HOUSING FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Michael Howard, Chair of the Committee on Housing Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:01 P.M. on March 26, 2024, in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

HOWARD, Michael (Chair)
AGBAJE, Esther (Vice Chair)
JOHNSON, Brian (GOP Lead)
CHA, Ethan
DOTSETH, Jeff
HASSAN, Hodan
HUSSEIN, Samakab
KOZLOWSKI, Liish
MYERS, Andrew
NORRIS, Matt
PEREZ-VEGA, Maria Isa
PETERSBURG, John

Members Excused:

NASH, Jim

A quorum was present.

Lead Johnson moved that the minutes of March 20, 2024, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION</u> PREVAILED.

HF4618 (Her) Housing infrastructure program appropriation modified, and assistance provided to preserve naturally-occurring affordable housing.

Chair Howard moved that HF4618 be recommended to be laid over for possible inclusion in a Housing Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Chair Howard moved that HF4618A1 be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifiers:

- Howard Orenstein
- Janet Warwick
- Dr. Jean Lee, President and Executive Director, APAHC

Chair Howard renewed the motion that HF4618 as amended, be recommended to be laid over for possible inclusion in a Housing Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

HF4614 (Norris) Land Bank Twin Cities funding provided, and money appropriated.

Chair Howard moved that HF4614 be recommended to be laid over for possible inclusion in a Housing Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Testifiers:

- Tom Streitz, Interim Executive Director, Land Bank Twin Cities, Inc.
- David McGee, Executive Director, Build Wealth MN, Inc.
- Garrett Peterson, Program Manager Strategic Acquisition, Land Bank Twin Cities, Inc.

Chair Howard renewed the motion that HF4614 be recommended to be laid over for possible inclusion in a Housing Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:04 P.M.	
	Representative Michael Howard, Chair
	Emma Erdahl, Committee Legislative Assistant