TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM on February 22, 2024, in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

Hornstein, Frank, Chair Tabke, Brad, Vice Chair Petersburg, John, Republican Lead Brand, Jeff Elkins, Steve Fogelman, Marj Hudella, Shane

Kraft, Larry Koegel, Erin

Murphy, Tom

Nelson, Michael

Norris, Matt

Olson, Bjorn

Sencer-Mura, Samantha

West, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Presentation from the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT).

Presenting:

- Sheila Kauppi, Metro District Deputy Engineer, Minnesota Department of Transportation
- Melissa Barnes, Rethinking I-94 Project Director

Presentation from Reconnect Rondo.

Presenting:

- Keith Baker, Executive Director, Reconnect Rondo
- Marvin Anderson, Chair, Reconnect Rondo

Presentation from Our Streets Minneapolis

Presenting:

- Jose Antonio Zaya Caban, Executive Director, Our Streets Minneapolis
- Lucy Gibson PE, Principal Engineer, Toole Design
- Jon Commers, Managing Principal, Visible City

Testifying:

Pastor Richard Pittman Sr., President, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Saint Paul

Anika Bowie, Councilmember, St Paul City Council

Mikeya Griffin, Reconnect Rondo

Sandra Hunter, Our Streets Minneapolis

Charles Frempong-Longdon Jr., Community Organizer, Minnesota Environmental Justice Table Lisa Nelson

Eric Bernstein

Sam Rockwell, Executive Director, Move Minnesota Action Amanda Duerr, Vice-President Government Affairs, St. Paul Area Chamber Marta Struve Katie Nicholson, I-94 Rail Coalition Erica Lee, Reconnect Rondo

The meeting was adjourned at 10:09 AM.