of health 

representing local public health agencies, licensed hospitals and other 

facilities/providers, medial and nursing professionals, health insurers, health plans, 

the state quality improvement organization, academic and research institutions, 

consumer advisory organizations, and others identified by the committee.  

Subd. 3. Annual Report. Requires the commissioner of health to prepare annual 

reports outlining progress in implementing a statewide health information 



 

 

infrastructure and recommending future projects, due January 30 each year.  

Subd. 4. Expiration. States that this section expires June 30, 2009.  

3         Fees for variances. Amends § 103I.101, subd. 6. Increases the application fee for variances 

regarding wells and borings to $175 (the current fee is $150).  

Effective date. States that this section is effective July 1, 2006..  

4         Well notification fee. Amends § 103I.208, subd. 1. Increases well notification fees paid by 

property owners to the following fee levels:  

 $175 for new wells (the current fee is $150);  

 $35 for each well sealing (the current fee is $30);  

 $35 for the single well sealing fee (the current fee is $30);  

 $175 for dewatering well construction (the current fee is $175); and  

 $875 for dewatering well construction of five or more wells (the current fee is 

$750).  

Effective date. States that this section is effective July 1, 2006.  

5         Permit fee. Amends § 103I.208, subd. 2. Increases permit fees paid by property owners as 

follows:  

 $150 annually for wells that are not in use under a maintenance permit (the 

current fee is $125 annually);  

 $175 for construction of a monitoring well (the current fee is $150);  

 $150 annually for monitoring wells that are unsealed under a maintenance 

permit (the current fee is $125 annually);  

 $175 for monitoring wells used as a leak detection device at single motor fuel 

retail outlets, single petroleum build storage sites (excluding tank farms) or 

single agricultural chemical facility sites (the current fee is $150);  

 $150 annually for a maintenance permit for unsealed monitoring wells (the 

current fee is $125);  

 $175 for the notification fee for groundwater thermal exchange devices (the 

current fee is $150);  

 $175 for a vertical heat exchanger (the current fee is $150);  

 $150 for dewatering unsealed dewatering wells (current fee is $125), except for 

projects with more than five wells, the fee increases to $750 for a single permit 

(the current fee is $625; and  



 

 

 $175 for excavating holes for installing elevator shafts (the current fee is $150).  

Effective date. States that this section is effective July 1, 2006.  

6         Disclosure of wells to buyer. Amends § 103I.235, subd. 1. Increases the fee for a completed 

well disclosure certificate from $30 to $40, and increases the amount of the fee transmitted 

to the commissioner of health from $27.50 to $32.50.  

Effective date. States that this section is effective July 1, 2006.  

7         License required to make borings. Amends § 103I.601, subd. 2. Requires a person making 

an exploratory boring to have an explorer's license by strengthening the language from 

"may" to "must." Also adds a fee of $75 and states that the license is valid until the date 

prescribed by the commissioner of health. Creates the following license application 

requirements:  

 requires a person to file an application and renewal application fee to renew the 

explorer's license by the date stated on the license and adds a renewal license fee 

of $75;  

 requires a licensee filing after the required renewal date to submit a late fee of 

$75 and refrain from conducting activities authorized by the license until all the 

necessary application requirements and sealing reports have been submitted;  

 requires an explorer to designate an individual responsible for overseeing the 

making of exploratory borings and requires individuals to submit an application 

and $75 fee to qualify as a responsible individual. Also exempts geoscientists, or 

professional geologists certified by the American Institute of Professional 

Geologists, from existing examination requirements (current law allows 

"certified geologists" to be exempted from the examination requirements).  

8         License, permit, and survey fees. Amends § 144.122. Increases license fees for hospitals, 

nursing homes, and outpatient surgical centers as follows:  

 JACHO hospitals $7,555 plus $13 per bed (the current fee is $7,055 with no per 

bed charge);  

 non-JACHO hospitals: $5,180 plus $247 per bed (the current fee is $4,680 plus 

$234 per bed); and  

 outpatient surgical centers: $3,349 (the current fee is $1,512).  

9         Definition. Amends § 144.147, subd. 1. Modifies the definition of an "eligible rural 

hospital" for the purposes of the rural hospital grant program by increasing the population 

limit for an eligible hospital's community from less than 10,000 to less than 15,000. The 

increase retains eligibility for current and prospective critical access hospitals.  

10     Grants authorized. Amends § 144.147, subd. 2, para. (b). Adds "electronic health records 

system" to the list of possible uses of grants made to eligible rural hospitals under the Rural 

Hospital Grant Program.  

11     Rural pharmacy planning and transition grant program. Adds § 144.1476. Establishes the 



 

 

rural pharmacy planning and transition grant program.  

Subd. 1. Definitions. Defines "eligible rural community," "health care provider," 

"pharmacist," and "pharmacy" for the purposes of the program.  

Subd. 2. Grants authorized; eligibility. Requires the commissioner of health to award 

grants to eligible rural communities or health care providers in eligible rural 

communities for the purpose of planning, establishing, keeping in operation, or 

providing health services the preserve access to prescription medication and the skills 

of pharmacists. To be eligible for the grants, applicants must develop a strategic plan 

that includes: (1) a needs assessment; (2) a feasibility assessment; and (3) an 

implementation plan. The grants may be used: (1) to implement transition projects; 

(2) to develop practices that integrate pharmacy and health care facilities; (3) to 

establish a pharmacy provider cooperative; or (4) for initiatives that maintain local 

access to prescription medications and the skills of pharmacists.  

Subd. 3. Funding. Requires fee revenues collected by the Board of Pharmacy to pay 

anticipated operating expenditures and fund the rural pharmacy grant program. Limits 

the administrative use of funds appropriated for the rural pharmacy grant program to 

ten percent.  

Subd. 4. Consideration of grants. Requires the commissioner of health to appoint a 

committee to determine which applicants will receive grants. The committee 

members must include: two rural pharmacists; two rural health care providers; one 

representative of a statewide pharmacist organization; and one representative of the 

board of pharmacy. A representative of the commissioner of health may also serve in 

an ex officio status. When determining who shall receive grants, the committee must 

take the following into account: improving/maintaining access to prescription 

medications and the skills of pharmacists; changes in service populations; the extent 

pharmacy needs are not being met by other providers; financial condition; the 

integration of pharmacy services into existing health care services; and community 

support.  

Subd. 5. Allocation of grants. Requires the commissioner to establish a deadline for 

receiving applications and to make a final funding decision within 60 days of the 

deadline. Requires applicants to file no later than March 1 of each fiscal year for 

grants made that fiscal year. Allows each community board 30 days to review and 

comment on the eligible applications and allows applicants to apply each year they 

are eligible. Limits each grant to $50,000 a year and prohibits the use of the funds to 

retire debt from capital expenditures made prior to the date the program was initiated.  

Subd. 6. Evaluation. Requires the program to be evaluated annually via reports 

completed by the recipients of the grants. The commissioner of health or recipients 

may request the expertise of an academic institution to assist in the program 

evaluation.  

12     Definition. Amends § 144.148, subd. 1. Paragraph (b) modifies the definition of an "eligible 

rural hospital" for the purposes of the rural hospital capital improvement grant program by 

increasing the population limit for an eligible hospital's community from less than 10,000 to 

less than 15,000. The increase retains eligibility for current and prospective critical access 

hospitals. Paragraph (c) is modified to add electronic health records system to the definition 



 

 

of "eligible project" for the purposes of the Rural Hospital Capital Improvement Grant 

Program.  

13     Rural health initiatives. Amends § 144.1483. Removes clause (2), eliminating the 

requirement of the commissioner of health to develop and implement a program to help 

rural communities establish community health centers (the Rural Community Health Center 

Grant Program is repealed in section 6 of this bill).  

14     Definitions. Amends § 144.1501, subd. 1. Adds a definition for "dentist" and "pharmacist" 

for the purposes of the health professional education loan forgiveness program.  

15     Creation of account. Amends § 144.1501, subd. 2. Adds dentists agreeing to deliver at least 

25 percent of their yearly patient encounters to state public program enrollees or patients 

receiving sliding fee schedule discounts to the list of those eligible for a health professional 

education loan forgiveness program. Also adds pharmacists agreeing to practice in 

designated rural areas to the list of individuals who the commissioner of health is required 

to distribute money to from the health professional education loan forgiveness program 

account.  

16     Eligibility. Amends § 144.1501, subd. 3. Adds dental residents and individuals in dentist 

programs to the list of individuals eligible for the health professional education loan 

forgiveness program. Allows the commissioner to consider dental program graduates who 

are licensed dentists for the loan forgiveness program if there are not enough applications 

submitted by dental students or residents to fill the dentist participant slots available. Also 

adds a licensed pharmacist to the list of individuals eligible to participate in the health 

professional education loan forgiveness program.  

17     Loan forgiveness. Amends § 144.1501, subd. 4. Adds "patient group" to the list of factors 

considered by the commissioner in proportionally distributing funds. Modifies the provision 

allowing the commissioner of health to allocate funds if the commissioner does not receive 

enough eligible applicants by: (1) removing the reference to urban underserved 

communities and replacing it with "any eligible profession;" and (2) allowing remaining 

funds to be allocated proportionally among the other eligible professions according the 

vacancy rate for each profession in the required geographic area, patient group, or facility 

type.  

18     Which services are for fee. Amends § 144.226, subd. 1. Increases the fee for issuing a 

certified vital record or a certification that the record cannot be found from $8 to $9. Adds 

that the fee is nonrefundable.  

Paragraph (b) clarifies that the fee for a replacement birth or death record is for processing 

the request and increases the fee from $20 to $40. Also adds that the fee is nonrefundable 

and due at the time of application.  

Paragraph (c) clarifies that the fee for filing a delayed registration of birth or death is for 

processing the request and increases the fee from $20 to $40. Adds that the fee is 

nonrefundable and due at the time of application and that the fee includes one subsequent 

review of the request if not acceptable upon the initial receipt.  

Paragraph (d) clarifies that the fee for amending any vital record is for processing the 

request and increases the fee from $20 to $40. Adds that the fee is nonrefundable and due at 

the time of application and that the fee includes one subsequent review of the request if not 

acceptable upon the initial receipt.  

Paragraph (e) clarifies that the fee for verifying information from vital records is for 

processing the request and increases the fee from $8 to $9. Adds that the fee is 



 

 

nonrefundable and due at the time of application.  

Paragraph (f) clarifies that the fee for issuing a copy of any vital record or statement for 

which a record cannot be found is for processing the request and increases the fee from $8 

to $9. Adds that the fee is nonrefundable and due at the time of application.  

19     Vital records surcharge. Amends § 144.226, subd. 4. Increases the vital record 

nonrefundable surcharge fee from $2 to $4.  

20     Electronic verification. Amends § 144.226 by adding subd. 5. States that a fee for the 

electronic verification of a vital event, when the information being verified is obtained from 

a certified birth or death record, shall be established through agreements with local, state, or 

federal agencies.  

21     Alternative payment methods. Amends § 144.226 by adding subd. 6. Allows alternative 

payment methods to be approved by a state or local registrar.  

22     Abortion notification data. Adds § 144.3431.  

Subd. 1. Reporting form. Requires the department of health to prepare a reporting 

form for use by physicians and facilities that perform abortions. Specifies that the 

form must cover:  

 The number of minors or women for whom a guardian was appointed and 

for whom the physician provided the parent/guardian notification required 

in current law; of that number, how many notices were provided in person 

and how many by mail; and how many women who were the subjects of 

these notifications obtained an abortion from the reporting physician or 

facility;  

 The number of minors or women for whom a guardian was appointed and 

for whom the physician performed an abortion without providing the 

parent/guardian notification required in current law; how many of those 

women were emancipated minors; and how many of the cases involved 

each of the following: (1) the abortion was required to prevent death and 

there was insufficient time to provide the notification, (2) the abortion was 

authorized in writing by the person entitled to notification, or (3) the 

pregnant minor was the victim of sexual or physical abuse or neglect, 

which had been reported to the authorities.  

 The number of abortions performed for which judicial authorization was 

received and parent/guardian notification was not provided;  

 The county of residence where the woman resides, where the abortion was 

performed, and where judicial bypass was obtained;  

 The age and race of the woman;  

 The process used to inform the woman of the judicial bypass, whether 

court forms were provided to her, and whether the physician or physician's 

agent made court arrangements for the woman; and  

 How soon after visiting the abortion facility the woman went to court.  



 

 

Subd. 2. Forms to physicians and facilities. Requires physicians and facilities to 

obtain these forms from department of health.  

Subd. 3. Submission. Requires reports to be made by April 1 each year for the 

previous calendar year. Requires the department of health to maintain as confidential 

data information that would identify a woman who had an abortion or received 

judicial authorization for an abortion, an individual who received a parent/guardian 

notification, or a reporting physician or facility.  

Subd. 4. Failure to report as required. Reports that are more than 30 days late are 

subject to a $500 late fee for each additional 30-day period or portion of a 30-day 

period. If a report is not filed more than one year after it is due, department of health 

must seek a court order directing the physician or facility to report. Allows the court 

to assess attorney fees and costs against a noncomplying party.  

Makes private: data related to enforcement actions that would identify a woman who 

had an abortion or received judicial authorization for an abortion, an individual who 

received a parent/guardian notification, or a reporting physician or facility.  

Subd. 5. Public records. Requires the department of health to issue a public report 

each September 30 containing statistics for the prior calendar year derived from the 

form specified in subdivision 2.  

The report must also include statistics obtained from court administrators on the 

following: total number of judicial bypass petitions, number of cases in which a 

guardian ad litem was appointed, number of cases where counsel was appointed, 

number of cases granted by the court because of a finding of maturity and basis for 

the finding, number of petitions granted on the basis that the abortion would be in the 

minor's best interests and basis for that finding, number of denials from which an 

appeal was filed, number of appeals in which a denial was affirmed, number of 

appeals in which a denial was reversed.  

The report must accumulate information included in prior years' reports. The report 

must be presented in a way that that would not identify a woman who had an abortion 

or received judicial authorization for an abortion, an individual who received a 

parent/guardian notification, or a reporting physician or facility.  

Subd. 6. Modification of requirements. Allows the department of health to modify the 

reporting dates and consolidate forms or reports for administrative convenience or 

fiscal savings, as long as a report is issued at least annually.  

Subd. 7. Suit to compel statistical report. Allows a group of ten or more citizens to 

seek an injunction to require department of health to issue the public report if 

department of health fails to do so.  

Subd. 8. Attorney fees. Requires the court to award attorney fees to a prevailing 

plaintiff. If the defendant wins and the court finds the plaintiff's suit was frivolous 

and in bad faith, requires the court to award attorney fees to the defendant.  



 

 

Subd. 9. Severability. States that if any part of the section is found unconstitutional, 

any valid provisions are intended to remain in effect.  

23     Fee setting. Amends § 144.3831, subd. 1. Increases the annual fee for every service 

connection to a public water supply owned or operated by a home rule charter city, a 

statutory city, a city of the first class, or a town from $5.21 to $6.36.  

Effective date. States that this section is effective July 1, 2006.  

24     Restricted construction or modification. Amends § 144.551, subd. 1. Adds clause (19) to 

exempt critical access hospitals (established under § 144.1483, clause (10) and section 1820 

of the federal Social Security Act who delicensed beds after the Balanced Budget Act of 

1997) from the existing hospital construction moratorium provided they do not exceed the 

limits established in federal law. Several critical access hospitals reduced the number of 

licensed beds between 1998 and 2003 to comply with the limit of 15 beds established in 

federal law in 1997. In 2003, the federal limit was increased to 25; this change would allow 

hospitals to adjust to the federal change.  

25     Eligibility for license condition. Amends § 144.562, subd. 2. Allows critical access 

hospitals without attached nursing homes to provide up to 2,000 days annually of swing bed 

care (the current limit is 1,460 days) and the limit on using no more than 10 beds as swing 

beds at any one time is removed. Critical access hospitals that have attached nursing homes 

are allowed swing bed use up to the limits in federal law. The commissioner of health may 

approve bed usage beyond 2,000 days if the critical access hospital determines there are no 

skilled nursing facility beds within 25 miles that are willing to admit the patient (the critical 

access hospitals must maintain documentation that they have contacted facilities within this 

radius). Critical access hospitals that reach 2,000 days of use may admit six additional 

swing bed patients without approval from the commissioner of health. Health care systems 

may allocate their total limit of swing bed days among hospitals within the system, 

provided that no critical access hospital without an attached nursing home exceeds 2,000 

days per year.  

26     Education about the dangers of shaking infants and young children. Adds § 144.574. 

Establishes requirements for hospitals regarding educating parents about the dangers of 

shaking infants and young children.  

Subd. 1. Education by hospitals. Paragraph (a) requires hospitals licensed under 

sections 144.40 to 144.56 to provide parents of newborns (who delivered in the 

hospital) a video presentation on the dangers associated with shaking infants and 

young children. Paragraph (b) requires the video to be obtained from the 

commissioner of health or approved by the commissioner. The commissioner is 

responsible for providing the video at cost to the hospital. At the request of a hospital, 

the commissioner must review other video presentations for possible approval. 

Prohibits the commissioner from requiring the use of a video that would require 

hospitals to pay royalties, restrict the viewing, or be subject to other costs or 

restrictions. Paragraph (c) requires hospitals to, whenever possible, request both 

parents to view the video. Paragraph (d) states that the showing or distribution of the 

video shall not subject any person or facility from any action for damages or other 

relief provided the person or facility acted in good faith.  

Subd. 2. Education by health care providers. Requires the commissioner to establish a 

protocol for health care providers to educate parents and primary caregivers about the 

dangers associated with shaking infants and young children. The commissioner must 

request that family practice physicians, pediatricians, and other pediatric health care 



 

 

providers review these dangers with parents and primary care givers of infants and 

young children up to the age of three at each well-baby visit.  

27     Establishing a voluntary trauma system. Adds § 144.601. States that the legislature finds 

that death and disability due to major trauma can be reduced with a statewide trauma 

system and that the best system would be a voluntary one with the criteria established by 

the commissioner of health.  

28     Definitions. Adds § 144.602. Defines "commissioner," "major trauma," and "trauma 

hospital" for the purposes of sections 144.601 to 144.608.  

29     Statewide trauma system criteria. Adds § 144.603.  

Subd. 1. Criteria established. Requires the commissioner of health to adopt rules 

establishing criteria to ensure that severely injured people are promptly transported 

and treated at appropriate trauma centers. Requires certain minimum criteria.  

Subd. 2. Basis; verification. Requires the commissioner of health to base 

establishment, implementation, and modification of the criteria in subdivision 1 on 

the comprehensive statewide trauma system plan published by the Department of 

Health. Requires the commissioner of health to seek the advice of the Trauma 

Advisory Council and use the standards of various trauma experts. Requires the 

commissioner to modify the standards when appropriate and verify that the criteria 

are met by each hospital volunteering to participate.  

30     Trauma triage and transportation. Adds § 144.604.  

Subd. 1. Transport requirement. Requires an ambulance service to transport major 

trauma patients from the scene to the highest state-designated trauma hospital within 

30 minutes' transport time (unless the Emergency Medical Services Board has 

approved a deviation to the guidelines established under section 144E.101, 

subdivision 14).  

Subd. 2. Exceptions. Requires patients with compromised airways to be transported to 

the nearest designated trauma hospital. Restricts level II trauma hospitals capable of 

providing definitive trauma care from being bypassed in order to reach a level I 

trauma hospital.  

Subd. 3. Undesignated hospitals. Prohibits trauma patients from being transported to 

an undesignated trauma hospital unless no trauma hospital is available within 30 

minutes' transport time.  

This section is effective July 1, 2009.  

31     Designating trauma hospitals. Adds § 144.605.  

Subd. 1. Naming privileges. Prohibits a hospital from using the terms "trauma center" 

or "trauma hospital" in its name or advertising, or otherwise indicating that it has 

trauma capabilities unless the hospital has been designated a trauma hospital by the 

commissioner of health.  

Subd. 2. Designation; reverification. Requires the commissioner of health to 

designate four levels of trauma hospitals. Requires the commissioner to 

verify/reverify that hospitals applying for designation meet the requirements, and 

designate those meeting the requirements as the appropriate level trauma hospital for 



 

 

a period of three years. Hospitals volunteering to meet the requirements must apply 

for designation/reverification every three years. Prior to the three-year expiration of 

the trauma designation, a hospital must apply and either be awaiting a site visit or the 

results. Provides provisions for 18-month extensions in certain circumstances.  

Subd. 3. ACS verification. Requires the commissioner of health to grant level I, II, 

and III trauma designations to hospitals (meeting the appropriate American College 

of Surgeons' standards) that have submitted verification documentation and that have 

formerly notified the Trauma Advisory Council of its ACS verification.  

Subd. 4. Level III designation; not ACS verified. Establishes provisions for granting 

level III trauma designations to hospitals that are not ACS verified. Requires 

hospitals to complete and submit an application to the Trauma Advisory Council for 

review and verify that they meet the criteria of a level III trauma hospital. Requires a 

site visit and a submission of recommendations by a review team to the Trauma 

Advisory Council who must provide written recommendations on the designation to 

the commissioner who grants final approval.  

Subd. 5. Level IV designation. Establishes provisions for granting level IV trauma 

designations. Requires hospitals to complete and submit an application to the Trauma 

Advisory Council for review and verify that they meet the criteria of a level IV 

trauma hospital. Requires the Trauma Advisory Council to review the application 

and, if it approves, submit recommendations to the commissioner who grants final 

approval. When granting a level IV designation, the commissioner must arrange a site 

visit within three years, and every three years afterwards.  

Subd. 6. Changes in designation. Requires hospitals to report changes in their ability 

to meet trauma level designation criteria to the Trauma Advisory Council and other 

regional hospitals and local emergency medical services providers and authorities. If 

a hospital cannot meet its trauma level designation within six months, the hospital 

may apply for redesignation at a different level.  

Subd. 7. Higher designation. Allows a trauma hospital to apply for a higher trauma 

designation once during a three-year designation period by completing the 

appropriate level's designation process.  

Subd. 8. Loss of designation. Allows the commissioner to refuse or revoke trauma 

designations to hospitals who do not meet the criteria or who deny or refuse a 

reasonable request by the commissioner or commissioner's designee to verify 

information.  

32     Interhospital transfers. Adds § 144.606.  

Subd. 1. Written procedures required. Requires level III and IV trauma centers to 

have predetermined, written procedures for rapidly and efficiently transferring major 

trauma patients to definitive care.  

Subd. 2. Transfer agreements. Allows level III and IV hospitals to transfer patients to 

trauma hospitals that they have current written transfer agreements with. Requires 

level III and IV trauma centers to have a current transfer agreement with a hospital 

that has special capabilities in the treatment of burn injuries as well as a secondary 



 

 

hospital should the primary hospital be unable to accept a burn patient.  

33     Trauma registry. Adds § 144.607.  

Subd. 1. Registry participation required. Requires trauma hospitals to participate in 

the statewide trauma registry.  

Subd. 2. Trauma reporting. Requires trauma hospitals to report major trauma injuries 

as part of the traumatic brain injury registry under sections 144.661 to 144.665.  

Subd. 3. Application of other law. States that sections 144.661 to 144.665 (traumatic 

brain injury and spinal cord injury registry statutes) apply to major trauma reported to 

the statewide trauma system except section 144.662, clause (2) and section 144.664, 

subdivision 3, which require persons with traumatic brain/spinal cord injuries (or 

their families) to be notified of available rehabilitative resources and services in 

Minnesota.  

34     Trauma advisory council. Adds § 144.608.  

Subd. 1. Trauma advisory council established. Establishes the Trauma Advisory 

Council to consult with and make recommendations to the commissioner on the 

development, maintenance, and improvement of a statewide trauma system. Requires 

the council to consist of 15 members with various backgrounds. Allows a member 

whose membership depends upon their practice at a level III or IV trauma hospital to 

be appointed to an initial term based upon statements that their hospital intends to 

become a level III or IV facility by July 1, 2009.  

Subd. 2. Council administration. Requires the council to meet at least twice a year. 

The council is governed under section 15.059, but expires on June 30, 2015. Allows 

the council to appoint subcommittees (consisting of members only) and work groups 

(which may include non-members to be compensated for expenses only and governed 

under section 15.059).  

Subd. 3. Regional trauma advisory councils. Permits the formation of regional trauma 

advisory councils as needed. Requires the regional trauma advisory councils to 

consult with and make recommendations to the state Trauma Advisory Council on 

regional modifications to the statewide trauma criteria. Limits the number of 

members of a regional trauma advisory council to 15 to be named by the 

commissioner in consultation with the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory 

Board. Members are permitted to receive compensation in the manner and amount 

authorized and adopted under section 43A.18, subdivision 2.  

35     Cancer drug repository program. Adds § 144.707. Creates a cancer drug repository 

program.  

Subd. 1. Definitions. Defines "cancer drug," "cancer drug repository," "cancer 

supply," "Board of Pharmacy," "dispense," "distribute," "donor," "medical facility," 

"medical supplies," "pharmacist," "pharmacy," "practitioner," "prescription drug," 

"side effects of cancer," "single-unit-dose packaging," and "tamper-evident unit dose 

packaging" for the purposes of the program.  

Subd. 2. Establishment . Directs the Board of Pharmacy to establish and maintain a 

cancer drug repository program where cancer drugs and supplies may be donated for 



 

 

use by individuals meeting eligibility requirements established in subdivision 4. The 

drugs and supplies may be donated on the premises of a participating medical facility 

or pharmacy meeting the requirements of subdivision 3.  

Subd. 3. Requirements for participation by pharmacies and medical facilities. 

Establishes several requirements that must be met in order for pharmacies and 

medical facilities to participate in the program in the following paragraphs:  

(a) A pharmacy or medical facility must be licensed and in compliance with all 

applicable federal and state laws and administrative rules.  

(b) A pharmacy or medical facility volunteering to participate (the program is 

voluntary) must submit the following information to the Board of Pharmacy: their 

name, address, and telephone number; the name and telephone number of a 

pharmacist or other person knowledgeable of the pharmacy's or medical facility's 

participation in the program; and a statement that they meet the eligibility 

requirements in paragraph (a) and the chosen level of participation under paragraph 

(c).  

(c) A pharmacy or medical facility may participate by either accepting, storing and 

dispensing the drugs and supplies OR accepting and storing the drugs and supplies 

and donating them to a participating pharmacy or medical facility that dispenses the 

drugs and supplies.  

(d) A pharmacy or medical facility may withdraw from the program at anytime upon 

notification of the Board of Pharmacy by telephone or mail.  

Subd. 4. Individual eligibility requirements. States that any Minnesota resident 

diagnosed with cancer is eligible to receive drugs or supplies under the program 

according to the priorities established in subdivision 6.  

Subd. 5. Donations of cancer drugs and supplies. Paragraph (a) states that legally 

obtained cancer drugs and supplies may be donated by an individual age 18 years or 

older OR a pharmacy, medical facility, drug manufacturer, or wholesale drug 

distributor if the drugs or supplies have not been previously dispensed. The cancer 

drugs and supplies must meet the requirements in paragraph (b) or (c) in order to be 

donated.  

Paragraph (b) sets the criteria for cancer drugs. Cancer drugs must: (1) be 

accompanied by a cancer drug repository donor form signed by the person making 

the donation (or their authorized representative) as required in paragraph (d); (2) have 

an expiration date at least six months later than the date the drug was donated; (3) be 

in their original, unopened, tamper-evident unit dose packaging that includes the 

drug's lot number and expiration date (singe unit doses may be accepted if the single 

unit dose packaging is unopened); and (4) not be adulterated or misbranded.  

Paragraph (c) sets the criteria for cancer supplies. Cancer supplies must: (1) not be 

adulterated; (2) be in their original, unopened, sealed packaging; and (3) be 

accompanied by a cancer drug repository donor form signed by the person making 



 

 

the donation (or their authorized representative) as required in paragraph (d).  

Paragraph (d) requires that a cancer drug repository donor form be provided by the 

Board of Pharmacy and made available on the department's website. The form must 

state, to the best of the donor's knowledge, that the donated drug or supply has been 

properly stored and that the drug or supply has never been opened, used, tampered 

with, adulterated, or misbranded.  

Paragraph (e) states that drugs and supplies not meeting the requirements of this 

subdivision are not eligible for donation or acceptance under the program.  

Paragraph (f) states that drugs and supplies may be donated on the premises of a 

cancer drug repository to a pharmacist designated by the repository. A drop box may 

not be used.  

Paragraph (g) states that donated cancer drugs and supplies must: (1) be stored 

separately from nondonated drugs and supplies; and (2) be stored in a secure area 

with the appropriate environmental conditions appropriate for the drugs and supplies.  

Subd. 6. Dispensing requirements. Establishes requirements for dispensing the drugs 

and supplies, including:  

 requiring that the drugs and supplies be dispensed by a licensed 

pharmacist, pursuant to a prescription, and in accordance with Minnesota 

Statutes, chapter 151;  

 requiring that the drugs be inspected by the pharmacist for adulteration, 

misbranding and the expiration date (drugs that have expired or appear to 

be adulterated, tampered with or misbranded, may not by dispensed);  

 requiring recipients of the donated cancer drugs and supplies to sign a 

form provided by the Board of Pharmacy (and made available on the 

department's website) that states that the recipient understands that: (1) 

the drugs and supplies have been donated and may have been previously 

dispensed; (2) a pharmacist has inspected the drugs; (3) the pharmacist, 

the repository, the Board of Pharmacy, and any other program participant 

cannot guarantee the safety of the drug; and (4) the pharmacist has 

determined that the drug is safe based on visual inspection and the 

accuracy of the form submitted by the donor; and  

 requiring that drugs and supplies be dispensed to individuals meeting the 

eligibility requirements of subdivision 4 in the following order of priority: 

(1) uninsured, (2) enrolled in MA, GAMC, MinnesotaCare, Medicare, or 

other public assistance health care, and (3) all other eligible individuals.  

Subd. 7. Handling fees. Allows a cancer drug repository to charge individuals 

receiving a drug or supply a handling fee of no more than 250 percent of the MA 

program dispensing fee for each cancer drug or supply dispensed. (The current 

pharmacy dispensing fee is $3.65, with some exceptions (Minn. Stat. § 256B.0625, 



 

 

subd. 13e.))  

Subd. 8. Distribution of donated cancer drugs and supplies. States that cancer drug 

repositories may distribute donated drugs and supplies to another repository if 

requested by the other repository. Any repository electing not to dispense drugs and 

supplies shall distribute any donated drugs and supplies to a participating repository 

at the request of the other repository. Repositories distributing drugs and supplies 

under this subdivision shall complete a cancer drug repository form (provided by the 

Board of Pharmacy) and provide the original donor form (required under subdivision 

5) to the receiving repository at the time of the distribution.  

Subd. 9. Resale of donated drugs or supplies. States that donated drugs and supplies 

may not be resold.  

Subd. 10. Record-keeping requirements. Requires that cancer drug repository donor 

and recipient forms be maintained for at least five years. Also requires a record of the 

destruction of drugs and supplies that were not dispensed to be maintained for at least 

five years. The record of the destruction must include: the date of destruction; the 

name, strength, and quantity of the drug destroyed; the name of the person/firm that 

destroyed the drug; and the source of the drugs or supplies.  

Subd. 11. Liability. Exempts manufacturers of drugs and supplies (unless they 

exercise bad faith) from civil or criminal liabilities for injury, death, or loss to a 

person or property due to participation in the cancer drug repository program. 

Exempts medical facilities, pharmacies, pharmacists, practitioners, or donors 

participating in the program from civil liability for injuries or deaths of individuals to 

whom cancer drugs or supplies were dispensed. States that no disciplinary action 

shall be taken for unprofessional conduct related to donating, accepting, distributing 

or dispensing cancer drugs or supplies unless there was reckless, wanton, or 

intentional misconduct, or malpractice unrelated to the quality of the cancer drug or 

supply.  

36     Fees. Amends § 144.98, subd. 3. Modifies environmental laboratory certification fees. 

Increases the base certification fee from $1,200 to $1,600 and eliminates the reference to 

the fee being nonrefundable. Adds a sample preparation techniques fee of $100 per 

technique. Increases the test category certification fees as follows:  

 Clean water program bacteriology, safe drinking water program bacteriology, 

clean water program inorganic chemistry, and safe drinking water program 

inorganic chemistry categories are all increased from $600 to $800;  

 Clean water program chemistry metals, safe drinking water program chemistry 

metals, resource conservation and recovery program chemistry metals categories 

are all increased from $800 to $1,200;  

 Clean water program volatile organic compounds, safe drinking water program 

volatile organic compounds, resource conservation and recovery program 

volatile organic compounds, underground storage tank program volatile organic 

compounds, clean water program other organic compounds, safe drinking water 

program other organic compounds, and resource conservation and recovery 



 

 

program other organic compounds categories are all increased from $1,200 to 

$1,500; and  

 Adds the following four new test categories with a $2,500 fee: clean water 

program radiochemistry, safe drinking water program radiochemistry, resource 

conservation and recovery program agricultural contaminants, and resource 

conservation and recovery program emerging contaminants.  

Increases the additional fee charged to laboratories outside of the state that require an on-

site inspection (current law states "on-site survey") from $2,500 to $3,750. The language is 

also strengthened from "will" to "shall" be assessed.  

37     Trauma triage and transport guidelines. Amends § 144E.101 by adding subd. 14. Requires 

ambulance service licensees to have written, age appropriate trauma triage and transport 

guidelines consistent with the criteria established by the Trauma Advisory Council and 

approved by the board. Permits the board to allow certain deviations if they are in the best 

interest of the patient.  

38     Family planning grant funds not used to subsidize abortion services. Adds § 145.417. 

Limits the use and eligibility for family planning grants and establishes application 

requirements.  

Subd. 1. Definitions. Defines the terms "abortion," "family planning grant funds," 

"family planning services," "nondirective counseling," and "public advocacy" for the 

purposes of the section.  

Subd. 2. Uses of family planning grant funds. States that no family planning grant 

funds be: (1) spent to directly or indirectly subsidize abortion services or 

administrative expenses; (2) paid or granted to an organization or an affiliate of an 

organization that provides abortion services, unless the affiliate is independent; or (3) 

paid or granted to an organization that has adopted or maintains a policy that 

considers abortion part of a continuum of family planning services, reproductive 

health services or both.  

Subd. 3. Organizations receiving family planning grant funds. States that an 

organization receiving family planning grant funds must: (1) provide nondirective 

counseling relating to pregnancy, but may not directly refer patients seeking abortion 

services to any organization that provides abortion services; (2) not display or 

distribute materials about abortion services to patients; (3) not engage in public 

advocacy promoting the legality or accessibility of abortion; and (4) be separately 

incorporated from any affiliated organization that provides abortion services.  

Subd. 4. Independent affiliates that provide abortion services. States that an 

organization receiving family planning grants must not be affiliated with an 

organization that provides abortion services unless the organizations are independent 

from each other. In order to be independent, the organizations must not share any of 

the following: (1) the same or similar name; (2) medical/non-medical facilities; (3) 

expenses; (4) employee wages/salaries; or (5) equipment or supplies. Organizations 

receiving family planning grants that are affiliated with organizations providing 

abortion services must maintain financial records to demonstrate independence and 

compliance with this subdivision and demonstrate that no direct or indirect economic 

or marketing benefit from the family planning grants was received by the 



 

 

organization providing abortion services.  

Subd. 5. Independent audit. Requires an organization applying for a family planning 

grant to submit a copy of the organization's most recent independent audit with the 

grant application to ensure compliance with this section. Requires the audit to have 

been conducted within two years of the application submission.  

Subd. 6. Organizations receiving Title X funds. Provides that nothing in this section 

requires organizations receiving Title X funds under the Public Health Act to stop 

providing any services required as a condition of receiving those funds.  

Subd. 7. Severability. States that if any part of the section is found unconstitutional, 

the balance of the section remains in effect.  

39     Positive abortion alternatives. Adds § 145.4231. Establishes the positive abortion 

alternatives grant program.  

Subd. 1. Definitions. Defines "abortion" and "unborn child" for purposes of the 

program.  

Subd. 2. Eligibility for grants. Paragraph (a). Directs the commissioner of health to 

make grants for reasonable expenses to programs that provide information, referral 

and assistance for women to secure necessary services and to assist women in 

carrying their pregnancies to term.  

Paragraph (b). Provides that an eligible program, in addition to providing 

information and referral in paragraph (a), may provide the necessary services to 

assist women in carrying their pregnancies to term.  

Paragraph (c). Provides that to be eligible for a grant, a program must, among other 

things, be a private, nonprofit corporation; be free of charge; have the purpose of 

assisting and encouraging women to carry their pregnancies to term; ensure that 

none of the funds are spent to encourage or counsel a woman to have an abortion not 

necessary to prevent her death; and have had an alternatives to abortion program in 

existence for at least one year as of July 1, 2005.  

Paragraph (d). States that paragraph (c) is inseverable from the subdivision.  

Paragraph (e). Provides that any organization or affiliate of an organization that 

provides, promotes or refers for abortions is ineligible to receive a grant.  

Subd. 3. Duties of the commissioner. Provides that the commissioner of health shall 

make grants no later than July 1, 2006. Instructs the commissioner to monitor each 

grantee to ensure compliance with the purposes and requirements of subdivision 2. If 

a program does not adhere to the requirements, the commissioner is instructed to 

cease funding the program.  

Subd. 4. Severability. Contains a severability clause, except as instructed for 

subdivision 2, paragraph (c).  

Subd. 5. Supreme court jurisdiction. Gives the Minnesota Supreme Court original 



 

 

jurisdiction in cases challenging the constitutionality of this section. Requires the 

court to expedite the resolution of such cases.  

40     Unborn child pain prevention. Adds § 145.4232.  

Subd. 1. Short title. States that this act shall be cited as the "Unborn Child Pain 

Prevention Act."  

Subd. 2. Definitions. Provides definitions for the purposes of this section.  

(1) Abortion. Defines abortion as the term is used in section 144.343, subdivision 3.  

(2) Attempt to perform an abortion. Defines attempt to perform an abortion as it is 

used in section 145.4241, the Woman's Right to Know Act.  

(3) Unborn child. Defines unborn child as the term is used in section 145.4241, the 

Woman's Right to Know Act.  

(4) Medical emergency. Defines medical emergency as the term is used in section 

145.4241, the Woman's Right to Know Act.  

(5) Physician. Defines physician as the word is used in section 145.4241, the 

Woman's Right to Know Act.  

Subd. 3. Unborn child pain prevention. Directs that prior to performing an abortion 

on an unborn child who is of 20 weeks gestational age or more, the physician or the 

physician's agent shall inform the female if an anesthetic would eliminate or alleviate 

pain to the unborn child caused by the method of abortion. Provides that the 

physician or physician's agent shall inform the woman of risks associated with the 

anesthetic. Provides that with the woman's consent, the physician shall administer the 

anesthetic.  

Subd. 4. Criminal penalties. Provides that any person who knowingly or recklessly 

performs or attempts to perform an abortion in violation of this section is guilty of a 

felony. States the penalty does not apply to the woman upon whom the abortion is 

performed.  

Subd. 5. Civil remedies. Paragraph (a). Provides that actual and punitive damages 

may be sought by any person upon whom an abortion has been performed, the father 

or grandparents of an unborn child, against a person who knowingly or recklessly 

performed an abortion in violation of this section. Provides that actual and punitive 

damages may be sought by any person upon whom an abortion has been attempted 

against the person who attempted the abortion in knowing or reckless disregard of 

this section.  

Paragraph (b). Provides that the plaintiff will be awarded reasonable attorney's fees if 

the plaintiff prevails. Provides the defendant will be awarded reasonable attorney's 

fees if the defendant prevails and the court finds the plaintiff's suit was frivolous and 

brought in bad faith.  

Subd. 6. Protection of privacy. Provides that if the woman does not consent to 



 

 

disclosure of her identity in a civil or criminal proceeding, the court shall make a 

ruling whether to preserve her anonymity. The order shall be accompanied by 

specific findings, including how the order is narrowly tailored and how there are no 

less restrictive alternatives available. Provides that this section cannot be construed to 

conceal the identity of the plaintiff or a witness from the defendant.  

Subd. 7. Severability. Provides a severability clause.  

41     Community-based programs. Amends § 145.56, subd. 2. Modifies the requirement that the 

commissioner of health establish a community-based grant program, by making this 

contingent on the extent to which funds are appropriated.  

42     Periodic evaluations; biennial reports. Amends § 145.56, subd. 5. Modifies the requirement 

that the commissioner of health conduct periodic evaluations of the impacts and outcomes 

of the state's suicide prevention plan, by making this contingent on the extent to which 

funds are appropriated.  

43     Postpartum depression education and information. Adds § 145.906. Paragraph (a) requires 

the commissioner of health to work with health care facilities and licensed health care and 

mental health professionals, mental health advocates, consumers and families in Minnesota 

to develop materials and information about postpartum depression. Paragraph (b) requires 

physicians, traditional midwives, and other licensed health care professionals providing 

prenatal care to women to make available to women and their families information about 

postpartum depression. Paragraph (c) requires hospitals and other health care facilities to 

provide departing new mothers and fathers, and other family members as appropriate, with 

written information about postpartum depression including its symptoms, methods of 

coping with the illness, and treatment resources.  

44     AIDS prevention grants. Amends § 145.924. Prohibits the use of AIDS prevention grants 

for any web sites, pamphlets, or other communications that contain sexually explicit images 

or language.  

45     Community clinic grants. Amends § 145.9268. Modifies various provisions of the Rural 

Community Clinic Grant Program.  

Subd. 1. Definitions. Modifies and adds the types of entities used to define "eligible 

community clinics" for the purposes of community clinic grants.  

 Changes clause (1) by modifying the first entity type, limiting eligibility to 

nonprofit clinics, and changing the requirements of the clinic to include 

that the clinic was established to provide health care services to low 

income or rural population groups, and that the clinic provides medical, 

preventative, dental, or mental health primary care services. The clinic's 

options for determining eligibility are also expanded to include "other 

procedures" or procedures that ensure that no person will be denied 

services because they are unable to pay. (In current law, a sliding fee scale 

is the only procedure eligible.)  

 Changes clause (2) by modifying the second entity type, adding 

"government entity" as an eligible service unit and requiring that the 

service unit provides services and utilizes a sliding fee scale or other 

procedure (as expanded in clause 1).  

 Adds clause (4) which adds to the list of eligible entities, a nonprofit, 



 

 

tribal or government entity proposing to establish a clinic that will provide 

services and uses a sliding fee or other procedure (as expanded in clause 

1).  

Subd. 2. Grants authorized. Modifies the use of grants made to eligible community 

clinics by adding to "plan, establish, or operate services."  

Subd. 3. Allocation of grants. Adds "a process for documenting and evaluating 

results" to the required minimum components of the grant application. Modifies the 

list of criteria used to review the grant applications for eligibility by:  

 changing one criteria from the "priority level" of a project to the 

"eligibility" of a project;  

 adding "a description of the population demographics and service area of 

the proposed project" to the list of criteria; and  

 expanding the degree to which grant funds will be used to support 

services that increase access to health care services to also include the 

degree to which funds "maintain" access to health care services.  

Subd. 3a. Awarding grants. Adds subdivision 3a, creating a separate subdivision for 

the grant awarding process and making modifications to the grant awarding process 

to be followed by the commissioner. The modifications include:  

 eliminating the prioritization order of project activities the commissioner 

shall use in awarding grants;  

 adding electronic health records systems to the list of project activities 

the commissioner may award grants for; and  

 adding building or expanding an existing facility to the list of project 

activities the commissi oner may award grants for.  

Subd. 4. Evaluation and report. Modifies the components of the required evaluation 

done by the commissioner to include the needs of community clinics and 

recommendations for changing eligible activities. (Current law requires the 

commissioner's evaluation to include priority areas. The prioritization of activities is 

eliminated in subdivision 3a of this section.)  

46     Scope. Amends § 146A.11. Modifies the information required on the complementary and 

alternative health care bill of rights to conform with the elimination of the Office of 

Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice.  

47     Exemptions. Amends § 147A.08. Makes conforming changes to correct references 

displaced by section 9 of this article.  

48     Donated dental services. Amends § 150A.22. Changes the responsibility of the donated 

dental services program from the Board of Dentistry to the commissioner of health.  

49     Statewide hospitality fee. Amends § 157.15 by adding subd. 19. Defines "statewide 

hospitality fee" as a fee to fund statewide food, beverage, and lodging program 

development activities.  



 

 

50     License renewal. Amends § 157.16, subd. 2. Increases from $25 to $50 the penalty added to 

a license fee for food and beverage service establishments operating without a license (for 

less than 30 days) as a mobile food unit or seasonal temporary or permanent food stand, or a 

special event food stand. Increases from $50 to $100 the penalty added to a license fee for 

all restaurants, food carts, hotels, motels, lodging establishments, and resorts operating 

without a license (for less than 30 days). States that a late fee of $300 shall be added to the 

license fee for establishments operating without a license for more than 30 days.  

51     Food manager certification. Amends § 157.16 by adding subd. 2a. Requires applicants for 

certification or renewal of a food manager certificate to submit a $28 nonrefundable 

certification fee to the Department of Health.  

52     Establishment fees; definitions. Amends § 157.16, subd. 3. Paragraph (a) requires food and 

beverage establishments and establishments serving alcohol to pay the highest applicable 

fee under paragraph (d); this corrects a cross-reference.  

Paragraph (b) increases the annual base fee for food and beverage establishments (except 

for special event food stands, hotels, motels, lodging establishments and resorts) from $145 

to 150.  

Paragraph (c) increases the flat fee charged to special event food stands from $35 annually 

to $40 annually.  

Paragraph (d) increases the following fee categories added to the base fee under paragraph 

(b) as follows (except for special event food stands): limited food menu select from $40 to 

$50; small establishments from $75 to $100; medium establishments from $210 to $260; 

large establishments from $350 to $460; other food and beverage service from $40 to $50; 

beer or wine table service from $40 to $50; alcoholic beverage service (other than beer or 

wine table service) from $105 to $135; lodging per sleeping accommodation unit from $6 to 

$8, with a maximum charge of $800 (increased from $600); first public swimming pool 

from $140 to $180, with each additional pool at $100 (up from $80); first spa from $80 to 

$110, with each additional spa at $50 (up from $40); private sewer or water from $40 to 

$50; adds an "additional food service" category with a fee of $130 which applies to 

locations at food service establishments other than the primary food preparation and service 

area; and adds an "additional inspection fee" of $300 for school inspections requiring a 

second inspection under the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act.  

Paragraph (e) increases the fee charged for the review of construction plans from $150 to 

$350 and modifies the list of entities to which the fee applies.  

Paragraph (f) increases the remodeling plan fee from $150 to $250 and requires that a fee of 

$250 be submitted for new construction or remodeling of a restaurant with a limited food 

menu selection, a seasonal permanent food stand, a mobile food unit, or a food cart, or for a 

hotel, motel, resort or lodging establishment addition of less than five sleeping units.  

53     Statewide hospitality fee. Amends § 157.16 by adding subd. 3a. Requires every person, 

firm, or corporation operating a licensed boarding establishment, food and beverage service 

establishment, seasonal temporary or permanent food stand, special event food stand, 

mobile food unit, food cart, resort, hotel, motel, or lodging establishment in Minnesota to 

submit an annual $35 statewide hospitality fee. If the establishment is licensed by the 

Department of Health, the fee is due at the same time the licensure fee is due. If the 

establishment is licensed by local governments, the fee is due by July 1 of each year.  

54     Inspection frequency. Amends § 157.20, subd. 2. Clarifies that inspections of high-risk 



 

 

establishments must be conducted once every 12 months (current laws reads "once a year"), 

and that inspections of low-risk establishments must be conducted once every 24 months 

(current law reads "every two years").  

55     Risk categories. Amends § 157.20, subd. 2a. Adds a risk category for schools for the 

purpose of food and beverage establishment inspections. Requires elementary and 

secondary school food service establishments to be inspected based on the frequency 

assigned by their risk category, or the Richard B. Russell National School Lunch Act, 

whichever is more restrictive.  

56     Health-related licensing board. Amends § 214.01, subd. 2. Removes the Office of 

Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice established pursuant to 

section 146A.02 from the definition of "health-related licensing board."  

57     Fee adjustment. Amends § 214.06, subd. 1. Adds a cross reference to § 144.1476 which 

adds the rural pharmacy grant program to the list of programs a health board may adjust 

fees in order to sufficiently fund.  

58     Child care provider training; dangers of shaking infants and young children. Adds § 

245A.034. Requires the commissioner of health to provide a video presentation to all 

licensed child care providers as part of their initial and ongoing training. The commissioner 

shall also provide child care providers (at cost) a copy of the approved video about the 

dangers of shaking infants and young children also given to hospitals pursuant to section 

144.574. Allows legal nonlicensed child care providers to participate at their option, in a 

video presentation session.  

59     Fees. Amends § 326.42, subd. 2. Clarifies the elements of plumbing plan reviews and audits 

subject to fees to include catch basin design (current law reads "catch basin").  

60     Rule amendment. Requires the commissioner of health to amend Minnesota Rules, part 

4626.2015, subparts 3 item c and 6, item b (related to food manager qualifications) to 

conform with section 0of this article. Allows the commissioner to use the good cause 

exemption (Minn. Stat. § 14.388, subd. 1, clause (3)). States that section 14.386 does not 

apply, except as provided in section 14.388.  

61     Direction to commissioner; dental review. Requires the commissioner of health, in 

consultation with dental associations, licensed dental and public health professionals, and 

others, to review the leadership and advisory role of the department of health including the 

usefulness or utilizing a dental director. Requires the review to include prevention, health 

disparities, and critical access issues. The review must be reported to the legislature by 

January 15, 2006.  

62     Repealer. Paragraph (a) repeals the following: § 13.383, subdivision 3, regarding the 

treatment of health occupations investigative data; § 13.411, subdivision 3, regarding 

licensing data; § 144.1502, the dentist loan forgiveness program; § 144.1486, the Rural 

Community Health Centers Grant Program; § 146A.01, subdivisions 2 and 5 and § 146A.02 

through § 146A.11, regarding the Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative 

Health Care Practice; and § 157.215, the pilot project involving food and beverage service 

establishment HACCP quality assurance practices.  

Paragraph (b) repeals the Family Planning Special Projects Grant Program (§ 145.925 and 

the relevant Minnesota Rules (parts 4700.19 to 4700.2500) effective March 31, 2006 or 

upon the implementation of the Family Planning Project section of the 1115 waiver, 

whichever is later.  



 

 

Article 9: Department of Human Services Forecast Adjustment  

This article makes forecast adjustments to specified human services programs for 

fiscal year 2005. 

Article 10: Appropriations  

1. 1         Health and human services appropriations. Provides that the sums shown in the columns 

marked "Appropriations" are appropriated from the general fund, or any other named fund, 

to the agencies and for the purposes specified in the sections of this article, to be available 

for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. Specifies that appropriations are available for 

the fiscal years ending June 30, 2006, and June 30, 2007. Provides a summary of 

appropriations by fund.  

2         Commissioner of human services.  

Subd. 1. Total appropriation. Provides the total appropriation for the commissioner of 

human services.  

 Receipts for system projects. Requires certain funds for MAXIS, PRISM, 

MMIS, and SSIS to be deposited in the state system account. Provides 

that subject to the commissioner's discretion money appropriated for 

computer projects may be transferred from one project to another and 

from development to operations. Allows unexpended balance in these 

appropriations to be available for ongoing development and operations.  

 Systems continuity. Allows the commissioner to use available grant 

appropriations to ensure continuity of payments to human services 

clients in the event of a disruption of technical systems or computer 

operations.  

 Nonfederal share transfers. Allows the commissioner to transfer the 

nonfederal share of activities for which federal administrative 

reimbursement is appropriated to the special revenue fund.  

 Gifts. Allows the commissioner to accept additional funding from 

sources other than state funds for financing the cost of assistance 

program grants or nongrant administration.  

 TANF funds appropriated to other entities. Requires expenditures from 

the TANF block grant to be expended in accordance with federal laws. 

Requires the commissioner to ensure that funds are expended in 

compliance with the requirements and limitations of federal law and that 

any reporting requirements of federal law are met. Requires entities to 

which funds are appropriated to implement a memorandum of 

understanding with the commissioner that provides the necessary 

assurance of compliance prior to any expenditure of funds. Requires the 

commissioner to coordinate all interagency accounting transactions 



 

 

necessary to implement the TANF appropriations. Requires that any 

unexpended TANF funds cancel at the end of the state fiscal year unless 

appropriating or statutory language permits otherwise.  

 Capitation rate increase. Provides that of the health care access fund 

appropriations to the University of Minnesota in the higher education 

omnibus appropriations bill, a specific amount is to be used to increase 

the capitation payments under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.69. 

States this provision shall not expire.  

Subd. 2. Agency management. Provides the appropriations, and their sources, for the 

following agency management functions:  

 Financial operations  

 Legal and regulation operations  

 Management operations  

 Information technology operations  

Subd. 3. Revenue and pass-through expenditures. Lists TANF appropriations.  

Subd. 4. Children and economic assistance grants.  

 Children's services grants. Children's mental health grants base 

adjustment. Increases the general fund base for costs associated with 

long-term care provider cost-of-living adjustment.  

 Children and community services grants. Children's community service 

grants base adjustment. Increases the general fund base for costs 

associated with the long-term care provider cost-of-living adjustment.  

Subd. 5. Basic health care grants.  

 Updating federal poverty guidelines. States that annual updates to the 

federal poverty guidelines are effective each July 1, following publication 

by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.  

 Health care access fund spending authority. Allows the commissioner of 

human services, with the approval of the commissioner of finance, and 

after notification of the chairs of the relevant house finance committee and 

senate budget division, to expend money appropriated from the health care 

access fund for MinnesotaCare and general assistance medical care. 

Allows the commissioner to expend the money in either fiscal year of the 

biennium and to transfer unencumbered appropriation balances between 

these two programs within or between fiscal years for the biennium ending 

June 30, 2007. Specifies the appropriations for each program:  



 

 

 MinnesotaCare grants. Provides that receipts from federal participation 

pertaining to administrative costs of the health care reform waiver 

shall be deposited as nondedicated revenue in the health care access 

fund. Provides that receipts received as a result of federal participation 

pertaining to grants shall be deposited in the federal fund and shall 

offset health care access funds for payments to providers.  

 MA basic health care-families and children. 

 MA basic health care-elderly and disabled. 

 General assistance medical care grants. States that GAMC drug rebate 

revenues collected for claims with a warrant date prior to June 30, 

2007, shall be deposited in the general fund and that the 

pharmaceutical discount program implementation is delayed until July 

1, 2007.  

 Prescription drug program grants. Prescription drug program to 

medicare Part D transition. Allows the commissioner, with the 

approval of the commissioner of finance and after notice to specified 

committees of both legislative bodies, to transfer fiscal year 2006 

appropriations between the medical assistance program and the 

prescription drug program.  

 Health care grants-other assistance 

Subd. 6. Health care management. Provides the appropriations, and their sources, for 

the following operations:  

 Health care policy administration  

 Health care access fund transfers expiration. Provides that the 

commissioner of finance's authorization to transfer designated funds 

from the health care access fund shall expire July 1, 2005.  

 Health care access fund transfers. States that the transfer of funds 

between the health care access fund and the general fund authorized 

under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.724, supersede transfers 

authorized in Laws 2003, First Special Session chapter 14, article 13C, 

section 2, subdivision 7, paragraph (a). States that this provision is 

effective the day following final enactment.  

 Administrative base adjustment. Increases the health care access fund 

base for implementation of business process redesign in health care.  

 Minnesota senior health options reimbursement. Appropriates federal 

administrative reimbursement from the Minnesota senior health 

options project to the commissioner of finance for this activity.  



 

 

 Utilization review. Provides that federal administrative reimbursement 

for utilization review activities by a professional review organization 

shall be dedicated to the commissioner for these purposes. States that a 

portion of these funds must be used for activities to decrease 

unnecessary pharmaceutical costs in medical assistance.  

 Health care operations  

Subd. 7. Continuing care grants. Provides the appropriations and the amounts that 

may be spent for the following purposes:  

 Aging and adult services grant.  

 Medicare Part D. Gives the appropriation amount for grants to the 

Board on Aging for information and assistance for Medicare Part D 

implementation. Allows the money to be used in either year of the 

biennium.  

 Alternative care grants.  

 Alternative care transfer. Provides that any money not spent does not 

cancel but shall be transferred to the medical assistance account.  

 Alternative care base. Increases the alternative care base.  

 Medical assistance grants-long-term care facilities.  

 Medical assistance grants-long-term care waivers and home care grants.  

 Limiting growth in community alternatives for disabled individuals 

waiver. Provides that the commissioner for each year of the biennium 

ending June 30, 2007, shall make available additional allocations for 

home and community-based services. States that the priorities for 

allocation of funds shall be for individuals anticipated to be discharged 

from institutional settings or who are at imminent risk of a placement 

in an institutional setting.  

 Limiting growth in TBI waiver. Provides that the commissioner for 

each year of the biennium ending June 30, 2007, shall make available 

additional allocations for home and community-based services. States 

that the priorities for allocation of funds shall be for individuals 

anticipated to be discharged from institutional settings or who are at 

imminent risk of a placement in an institutional setting.  

 Limiting growth in MR/RC waiver. Provides that the commissioner 

for each year of the biennium ending June 30, 2007, shall limit the 

new diversion caseload growth in the MR/RC waiver to 50 additional 

allocations. States that the priority for allocations shall be awarded to 

support individuals whose health and safety needs result in an 



 

 

imminent risk of an institutional placement.  

 Mental health grants.  

 Mental health grant base. Provides the base level funding for mental 

health grants.  

 Restructuring of adult mental health services. Allows the 

commissioner to make transfers that do not increase the state share of 

costs to effectively implement the restructuring of adult mental health 

services.  

 Compulsive gambling prevention and education. Provides allocations 

to the commissioner for a grant to the Northstar Problem Gambling 

Alliance.  

 Deaf and hard-of-hearing grants. Provides an increase to the base level of 

funding.  

 Chemical dependency entitlement grants.  

 Chemical dependency non-entitlement grants.  

 Other continuing care grants. Provides an increase to the base level of 

funding.  

Subd. 8. Continuing care management. 

 Quality assurance commission. Provides an appropriation to the 

commissioner for the quality assurance commission. States that this 

funding is added to the base appropriation for the fiscal year beginning 

July 1, 2006.  

Subd. 9. State-operated services.  

 Evidence-based practice for methamphetamine treatment. Provides 

appropriations to the commissioner to support development of evidence 

based practice for methamphetamine treatment at the chemical 

dependency program in Willmar.  

 Transfer authority related to state-operated services. Allows the 

commissioner to transfer funds between fiscal years of the biennium with 

the approval of the commissioner of finance.  

 Base adjustment for state-operated services utilization. Increases the base fund 

for state-operated services forensic operations with corresponding adjustments 

to nondedicated revenue estimates.  



 

 

3         Commissioner of health.  

Subd. 1. Provides the total appropriations for the commissioner of health.  

 TANF appropriations. Appropriates TANF funds to the commissioner for 

home visiting and nutritional services. States that funding shall be 

distributed to community health boards and tribal governments. 

Appropriates TANF funds to the commissioner for decreasing racial and 

ethnic disparities in infant mortality.  

 TANF carry forward. Allows unexpended monies of the TANF 

appropriation to carry forward to the second year of the biennium.  

 MN AIDS project. States that the Minnesota AIDS Project is ineligible for 

any grants from the commissioner or the Department of Health.  

Subd. 2. Community and family health promotion.  

 Health occupation licensing. Allocates from the appropriations for the 

health occupations licensing account, money for the rural pharmacy 

planning and transition grant program.  

 Shaken baby video. Makes an appropriation from the special revenue 

fund to the commissioner to provide a video to hospitals on shaken baby 

syndrome. States that the commissioner is to assess a fee to the hospitals 

and to deposit revenue received in the special revenue fund.  

 Positive abortion alternatives. Makes an appropriation for administrative 

costs of the positive abortion alternatives program implementation. 

Provides an appropriation to provide positive abortion alternatives.  

Subd. 3. Policy quality and compliance.  

 Occupational therapy fee holiday. Suspends the commissioner's authority 

to collect the license renewal fee for fiscal years 2006 and 2007.  

Subd. 4. Health protection.  

Subd. 5. Minority and multicultural health. 

Subd. 6. Administrative and support services.  

4         Veterans nursing homes board. Provides appropriations for the board.  

5         Health-related boards.  

Subd. 1. Total appropriation. Provides the general appropriations for the boards. 

States that appropriations are from the special revenue fund except where noted. 

Provides that funds may not be expended in excess of anticipated revenues.  



 

 

Subd. 2. Board of behavioral health and therapy.  

Subd. 3. Board of chiropractic examiners. 

Subd. 4. Board of dentistry.  

Subd. 5. Board of dietetic and nutrition practice. 

Subd. 6. Board of marriage and family therapy.  

Subd. 7. Board of medical practice. 

Subd. 8. Board of nursing.  

Subd. 9. Board of nursing home administrators.  

Subd. 10. Board of optometry.  

Subd. 11. Board of pharmacy. Appropriates additional money from the general fund 

to operate the cancer drug repository program.  

Subd. 12. Board of physical therapy.  

Subd. 13. Board of podiatry. 

Subd. 14. Board of psychology.  

Subd. 15. Board of social work. 

Subd. 16. Board of veterinary medicine.  

6         Emergency medical services board. Provides the appropriations for the board. Allocates 

money from the special revenue fund for health professional services activity.  

7         Council on disability. Provides the appropriations for the council.  

8         Ombudsman for mental health and mental retardation. Provides the appropriations for the 

ombudsman.  

9         Ombudsman for families. Provides the appropriation for the ombudsman.  

10     Transfers.  

Subd. 1. Grants. Allows the commissioner of human services, with the approval of 

the commissioner of finance, and after notification to the chairs of the relevant senate 

budget division and house finance committee, to transfer unencumbered 

appropriation balances for the biennium ending June 30, 2007, within fiscal years 

among MFIP, general assistance, medical assistance, MFIP child care assistance, 

Minnesota supplemental aid, and group residential housing programs, and the 

entitlement portion of the consolidated chemical dependency treatment fund.  

Subd. 2. Administration. Provides that positions, salary money, and nonsalary 

administrative money may be transferred within the departments of human services 

and health and within the programs operated by the veterans nursing homes board 



 

 

with the approval of the commissioner of finance.  

Subd. 3. Prohibited transfers. Provides that the legislature must approve any grant 

money transferred within the departments of human services and health and within 

the programs operated by the veterans nursing homes board.  

11     Indirect costs not to fund programs. States that the commissioners of health and of human 

services shall not use indirect cost allocations to pay for the operational costs of any 

program for which they are responsible.  

12     Sunset of uncodified language. Provides that all uncodified language in this article expires 

on June 30, 2007, unless a different expiration date is explicit.  

13     Effective date. States that the provisions in this article are effective July 1, 2005, unless a 

different effective date is specified.  

Article 11: Option B Spending  

1. 1         Conditional effective date. Provides that the policies and appropriations in this article are 

effective only if H.F. 1644 is passed. The amounts indicated in this article are appropriated 

to the commissioner of human services for the purposes indicated in the years indicated.  

2         General assistance medical care; eligibility. Amends § 256D.03, subdivision 3.  

 Adds that an individual who resides in group residential housing and can meet a 

spenddown using the cost of remedial services received through group 

residential housing may be eligible for general assistance medical care.  

 Provides a spenddown to 75 percent of the federal poverty guidelines using a 

six-month budget period.  

 States this section is effective October 1, 2005.  

3         Increase in GAMC funding related to spenddown standard. Provides appropriations to 

increase the general assistance medical care spenddown standard from 50 percent to 75 

percent of the federal poverty guidelines.  

4         Families with children. Amends § 256L.04, subdivision 1.  

 Provides that through September 30, 2005, families with children with family 

income equal to or less than 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines shall 

be eligible for MinnesotaCare.  

 Adds that beginning October 1, 2005, children and pregnant women with family 

income equal to or less than 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines shall 

be eligible for MinnesotaCare.  

 Adds that beginning October 1, 2005, parents, grandparents, foster parents, 

relative caretakers, and legal guardians ages 21 and over are not eligible for 

MinnesotaCare if their gross income exceeds 190 percent of the federal poverty 

guidelines.  

5         Increase in MinnesotaCare funding related to income standard for parents. Appropriates 

additional funds to the appropriations in article 10, section 2, subdivision 5, paragraph (a).  

6         MinnesotaCare outreach grants. Provides that the repeal of Minnesota Statutes 2004, 



 

 

section 256L.04, subdivision 11, shall not take effect.  

7         Funding for MinnesotaCare outreach grants. Adds appropriations to article 10, section 2, 

subdivision 5, paragraph (f). Provides that federal administrative reimbursement resulting 

from MinnesotaCare outreach is appropriated to the commissioner for this purpose.  

8         Home care services reimbursement rates. Adds appropriations to article 10, section 2, 

subdivision 7, paragraph (d), to provide additional increases in reimbursement rates for 

home health services. States that the commissioner must recalculate the rates in Minnesota 

Statutes, section 256B.763 to reflect these additional appropriations.  

9         Other provisions. States that the amendments in sections 2, 4, and 6 supersede and shall be 

implemented in place of the amendments or repealers to those sections in article 3.  

 


