EDUCATION POLICY MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM on February 14, 2023 in Room 120 of the Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair
HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair
BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead
BAKEBERG, Ben
BERG, Kaela
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
KNUDSEN, Krista
LEE, Liz
MUELLER, Patricia
URDAHL, Dean
YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members Excused:

KEELER, Heather

A quorum was present.

Representative Berg moved to approve the minutes from February 8, 2023. The motion prevailed.

Vice Chair Hill moved that HF1257 be before the committee; to be re-referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Vice Chair Hill moved the HF1257A1 amendment. Vice Chair Hill presented the HF1257A1 amendment. A voice vote was taken. The HF1257A1 amendment was adopted.

Chair Pryor moved the HF1257A2 amendment. Vice Chair Hill presented the HF1257A2 amendment. A voice vote was taken. The HF1257A2 amendment was adopted.

Vice Chair Hill presented HF1257 as amended.

The following gave public testimony on HF1257 as amended:

• Kate Lynne Snyder, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota

Vice Chair Hill renewed the motion that HF1257 as amended be re-referred to the Committee on Education Finance. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

Vice Chair Hill moved that HF1268 be before the committee; to be re-referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Vice Chair Hill moved the HF1268A2 amendment. Vice Chair Hill presented the HF1268A2 amendment. A voice vote was taken. The HF1268A2 amendment was adopted.

Vice Chair Hill presented HF1268 as amended.

The following testified on HF1268 as amended:

- Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies
- Kate Lynne Snyder, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota
- Nafeesah Muhammad, Teacher, Educators for Excellence

Vice Chair Hill renewed the motion that HF1268 as amended be re-referred to the Committee on Education Finance. A voice vote was taken. The motion prevailed.

Representative Feist moved that HF629 be before the committee; to be re-referred to the committee on Education Finance.

Representative Feist moved the HF629DE1 amendment. A voice vote was taken. The HF629DE1 amendment was adopted.

Representative Edelson presented HF629 as amended.

The following testified on HF629 as amended:

- Dr. Kim Gibbons, CAREI Director, University of Minnesota Center for Applied Research and Educational Improvement
- Maria Roberts, Principal, New Brighton
- Kate Skappel, Curriculum coordinator, Intermediate School District #197
- Nafessah Muhammad, Teacher, Educators for Excellence
- Rick Sansted, Superintendent, Alexandria Public Schools
- Barb Duffrin, Superintendent, Mahtomedi School
- Lucy Payne, School Board Member, Mahtomedi School
- Greta Evans-Becker, Chair, Robbinsdale Area School Board
- Dr. Justin Killian, Ed Issues Specialist, Education Minnesota
- Jocelyn Thompson, Teacher, Friendship Academy
- Tonia Draughn, Parent, St. Paul Public Schools
- Khulia Pringle, Parent & Community Advocate, St. Paul
- Jack, Student

The following gave public testimony on HF629 as amended:

• Dr. Audrey Lensmire, Associate Professor of Education, Augsburg University

- Dr. Stephanie Rollag-Yoon, Lecturer, University of Minnesota
 Bobbie Burnham, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education

Chair Pryor motioned that HF629 as amended be laid over for further consideration.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:26 pm.	
	Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair
	Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant