TAXES COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Aisha Gomez, Chair of the Committee on Taxes, called the meeting to order at 1:02 PM on February 29, 2024 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

GOMEZ, Aisha, Chair

NORRIS, Matt, Vice Chair

DAVIDS, Greg, Minority Lead

AGBAJE, Esther

ANDERSON, Patti

BRAND, Jeff

ELKINS, Steve

HOWARD, Michael

JOY, Jim

KOZNICK, Jon

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Bjorn

OLSON, Liz

PINTO, Dave

ROBBINS, Kristin

SMITH, Andy

SWEDZINSKI, Chris

WITTE, Jeff

WIENER, Mike

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members excused:

LEE, Liz

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Norris moved that the minutes from February 22, 2024 be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Presentation from the Minnesota Department of Revenue on the Free Filing Report Update. Presenting:

- Nick Eull, Director of Tax Systems Planning, Minnesota Department of Revenue
- Jonathan Randolph, Annual Changes Program Manager, Minnesota Department of Revenue

HF1171 (Brand) Property tax provisions modified, and definition of attachments and appurtenances of cooperative utility distribution lines modified.

Representative Brand moved that HF1171 be laid over for possible inclusion in the Taxes Omnibus bill.

Representative Brand moved the H1171DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying on HF1171, as amended:

• Jenny Glumack, Director of Government Affairs, Minnesota Rural Electric Association

Representative Brand renewed the motion that HF1171, as amended, be laid over for possible inclusion in the Taxes Omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

The meeting adjourned at 2:06 PM.	
	Representative Aisha Gomez, Chair
	Lauran Sabas, Committee Legislative Assistant