





























March 29, 2023

Dear Members of the Minnesota House,

On behalf of the groups signed below, we urge you to pass National Popular Vote in Minnesota this legislative session (HF642). We appreciate Elections Chair Freiberg including the language from HF642 in the House Elections Finance and Policy Omnibus bill (HF1723).

For too long, action on this important election reform has been stalled and stymied despite bipartisan support.

Minnesota now has an unprecedented opportunity to act on this important proposal so we can join the 15 other states and the District of Columbia that already have passed National Popular Vote into law.

National Popular Vote ensures every vote will count equally in presidential elections and that the candidate with the most popular votes will be elected president.

The current broken system causes unnecessary division and mistrust, leads to needless recounts and endless litigation, and the candidate with the most votes does not always win.

We can change that by enacting National Popular Vote, which will also make our government more responsive, accountable, and answer to ALL Minnesota citizens.

We, the undersigned groups, endorse moving to a National Popular Vote and strongly encourage you to pass this legislation to protect our democracy, ensure all votes are equal and ensure the candidate with the most votes wins every time.

Sincerely,

African American DFL Caucus	Hollies Winston	Chairman
Center for Economic Inclusion	Isaac Russell	Director of Public Policy
Common Cause Minnesota	Annastacia Belladonna-Carrera	Executive Director
Latino Lead	Irma Marquez Trapero	Executive Director
League of Women Voters Minnesota	Sam Streukens	Civic Engagement Director
ISAIAH	Amity Foster	Data Manager
Jewish Democratic Council of America	Michael Tarnoff	Board Member
Make Every Vote Matter	Michael Tarnoff	Chair
Minnesota College Democrats	Joseph Rusciano	President
Minnesota DFL	Ken Martin	Chairman
Minnesota Young DFL	Marco Hernandez	President
National Popular Vote	Dr. John Koza	Chairman
OneMN.org	Brett Buckner	Managing Director
People For the American Way	Rio Tazewell	Director of Campaigns
Stand Up America	Reggie Thedford	Deputy Political Director
Unidos MN	Emilia Gonzalez Avalos	Executive Director