

HF 5 (HALVERSON) PAID FAMILY & MEDICAL LEAVE

HF 11 (LESCH) EARNED SICK & SAFE TIME

All Minnesotans deserve the opportunity to be successful, but too many have to choose between work and taking care of a new baby, a loved one, or themselves. The time to act is now. House DFLers are committed to delivering solutions for our hard-working families, like Paid Family & Medical Leave and Earned Sick & Safe Time, to provide greater economic security.

OVERVIEW

Far too often, workers are forced to choose between earning a paycheck and taking care of a sick family member or themselves. Nationwide, only 14% of workers have access to paid family or medical leave. This means that when a working parent is required to miss work to stay home with a sick child, her pay is docked. It also means that a worker must quit his job or take unpaid leave when his elderly parent suffers a stroke and needs ongoing care. Further, it means that when a couple has a baby, neither parent has much opportunity to bond with the child unless they want to forego their paychecks.

In many cases, when a family experiences a medical hardship (or the birth of a child), this is unfortunately followed by economic hardship.

BILL CONTENTS

The MN House DFL is committed to crafting common-sense solutions to this problem. The Paid Family & Medical Leave Act (HF 5-Halverson) provides Minnesota workers up to 12 weeks of paid leave so they can care for a family member with a serious health condition or to bond with a newborn child.

Under the state-administered program, workers would be eligible for partial wage replacement (ranging from 55-90% of their regular wages). Wage replacement benefits are capped at \$1000 per week.

- For people working 30 hours per week at \$12 per hour, they would receive \$324 per week in paid family leave benefits.
- Someone working 40 hours per week at \$20 per hour would get \$528 per week.
- Someone working 45 hours per week at \$25 per hour would get \$619 per week.

» CONTINUED ON BACK »

BILL CONTENTS (CONTINUED)

The Paid Family Leave program would be administered by the Dept. of Employment & Economic Development (DEED) alongside its Unemployment Insurance program, which provides temporary assistance to MN workers who lose their jobs through no fault of their own. Under HF 5, MN employers and their workers split the cost for the Paid Family Leave program. Each would pay about \$100 per year for each worker. A business with 10 employees would pay about \$1000 per year and all of its employees would be eligible for paid leave. Employers that already provide paid family leave can opt out of this program and would not pay any assessments.

Seven states already have some form of paid family leave, and several others are considering legislation in 2019.

While Paid Family Leave allows MN workers to take extended leaves (up to 12 weeks), Earned Sick and Safe Time (HF 11-Lesch) gives MN workers the ability to take off work for short periods of time (e.g. half a day, 1-2 days) when they are sick or to take care of a sick family member. Under the bill, all employers in the state are required to provide their workers with one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Workers can begin using their earned sick and safe leave 90 days after they begin employment. For example, a worker who works 20 hours per week would accrue 10 hours of paid sick leave after 15 weeks. That worker could then use their paid leave to take a day off if they are sick or to stay home with a sick child. HF 11 also allows workers to use paid sick leave if they or a family member are getting help for domestic abuse or sexual assault.