## Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee Agenda

March 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2023 10:30am, Rm. 200 SOB

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of February 28th Meeting Minutes
- **III. HF 1712** (**Feist**) Prevention services, intervention services, and barrier reduction services relating to youth involved or at risk of becoming involved in criminal or juvenile justice system funding provided; report required; and money appropriated.
  - 1. Kate Weeks, Director, Officer of Justice Programs
  - 2. Malaika Eban, Legal Rights Center
  - 3. Miki Lewis, 8212 Truce Center
  - 4. Ukasha Dakane, Let It Go
- IV. HF 1511 (Feist) Juvenile Risk Assessments provided.
  - 1. Curtis Shanklin, Deputy Commissioner, Dept. of Corrections
- V. HF 1233 (Pinto) Visual inspection of delinquent children and youth in detention facilities prohibited, and disciplinary room time for delinquent children and youth in detention facilities prohibited.
  - 1. Paul Schnell, Commissioner, Dept. of Corrections
  - 2. Ta'Mara Hill, Policy Officer, The Centers for Victims of Torture
  - 3. Malaika Eban, Legal Rights Center

## **Public Testimony**

- 1. Elliot Butay, Senior Policy Coordinator, NAMI MN
- 2. Matthew Bauer, MN Juvenile Detention Association
- 3. Edward Reynoso, Teamsters Local #320
- 4. Jessica Remington, Arrowhead Regional Corrections
- 5. Jasmyn Bryant, Hennepin County Juvenile Detention
- 6. Dylan Warkentin, MN Association of Community Corrections Act Counties
- 7. Molly Bruner, MN Association of Community Corrections Act Counties
- VI. HF 100 (Stephenson) Omnibus cannabis bill.
  - 1. Munira Mohamed, ACLU MN
  - 2. Nekima Levy Armstrong
  - 3. RaeAnna Buchholz, Americans for Prosperity

## **Public Testimony**

- 1. Jay Henthorne, Chief, Richfield Police Department
- 2. Kevin Torgerson, Sheriff, Olmstead County
- 3. David Bernstein, Chair, MN DWI Task Force
- 4. Linda Stanton
- 5. Ini Udomah, Blaine, MN
- 6. Chris Wright, Legal Marijuana Now Party
- 7. Tom Evenstad
- 8. Carli Stark, Association of Minnesota Counties
- 9. John Bartee III
- 10. Marcus Harcus
- 11. Cameron Tyler
- 12. Ted Galaty

## VII. Adjournment

The Committee will meet until 12:30 PM due to cancelation of 2/23 hearing.