STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVE

SUSTAINABLE INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, member of the Sustainable Infrastructure Committee, called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM on March 8, 2023, in Room 10 of the Minnesota State Office Building. The meeting was broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

KOEGEL, Erin, Chair CURRAN, Brion, Vice-Chair FRANSON, Mary, Republican Lead ACOMB, Patty ANDERSON, Paul CLARDY, Mary Frances GILLMAN, Dawn HORNSTEIN, Frank IGO, Spencer KRAFT, Larry REHM, Lucy SCHULTZ, Isaac SMITH, Andy

A quorum was present.

Representative Smith moved that the minutes from March 1, 2023, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 2406 (Koegel); Federal infrastructure funds coordinator funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 2406 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Chair Koegel moved the H2406DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Koegel presented HF 2406, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 2406:

- Ahna Minge, State Budget Director, Minnesota Management and Budget
- MK Anderson, Senior Policy Associate, Fresh Energy

Representative Schultz moved an oral amendment to the H2406DE1 amendment, as follows:

• Page 1, after line 20, insert "(c) Of the appropriation in each year, fifty percent of the staff support and activity must be spent on projects outside the seven-county metropolitan area."

Representative Schultz requested a roll call on the oral amendment to the H2406DE1 amendment.

The clerk took the roll on the oral amendment to the H2406DE1 amendment:

AYES Franson Anderson Gillman Igo Schultz

NAYS Koegel Acomb Clardy Hornstein Kraft Rehm Smith

EXCUSED Curran

There being 5 ayes, 7 nays, and 1 excused THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 2406, as amended, be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Representative Franson requested a roll call on HF 2406 as amended.

The clerk took the roll on HF 2406 as amended:

AYES Koegel Acomb Clardy Hornstein Kraft Rehm Smith

NAYS Franson Anderson Gillman Igo Schultz

EXCUSED Curran

There being 7 ayes, 5 nays, and 1 excused, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 2499 (Koegel); Small community partnerships on infrastructure projects funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 2499 be referred to the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy.

Chair Koegel moved the H2499A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Koegel presented HF 2499, as amended.

Testifiers on HF 2499, as amended:

- Kyle Shelton, Director, Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota
- Daniel Lightfoot, Intergovernmental Relation Representative & Federal Relations Manager, League of Minnesota Cities

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 2499, as amended, be referred to the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy.

Representative Schultz requested a roll call on HF 2499 as amended.

The clerk took the roll on HF 2499 as amended:

AYES Koegel Curran Acomb Clardy Hornstein Kraft Rehm Smith

NAYS Franson Anderson Gillman Igo Schultz

There being 8 ayes and 5 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 2405 (Koegel); Infrastructure Resilience Advisory Task Force established, and report required.

Chair Koegel moved that HF 2405 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy.

Chair Koegel presented HF 2405.

Testifiers on HF 2405:

• Craig Johnson, Intergovernmental Relations Representative, League of Minnesota Cities

Chair Koegel renewed the motion that HF 2405 be referred to the Committee on State and Local Government Finance and Policy. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:38 AM.

Representative Erin Koegel, Chair

Alex Wheeler, Committee Legislative Assistant