.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1362, the first engrossment, as follows:
Page 6, after line 6, insert:
"Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 176.137, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Cost.
The pecuniary liability of an employer for remodeling or alteration
required by this section is limited to prevailing costs in the community for remodeling or
alteration of that type. The costs of obtaining the architectural certification and supervision
1.7required by this section are included in the $75,000 limit in subdivision 5.
Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 176.137, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Certification. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b),
no award may be
made except upon the certification of a licensed architect to the division or Workers'
Compensation Court of Appeals that the proposed alteration or remodeling of an existing
residence or the building or purchase of a new or different residence is reasonably required
for the purposes specified in subdivision 1. The Council on Disability shall advise the
division or Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals as provided in section
1.15subdivision 5, clause (7)
. The alteration or remodeling of an existing residence, or the
building or purchase of a new home must be done under the supervision of a licensed
architect relative to the specific needs to accommodate the disability.
1.18(b) Remodeling or alteration projects do not require an architect's certification and
1.19supervision if the project is:
1.20(1) approved by the Council on Disability;
1.21(2) performed by a residential building contractor or residential remodeler licensed
1.22under section 326B.805, subdivision 1; and
1.23(3) approved by a certified building official or certified accessibility specialist under
1.24section 326B.133, subdivision 3a, paragraphs (b) and (d), who states in writing that the
1.25proposed remodeling or alterations are reasonably required to enable the employee to move
1.26freely into and throughout the residence and to otherwise accommodate the disability.
Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 176.137, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
Subd. 5. Limitation.
An employee is limited to $60,000 under this section for
each personal injury.
Sec. 15. EFFECTIVE DATE.
2.5Sections 12, 13, and 14 are effective the day following final enactment.
Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
Amend the title accordingly