AGRICULTURE FINANCE & POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair of the Committee on Agricultural Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on February 16, 2023 in Room 120 of the State Capitol Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

VANG, Samantha, Chair PURSELL, Kristi, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul, Republican Lead BURKEL, John FREDERICK, Luke HANSEN, Rick HARDER, Bobbie JACOB, Steven NELSON, Nathan REHM, Lucy SENCER-MURA, Samantha TABKE, Brad CHA, Ethan

A quorum was present.

Representative Jacob moved to adopt the February 9, 2023 minutes. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED</u>.

Representative Hansen moved to adopt the February 14, 2023 minutes. <u>THE MOTION</u> <u>PREVAILED</u>.

Presentation from the Minnesota Department of Agriculture on Grain Indemnity.

Presenting:

- Thom Petersen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- Mark Abrahamson, Plant Protection Division Director, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
- Christine Mader, Grain and Warehousing Unit Program Administrator, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

HF 475 (Hansen); Bioincentive payment recipients additional information required.

Representative Hansen moved that HF 475 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Representative Hansen presented HF 475.

Representative Harder requested a roll call vote.

Representative Harder moved the A1 amendment.

Representatives Harder withdrew the A1 amendment.

Representative Harder withdrew her requested roll call vote.

Representative Harder moved an oral amendment to HF 475, as below:

• Page 1, line 15, after the second instance of the word "all" insert the word "public" <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE ORAL AMENDMENT WAS INCORPORATED.</u>

Representative Jacob moved the A2 amendment.

Representative Jacob requested a roll call vote.

The clerk took the roll on HF 475, as amended:

AYES Anderson Burkel Harder Jacob Nelson

NAYS Vang Pursell Frederick Hansen Rehm Sencer-Mura Tabke

EXCUSED Cha

There being 5 ayes, 7 nays, and 1 excused. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Representative Hansen renewed the motion that HF 475, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

HF 1474 (Frederick); Agriculture; report required, biofuel financial assistance funding provided, and money appropriated.

Representative Frederick moved that HF 1474 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Representative Frederick presented HF 1474.

The following testified on HF 1474:

- Brian Werner, Executive Director, Minnesota Biofuels Association
- Richard Syverson, President, Minnesota Corn Growers Association

Representative Frederick renewed the motion that HF 1477 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

HF 1477 (Tabke); Advanced biofuel, renewable chemical, and biomass thermal production incentive provisions modified, and money appropriated.

Representative Tabke moved that HF 1477 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Representative Tabke presented HF 1477.

The following testified on HF 1477:

- Emily Hubmer, Student, Shakopee High School
- Rick Horton, Executive Vice President, Minnesota Forest Industries
- Brian Werner, Executive Director, Minnesota Biofuels Association
- Brendan Jordan, Vice President of Transportation and Fuels, Great Plains Institute
- Stacy Cook, Vice President of Corporate Sustainability, Rahr Corporation

Representative Tabke renewed the motion that HF 1477 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

The meeting adjourned at 2:20 P.M.

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair

Matthew Sauser, Committee Legislative Assistant