SF4062: UPDATING MINNESOTA’S
BOATER EDUCATION PROGRAM

As the Minnesota Legislature considers SF 4062, it is critical to keep the boater education
expansion provision. Expanding boater education is widely supported by key stakeholders,
including boat dealers, lake associations, law enforcement, marinas, marine manufacturers,
resorts and more.

What Will Boater Education Language In SF 4062 Accomplish?

/‘a Expand Minnesota’s existing youth (12-17) boater education course requirement to
I include all operators ages 12+ born on or after July 1, 1987.

Require boat rentals to provide customers a summary of Minnesota boating regulations
and complete a short exam before operating a boat.

Key Facts about Minnesota’s Growing Boating Community
 Minnesota ranks second in the U.S. for registered watercraft and first per capita.
e Inthe last two years, Minnesota has seen registration of 16,000 new motorized watercraft.
 Minnesota is one of a handful of states that does not require boater education beyond youth.
o 2021 had 18 boating fatalities on Minnesota waters, among the most on record since 2005.

» US Coast Guard statistics confirm 77% of boating deaths occurred on boats where the operator
had no safety instruction. That number drops to 12% when the operator received a nationally
approved boating safety education certificate.

* Inthe1990's, the average nonfatal boating accidents was 148. After implementing youth
boater education requirements, the average nonfatal boating accidents from 2010-2019 was 71.

How Does SF 4062 Compare To Other Minnesota Recreation Product
Education And Safety Trainings?

 Minnesota's recreation products - including firearms, ATVs, and snowmobiles - require robust
education and safety training beyond youth, with boats being the exception.

o Safety coursework is accessible to all Minnesotans through convenient online access, at the
cost of $24.95, or via paper form, which is free of charge, and provided on request by the
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.
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Frequently Asked Questions
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If someone is born after 07/01/1987 but took the test as a youth (12-17) for the youth
operator’s permit, would they need to retake the course? No, they would not need to
retake the course. The permit they received previously would be valid for operation.

Will this create a new user fee? No, currently the boater education safety course (required
for youth 12-17) is available for free via paper version from DNR or can be completed online
for a $24.95, like other recreational products.

Is the course only online or will there be other options? The Minnesota boater safety
education course is available online or through free paper packets that may be requested
through the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The online course is
administered by a third party vendor which hosts all education courses for Minnesota
recreational products.

Will stakeholders (boat dealers, marinas, resorts, lake associations, etc.) have input

on the content or implementation of the course expansion? Yes, the bill language
requires DNR to work with stakeholders on content and implementation practices. There
is widespread recognition that various businesses in different locations have various needs
which may be accommodated.

Is there standard safety included in the education course? Yes, the course is required

to be approved the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
All states have boater education programs certified by NASBLA, the leading organization
that works to develop public policy for recreational boating safety. NASBLA is comprised of
recreational boating authorities of all 50 states and U.S. territories.

Will there be Minnesota specific information in the course? Yes, this is a key opportunity
for stakeholders to help the DNR focus targeted messages to all Minnesota boaters. It

is important for Minnesota messaging on aguatic invasive species (AlS), user conflict
reduction, lake ecology, towed water sports and impacts of wakes.

How will this impact a business that rents boats? Under SF 4062, all rental companies — for
watercraft or personal watercraft — must provide a summary of the statutes and regulations
and instructions for safe operation to the renter. In addition, the renter must take a short
boater safety exam in a form approved by the commissioner in order to leave the premises.

As A Minnesota Boater, How Do | Comply To The Expanded Education Course?

Minnesota
Resident

(If you have taken the couse for youth operation
(12-17); proof of permit will make you compliant for
Kboat operation.

Born ON
or AFTER
07/01/1987?

A/

If you have not taken the course as youth, you will be
required to take the course, which is available online.

Born BEFORE
07/01/1987?

You are not required to complete boater education
but are welcome to do so on a voluntary basis.
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