PUBLIC SAFETY FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Kelly Moller, Chair of the Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 10:30 AM on March 21, 2023, in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

MOLLER, Kelly, Chair
FEIST, Sandra, Vice Chair
NOVOTNY, Paul, GOP Lead
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
CURRAN, Brion
FRAZIER, Cedrick
GROSSELL, Matt
HOLLINS, Athena
HUDSON, Walter
HUOT, John
MUELLER, Patricia
PINTO, Dave
TABKE, Brad
WITTE, Jeff

Members Excused

ENGEN, Elliot

A quorum was present.

Representative Curran moved that the minutes from March 17, 2023, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 1075 (Backer) Statewide public safety radio communication system equipment grant program established, and money appropriated.

Chair Moller moved to lay over HF 1075.

Chair Moller moved the H1075A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Backer presented HF 1075, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 1075, as amended:

- Charles Henningson, Fire Chief, City of Ortonville
- Rebecca Young, Stevens County Coordinator, Association of Minnesota Counties

Chair Moller renewed the motion to lay over HF 1075, as amended. The bill was laid over.

HF 2415 (Noor) High-rise sprinkler system grant program established, cities required to report buildings that do not have sprinkler system, report required, and money appropriated.

Chair Moller moved that HF 2415 be re-referred to the Committee on Housing Finance and Policy.

Rep. Noor presented HF 2415.

Testifiers on HF 2415:

• Tom Brace, Member, Minnesota Chapter of National Fire Sprinkler Association

David Ybarra, President, Minnesota Pipe Trades Association

Chair Moller renewed the motion that HF 2415 be re-referred to the Committee on Housing Finance and Policy. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 1273 (Tabke) Local emergency management grant funding provided for local planning and preparedness efforts, report required, and money appropriated.

Chair Moller moved to lay over HF 1273.

Rep. Tabke presented HF 1273.

Testifiers on HF 1273:

- Garry Johanson, Emergency Manager, Norman County
- John Bowen, Emergency Management Director, Crow Wing County

Chair Moller renewed the motion to lay over HF 1273. The bill was laid over.

HF 2026 (Huot) State fire marshal account established, and money appropriated.

Chair Moller moved to lay over HF 2026.

Rep. Huot presented HF 2026.

Testifiers on HF 2026:

- Tom Brace, Member, Minnesota Chapter of National Fire Sprinkler Association
- Jon Nisja, Fire and Data Protection Specialist, Minnesota Chapter of National Fire Sprinkler Association

Chair Moller renewed the motion to lay over HF 2026. The bill was laid over.

HF 46 (Feist) Office of Juvenile Restorative Justice established, local steering committees required to establish local juvenile restorative justice programs, grants established, reports required, and money appropriated.

Chair Moller moved to lay over HF 46.

Rep. Feist moved the H0046DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Feist presented HF 46, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 46, as amended:

- Sharon Hendrichs, Restorative Justice Head, Yellow Medicine County
- Reese Frederickson, County Attorney, Pine County
- Kelly O'Rourke, Lieutenant, Minneapolis Police Violent Crimes Division
- Reverend Kendall Hughes, Board Chair, Three Rivers Restorative Justice

Chair Moller renewed the motion to lay over HF 46, as amended. The bill was laid over.

HF 2078 (Edelson) Supplemental nonprofit security grant funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Moller moved to lay over HF 2078.

Chair Moller moved the H2078A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Edelson presented HF 46, as amended:

• Rob Allen, Director of Community Security, Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota and the Dakotas (JCRC)

 Ryan Fouts, Executive Director, RECLAIM Non-Profit Organization
Chair Moller renewed the motion to lay over HF 2078, as amended. The bill was laid over.
The meeting was adjourned at 12:02 PM.
Representative Kelly Moller, Chair
Farhin Sayeed, Committee Legislative Assistant