COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 9:32 A.M. on March 22, 2024, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

STEPHENSON, Zack (Chair)
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie (Vice Chair)
O'DRISCOLL, Tim (GOP Lead)
BIERMAN, Robert
CHA, Ethan
DOTSETH, Jeff
FREIBERG, Mike
KLEVORN, Ginny
KOEGEL, Erin
KRAFT, Larry
NEU BRINDLEY, Anne
NISKA, Harry
PERRYMAN, Bernie

PFARR, Brian SCHULTZ, Isaac TABKE, Brad

Members Absent: LIEBLING, Tina

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn moved to approve the minutes from March 20, 2024. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

Presentation from the Office of Cannabis Management.

Presenting:

• Charlene Briner, Interim Director, Office of Cannabis Management

HF4757 (Stephenson); Cannabis regulations modified

Chair Stephenson presented HF4757.

Testifying:

- Charlene Briner, Interim Director, Office of Cannabis Management
- John Bartee
- Jeff Taylor, Beezwax
- Nathan Young, Cannabis Policy Lead, Minnesota Black Chamber of Commerce
- Maren Schroeder, Sensible Change Minnesota
- Angela Dawson, Forty Acre Co-op
- John Hyduck, Board Chair, Minnesota Marijuana Association
- Erin Walloch, Co-Founder, CannaJoyMN
- Jeff Brinkman, Superior Cannabis Company
- Leili Fatehi, Minnesota Cannabis Resource Center
- Hollies Winston, Coalition for Equity in Legalization
- D. Tomme Beevas, Pimento Jamaican Kitchen
- Rashaud Imaun
- Calandra Revering
- Sean Tutor

HF4077 (Stephenson); Commerce omnibus policy bill

Chair Stephenson moved that HF4077 be placed on the General Register.

Chair Stephenson moved the DE2 amendment.

Chair Stephenson presented HF4077.

Testifying:

- Mike Bradley, Bradley-Werner
- Peter Brickwedde, Minnesota Department of Commerce
- Shannon Slatton, Executive Director, CCX Media
- Daniel Lightfoot, League of Minnesota Cities
- Xavier Vasquez
- Tim Johnson, Smith Jaden, and Johnson PA
- Bill Butler, President, Butler and associates
- Tony Mendoza, Council for the Minnesota Cable Association
- Andy Morris

Chair Stephenson moved the A2 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Tabke moved the A3 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION</u> PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative O'Driscoll moved the A4 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Stephenson moved the A5 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson moved the A6 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson moved the A7 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson moved the A9 amendment to the amendment.

Chair Stephenson moved the oral amendment to the A9 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS INCORPORATED.</u>

Chair Stephenson renewed the A9 amendment to the amendment, as amended. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Pfarr moved the A10 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Vice-Chair Kotyza-Witthuhn moved the A11 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson moved the A13 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Stephenson moved the A15 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Tabke moved the A16 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Schultz moved the A17 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Stephenson moved the A26 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Freiberg moves the A8 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Niska moved the A23 amendment to the amendment.

Representative Niska moved an oral amendment to the A23. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS INCORPORATED.</u>

Representative O'Driscoll requested a roll-call on the A23 amendment.

Representative Niska renewed the A23 amendment to the amendment.

The Clerk took the roll:

AYES
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
DOTSETH, Jeff
NEU BRINDLEY, Anne
NISKA, Harry
PERRYMAN, Bernie
PFARR, Brian
SCHULTZ, Isaac

NAYS
STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
BIERMAN, Robert
CHA, Ethan
FREIBERG, Mike
KLEVORN, Ginny
KOEGEL, Erin
KRAFT, Larry
TABKE, Brad

With 7 AYES and 9 NAYES, the motion did not prevail.

Representative Schultz moved the A29 amendment to the amendment.

Representative O'Driscoll requested a roll call on the A29 amendment.

Representative Schultz renewed the A29 amendment to the amendment.

The Clerk took the roll:

AYES
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
DOTSETH, Jeff
NEU BRINDLEY, Anne
NISKA, Harry
PERRYMAN, Bernie
PFARR, Brian
SCHULTZ, Isaac

NAYS STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair BIERMAN, Robert CHA, Ethan FREIBERG, Mike KLEVORN, Ginny KOEGEL, Erin KRAFT, Larry TABKE, Brad

With 7 AYES and 9 NAYES, the motion did not prevail.

Representative O'Driscoll moved an oral amendment to the underlying DE2 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> THE AMENDMENT WAS INCORPORATED.

Chair Stephenson renewed the motion on the underlying DE2 as amended. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT, AS AMENDED, WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson renewed the motion that HF4077, as amended, be placed on the General Register. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>

HF3488 (Stephenson); Compensation provided for minors appearing in internet content creation.

Chair Stephenson moved that HF3488 be placed on the General Register.

Chair Stephenson moved the A5 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson presented HF3488 as amended.

Chair Stephenson renewed the motion that HF3488 be placed on the General Register. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF4991 (Lislegard); Manufacturers and wholesale distributors prohibited from limiting pharmacy access to 340B drugs.

Chair Stephenson moves that HF4991 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Chair Stephenson moved the A1-1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Rep. Lislegard presented HF4991 as amended.

Testifying:

- Kenzie Hohman, VP of Integrated Care, Essentia Health
- Kristina Moorhead, PhRMA
- Luke Slindee
- Keith Harvey, CEO, Scenic Rivers Health Services
- Kristin Jacobson, CEO, Johnson Memorial Health Services

Chair Stephenson renewed the motion that HF4991 be laid over. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:13 P.M.

Morgan Durfee, Committee Legislative Assistant