COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:01 P.M. on March 27, 2024, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

STEPHENSON, Zack (Chair)
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie (Vice Chair)
O'DRISCOLL, Tim (GOP Lead)
BIERMAN, Robert
CHA, Ethan
DOTSETH, Jeff
FREIBERG, Mike
KLEVORN, Ginny
KOEGEL, Erin
KRAFT, Larry
NEU BRINDLEY, Anne
NISKA, Harry
PERRYMAN, Bernie
PFARR, Brian
SCHULTZ, Isaac

Members Absent:

TABKE, Brad

LIEBLING, Tina

A quorum was present.

Representative Perryman moved to approve the minutes for March 22, 2024. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Kraft moved to approve the minutes for March 25, 2024. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF4757 (Stephenson); Cannabis policy bill

Chair Stephenson moved HF4757 to be re-referred to the State and Local Government Finance and Policy Committee

Chair Stephenson moved the DE1 amendment.

Chair Stephenson presented HF4757.

Testifying:

- Charlene Briner, Interim Director, Office of Cannabis Management
- Jeff Taylor, BeezWax
- Ted Galaty, Owner, Willow's Keep farm
- Travis Cullen, Owner, Freedom Soda
- Leili Fatehi, Director, Minnesota Cannabis Resource Center

Chair Stephenson moved the A2 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative O'Driscoll moved the A3 amendment to the amendment.

Chair Stephenson moves an oral amendment to the A3 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS INCORPORATED.</u>

Representative O'Driscoll renewed the A3 amendment to the amendment as amended. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Perryman moved the A4 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Schultz moved the A6 amendment to the amendment.

Representative Schultz requested a roll call.

The Clerk took the roll:

AYES
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
DOTSETH, Jeff
NEU BRINDLEY, Anne
NISKA, Harry
PERRYMAN, Bernie
PFARR, Brian
SCHULTZ, Isaac

NAYS
STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
BIERMAN, Robert
CHA, Ethan
FREIBERG, Mike
KLEVORN, Ginny
KOEGEL, Erin
KRAFT, Larry
TABKE, Brad

With 7 AYES and 9 NAYES, the motion did not prevail.

Chair Stephenson moved the A7 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Neu Brindley moved the A9 amendment to the amendment.

Representative Neu Brindley moved to withdraw the A9 amendment to the amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Schultz moved the A10 amendment to the amendment.

Representative Schultz moved to divide the A10 amendment between lines 3.16 and 3.17. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Schultz withdrew lines 1.1-3.16 of the A10 amendment to the amendment.

Representative Schultz moved sections 3.17-4.1 of the A10 amendment to the amendment.

Representative Schultz requested a roll call.

The Clerk took the roll:

AYES
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
DOTSETH, Jeff
NEU BRINDLEY, Anne
NISKA, Harry
PERRYMAN, Bernie
PFARR, Brian

SCHULTZ, Isaac

NAYS
STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
BIERMAN, Robert
CHA, Ethan
FREIBERG, Mike
KLEVORN, Ginny
KOEGEL, Erin
KRAFT, Larry
TABKE, Brad

With 7 AYES and 9 NAYES, the motion did not prevail.

Chair Stephenson moved the A12 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT TO THE AMENDNEMT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson renewed the underlying DE1 amendment as amended. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT, AS AMENDED WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Stephenson renewed the motion that HF4757, as amended, be re-referred to the State and Local Government Finance and Policy Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Stephenson moved that non-partisan staff be authorized to make technical changes to reflect the will of the committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 1:57 P.M.

Representative Zao	ek Stephenson, Chair
Morgan Durfee, Committee	Legislative Assistant