April 29, 2024

The Honorable Sandra Pappas, Chair Capital Investment Committee Minnesota Senate 2113 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 The Honorable Fue Lee, Chair Capital Investment Committee Minnesota House of Representatives 485 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

RE: SF 5251/HF 5220 – 2024 GO Bonding Bill

Dear Chair Pappas, Chair Lee, and Members of the House Capital Investment Committee:

Thank you for the inclusion of public housing rehabilitation and the Greater Minnesota Housing Infrastructure Grants from all 150 housing agencies of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (Minnesota NAHRO).

We are sincerely grateful that the bill includes \$32 million for public housing rehabilitation. Over the past 5 years, Minnesota has invested \$103 million in Public Housing rehabilitation loans. Even with the \$227 million of federal capital funds, there is a backlog of \$172 million of unmet capital needs. Minnesota's Publicly Owned Housing Program (POHP), funded with general obligation bonds and appropriations, has proven to be a successful investment. HUD does not allow housing authorities to take out debt to complete the capital repairs and improvements. Public Housing provides safe housing to our lowest income neighbors. The average annual income of Public Housing residents is \$17,781. POHP appropriations have been allocated throughout Minnesota to ensure the 14,885 very low-income households have a decent and safe place to call home.

We are also very excited to see the inclusion of \$4.5 million for Greater Minnesota Housing Infrastructure Grants. These funds are essential to communities, particularly smaller communities, can sustain the infrastructure necessary to add new housing in their communities. New housing supports a healthy and sustainable economy. We appreciate the expansion of counties as eligible recipients in recognition of the local governmental ownership of the varying infrastructure needed to support the growth in housing.

Sincerely

Melissa Japhorn

Legislative Committee Chair and Board Member