TAXES COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Aisha Gomez, Chair of the Committee on Taxes, called the meeting to order at 1:03 PM on February 20, 2024 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

GOMEZ, Aisha, Chair

NORRIS, Matt, Vice Chair

DAVIDS, Greg, Minority Lead

AGBAJE, Esther

BRAND, Jeff

ELKINS, Steve

HOWARD, Michael

JOY, Jim

KOZNICK, Jon

LEE, Liz

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Bjorn

OLSON, Liz

PINTO, Dave

ROBBINS, Kristin

SMITH, Andy

SWEDZINSKI, Chris

WITTE, Jeff

WIENER, Mike

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members excused:

ANDERSON, Patti

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Norris moved that the minutes from February 15, 2024 be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Presentation from House Research on the Child Tax Credit.

Presentation on the Implementation of the Child Tax Credit.

Presenting:

- Paul Marquart, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Revenue
- Natletha Sumo Kollie, Economic Justice Outreach Manager, Children's Defense Fund Minnesota
- Nan Madden, Director, Minnesota Budget Project
- Amy Fisher, Tax Preparer, Prepare and Prosper

Presentation from House Research on an Overview of the 2023 Omnibus Tax bill.

The meeting adjourned at 1:52PM.	
	Representative Aisha Gomez, Chair
	Lauren Sabes, Committee Legislative Assistant