COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on February 17, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

Members present: STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve HALEY, Barb KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon LUCERO, Eric OLSON, Liz PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan RICHARDSON, Ruth THEIS, Tama

Members excused: LISLEGARD, Dave

A quorum was present.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved to approve the minutes from the committee meeting on February 16, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF600 (Winkler); Cannabis Management Board and advisory councils established; use and sale reports required; adult use and possession limited and legalized; business licensing, inspection, and regulation provided; testing and labeling of products required; advertisement limited; adultuse sale taxed; grant and loan programs established; data classified; and money appropriated.

Representative Stephenson moved that HF600 be recommended to be referred to the Committee on Labor, Industry, Veterans, and Military Affairs Finance and Policy.

Representative Stephenson moved the H0600A3 (Winkler) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF600: Leili Fatehi, Minnesotans for Responsible Marijuana Regulation Justin Carter Jessica Hauser Stefan Egan

Public Testimony: Maren Schroeder, Sensible Change Minnesota Kim Bemis, Smart Approaches to Marijuana Minnesota Dasheeda Dawson Ryan Hamilton, Minnesota Catholic Conference Marcus Harcus Julie Engle Carol Moss Angela L'Esperance, Ms. Jane Accounting Jeremy Sankey, Minnesota Veterans For Cannabis Anthony Newby, Cultivated CBD Aaron Peterson

Representative O'Driscoll moved the H0600A2 (O'Driscoll) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF600, as amended, be recommended to be referred to the Committee on Labor, Industry, Veterans, and Military Affairs Finance and Policy. The clerk took the roll.

AYES

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair CARLSON, Andrew DAVNIE, Jim ELKINS, Steve KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon OLSON, Liz RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead BAHR, Cal HALEY, Barb LUCERO, Eric PFARR, Brian RASMUSSON, Jordan THEIS, Tama

EXCUSED LISLEGARD, Dave

With 10 AYES, 7 NAYS, and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:29 PM.

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair

Simon Brown, Committee Legislative Assistant