ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, reconvened the meeting at 3:45 P.M. on February 28, 2024, in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BLISS, Matt BRAND, Jeff BURKEL, John EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven LEE, Fue PURSELL, Kristi SKRABA, Roger VANG, Samantha

Members Excused:

LISLEGARD, Dave

A quorum was present.

Representative Skraba moved to approve the minutes from February 21, 2024. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF3579 (Lee, F.); Physical measurements of air emissions and reporting of emission-related statistics required.

Representative Lee moved that HF3579 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill.

Representative Lee moved to adopt the DE3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Lee presented HF3579, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Tom Johnson, Government Relations Director, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
- Stacey Gurian-Sherman, J.D., Member, Climate Justice Committee
- Roxxanne O'Brien, Executive Director, Community Members for Environmental Justice
- Tony Kwilas, Environmental Policy Director, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Andrea Lovoll, Lobbyist, Minnesota Environmental Justice Table
- Tom Dicklich, Executive Director, Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council
- Aaron Klemz, Chief Strategy Officer, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy
- Karen Clark, Citizen, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Representative Lee renewed the motion that HF3579, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

HF671 (Lee, F.); Administrative penalties for repeat or serious environmental violations required to be unforgiveable.

Representative Lee moved that HF671 be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Representative Lee moved to adopt the DE3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Lee presented HF671, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

- Stacey Gurian-Sherman, J.D., Member, Climate Justice Committee
- Roxxanne O'Brien, Executive Director, Community Members for Environmental Justice
- Andrea Lovoll, Lobbyist, Minnesota Environmental Justice Table
- Tom Johnson, Government Relations Director, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Representative Lee renewed the motion that HF671, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF3474 (Reyer); Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) reserve program funding provided, bons issued, and money appropriated.

Chair Hansen moved that HF3474 be re-referred to the Committee on Legacy Finance.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Reyer presented HF3474, as amended.

Testifying on the bill:

• Sheila Vanney, Assistant Director, Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Chair Hanse renewed the motion that HF3474, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Legacy Finance. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Jordan assumed the gavel at 4:50 P.M.

HF3874 (Hansen, R.); Administrative penalty order authority modified for enforcing public water and drainage dich buffer requirements, and certain lawns to legumes program data made private.

Chair Hansen moved that HF3874 be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Chair Hansen presented HF3874.

Testifying on the bill:

• Dave Weirens, Assistant Director, Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF3874, be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Representative Heintzeman requested a roll call.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

AYES: HANSEN, Rick (Chair) JORDAN, Sydney (Vice Chair) BRAND, Jeff EDELSON, Heather FINKE, Leigh FISCHER, Peter LEE, Fue PURSELL, Kristi VANG, Samantha

NAYS: HEINTZEMAN, Josh (GOP Lead) BLISS, Matt BURKEL, John GILLMAN, Dawn JACOB, Steven SKRABA, Roger

EXCUSED: LISLEGARD, Dave

There being 9 ayes, 6 nays, and 1 excused, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 P.M.

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair

Sam O'Neill, Committee Legislative Assistant