April 3, 2023

TO:

Senate Majority Leader Kari Dziedzic Speaker of the House Melissa Hortman Governor Tim Walz and Lieutenant Governor Peggy Flanagan Chair Lindsey Port, Senate Housing and Homelessness Prevention Committee Chair Michael Howard, House Housing Finance & Policy Committee Chair Ann Rest, Senate Taxes Committee Chair Aisha Gomez, House Taxes Committee

RE: Letter in Support of a Metro Affordable Housing Sales Tax

We write to you today as fellow elected officials who understand the housing affordability crisis in our communities, and are seeking sustainable solutions from the State. **Investing in permanent affordable housing is a necessity for all Minnesotans** because stable housing is proven to improve outcomes in health, education, employment, and more.

Residents are struggling as housing costs continue to rise faster than wages. In the 7-county metro, 323,405 households pay more than 30% of their income toward housing—after that, people can barely cover rising costs for food, medicine, bills, or education. Impacted households are those who can least afford it, including BIPOC families, seniors aging in place, kids and young people, and immigrant households.

The need for affordable housing is higher than we've had the funding to meet. **During Minnesota's latest round of funding, we received several times more requests than the funding capacity.** And the strain of lacking affordable housing options has devastating impacts—for example, since the end of the Statewide Emergency Rental Assistance Program, the number of families entering Hennepin shelters *outpace* families exiting at a rate of 2 to 1. No kid or family should be out in the Minnesota cold.

Dedicated State revenue is essential to tackling our region's housing affordability crisis. The "Metro Affordable Housing Sales Tax" would provide ongoing funding to meet our housing crisis and improve health outcomes, access to education, and employment opportunities for Minnesotans.

We urge you to support this important legislation and **create a dedicated funding stream to ensure housing stability** for all of our neighbors, and to create affordable, dignified, and safe places to live for all of our residents.

Sincerely,

Irene Fernando Hennepin County Board of Commissioners, Chair

Angela Conley Hennepin County Housing and Redevelopment Authority, Chair

Marion Greene Hennepin County Regional Railroad Authority, Chair Jeff Lunde Hennepin County Intergovernmental Relations Committee, Co-Chair

Chris LaTondresse Hennepin County Commissioner

Mandy Meisner Anoka County Commissioner April Graves Brooklyn Center Mayor

Shep Harris Golden Valley Mayor

Rachel James Columbia Heights City Council Member

(Signatures continue below)

Justice Spriggs Columbia Heights City Council Member

Therese Kiser Crystal City Council Member, Ward 1

Kristy Janigo Maple Grove City Council Member, At-Large

Elliott Payne Minneapolis City Council Member, Ward 1 Jason Chavez Minneapolis City Council Member, Ward 9

Aisha Chughtai Minneapolis City Council Member, Ward 10

Kimberly Wilburn Minnetonka City Council Member, At-Large

Kissy Coakley Minnetonka City Council Member, 4th Ward Lynette Dumalag Saint Louis Park City Council Member, Ward 2

Mitra Jalali Saint Paul City Council Member, Ward 4

Nelsie Yang Saint Paul City Council Member, Ward 6

Helen Bassett Robbinsdale School Board Director

Jen Westmoreland Hopkins School Board, Chair