1.1 moves to amend S.F. No. 1955, i	n conference committee, as follows:
1.2 On R10, House language, (UES1955-2)	
1.3 Page 45, delete section 22 and insert:	
1.4 "Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18C	.421, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.5 Subdivision 1. Annual tonnage report. (a) Ea	ach registrant under section 18C.411 and
1.6 licensee under section 18C.415 shall file an annua	al tonnage report for the previous year
1.7 ending June 30 with the commissioner, on forms pr	ovided or approved by the commissioner,
1.8 stating the number of net tons of each brand or gra	ade of fertilizer, soil amendment, or plant
1.9 amendment distributed in this state or the number of	of net tons and grade of each raw fertilizer
1.10 material distributed in this state during the reporti	ng period.
1.11 (b) A tonnage report is not required to be subm	nitted and an inspection fee under section
1.12 18C.425, subdivision 6, is not required to be paid	to the commissioner by a licensee who
1.13 distributes fertilizer solely by custom application.	
1.14 (c) The annual tonnage report must be submitt	ed to the commissioner on or before July
1.15 <b>31 of each year</b> .	
1.16 (d) The inspection fee at the rate stated in <u>und</u>	er section 18C.425, subdivision 6, must
1.17 accompany the statement.	
1.18 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 18C.4	425, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
1.19 Subd. 6. <b>Payment of inspection fee.</b> (a) The p	erson who registers and distributes in the
1.20 state a specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or plan	-
1.21 pay the inspection fee to the commissioner.	

1

05/05/23 02:57 pm

(b) The person licensed under section 18C.415 who distributes a fertilizer to a person
not required to be so licensed shall pay the inspection fee to the commissioner, except as
exempted under section 18C.421, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).

(c) The person responsible for payment of the inspection fees for fertilizers, soil 2.4 amendments, or plant amendments sold and used in this state must pay an the inspection 2.5 fee of 39 cents per ton set under paragraph (e), and until June 30, 2024, an additional 40 2.6 cents per ton, of fertilizer, soil amendment, and plant amendment sold or distributed in this 2.7 state, with a minimum of \$10 on all tonnage reports. Notwithstanding section 18C.131, the 2.8 commissioner must deposit all revenue from the additional 40 cents per ton fee in the 2.9 agricultural fertilizer research and education account in section 18C.80. Products sold or 2.10 distributed to manufacturers or exchanged between them are exempt from the inspection 2.11 fee imposed by this subdivision if the products are used exclusively for manufacturing 2.12 purposes. 2.13

2.14 (d) A registrant or licensee must retain invoices showing proof of fertilizer, plant
2.15 amendment, or soil amendment distribution amounts and inspection fees paid for a period
2.16 of three years.

2.17 (e) By commissioner's order, the commissioner must set the inspection fee at no less

2.18 than 39 cents per ton and no more than 70 cents per ton. The commissioner must hold a

2.19 public meeting before increasing the fee by more than five cents per ton."

2.20 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

2.21 Amend the title accordingly

2