	moves to amend H.F. No. 5242 as follows:
	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
	"ARTICLE 1
	TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS
	Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.
	The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to the appropriations
	in Laws 2023, chapter 68, article 1, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this
	article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway fund, or another named fund, and
	are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. Amounts for "Total
	Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked "Appropriations by
	Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. Unless specified otherwise, the
	amounts in fiscal year 2025 under "Appropriations by Fund" are added to the base within
1	the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3, by fund. The figures
1	"2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them are
	available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively. "Each
	year" is each of fiscal years 2024 and 2025.
	APPROPRIATIONS Available for the Year Ending June 30 2024 2025
	Sec. 2. <u>DEPARTMENT OF</u> TRANSPORTATION
	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation \$ -0- \$ 14,100,000
	Appropriations by Fund

1.25 <u>2024</u> <u>2025</u>

04/12/24 05:04 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/MC H5242DE1 9,000,000 2.1 General -0--0-2.2 Trunk Highway 5,100,000 The appropriations in this section are to the 2.3 commissioner of transportation. 2.4 The amounts that may be spent for each 2.5 purpose are specified in the following 2.6 subdivisions. 2.7 Subd. 2. State Roads 2.8 2.9 (a) **Operations and Maintenance** -0-1,300,000 \$300,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for rumble 2.10 strips under Minnesota Statutes, section 2.11 161.1258. 2.12 \$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for 2.13 landscaping improvements under the 2.14 Department of Transportation's community 2.15 roadside landscape partnership program, with 2.16 prioritization of tree planting as feasible. 2.17 (b) **Program Planning and Research** 3,800,000 2.18 -0-\$3,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for 2.19 implementation and development of statewide 2.20 and regional travel demand modeling related 2.21 2.22 to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 161.178. This is a onetime 2.23 appropriation and is available until June 30, 2.24 2026. 2.25 \$800,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for one or more 2.26 grants to metropolitan planning organizations 2.27 outside the metropolitan area, as defined in 2.28 Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121, 2.29 subdivision 2, for modeling activities related 2.30 to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, 2.31 section 161.178. This is a onetime 2.32 appropriation. 2.33

	04/12/24 05:04 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/MC	H5242DE1
3.1	Subd. 3. Small Cities		<u>-0-</u>	9,000,000
3.2	\$9,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is from t	he		
3.3	general fund for the small cities assistar	nce		
3.4	program under Minnesota Statutes, sect	tion		
3.5	162.145. This appropriation must be allo	ocated		
3.6	and distributed in the July 2024 payment	. This		
3.7	is a onetime appropriation.			
3.8	Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL	<u>L </u> §	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>1,000,000</u>
3.9	The appropriation in this section is from	n the		
3.10	general fund to the Metropolitan Counc	<u>il.</u>		
3.11	\$1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a g	grant		
3.12	to the Ramsey County Regional Railroa	ud		
3.13	Authority for a portion of the costs of			
3.14	insurance coverage related to rail-relate	<u>d</u>		
3.15	incidents occurring at Union Depot in th	le city		
3.16	of St. Paul. This is a onetime appropriat	tion.		
3.17	Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC	<u>SAFETY</u>		
3.18	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation	<u>\$</u>	<u>-0-</u> <u>\$</u>	<u>1,211,000</u>
3.19	The appropriations in this section are fro	m the		
3.20	driver and vehicle services operating ac	count		
3.21	in the special revenue fund to the			
3.22	commissioner of public safety.			
3.23	The amounts that may be spent for each	<u>1</u>		
3.24	purpose are specified in the following			
3.25	subdivisions.			
3.26	Subd. 2. Driver Services		<u>-0-</u>	1,211,000
3.27	\$1,211,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for stat	ff and		
3.28	related operating costs for the intensive to	esting		
3.29	program under Minnesota Statutes, sect	tion		
3.30	<u>171.307.</u>			
3.31	The base from the driver and vehicle ser	rvices		
3.32	operating account in the special revenue	e fund		

04/12/24 05:04 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/MC H5242DE1 is increased by \$934,000 in fiscal year 2026 4.1 and \$794,000 in fiscal year 2027. 4.2 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION. 4.3 \$8,000,000 of the appropriation in fiscal year 2024 from the trunk highway fund for 4.4 Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) discretionary matches under Laws 2023, 4.5 chapter 68, article 1, section 2, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), is canceled to the trunk highway 4.6 fund on June 29, 2024. 4.7 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment. 4.8 Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2, is 4.9 amended to read: 4.10 Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems 4.11 (a) Aeronautics 4.12 4.13 (1) Airport Development and Assistance 24,198,000 18,598,000 Appropriations by Fund 4.14 2022 2023 4.15 General 5,600,000 -0-4.16 18,598,000 18,598,000 Airports 4.17 This appropriation is from the state airports 4.18 fund and must be spent according to 4.19 Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305, 4.20 subdivision 4. 4.21 \$5,600,000 in fiscal year 2022 is from the 4.22 general fund for a grant to the city of Karlstad 4.23 for the acquisition of land, predesign, design, 4.24 engineering, and construction of a primary 4.25 airport runway. This appropriation is for Phase 4.26 1 of the project. 4.27 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 4.28 16A.28, subdivision 6, this appropriation is 4.29 available for five years after the year of the 4.30 appropriation. If the appropriation for either 4.31

MB/MC	H5242DE1

5 1	version in sufficient the enversion	tion for	tha		
5.1	year is insufficient, the appropriate	lion for	the		
5.2	other year is available for it.				
5.3	If the commissioner of transporta	tion			
5.4	determines that a balance remains	s in the s	state		
5.5	airports fund following the appro	priation	S		
5.6	made in this article and that the ap	propriat	ions		
5.7	made are insufficient for advancing	ng airpo	ort		
5.8	development and assistance proje	ects, an			
5.9	amount necessary to advance the	projects	, not		
5.10	to exceed the balance in the state a	irports f	und,		
5.11	is appropriated in each year to the	e			
5.12	commissioner and must be spent a	accordin	ig to		
5.13	Minnesota Statutes, section 360.3	05,			
5.14	subdivision 4. Within two weeks	ofa			
5.15	determination under this continge	ent			
5.16	appropriation, the commissioner	of			
5.17	transportation must notify the cor	nmissio	ner		
5.18	of management and budget and the	ne chair	s,		
5.19	ranking minority members, and s	taff of tl	he		
5.20	legislative committees with jurisd	liction c	over		
5.21	transportation finance concerning	the fun	ıds		
5.22	appropriated. Funds appropriated	under t	his		
5.23	contingent appropriation do not ad	just the	base		
5.24	for fiscal years 2024 and 2025.				
5.25	(2) Aviation Support Services			8,332,000	8,340,000
5.26	Appropriations by	Fund			
5.27	20	022	2023		
5.28	General 1,650,	000	1,650,000		
5.29	Airports 6,682,	000	6,690,000		
5.30	\$28,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$	36,000	in		
5.31	fiscal year 2023 are from the state	e airport	ts		
5.32	fund for costs related to regulating	g unmar	nned		
5.33	aircraft systems.				
5.34	(3) Civil Air Patrol			80,000	80,000

6.1	This appropriation is from the state airports		
6.2	fund for the Civil Air Patrol.		
6.3	(b) Transit and Active Transportation	23,501,000	18,201,000
6.4	This appropriation is from the general fund.		
6.5	\$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for the active		
6.6	transportation program under Minnesota		
6.7	Statutes, section 174.38. This is a onetime		
6.8	appropriation and is available until June 30,		
6.9	2025.		
6.10	\$300,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for a grant to		
6.11	the 494 Corridor Commission. The		
6.12	commissioner must not retain any portion of		
6.13	the funds appropriated under this section. The		
6.14	commissioner must make grant payments in		
6.15	full by December 31, 2021. Funds under this		
6.16	grant are for programming and service		
6.17	expansion to assist companies and commuters		
6.18	in telecommuting efforts and promotion of		
6.19	best practices. A grant recipient must provide		
6.20	telework resources, assistance, information,		
6.21	and related activities on a statewide basis. This		
6.22	is a onetime appropriation.		
6.23	(c) Safe Routes to School	5,500,000	500,000
6.24	This appropriation is from the general fund		
6.25	for the safe routes to school program under		
6.26	Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40.		
6.27	If the appropriation for either year is		
6.28	insufficient, the appropriation for the other		
6.29	year is available for it.		
6.30	(d) Passenger Rail	10,500,000	500,000
6.31	This appropriation is from the general fund		
6.32	for passenger rail activities under Minnesota		
6.33	Statutes, sections 174.632 to 174.636.		

7.1	\$10,000,000 in fiscal	year 2022 is for fin	nal		
7.2	design and construction	on to provide for a			
7.3	second daily Amtrak train service between				
7.4	Minneapolis and St. Paul and Chicago. The				
7.5	commissioner may ex	pend funds for pro	gram		
7.6	delivery and administ	ration from this am	ount.		
7.7	This is a onetime app	ropriation and is			
7.8	available until June 3	0, 2025.			
7.9	(e) Freight			8,342,000	7,323,000
7.10	Approp	oriations by Fund			
7.11		2022	2023		
7.12	General	2,464,000	1,445,000		
7.13	Trunk Highway	5,878,000	5,878,000		
7.14	\$1,000,000 in fiscal y	ear 2022 is from th	ne		
7.15	general fund for proce	urement costs of a			
7.16	statewide freight netw	vork optimization t	cool.		
7.17	This is a onetime app	ropriation and is			
7.18	available until June 3	0, 2023.			
7.19	\$350,000 in fiscal yea	ar 2022 and \$287,0	00 in		
7.20	fiscal year 2023 are from the general fund for				
7.21	two additional rail safety inspectors in the state				
7.22	rail safety inspection program under				
7.23	Minnesota Statutes, se	ection 219.015. In	each		
7.24	year, the commission	er must not increas	e the		
7.25	total assessment amou	unt under Minneso	ta		
7.26	Statutes, section 219.0)15, subdivision 2,	from		
7.27	the most recent assess	sment amount.			
7.28		А	RTICLE 2		
7.29			RTATION FINA	ANCE	
7.30	Section 1. Minnesot	a Statutes 2022, se	ction 13.6905, is	amended by addin	g a subdivision
7.31	to read:				
7.32	Subd. 38. Intensiv	ve testing progran	<mark>n data.</mark> Data on p	participants in the ir	ntensive testing
7.33	program are governed	l by section 171.30	7, subdivision 7	<u>.</u>	

8.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.
8.2	Sec. 2. [161.1258] RUMBLE STRIPS.
8.3	(a) The commissioner must maintain transverse rumble strips in association with each
8.4	stop sign that is located (1) on a trunk highway segment with a speed limit of at least 55
8.5	miles per hour, and (2) outside the limits of a statutory or home rule charter city.
8.6	(b) The commissioner must meet the requirements under paragraph (a) at each applicable
8.7	location by the earlier of August 1, 2034, or the date of substantial completion of any
8.8	construction, resurfacing, or reconditioning at the location.
8.9 8.10	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
8.11	Subd. 104. Mayor Dave Smiglewski Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked U.S.
8.12	Highway 212 over the Minnesota River in the city of Granite Falls is designated as "Mayor
8.13	Dave Smiglewski Memorial Bridge." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must
8.14	adopt a suitable design to mark the bridge and erect appropriate signs.
8.15	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 161.178, is amended to read: 161.178 TRANSPORTATION GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS IMPACT
8.16	
8.17	ASSESSMENT.
8.18	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
8.19	the meanings given.
8.20	(b) "Applicable entity" means the commissioner with respect to a capacity expansion
8.21	project or portfolio for inclusion in the state transportation improvement program or a
8.22	metropolitan planning organization with respect to a capacity expansion project or portfolio
8.23	for inclusion in the appropriate metropolitan transportation improvement program.
8.24	(c) "Assessment" means the capacity expansion impact assessment under this section.
8.25	(d) "Capacity expansion project" means a project for trunk highway construction or
8.26	reconstruction that:
8.27	(1) is a major highway project, as defined in section 174.56, subdivision 1, paragraph
8.28	(b); and
8.29	(2) adds highway traffic capacity or provides for grade separation of motor vehicle traffic
8.30	at an intersection, excluding auxiliary lanes with a length of less than 2,500 feet.

9.1	(e) "Greenhouse gas emissions" includes those emissions described in section 216H.01,
9.2	subdivision 2.
9.3	Subd. 2. Project or portfolio assessment. (a) Prior to inclusion of a capacity expansion
9.4	project or portfolio in the state transportation improvement program or in a metropolitan
9.5	transportation improvement program, the applicable entity must perform a capacity expansion
9.6	an impact assessment of the project or portfolio. Following the assessment, the applicable
9.7	entity must determine if the project conforms or portfolio is proportionally in conformance
9.8	with:
9.9	(1) the greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets under section 174.01, subdivision 3;
9.10	and
9.11	(2) the vehicle miles traveled reduction targets established in the statewide multimodal
9.12	transportation plan under section 174.03, subdivision 1a.
9.13	(b) If the applicable entity determines that the eapacity expansion project or portfolio is
9.14	not in conformance with paragraph (a), the applicable entity must:
9.15	(1) alter the scope or design of the project or any number of projects, remove one or
9.16	more projects from the portfolio, or undertake a combination, and subsequently perform a
9.17	revised assessment that meets the requirements under this section;
9.18	(2) interlink sufficient impact mitigation as provided in subdivision 4; or
9.19	(3) halt project development and disallow inclusion of the project or portfolio in the
9.20	appropriate transportation improvement program.
9.21	Subd. 2a. Applicable projects. (a) For purposes of this section:
9.22	(1) prior to the date established under paragraph (b), a project or portfolio is a capacity
9.23	expansion project; and
9.24	(2) on and after the date established under paragraph (b), a project or portfolio is a
9.25	capacity expansion project or a collection of trunk highway projects for a fiscal year and
9.26	specific region.
9.27	(b) The commissioner must establish a date to implement impact assessments on the
9.28	basis of assessing a portfolio or program of projects instead of on a project-by-project basis.
9.29	The date must be:
9.30	(1) August 1, 2027, which applies to projects that first enter the appropriate transportation
9.31	improvement program for fiscal year 2031 or a subsequent year; or
9.32	(2) as established by the commissioner, if the commissioner:

Article 2 Sec. 4.

10.1	(i) consults with metropolitan planning organizations;
10.2	(ii) prioritizes and makes reasonable efforts to meet the date under clause (1) or an earlier
10.3	<u>date;</u>
10.4	(iii) determines that the date established under this clause is the earliest practicable in
10.5	which the necessary models and tools are sufficient for analysis under this section; and
10.6	(iv) submits a notice to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
10.7	committees and divisions with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy, which
10.8	must identify the date established and summarize the efforts under item (ii) and the
10.9	determination under item (iii).
10.10	Subd. 3. Assessment requirements. (a) The commissioner must establish a process to
10.11	perform capacity expansion impact assessments. An assessment must provide for the
10.12	determination under subdivision 2. implement the requirements under this section, which
10.13	includes:
10.14	(1) any necessary policies, procedures, manuals, and technical specifications;
10.15	(2) procedures to perform an impact assessment that provide for the determination under
10.16	subdivision 2;
10.17	(3) in consultation with the technical advisory committee under section 161.1782, criteria
10.18	for identification of a capacity expansion project; and
10.19	(4) related data reporting from local units of government on local multimodal
10.20	transportation systems and local project impacts on greenhouse gas emissions and vehicle
10.21	miles traveled.
10.22	(b) Analysis under an assessment must include but is not limited to estimates resulting
10.23	from the a project or portfolio for the following:
10.24	(1) greenhouse gas emissions over a period of 20 years; and
10.25	(2) a net change in vehicle miles traveled for the affected network-; and
10.26	(3) impacts to trunk highways and related impacts to local road systems, on a local,
10.27	regional, or statewide basis, as appropriate.
10.28	Subd. 4. Impact mitigation; interlinking. (a) To provide for impact mitigation, the
10.29	applicable entity must interlink the eapacity expansion project or portfolio as provided in
10.30	this subdivision.

(b) Impact mitigation is sufficient under subdivision 2, paragraph (b), if the capacity 11.1 expansion project or portfolio is interlinked to mitigation offset actions such that the total 11.2 greenhouse gas emissions reduction from the mitigation offset actions, after accounting for 11.3 the greenhouse gas emissions otherwise resulting from the capacity expansion project or 11.4 portfolio, is consistent with meeting the targets specified under subdivision 2, paragraph 11.5 (a). Each comparison under this paragraph must be performed over equal comparison periods. 11.6 (c) A mitigation An offset action consists of a project, program, or operations 11.7 modification, or mitigation plan in one or more of the following areas: 11.8 (1) transit expansion, including but not limited to regular route bus, arterial bus rapid 11.9 11.10 transit, highway bus rapid transit, rail transit, and intercity passenger rail; (2) transit service improvements, including but not limited to increased service level, 11.11 11.12 transit fare reduction, and transit priority treatments; (3) active transportation infrastructure; 11.13 (4) micromobility infrastructure and service, including but not limited to shared vehicle 11.14 services; 11.15 (5) transportation demand management, including but not limited to vanpool and shared 11.16 vehicle programs, remote work, and broadband access expansion; 11.1711.18 (6) parking management, including but not limited to parking requirements reduction or elimination and parking cost adjustments; 11.19 (7) land use, including but not limited to residential and other density increases, mixed-use 11.20 development, and transit-oriented development; 11.21 (8) infrastructure improvements related to traffic operations, including but not limited 11.22 to roundabouts and reduced conflict intersections; and 11.23 11.24 (9) natural systems, including but not limited to prairie restoration, reforestation, and urban green space; and 11.25 11.26 (10) as specified by the commissioner in the manner provided under paragraph (e). (d) A mitigation An offset action may be identified as interlinked to the capacity 11.27 expansion project or portfolio if: 11.28 (1) there is a specified project, program, or modification, or mitigation plan; 11.29 (2) the necessary funding sources are identified and sufficient amounts are committed; 11.30 (3) the mitigation is localized as provided in subdivision 5; and 11.31

12.1	(4) procedures are established to ensure that the mitigation action remains in substantially
12.2	the same form or a revised form that continues to meet the calculation under paragraph (b).
12.3	(e) The commissioner may authorize additional offset actions under paragraph (c) if:
12.4	(1) the offset action is reviewed and recommended by the technical advisory committee
12.5	under section 161.1782; and
12.6	(2) the commissioner determines that the offset action is directly related to reduction in
12.7	the transportation sector of greenhouse gas emissions or vehicle miles traveled.
12.8	Subd. 5. Impact mitigation; localization. (a) A mitigation An offset action under
12.9	subdivision 4 must be localized in the following priority order:
12.10	(1) if the offset action is for one project, within or associated with at least one of the
12.11	communities impacted by the capacity expansion project;
12.12	(2) if clause (1) does not apply or there is not a reasonably feasible location under clause
12.13	(1), in areas of persistent poverty or historically disadvantaged communities, as measured
12.14	and defined in federal law, guidance, and notices of funding opportunity;
12.15	(3) if there is not a reasonably feasible location under clauses (1) and (2), in the region
12.16	of the capacity expansion project or portfolio; or
12.17	(4) if there is not a reasonably feasible location under clauses (1) to (3), on a statewide
12.18	basis.
12.19	(b) The applicable entity must include an explanation regarding the feasibility and
12.20	rationale for each mitigation action located under paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (4).
12.21	Subd. 6. Public information. The commissioner must publish information regarding
12.22	capacity expansion impact assessments on the department's website. The information must
12.23	include:
12.24	(1) for each project evaluated separately under this section, identification of capacity
12.25	expansion projects the project; and
12.26	(2) for each project evaluated separately, a summary that includes an overview of the
12.27	expansion impact assessment, the impact determination by the commissioner, and project
12.28	disposition, including a review of any mitigation offset actions-;
12.29	(3) for each portfolio of projects, an overview of the projects, the impact determination
12.30	by the commissioner, and a summary of any offset actions;
12.31	(4) a review of any interpretation of or additions to offset actions under subdivision 4;

13.1	(5) identification of the date established by the commissioner under subdivision 2a,
13.2	paragraph (b); and
13.3	(6) a summary of the activities of the technical advisory committee under section
13.4	161.1782, including but not limited to any findings or recommendations made by the advisory
13.5	committee.
13.6	Subd. 7. Safety and well-being. The requirements of this section are in addition to and
13.7	must not supplant the safety and well-being goals established under section 174.01,
13.8	subdivision 2, clauses (1) and (2).
13.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective is effective February 1, 2025. This section
13.10	does not apply to a capacity expansion project that was either included in the state
13.11	transportation improvement program or has been submitted for approval of the geometric
13.12	layout before February 1, 2025.
13.13	Sec. 5. [161.1782] TRANSPORTATION IMPACT ASSESSMENT; TECHNICAL
13.14	ADVISORY COMMITTEE.
10111	
13.15	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
13.16	the meanings given.
13.17	(b) "Advisory committee" means the technical advisory committee established in this
13.18	section.
13.19	(c) "Project or portfolio" is as provided in section 161.178.
13.20	Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner must establish a technical advisory committee
13.21	to assist in implementation review related to the requirements under section 161.178.
13.22	Subd. 3. Membership; appointments. The advisory committee is composed of the
13.23	following members:
13.24	(1) one member from the Department of Transportation, appointed by the commissioner
13.25	of transportation;
13.26	(2) one member from the Pollution Control Agency, appointed by the commissioner of
13.27	the Pollution Control Agency;
13.28	(3) one member from the Metropolitan Council, appointed by the chair of the
13.29	Metropolitan Council;
13.30	(4) one member from the Center for Transportation Studies, appointed by the president
13.31	of the University of Minnesota;

14.1	(5) one member representing metropolitan planning organizations outside the metropolitan
14.2	area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, appointed by the Association of
14.3	Metropolitan Planning Organizations; and
14.4	(6) up to four members who are not employees of the state, with no more than two who
14.5	are employees of a political subdivision, appointed by the commissioner of transportation.
14.6	Subd. 4. Membership; requirements. (a) To be eligible for appointment to the advisory
14.7	committee, an individual must have experience or expertise sufficient to provide assistance
14.8	in implementation or technical review related to the requirements under section 161.178.
14.9	Each appointing authority must consider appointment of individuals with expertise in travel
14.10	demand modeling, emissions modeling, traffic forecasting, land use planning, or
14.11	transportation-related greenhouse gas emissions assessment and analysis. In appointing the
14.12	members under subdivision 3, clause (6), the commissioner must also consider technical
14.13	expertise in other relevant areas, which may include but is not limited to public health or
14.14	natural systems management.
14.15	(b) Members of the advisory committee serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority.
14.16	Vacancies must be filled by the appointing authority.
14.17	Subd. 5. Duties. The advisory committee must assist the commissioner in implementation
14.18	of the requirements under section 161.178 by:
14.19	(1) performing technical review and validation of processes and methodologies used for
14.20	impact assessment and impact mitigation;
14.21	(2) reviewing and making recommendations on:
14.22	(i) impact assessment requirements;
14.23	(ii) models and tools for impact assessment;
14.24	(iii) methods to determine sufficiency of impact mitigation;
14.25	(iv) procedures for interlinking a project or portfolio to impact mitigation; and
14.26	(v) reporting and data collection;
14.27	(3) advising on the approach used to determine the area of influence for a project or
14.28	portfolio for a geographic or transportation network area;
14.29	(4) developing recommendations on any clarifications, modifications, or additions to
14.30	the offset actions authorized under section 161.178, subdivision 4; and
14.31	(5) performing other analysis or activities as requested by the commissioner.

15.1	Subd. 6. Administration. (a) The commissioner must provide administrative support
15.2	to the advisory committee. Upon request, the commissioner must provide information and
15.3	technical support to the advisory committee.
15.4	(b) Members of the advisory committee are not eligible for compensation under this
15.5	section.
15.6	(c) The advisory committee is subject to the Minnesota Data Practices Act under chapter
15.7	13 and to the Minnesota Open Meeting Law under chapter 13D.
15.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
15.9	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to
15.10	read:
15.11	Subd. 4. High voltage transmission; placement in right-of-way. (a) For purposes of
15.12	this subdivision and subdivisions 5 to 7, "high voltage transmission line" has the meaning
15.13	given in section 216E.01, subdivision 4.
15.14	(b) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (a), high voltage transmission lines under
15.15	the laws of this state or the ordinance of any city or county may be constructed, placed, or
15.16	maintained across or along any trunk highway including an interstate highway and a trunk
15.17	highway that is an expressway or a freeway, except as deemed necessary by the commissioner
15.18	of transportation to protect public safety or ensure the proper function of the trunk highway
15.19	system.
15.20	(c) If the commissioner denies a high voltage electric line colocation request, the reasons
15.21	for the denial must be submitted for review to the chairs and ranking minority members of
15.22	the committees with jurisdiction over energy and transportation, the Public Utilities
15.23	Commission executive secretary, and the commissioner of commerce within 90 days of the
15.24	commissioner's denial.
15.25	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment
15.26	and applies to colocation requests for a high voltage transmission line on or after that date.
15.27	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to
15.28	read:
15.29	Subd. 5. High voltage transmission; coordination required. Upon written request,
15.30	the commissioner must engage in coordination activities with a utility or transmission line
15.31	developer to review requested highway corridors for potential permitted locations for
15.32	transmission lines. The commissioner must assign a project coordinator within 30 days of

16.1	receiving the written request. The commissioner must share all known plans with affected
16.2	utilities or transmission line developers on potential future projects in the highway corridor
16.3	if the potential highway project impacts the placement or siting of high voltage transmission
16.4	lines.
16.5	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.
16.6	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to
16.7	read:
16.8	Subd. 6. High voltage transmission; constructability report; advance notice. (a) If
16.9	the commissioner and a utility or transmission line developer identify a permittable route
16.10	along a highway corridor for possible colocation of transmission lines, a constructability
16.11	report must be prepared by the utility or transmission line developer in consultation with
16.12	the commissioner. A constructability report developed under this subdivision must be utilized
16.13	by both parties to plan and approve colocation projects.
16.14	(b) A constructability report developed under this section between the commissioner
16.15	and the parties seeking colocation must include terms and conditions for building the
16.16	colocation project. Notwithstanding the requirements in subdivision 1, the report must be
16.17	approved by the commissioner and the party or parties seeking colocation prior to the
16.18	commissioner approving and issuing a permit for use of the trunk highway right-of-way.
16.19	(c) A constructability report must include an agreed upon timeframe for which there
16.20	will not be a request from the commissioner for relocation of the transmission line. If the
16.21	commissioner determines that relocation of a transmission line in the trunk highway
16.22	right-of-way is necessary, the commissioner, as much as practicable, must give a seven-year
16.23	advance notice.
16.24	(d) Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision 7 and section 161.46, subdivision
16.25	2, if the commissioner requires the relocation of a transmission line in the interstate highway
16.26	right-of-way earlier than what was agreed upon in paragraph (c) in the constructability
16.27	report or provides less than a seven-year notice of relocation in the agreed upon
16.28	constructability report, the commissioner is responsible for 75 percent of the relocation
16.29	costs.
16.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.

17.1	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to
17.2	read:
17.3	Subd. 7. High voltage transmission; relocation reimbursement prohibited. (a) A
17.4	high voltage transmission line that receives a route permit under chapter 216E on or after
17.5	July 1, 2024, is not eligible for relocation reimbursement under section 161.46, subdivision
17.6	<u>2.</u>
17.7	(b) If the commissioner orders relocation of a high voltage transmission line that is
17.8	subject to paragraph (a):
17.9	(1) a public utility, as defined in section 216B.02, subdivision 4, may recover its portion
17.10	of costs of relocating the line that the Public Utilities Commission deems prudently incurred
17.11	as a transmission cost adjustment pursuant to section 216B.16, subdivision 7b; and
17.12	(2) a consumer-owned utility, as defined in section 216B.2402, subdivision 2, may
17.13	recover its portion of costs of relocating the line in any manner approved by its governing
17.14	board.
17.15	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.
17.16	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
17.17	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section the following terms shall
17.18	have the meanings ascribed to given them:
17.19	(1) (b) "Utility" means all publicly, privately, and cooperatively owned systems for
17.20	supplying power, light, gas, telegraph, telephone, water, pipeline, or sewer service if such
17.21	systems be authorized by law to use public highways for the location of its facilities.
17.22	(2) (c) "Cost of relocation" means the entire amount paid by such utility properly
17.23	attributable to such relocation after deducting therefrom any increase in the value of the
17.24	new facility and any salvage value derived from the old facility.
17.25	(d) "High voltage transmission line" has the meaning given in section 216E.01,
17.26	subdivision 4.
17.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.
17.28	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 161.46, subdivision 2, is amended
17.29	to read:
17.30	Subd. 2. Relocation of facilities; reimbursement. (a) Whenever the commissioner shall
17.31	determine determines that the relocation of any utility facility is necessitated by the

construction of a project on the routes of federally aided state trunk highways, including 18.1 urban extensions thereof, which routes that are included within the National System of 18.2 Interstate Highways, the owner or operator of such the utility facility shall must relocate 18.3 the same utility facility in accordance with the order of the commissioner. After the 18.4 completion of such relocation the cost thereof shall be ascertained and paid by the state out 18.5 of trunk highway funds; provided, however, the amount to be paid by the state for such 18.6 reimbursement shall not exceed the amount on which the federal government bases its 18.7 reimbursement for said interstate system. Except as provided in section 161.45, subdivision 18.8 6, paragraph (d), or 7, upon the completion of relocation of a utility facility, the cost of 18.9 relocation must be ascertained and paid out of the trunk highway fund by the commissioner, 18.10 provided the amount paid by the commissioner for reimbursement to a utility does not 18.11exceed the amount on which the federal government bases its reimbursement for the interstate 18.12 18.13 highway system. (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), on or after January 1, 2024, any entity that receives 18.14 a route permit under chapter 216E for a high-voltage transmission line necessary to 18.15 interconnect an electric power generating facility is not eligible for relocation reimbursement 18.16 unless the entity directly, or through its members or agents, provides retail electric service 18.17 in this state. 18.18**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective on the day following final enactment. 18.19 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.09, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 18.20 18.21 Subd. 7. Display of temporary permit. (a) A vehicle that displays a Minnesota plate issued under this chapter may display a temporary permit The commissioner may issue a 18.22

- 18.23 temporary permit under this subdivision in conjunction with the conclusion of a registration
 18.24 period or a recently expired registration, if:
- 18.25 (1) the current registration tax and all other fees and taxes have been paid in full; and
- 18.26 (2) the plate has special plates have been applied for.
- 18.27 (b) A vehicle may display a temporary permit in conjunction with expired registration,
 18.28 with or without a registration plate, if:
- 18.29 (1) the plates have been applied for;
- 18.30 (2) the registration tax and other fees and taxes have been paid in full; and

(3) either the vehicle is used solely as a collector vehicle while displaying the temporary
 permit and not used for general transportation purposes or the vehicle was issued a 21-day
 permit under section 168.092, subdivision 1.

(e) (b) The permit is valid for a period of 60 days. The permit must be in a format
prescribed by the commissioner, affixed to the rear of the vehicle where a license plate
would normally be affixed, and plainly visible. The permit is valid only for the vehicle for
which it was issued to allow a reasonable time for the new plates to be manufactured and
delivered to the applicant. The permit may be issued only by the commissioner or by a
deputy registrar under section 168.33.

19.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.

19.11 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.092, is amended to read:

19.12 **168.092 21-DAY 60-DAY TEMPORARY VEHICLE PERMIT.**

Subdivision 1. **Resident buyer.** The motor vehicle registrar commissioner may issue a permit to a person purchasing a new or used motor vehicle in this state for the purpose of allowing the purchaser a reasonable time to register the vehicle and pay fees and taxes due on the transfer. The permit is valid for a period of 21 <u>60</u> days. The permit must be in a form as the registrar may determine format prescribed by the commissioner, affixed to the rear of the vehicle where a license plate would normally be affixed, and plainly visible. Each permit is valid only for the vehicle for which issued.

Subd. 2. Dealer. The registrar commissioner may issue permits to licensed dealers.
When issuing a permit, the dealer shall must complete the permit in the manner prescribed
by the department.

19.23 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 1, 2024.

19.24 Sec. 14. [168.1283] ROTARY INTERNATIONAL PLATES.

- 19.25 Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Rotary International
- 19.26 special license plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:
- 19.27 (1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup
- 19.28 <u>truck, motorcycle, or self-propelled recreational motor vehicle;</u>
- 19.29 (2) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;
- 19.30 (3) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each set
- 19.31 of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;

20.1	(4) contributes \$25 upon initial application and a minimum of \$5 annually to the Rotary
20.2	District 5950 Foundation account; and
20.3	(5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and
20.4	licensing of drivers.
20.5	Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner must adopt a suitable design for the plate that must
20.6	include the Rotary International symbol and the phrase "Service Above Self."
20.7	Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer
20.8	fee of \$5, special plates may be transferred to another qualified motor vehicle that is
20.9	registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.
20.10	Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section
20.11	168.1293, subdivision 2.
20.12	Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under
20.13	subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Rotary District 5950 Foundation account,
20.14	which is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is annually
20.15	appropriated to the commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual
20.16	cost of administering the account funds, and the remaining funds must be distributed to
20.17	Rotary District 5950 Foundation to further the rotary's mission of service, fellowship,
20.18	diversity, integrity, and leadership. Funds distributed under this subdivision must be used
20.19	on projects within this state.
20.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, for Rotary International
20.21	special plates issued on or after that date.
20.22	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.301, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
20.23	Subd. 3. Late fee. In addition to any fee or tax otherwise authorized or imposed upon
20.24	the transfer of title for a motor vehicle, the commissioner of public safety shall must impose
20.25	a \$2 additional fee for failure to deliver a title transfer within ten business days the period
20.26	specified under section 168A.10, subdivision 2.
20.27	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.
20.28	Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
20.29	Subd. 2. Application for new certificate. Except as provided in section 168A.11, the
20.30	transferee shall must, within ten 20 days after assignment to the transferee of the vehicle

title certificate, execute the application for a new certificate of title in the space provided 20.31

on the certificate, and cause the certificate of title to be mailed or delivered to the department.
Failure of the transferee to comply with this subdivision shall result results in the suspension
of the vehicle's registration under section 168.17.

21.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024, and applies to title 21.5 transfers on or after that date.

21.6 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Requirements upon subsequent transfer; service fee.** (a) A dealer who buys a vehicle and holds it for resale need not apply for a certificate of title. Upon transferring the vehicle to another person, other than by the creation of a security interest, the dealer shall must promptly execute the assignment and warranty of title by a dealer, showing the names and addresses of the transferee and of any secured party holding a security interest created or reserved at the time of the resale, and the date of the security agreement in the spaces provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment.

(b) If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the dealer need not register the vehicle but <u>shall must</u> pay one month's registration tax. If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the department shall <u>commissioner must</u> not place any legend on the title that no motor vehicle sales tax was paid by the dealer, but may indicate on the title whether the vehicle is a new or used vehicle.

(c) With respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the dealer
shall <u>must</u> also, in the space provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure
reassignment, state the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the exact
mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from
the true mileage.

(d) The transferee shall must complete the application for title section on the certificate
of title or separate title application form prescribed by the department commissioner. The
dealer shall must mail or deliver the certificate to the registrar commissioner or deputy
registrar with the transferee's application for a new certificate and appropriate taxes and
fees, within ten business days the period specified under section 168A.10, subdivision 2.

(e) With respect to vehicles sold to buyers who will remove the vehicle from this state,
the dealer shall must remove any license plates from the vehicle, issue a 31-day temporary
permit pursuant to section 168.091, and notify the registrar commissioner within 48 hours
of the sale that the vehicle has been removed from this state. The notification must be made

- in an electronic format prescribed by the registrar commissioner. The dealer may contract 22.1 with a deputy registrar for the notification of sale to an out-of-state buyer. The deputy 22.2 registrar may charge a fee of \$7 per transaction to provide this service. 22.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024, and applies to title 22.4 22.5 transfers on or after that date. Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 169A.44, subdivision 1, is amended 22.6 to read: 22.7 Subdivision 1. Nonfelony violations. (a) This subdivision applies to a person charged 22.8 with a nonfelony violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under circumstances 22.9 described in section 169A.40, subdivision 3 (certain DWI offenders; custodial arrest). 22.10 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 3, unless maximum bail is imposed under section 22.11 629.471, a person described in paragraph (a) may be released from detention only if the 22.12 person agrees to the following conditions pending resolution of the charge: 22.13 (1) abstain from alcohol and nonprescribed controlled or intoxicating substances; and 22.14 22.15 (2) submit to a program of electronic alcohol monitoring, involving at least daily measurements of the person's alcohol concentration, pending resolution of the charge to 22.16 monitor that abstinence. 22.17 (c) A defendant charged with a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (1), 22.18 (5), or (6); subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements involves a violation of clause 22.19 (1); subdivision 2, clause (1); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued the warrant 22.20 based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of alcohol must 22.21 be monitored through the use of: 22.22 (1) electronic alcohol monitoring, involving at least daily measurements of the person's 22.23 alcohol concentration if electronic alcohol-monitoring equipment is available to the court; 22.24 22.25 or (2) random alcohol tests conducted at least weekly if electronic alcohol-monitoring 22.26 equipment is not available to the court. 22.27 (d) A defendant charged with a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (2), 22.28 (3), (4), (7), or (8); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued the warrant based on 22.29 probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of a controlled substance 22.30 22.31 or an intoxicating substance must be monitored through the use of random urine analyses
- 22.32 conducted at least weekly.

- Clause (2) applies only when electronic alcohol-monitoring equipment is available to
 the court. (e) The court shall require partial or total reimbursement from the person for the
 cost of the electronic alcohol monitoring, random alcohol tests, and random urine analyses,
 to the extent the person is able to pay.
- 23.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to defendants
 23.6 charged on or after that date.
- 23.7 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169A.55, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Reinstatement of driving privileges; multiple incidents. (a) A person whose
driver's license has been revoked as a result of an <u>alcohol-related</u> offense listed under clause
(2) shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without an ignition interlock
restriction until the commissioner certifies that either:

(1) the person did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time
between the time of the offense and the driver's request for reinstatement, or commit a
violation of chapter 169, 169A, or 171 between the time of the offense and the driver's
request for reinstatement or at the time of the arrest for the offense listed under clause (2),
item (i), subitem (A) or (B), or (ii), subitem (A) or (B), as based on:

23.17 (i) a request by the person for reinstatement, on a form to be provided by the Department23.18 of Public Safety;

23.19 (ii) the person's attestation under penalty of perjury; and

23.20 (iii) the submission by the driver of certified copies of vehicle registration records and
23.21 driving records for the period from the arrest until the driver seeks reinstatement of driving
23.22 privileges; or

23.23 (2) the person used the ignition interlock device and complied with section 171.306 for23.24 a period of not less than:

23.25 (i) one year, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:

23.26 (A) an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving incident;23.27 or

23.28 (B) an offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or

23.29 (ii) two years, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:

(A) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the test results indicated
an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more; or

- (B) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the current offense is 24.1 for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 2. 24.2 (b) A person whose driver's license has been canceled or denied as a result of three or 24.3 more qualified impaired driving incidents involving at least one alcohol-related offense 24.4shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without an ignition interlock 24.5 restriction until the person: 24.6 (1) has completed rehabilitation according to rules adopted by the commissioner or been 24.7 granted a variance from the rules by the commissioner; and 24.8 (2) has submitted verification of abstinence from alcohol and controlled substances 24.9 under paragraph (c), as evidenced by the person's use of an ignition interlock device or other 24.10 chemical monitoring device approved by the commissioner. 24.11 (c) The verification of abstinence must show that the person has abstained from the use 24.12 of alcohol and controlled substances for a period of not less than: 24.13 (1) three years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 24.14 occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, or 24.15 occurring after three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; 24.16 (2) four years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 24.17 occurring within ten years of the first of three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or 24.18 (3) six years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 24.19 occurring after four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents. 24.20 (d) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as a result of a controlled or 24.21 intoxicating substance offense listed under clause (2) shall not be eligible for reinstatement 24.22 of driving privileges without participating in the intensive testing program established under 24.23 section 171.307 until the commissioner certifies that either: 24.24 (1) the person did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time 24.25 between the time of the offense and the driver's request for reinstatement, or commit a 24.26 violation of chapter 169, 169A, or 171 between the time of the offense and the driver's 24.27 request for reinstatement or at the time of the arrest for the offense listed under clause (2), 24.28 24.29 item (i), subitem (A) or (B), or (ii), subitem (A) or (B), as based on: (i) a request by the person for reinstatement, on a form to be provided by the Department 24.30 24.31 of Public Safety; (ii) the person's attestation under penalty of perjury; and 24.32
 - Article 2 Sec. 19.

25.1	(iii) the submission by the driver of certified copies of vehicle registration records and
25.2	driving records for the period from the arrest until the driver seeks reinstatement of driving
25.3	privileges; or
25.4	(2) the person participated in the intensive testing program and complied with section
25.5	171.307 for a period of not less than:
25.6	(i) one year, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:
25.7	(A) an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving incident;
25.8	<u>or</u>
25.9	(B) an offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or
25.10	(ii) two years, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:
25.11	(A) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the test results indicated
25.12	an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more; or
25.13	(B) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the current offense is
25.14	for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 2.
25.15	(e) A person whose driver's license has been canceled or denied as a result of three or
25.16	more qualified impaired driving incidents involving at least one controlled or intoxicating
25.17	substance offense shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without
25.18	participating in the intensive testing program until the person:
25.19	(1) has completed rehabilitation according to rules adopted by the commissioner or been
25.20	granted a variance from the rules by the commissioner; and
25.21	(2) has submitted verification of abstinence from alcohol and controlled substances
25.22	under paragraph (f), as evidenced by the person's participation in the intensive testing
25.23	program or other monitoring approved by the commissioner.
25.24	(f) The verification of abstinence must show that the person has abstained from the use
25.25	of alcohol and controlled substances for a period of not less than:
25.26	(1) three years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense
25.27	occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, or
25.28	occurring after three qualified prior impaired driving incidents;
25.29	(2) four years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense
25.30	occurring within ten years of the first of three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or

26.1	(3) six years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense
26.2	occurring after four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents.
26.3	(g) As used in this subdivision:
26.4	(1) "alcohol-related offense" means a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause
26.5	(1), (5) , or (6) ; subdivision 1, clause (4) , where one of the elements involves a violation of
26.6	clause (1); subdivision 2, clause (1); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued the
26.7	warrant based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of
26.8	alcohol; and
26.9	(2) "controlled or intoxicating substance offense" means a violation of section 169A.20,
26.10	subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4), (7), or (8); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued
26.11	the warrant based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of
26.12	a controlled substance or an intoxicating substance.
26.13	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to revocations
26.14	and cancellations or denials that occur on or after that date.
26.15	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.306, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
26.16	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have
26.17	the meanings given them.
26.18	(b) "Ignition interlock device" or "device" means equipment that is designed to measure
26.19	breath alcohol concentration and to prevent a motor vehicle's ignition from being started
26.20	by a person whose breath alcohol concentration measures 0.02 or higher on the equipment.
26.21	(c) "Incident involving alcohol" means:
26.22	(1) a test failure as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause
26.23	(1) or (2); or section 171.177, subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (ii);
26.24	(2) a test refusal as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 3, or section 171.177,
26.25	subdivision 3, clause (1), when there was probable cause to believe the person had been
26.26	driving, operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle in violation of section 169A.20,
26.27	subdivision 1, clause (1), (5), or (6); or subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements
26.28	involves a violation of clause (1);
26.29	(3) a conviction for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (1), (5), or (6);
26.30	
	or subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements involves a violation of clause (1);

- 27.1 (4) a determination by the commissioner pursuant to section 171.04, subdivision 1,
 27.2 clause (10), that the person is inimical to public safety based on one or more violations of
- 27.3 section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (1), (5), or (6); or subdivision 1, clause (4), where
- 27.4 <u>one of the elements involves a violation of clause (1).</u>
- 27.5 (e) (d) "Location tracking capabilities" means the ability of an electronic or wireless 27.6 device to identify and transmit its geographic location through the operation of the device.
- 27.7 (d) (e) "Program participant" means a person who has qualified to take part in the ignition
 27.8 interlock program under this section, and whose driver's license, as a result of an incident
 27.9 involving alcohol, has been:
- 27.10 (1) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision
 27.11 1, clause (10); or 171.177; or

(2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended
under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item
(i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or subdivision
3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or
(iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm.

27.17 (e) (f) "Qualified prior impaired driving incident" has the meaning given in section
27.18 169A.03, subdivision 22.

27.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to revocations 27.20 and cancellations or denials that occur on or after that date.

27.21 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.306, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

27.22 Subd. 8. Rulemaking. In establishing The commissioner may adopt rules to implement

27.23 this section, including but not limited to rules regarding the performance standards and

27.24 certification process of subdivision 2, and the program guidelines of subdivision 3, and any

27.25 other rules necessary to implement this section, the commissioner is subject to chapter 14.

27.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024.

27.27 Sec. 22. [171.307] INTENSIVE TESTING PROGRAM.

27.28 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> **Definitions.** (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the

- 27.29 <u>meanings given.</u>
- 27.30 (b) "Incident involving a controlled substance or intoxicating substance" means:

28.1	(1) a test failure as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause
28.2	(3); or 171.177, subdivision 3, clause (2), item (iii);
28.3	(2) a test refusal as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 3, or 171.177, subdivision
28.4	3, clause (1), when there was probable cause to believe the person had been driving,
28.5	operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle in violation of section 169A.20,
28.6	subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4), (7), or (8); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued
28.7	the warrant based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of
28.8	a controlled substance or an intoxicating substance;
28.9	(3) a conviction for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4),
28.10	<u>(7)</u> , or (8); or
28.11	(4) a determination by the commissioner pursuant to section 171.04, subdivision 1,
28.12	clause (10), that the person is inimical to public safety based on one or more violations of
28.13	section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4), (7), or (8).
28.14	(c) "Program participant" means a person who has qualified to take part in the intensive
28.15	testing program under this section, and whose driver's license, as the result of an incident
28.16	involving a controlled substance or intoxicating substance, has been:
28.17	(1) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision
28.18	<u>1, clause (10); or 171.177; or</u>
28.19	(2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended
28.20	under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item
28.21	(ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or
28.22	subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause
28.23	(2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or
28.24	great bodily harm.
28.25	(d) "Qualified prior impaired driving incident" has the meaning given in section 169A.03,
28.26	subdivision 22.
28.27	Subd. 2. Program requirements. (a) The commissioner must establish guidelines for
28.28	participation in the intensive testing program. A person who seeks to participate in the
28.29	program must sign a written acknowledgment that the person has received, reviewed, and
28.30	agreed to abide by the program guidelines.
28.31	(b) The program guidelines must include provisions clearly identifying and prohibiting
28.32	the use of masking agents.

(c) The program guidelines must include provisions requiring disclosure of any 29.1 prescription medications and protocols to assure that testing accounts for prescribed 29.2 medications that are taken within the therapeutic range. 29.3 (d) The commissioner must enter a notation on a person's driving record to indicate that 29.4 29.5 the person is a program participant. (e) A person under the age of 18 years is not eligible to be a program participant. 29.6 29.7 (f) A program participant must pay costs associated with any required urine analyses. (g) A program participant must participate in any treatment recommended in a chemical 29.8 29.9 use assessment report. 29.10 (h) A program participant must submit to regular and random urine analyses and other testing that take place at least weekly. The results of a random urine analysis or other test 29.11 that is ordered by a court or required by probation satisfy the requirement in this paragraph 29.12 for the week in which the urine analysis or other test was administered if the results clearly 29.13 indicate that the program participant submitted to the urine analysis or test, identify the date 29.14 of the test, and are submitted to the commissioner in a form and manner approved by the 29.15 commissioner. If a program participant chooses to submit the results of urine analyses or 29.16 other tests ordered by a court or required by probation, the commissioner may require that 29.17 the program participant sign a written authorization for the release of the results and any 29.18 related information including but not limited to information that is a health record as defined 29.19 in section 144.291, subdivision 2, paragraph (c). 29.20 Subd. 3. Issuance of restricted license. (a) Beginning January 1, 2026, the commissioner 29.21 must issue a class D driver's license, subject to the applicable limitations and restrictions 29.22 of this section, to a program participant who meets the requirements of this section and the 29.23 program guidelines. The commissioner must not issue a license unless the program participant 29.24 has provided satisfactory proof that: 29.25 (1) the participant has submitted to a minimum number of preliminary urine analyses 29.26 as required by the commissioner that tested negative for the presence of a controlled substance 29.27 or its metabolite and for the presence of specified intoxicating substances; and 29.28 (2) the participant has insurance coverage on any vehicle the participant owns or operates 29.29 regularly. If the participant has previously been convicted of violating section 169.791, 29.30 169.793, or 169.797 or the participant's license has previously been suspended or canceled 29.31 under section 169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner must require the participant to present 29.32

30.1	an insurance identification card that is certified by the insurance company to be noncancelable
30.2	for a period not to exceed 12 months.
30.3	(b) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked under section
30.4	169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 4, paragraph
30.5	(a), clause (1), (2), or (3); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (1), (2), (3), or (4); or 171.177,
30.6	subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause
30.7	(1), (2), or (3); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause
30.8	(1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision
30.9	1, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or
30.10	(iv), (5), or (6); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or 609.2114,
30.11	subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6), resulting in bodily harm,
30.12	substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has fewer than two
30.13	qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or fewer than three
30.14	qualified prior impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of
30.15	the driver's license, subject to the intensive testing program.
30.16	(c) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked, canceled, or
30.17	denied under section 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or
30.18	subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (5), (6),
30.19	or (7); or 171.177, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or subdivision 5,
30.20	paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1,
30.21	paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section
30.22	609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); subdivision 2, clause
30.23	(2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5),
30.24	or (6); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6), resulting in
30.25	bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has two
30.26	or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or three or more
30.27	qualified prior impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of
30.28	the driver's license, subject to the intensive testing program, if the program participant is
30.29	enrolled in a licensed substance use disorder treatment or rehabilitation program as
30.30	recommended in a chemical use assessment. As a prerequisite to eligibility for eventual
30.31	reinstatement of full driving privileges, a participant whose chemical use assessment
30.32	recommended treatment or rehabilitation must complete a licensed substance use disorder
30.33	treatment or rehabilitation program. If the program participant submits a urine analysis that
30.34	tests positive for the presence of a controlled substance or its metabolite or for the presence
30.35	of any specified intoxicating substances, the commissioner must extend the time period that

31.1	the participant must participate in the program until the participant has reached the required
31.2	abstinence period described in section 169A.55, subdivision 4.
31.3	(d) Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, the commissioner has authority
31.4	to determine when a program participant is eligible for restoration of full driving privileges,
31.5	except that the commissioner must not reinstate full driving privileges until the program
31.6	participant has met all applicable prerequisites for reinstatement under section 169A.55 and
31.7	until the program participant has not tested positive for the presence of a controlled substance
31.8	or its metabolite or for the presence of any specified intoxicating substances during the
31.9	preceding 90 days.
31.10	Subd. 4. Penalties; program violations. (a) If a program participant violates a condition
31.11	of a license conditionally reinstated under subdivision 3 and section 171.30, or violates the
31.12	program guidelines under subdivision 2, the commissioner must extend the person's
31.13	revocation period under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177 by:
31.14	(1) 180 days for a first violation;
31.15	(2) one year for a second violation; or
31.16	(3) 545 days for a third and each subsequent violation.
31.17	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner may terminate participation in the
31.18	program by any person when, in the commissioner's judgment, termination is necessary to
31.19	the interests of public safety and welfare. In the event of termination, the commissioner
31.20	must not reduce the applicable revocation period under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177
31.21	by the amount of time during which the person possessed a limited or restricted driver's
31.22	license issued under the authority of subdivision 3.
31.23	Subd. 5. Tampering; penalties. A program participant who tampers with a test required
31.24	under this section, including but not limited to submitting a false or adulterated sample or
31.25	a person who advises or otherwise assists a program participant in tampering with a test
31.26	required under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.
31.27	Subd. 6. Venue. In addition to the provisions of Rule 24 of the Rules of Criminal
31.28	Procedure and section 627.01, a violation of subdivision 5 may be prosecuted in:
31.29	(1) the county in which the tampering is alleged to have taken place;
31.30	(2) the county in which the accused resides; or
31.31	(3) the county in which the impaired driving incident occurred, which resulted in the
31.32	accused being issued a driver's license with an intensive testing program restriction.

Subd. 7. Data. Data on program participants collected under this section are private data 32.1 on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. Data must be maintained in the 32.2 32.3 same manner as all other driver's license records. Access to the data is subject to the 32.4 provisions of section 171.12, subdivision 1a. Subd. 8. Rulemaking. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section, 32.5 including but not limited to rules establishing or amending the program guidelines under 32.6 subdivision 2. 32.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to revocations 32.8 and cancellations or denials that occur on or after that date. 32.9 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 216E.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 32.10 Subdivision 1. Policy. The legislature hereby declares it to be the policy of the state to 32.11 locate large electric power facilities and high voltage transmission lines in an orderly manner 32.12 compatible with environmental preservation and the efficient use of resources. In accordance 32.13 with this policy the commission shall choose locations that minimize adverse human and 32.14 environmental impact while insuring continuing electric power system reliability and integrity 32.15 32.16 and insuring that electric energy needs are met and fulfilled in an orderly and timely fashion. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective on the day following final enactment. 32.17 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 219.015, subdivision 2, is amended 32.18 to read: 32.19 Subd. 2. Railroad company assessment; account; appropriation. (a) As provided in 32.20 this subdivision, the commissioner must annually assess railroad companies that are (1) 32.21

defined as common carriers under section 218.011; (2) classified by federal law or regulation
as Class I Railroads, Class I Rail Carriers, Class II Railroads, or Class II Rail Carriers; and
(3) operating in this state.

32.25 (b) The assessment must be calculated to allocate state rail safety inspection program 32.26 costs proportionally among carriers based on route miles operated in Minnesota at the time 32.27 of assessment. The commissioner must include in the assessment calculation all state rail 32.28 safety inspection program costs to support up to six rail safety inspector positions, including 32.29 but not limited to salary, administration, supervision, travel, equipment, training, and ongoing 32.30 state rail inspector duties.

32.31 (c) The assessments collected under this subdivision must be deposited in a state rail 32.32 safety inspection account, which is established in the special revenue fund. The account

33.1	consists of funds provided by this subdivision and section 221.0255 and any other money
33.2	donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the account
33.3	is <u>annually</u> appropriated to the commissioner to administer the state rail safety inspection
33.4	program and for costs under section 221.0255.
33.5	Sec. 25. [219.382] WAYSIDE DETECTOR SYSTEMS.
33.6	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
33.7	the meanings given.
33.8	(b) "Hazardous substance" has the meaning given in section 219.055, subdivision 1,
33.9	paragraph (e).
33.10	(c) "Wayside detector system" means one or more electronic devices that: (1) perform
33.11	automated scanning of passing trains, rolling stock, and on-track equipment to detect defects
33.12	or precursors to defects in equipment or component parts; and (2) provide notification to
33.13	individuals of a defect or precursor to a defect.
33.14	Subd. 2. Application. The requirements in this section apply to:
33.15	(1) a Class I railroad; and
33.16	(2) a Class II railroad or Class III railroad when transporting a hazardous substance at
33.17	a speed that exceeds ten miles per hour.
33.18	Subd. 3. Wayside detector system requirements. (a) A railroad must maintain
33.19	operational wayside detector systems located at intervals of:
33.20	(1) at least every ten miles of mainline track in the state; or
33.21	(2) at least every 15 miles of mainline track in the state if necessary due to the natural
33.22	terrain.
33.23	(b) A wayside detector system under this section must include a hot bearings detector
33.24	and a dragging equipment detector.
33.25	Subd. 4. Defect notifications. Promptly after a wayside detector system provides a
33.26	notification regarding a defect, the railroad must:
33.27	(1) stop the train in accordance with the railroad's applicable safety procedures;
33.28	(2) inspect the location of the defect from a position on the ground;
33.29	(3) if the inspection indicates that the train is not safe for movement, make necessary
33.30	repairs prior to movement;

34.1	(4) if the inspection indicates that the train is safe for movement or if repairs are
34.2	performed under clause (3):
34.3	(i) proceed at a speed that does not exceed (A) 30 miles per hour if the train is not
34.4	transporting a hazardous substance, or (B) ten miles per hour if the train is transporting a
34.5	hazardous substance; and
34.6	(ii) remove and set out any defective car at the earliest opportunity; and
34.7	(5) provide for the train crew to prepare a written inspection report and submit it to the
34.8	appropriate personnel within the railroad.
34.9	Subd. 5. Report to commissioner. By January 15 annually, a railroad that is subject to
34.10	this section must submit a report to the commissioner on wayside detector systems installed
34.11	in this state. At a minimum, the report must include:
34.12	(1) an overview of each wayside detector system, which must include:
34.13	(i) its type and primary characteristics;
34.14	(ii) the nearest milepost number, latitude and longitude coordinates, or other information
34.15	that specifically identifies its location; and
34.16	(iii) a review of the operational status of the hot bearings detector and the dragging
34.17	equipment detector throughout the prior 12 months; and
34.18	(2) other information on wayside detector systems as required by the commissioner.
34.19	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
34.20	Sec. 26. [219.5505] TRAIN LENGTH.
34.21	Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "railroad" means a common
34.22	carrier that is classified by federal law or regulation as a Class I railroad, Class II railroad,
34.23	or Class III railroad.
34.24	Subd. 2. Maximum length. A railroad must not operate a train in this state that has a
34.25	total length in excess of 8,500 feet.
34.26	Subd. 3. Penalty. (a) A railroad that violates this section is subject to a penalty of:
34.27	(1) not less than \$1,000 or more than \$5,000 for a first offense;
34.28	(2) not less than \$5,000 or more than \$10,000 for a second offense committed within
34.29	three years of the first offense; and

35.1	(3) not less than \$25,000 for a third or subsequent offense committed within three years
35.2	of the first offense.
35.3	(b) The commissioner of transportation may enforce this section in a civil action before
35.4	a judge of a county in which the violation occurs.
35.5	(c) Fines collected under this section must be deposited in the state rail safety inspection
35.6	account in the special revenue fund.
35.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to violations
35.8	committed on or after that date.
35.9	Sec. 27. [219.756] YARDMASTER HOURS OF SERVICE.
35.10	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
35.11	the meanings given.
35.12	(b) "Railroad" means a common carrier that is classified by federal law or regulation as
35.13	Class I railroad, Class II railroad, or Class III railroad.
35.14	(c) "Yardmaster" means an employee of a common carrier who is responsible for
35.15	supervising and coordinating the control of trains and engines operating within a railyard,
35.16	not including a dispatching service employee, signal employee, or train employee as those
35.17	terms are defined in United States Code, title 49, section 21101.
35.18	Subd. 2. Hours of service. (a) A railroad operating in this state must not require or allow
35.19	a yardmaster to remain or go on duty:
35.20	(1) in any month when the employee has spent a total of 276 hours on duty or in any
35.21	other mandatory service for the carrier;
35.22	(2) for a period exceeding 12 consecutive hours; and
35.23	(3) unless the employee has had at least ten consecutive hours off duty during the prior
35.24	24 hours.
35.25	(b) A railroad operating in this state must not require or allow a yardmaster to remain
35.26	or go on duty after the employee has initiated an on-duty period each day for six consecutive
35.27	days unless the employee has had 48 consecutive hours off at the employee's home terminal,
35.28	during which time the employee is unavailable for any service.
35.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.

36.1	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.0255, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
36.2	Subd. 4. Motor carrier of railroad employees; requirements. (a) The motor carrier
36.3	of railroad employees must implement a policy that provides for annual training and
36.4	certification of the operator in:
36.5	(1) safe operation of the vehicle transporting railroad employees;
36.6	(2) knowing and understanding relevant laws, rules of the road, and safety policies;
36.7	(3) handling emergency situations;
36.8	(4) proper use of seat belts;
36.9 36.10	(5) performance of pretrip and posttrip vehicle inspections, and inspection record keeping; and
36.11	(6) proper maintenance of required records.
36.12	(b) The motor carrier of railroad employees must:
36.13	(1) confirm that the person is not disqualified under subdivision 6, by performing a
36.14	criminal background check of the operator, which must include:
36.15	(i) a criminal history check of the state criminal records repository; and
36.16	(ii) if the operator has resided in Minnesota less than five years, a criminal history check
36.17	from each state of residence for the previous five years;
36.18	(2) annually verify the operator's driver's license;
36.19	(3) document meeting the requirements in this subdivision, which must include
36.20	maintaining at the carrier's business location:
36.21	(i) a driver qualification file on each operator who transports passengers under this
36.22	section; and
36.23	(ii) records of pretrip and posttrip vehicle inspections as required under subdivision 3,
36.24	paragraph (a), clause (3);
36.25	(4) maintain liability insurance in a minimum amount of \$5,000,000 regardless of the
36.26	seating capacity of the vehicle;
36.27	(5) maintain uninsured and underinsured coverage in a minimum amount of \$1,000,000
36.28	<u>\$5,000,000;</u> and
36.29	(6) ensure inspection of each vehicle operated under this section as provided under
36.30	section 169.781.

- 37.1 (c) A driver qualification file under paragraph (b), clause (3), must include:
- 37.2 (1) a copy of the operator's most recent medical examiner's certificate;
- 37.3 (2) a copy of the operator's current driver's license;
- 37.4 (3) documentation of annual license verification;
- 37.5 (4) documentation of annual training;
- 37.6 (5) documentation of any known violations of motor vehicle or traffic laws; and
- 37.7 (6) responses from previous employers, if required by the current employer.

37.8 (d) The driver qualification file must be retained for one year following the date of
37.9 separation of employment of the driver from the carrier. A record of inspection under
37.10 paragraph (b), clause (3), item (ii), must be retained for one year following the date of
37.11 inspection.

(e) If a party contracts with the motor carrier on behalf of the railroad to transport the
railroad employees, then the insurance requirements may be satisfied by either that party
or the motor carrier, so long as the motor carrier is a named insured or additional insured
under any policy.

37.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024.

37.17 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.0255, subdivision 9, is amended to read:

37.18 Subd. 9. Inspection and investigation authority. (a) Upon receipt of a complaint form 37.19 or other information alleging a violation of this section, the commissioner must investigate 37.20 the relevant matter. Representatives of the Department of Transportation and the State Patrol 37.21 have the authority to enter, at a reasonable time and place, any vehicle or facility of the 37.22 carrier for purposes of complaint investigations, random inspections, safety reviews, audits, 37.23 or accident investigations.

37.24 (b) Failure of a railroad or motor carrier of railroad employees to permit a complaint
 37.25 investigation under this subdivision is grounds for issuance of a civil penalty under
 37.26 subdivision 10.

37.27 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2024.

38.1	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.0255, is amended by adding a subdivision
38.2	to read:
38.3	Subd. 10. Civil penalty. (a) After completion of an investigation or as provided in
38.4	subdivision 9, paragraph (b), the commissioner may issue a civil penalty to a railroad or
38.5	motor carrier of railroad employees that violates this section. A civil penalty issued under
38.6	this paragraph is in the amount of:
38.7	(1) not less than \$200 but not more than \$500 for a first offense;
38.8	(2) not less than \$500 but not more than \$1,000 for a second offense; and
38.9	(3) not less than \$1,000 but not more than \$5,000 for a third or subsequent offense
38.10	committed within three years of the first offense.
38.11	(b) The civil penalty amounts identified under paragraph (a) are for all violations
38.12	identified in a single investigation and are not per violation.
38.13	(c) The recipient of a civil penalty under this subdivision has 30 days to notify the
38.14	commissioner in writing of intent to contest the civil penalty. If within 30 days after receiving
38.15	the civil penalty the recipient fails to notify the commissioner of intent to contest the penalty,
38.16	the civil penalty is not subject to further review.
38.17	(d) Civil penalties assessed under this subdivision are subject to chapter 14 and may be
38.18	recovered in a civil action.
38.19	(e) Civil penalties collected under this section must be deposited in the state rail safety
38.20	inspection account in the special revenue fund.
38.21	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to violations
38.22	committed on or after that date.
38.23	Sec. 31. COMMUNITY ROADSIDE LANDSCAPE PARTNERSHIPS.
38.24	Subject to available funds, the commissioner of transportation must assess and undertake
38.25	methods to improve and expand the Department of Transportation's community roadside
38.26	landscape partnership program, including:
38.27	(1) identifying and evaluating locations for partnership opportunities throughout the
38.28	state where there is high traffic volume and minimal existing vegetation coverage in the
38.29	form of trees or large shrubs;
38.30	(2) performing outreach and engagement about the program with eligible community
38.31	partners;

- 39.1 (3) prioritizing roadsides where vegetation could reduce neighborhood noise impacts or
- 39.2 improve aesthetics for neighborhoods that border interstate highways without regard to
- 39.3 whether there are existing noise walls; and
- 39.4 (4) analyzing methods to include cost sharing between the department and participating
- 39.5 <u>community partners for ongoing landscape maintenance.</u>
- 39.6 Sec. 32. <u>**REPEALER.**</u>
- 39.7 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.1297, is repealed.
- 39.8 (b) Minnesota Rules, part 7410.6180, is repealed.
- 39.9 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** Paragraph (b) is effective the day following final enactment."
- 39.10 Amend the title accordingly