44.19 44.20

ARTICLE 3	36.16	ARTICLE 3
TRANSPORTATION-RELATED TAXES	36.17	TRANSPORTATION FINANCE
	36.18	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 162.145, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
	36.21 36.22	Subd. 2. Small cities assistance account. A small cities assistance account is created in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds as provided by law, and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of transportation and may only be expended as provided under this section.
	36.24	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 162.145, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
		Subd. 3. Administration. (a) Subject to funds made available by law, The commissioner must allocate all funds in the small cities assistance account as provided in subdivision 4 and must, by June 1, certify to the commissioner of revenue the amounts to be paid.
	36.30	(b) Following certification from the commissioner, the commissioner of revenue must distribute the specified funds to cities in the same manner as local government aid under chapter 477A. An appropriation to the commissioner under this section is available to the commissioner of revenue for the purposes specified in this paragraph.
	37.3	(c) Notwithstanding other law to the contrary, in order to receive distributions under this section, a city must conform to the standards in section 477A.017, subdivision 2. A city that receives funds under this section must make and preserve records necessary to show that the funds are spent in compliance with subdivision 5.
	37.5	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 162.145, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
	37.6 37.7	Subd. 4. Distribution formula. (a) In each fiscal year in which funds are available under this section, the commissioner shall allocate funds to eligible cities.
	37.8	(b) (a) The preliminary aid to each city is calculated as follows:
	37.9	(1) five percent of funds allocated equally among all eligible cities;
	37.10 37.11	(2) 35 percent of funds allocated proportionally based on each city's share of lane miles of municipal streets compared to total lane miles of municipal streets of all eligible cities;
	37.12 37.13	(3) 35 percent of funds allocated proportionally based on each city's share of population compared to total population of all eligible cities; and
	37.14 37.15	(4) 25 percent of funds allocated proportionally based on each city's share of state-aid adjustment factor compared to the sum of state-aid adjustment factors of all eligible cities.
	37.16	(e) (b) The final aid to each city is calculated as the lesser of:
	37.17	(1) the preliminary aid to the city multiplied by an aid factor; or

37.18 (2) the maximum aid.

57.10	
37.19	(d) (c) The commissioner shall set the aid factor under paragraph (c) (b), which must be
37.20	the same for all eligible cities, so that the total funds allocated under this subdivision equals
37.21	the total amount available for the fiscal year.
37.22	Sec. 4. [162.146] LARGER CITIES ASSISTANCE ACCOUNT.
37.23	Subdivision 1. Larger cities assistance account. A larger cities assistance account is
37.24	created in the special revenue fund. The account consists of money allotted, appropriated,
37.25	or transferred through gift or grant to the account. Money in the account is annually
37.26	appropriated to the commissioner of transportation for apportionment among all the cities
37.27	that are eligible to receive municipal state aid under sections 162.09 to 162.14.
37.28	Subd. 2. Distribution formula. The commissioner must apportion: (1) 50 percent of
37.29	the money so that of that amount, each city receives the percentage that its population bears
37.30	to the total population of all cities that are eligible to receive municipal state aid under
38.1	sections 162.09 to 162.14; and (2) 50 percent of the money so that of that amount, each city

- 38.2 receives the percentage that its money needs, as determined by the commissioner under
- 38.3 section 162.13, subdivision 3, bears to the total money needs of all cities that are eligible
- 38.4 to receive municipal state aid under sections 162.09 to 162.14.

- 44.21 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 163.051, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 44.22 Subdivision 1. **Tax authorized.** (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the board of
- 44.23 commissioners of each county is authorized to levy by resolution a wheelage tax at the rate
- 44.24 specified in paragraph (b), on each motor vehicle that is kept in such county when not in 44.25 operation and that is subject to annual registration and taxation under chapter 168. The
- 44.26 board may provide by resolution for collection of the wheelage tax by county officials or
- 44.27 it may request that the tax be collected by the state registrar of motor vehicles. The state
- 44.28 registrar of motor vehicles shall collect such tax on behalf of the county if requested, as
- 44.29 provided in subdivision 2.

44.30 (b) The wheelage tax under this section is at the rate of up to \$20 per year, in any

- 44.31 increment of a whole dollar, as specified by each county that authorizes the tax.
- 44.32 (c) The following vehicles are exempt from the wheelage tax:
- 45.1 (1) motorcycles, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 44;
- 45.2 (2) motorized bicycles, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 45; and
- 45.3 (3) motorized foot scooters, as defined in section 169.011, subdivision 46-; and
- 45.4 (4) vehicles that meet the requirements under section 168.012, subdivision 13.
- 45.5 (d) For any county that authorized the tax prior to May 24, 2013, the wheelage tax
- 45.6 continues at the rate provided under paragraph (b).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and

45.7

45.8 45.9

46.1

46.2

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.7

46.8

46.9

applies to taxes payable for a registration period starting on or after January 1, 2024. Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.012, is amended by adding a subdivision to 45.10 read: 45.11 Subd. 13. Vehicles registered by certain veterans. (a) A passenger automobile, one-ton pickup truck, motorcycle, or recreational vehicle registered by a veteran with a total 45.12 service-connected disability, as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 51, is not subject to: 45.13 45.14 (1) registration taxes under this chapter; 45.15 (2) administrative fees imposed under subdivision 1c; 45.16 (3) filing fees imposed under section 168.33, subdivision 7; or 45.17 (4) plate and validation sticker fees imposed under this chapter, including but not limited 45.18 to: 45.19 (i) fees under section 168.12, subdivision 5; 45.20 (ii) fees identified in any section authorizing special plates; and 45.21 (iii) transfer fees. (b) The exemptions under this subdivision apply to a motor vehicle that is jointly 45.22 45.23 registered by a qualifying veteran and a spouse or domestic partner. 45.24 (c) The fees identified under paragraph (a), clause (4), do not include: (1) a fee for personalized plates under section 168.12, subdivision 2a; or 45.25 45.26 (2) a required contribution or donation for a special plate, including but not limited to a contribution under sections 168.1255, subdivision 1, clause (6); 168.129, subdivision 1, 45.27 clause (5); 168.1295, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (5); 168.1296, subdivision 1, 45.28 paragraph (a), clause (5); and 168.1299, subdivision 1, clause (3). 45.29 (d) A qualifying veteran may register no more than two motor vehicles at the same time with the exemptions under this subdivision. Nothing in this paragraph prevents registration of additional motor vehicles as otherwise provided in this chapter. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and applies to taxes and fees payable for a registration period starting on or after January 1. 46.6 2024. Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.013, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Passenger automobile; hearse. (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the registration tax is calculated as \$10 plus: 46.10

38.5 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.013, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:

- 38.6 Subd. 1a. Passenger automobile; hearse. (a) On passenger automobiles as defined in
- section 168.002, subdivision 24, and hearses, except as otherwise provided, the registration 38.7
- tax is calculated as \$10 plus: 38.8

 46.11 (1) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020, 1.25 1.915 46.12 percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle and the destination charge, 46.13 subject to the adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g); or 	 (1) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020, 1.25 1.54 percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle and the destination charge, subject to the adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g); or
 46.14 (2) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota on or after November 16, 2020, 1.285 46.15 <u>1.95</u> percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle, subject to the 46.16 adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g). 	 38.12 (2) for a vehicle initially registered in Minnesota on or after November 16, 2020, 1.285 38.13 1.575 percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle, subject to the adjustments in paragraphs (f) and (g).
 (b) The registration tax calculation must not include the cost of each accessory or item of optional equipment separately added to the vehicle and the manufacturer's suggested retail price. The registration tax calculation must not include a destination charge, except for a vehicle previously registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020. 	 (b) The registration tax calculation must not include the cost of each accessory or item of optional equipment separately added to the vehicle and the manufacturer's suggested retail price. The registration tax calculation must not include a destination charge, except for a vehicle previously registered in Minnesota prior to November 16, 2020.
 (c) In the case of the first registration of a new vehicle sold or leased by a licensed dealer, the dealer may elect to individually determine the registration tax on the vehicle using manufacturer's suggested retail price information provided by the manufacturer. The registrar must use the manufacturer's suggested retail price determined by the dealer as provided in paragraph (d). A dealer that elects to make the determination must retain a copy of the manufacturer's suggested retail price label or other supporting documentation with the vehicle transaction records maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200. 	 (c) In the case of the first registration of a new vehicle sold or leased by a licensed dealer, the dealer may elect to individually determine the registration tax on the vehicle using manufacturer's suggested retail price information provided by the manufacturer. The registrar must use the manufacturer's suggested retail price determined by the dealer as provided in paragraph (d). A dealer that elects to make the determination must retain a copy of the manufacturer's suggested retail price label or other supporting documentation with the vehicle transaction records maintained under Minnesota Rules, part 7400.5200.
 (d) The registrar must determine the manufacturer's suggested retail price: (1) using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally recognized firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry; 	 (d) The registrar must determine the manufacturer's suggested retail price: (1) using list price information published by the manufacturer or any nationally recognized firm or association compiling such data for the automotive industry;
46.31 (2) if the list price information is unavailable, using the amount determined by a licensed46.32 dealer under paragraph (c);	(2) if the list price information is unavailable, using the amount determined by a licenseddealer under paragraph (c);
 (3) if a dealer does not determine the amount, using the retail price label as provided by the manufacturer under United States Code, title 15, section 1232; or 	 (3) if a dealer does not determine the amount, using the retail price label as provided by the manufacturer under United States Code, title 15, section 1232; or
47.3 (4) if the retail price label is not available, using the actual sales price of the vehicle.	39.1 (4) if the retail price label is not available, using the actual sales price of the vehicle.
47.4 If the registrar is unable to ascertain the manufacturer's suggested retail price of any registered47.5 vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any other available source or method.	39.2 If the registrar is unable to ascertain the manufacturer's suggested retail price of any registered39.3 vehicle in the foregoing manner, the registrar may use any other available source or method.
47.6 (e) The registrar must calculate the registration tax using information available to dealers47.7 and deputy registrars at the time the initial application for registration is submitted.	 (e) The registrar must calculate the registration tax using information available to dealers and deputy registrars at the time the initial application for registration is submitted.
 (f) The amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), must be calculated based on a percentage of the manufacturer's suggested retail price, as follows: 	 (f) The amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), must be calculated based on a percentage of the manufacturer's suggested retail price, as follows:
47.10 (1) during the first year of vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the price;	(1) during the first year of vehicle life, upon 100 percent of the price;
47.11 (2) for the second year, 90 percent of the price;	39.9 (2) for the second year, 90.95 percent of the price;
47.12 (3) for the third year, $\frac{80}{78}$ percent of the price;	39.10 (3) for the third year, $\frac{80.90}{90}$ percent of the price;
47.13 (4) for the fourth year, $\frac{70}{60}$ percent of the price;	39.11 (4) for the fourth year, $\frac{70}{80}$ 80 percent of the price;

- 47.15 (6) for the sixth year, $\frac{50}{34}$ percent of the price;
- 47.16 (7) for the seventh year, 40 27 percent of the price;
- 47.17 (8) for the eighth year, 30 18 percent of the price;
- 47.18 (9) for the ninth year, $\frac{20}{12}$ percent of the price; and
- 47.19 (10) for the tenth year, $\frac{\text{ten } \text{six}}{\text{percent of the price.}}$
- 47.20 (g) For the 11th and each succeeding year, the amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) 47.21 and (2), must be calculated as $\frac{\$25}{\$20}$.
- 47.22 (h) Except as provided in subdivision 23, for any vehicle previously registered in
- 47.23 Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership, the total amount due under this subdivision
- 47.24 and subdivision 1m must not exceed the smallest total amount previously paid or due on 47.25 the vehicle.
- 47.26 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and
- 47.27 applies to taxes payable for a registration period starting on or after January 1, 2024.
- 48.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.33, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- 48.2 Subd. 7. Filing fees; allocations. (a) In addition to all other statutory fees and taxes, a
 48.3 filing fee of is imposed at:
- 48.4 (1) \$7 is imposed on every vehicle registration renewal, excluding pro rate transactions;
 48.5 and
- 48.6 (2) \$11 is imposed on every other type of vehicle transaction, including motor carrier
- 48.7 fuel licenses under sections 168D.05 and 168D.06, and pro rate transactions.
- 48.8 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a):
- 48.9 (1) a filing fee may not be charged for a document returned for a refund or for a correction
- 48.10 of an error made by the Department of Public Safety, a dealer, or a deputy registrar; and
- 48.11 (2) no filing fee or other fee may be charged for the permanent surrender of a title for a48.12 vehicle.
- 48.13 (c) The filing fee must be shown as a separate item on all registration renewal notices48.14 sent out by the commissioner.
- 48.15 (d) The statutory fees and taxes, and the filing fees imposed under paragraph (a) may
- 48.16 be paid by credit card or debit card. The deputy registrar may collect a surcharge on the
- 48.17 statutory fees, taxes, and filing fee not greater than the cost of processing a credit card or
- 48.18 debit card transaction, in accordance with emergency rules established by the commissioner
- 48.19 of public safety. The surcharge must be used to pay the cost of processing credit and debit
- 48.20 card transactions.

- 39.12 (5) for the fifth year, $\frac{60}{70}$ percent of the price;
- 39.13 (6) for the sixth year, $\frac{50}{60}$ percent of the price;
- 39.14 (7) for the seventh year, $40 \underline{50}$ percent of the price;
- 39.15 (8) for the eighth year, 30 40 percent of the price;
- 39.16 (9) for the ninth year, $\frac{20}{25}$ percent of the price; and
- (10) for the tenth year, ten percent of the price.
- 39.18 (g) For the 11th and each succeeding year, the amount under paragraph (a), clauses (1) 39.19 and (2), must be calculated as $\frac{$25}{20}$.
- 39.20 (h) Except as provided in subdivision 23, for any vehicle previously registered in
- 39.20 (ii) Except as provided in subdivision 25, for any venicle previously registered in 39.21 Minnesota and regardless of prior ownership, the total amount due under this subdivision

- 39.22 and subdivision 1m must not exceed the smallest total amount previously paid or due on
- 39.23 the vehicle.
- 39.24 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment and
- 39.25 applies to taxes payable for a registration period starting on or after January 1, 2024.

- 48.21 (e) The fees collected under this subdivision paragraph (a) by the department must be48.22 allocated as follows:
- 48.23 (1) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (1), must be deposited as follows:
- 48.24 (i) \$5.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account; and
- 48.25 (ii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account; and
- 48.26 (2) of the fees collected under paragraph (a), clause (2), must be deposited as follows:
- 48.27 (i) \$3.50 must be deposited in the general fund in the transportation advancement account
 48.28 under section 174.49;
- 48.29 (ii) \$6.00 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account; and
- 48.30 (iii) \$1.50 must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services technology account.
- 49.1 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023, for transactions occurring
- 49.2 <u>on or after that date.</u>
- 49.3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.54, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- 49.4 Subd. 5. **Deposit of proceeds to general fund.** The commissioner shall must collect
- 49.5 the proceeds of the fee imposed under this section and deposit them in the general fund
- 49.6 pursuant to section 168A.31 in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49.
- 49.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023, for transactions occurring
 49.8 on or after that date.
- 49.9 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.29, is amended by adding a subdivision to 49.10 read:
- 49.11 Subd. 4. Exemption; vehicles for certain veterans. The department must not impose
- 49.12 any fee under subdivision 1 if the certificate of title is being issued to a person and for a
- 49.13 vehicle that meets the requirements under section 168.012, subdivision 13.
- 49.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.
- 49.15 Sec. 7. [168E.01] DEFINITIONS.
- 49.16 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> Scope. As used in this chapter, the following terms have the meanings
 49.17 given.
- 49.18 Subd. 2. Clothing. "Clothing" has the meaning given in section 297A.67, subdivision
- 49.19 <u>8.</u>
- 49.20 Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of revenue.

- 49.21 Subd. 4. Marketplace provider. "Marketplace provider" has the meaning given in
- 49.22 section 297A.66, subdivision 1, paragraph (d).
- 49.23 Subd. 5. Person. "Person" has the meaning given in section 297A.61, subdivision 2.
- 49.24 Subd. 6. **Retail delivery.** "Retail delivery" means a delivery to a person located in
- 49.25 Minnesota of the following items as part of a retail sale:
- 49.26 (1) tangible personal property that is subject to taxation under chapter 297A; and
- 49.27 (2) clothing as defined under section 297A.67, subdivision 8.
- 49.28 Retail delivery does not include curbside delivery or pickup at the retailer's place of business.
- 50.1 <u>Subd. 7.</u> **Retail delivery fee.** "Retail delivery fee" means the fee imposed under section 50.2 168E.03 on retail deliveries.
- 50.3 Subd. 8. **Retail sale.** "Retail sale" has the meaning given in section 297A.61, subdivision
- 50.4 <u>4.</u>
- 50.5 Subd. 9. **Retailer.** "Retailer" means any person making sales, leases, or rental of personal
- 50.6 property or services within or into the state of Minnesota that is required to remit the tax
- 50.7 imposed under chapter 297A. Retailer includes a:
- 50.8 (1) retailer maintaining a place of business in this state;
- 50.9 (2) marketplace provider maintaining a place of business in this state, as defined in
- 50.10 section 297A.66, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);
- 50.11 (3) retailer not maintaining a place of business in this state; and
- 50.12 (4) marketplace provider not maintaining a place of business in this state, as defined in
- 50.13 section 297A.66, subdivision 1, paragraph (b).
- 50.14 Subd. 10. Tangible personal property. "Tangible personal property" has the meaning
- 50.15 given in section 297A.61, subdivision 10.
- 50.16 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 50.17 Sec. 8. [168E.03] FEE IMPOSED.
- 50.18 Subdivision 1. Retail delivery fee imposed. (a) A fee is imposed on each retailer equal
- 50.19 to 75 cents on each transaction involving retail delivery in Minnesota. The retailer may, but
- 50.20 is not required to, collect the fee from the purchaser. If separately stated on the invoice, bill
- 50.21 of sale, or similar document given to the purchaser, the fee is excluded from the sales price
- 50.22 for purposes of the tax imposed under chapter 297A.
- 50.23 (b) If the retailer collects the fee from the purchaser:
- 50.24 (1) the retail delivery fee must be charged in addition to any other delivery fee; and

50.25	(2) the retailer must show the total of the retail delivery fee and other delivery fees as
50.26 50.27	separate items and distinct from the sales price and any other taxes or fees imposed on the retail delivery on the purchaser's receipt, invoice, or other bill of sale. The receipt, invoice,
50.28	or other bill of sale must state the retail delivery fee as "road improvement and food delivery
50.29	fee."
50.30	Subd. 2. Multiple items or shipments. The fee imposed under subdivision 1 is imposed
50.31	once per transaction regardless of the number of shipments necessary to deliver the items
51.1 51.2	of tangible personal property purchased or of the number of items of tangible personal property purchased.
51.3 51.4	Subd. 3. Returns and cancellations. The fee imposed under subdivision 1 is nonrefundable if any or all items purchased are returned to a retailer or if the retailer provides
51.4	a refund or credit in the amount equal to or less than the purchase price. The fee must be
51.6	refunded to the purchaser if the retail delivery is canceled by the purchaser, retailer, or
51.7	delivery provider.
51.8	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
51.9	Sec. 9. [168E.05] EXEMPTIONS.
51.10	Subdivision 1. Transactions. The following retail deliveries are exempt from the fee
51.11	imposed by this chapter:
51.12	(1) a retail delivery to a purchaser who is exempt from tax under chapter 297A; and
51.13	(2) a retail delivery on a motor vehicle for which a permit issued by the commissioner
51.14	of transportation or a road authority is required under chapter 169 or 221 and the retailer
51.15 51.16	has maintained books and records through reasonable and verifiable standards that the retail delivery was on a qualifying vehicle.
51.17 51.18	Subd. 2. Small businesses. The fee imposed by this chapter and the requirements of this chapter do not apply to:
51.19 51.20	(1) a retailer that made retail sales totaling less than \$1,000,000 in the previous calendar year; and
51.21	(2) a marketplace provider when facilitating the sale of a retailer that made retail sales
51.21	totaling less than \$100,000 in the previous calendar year through the marketplace provider.
51.23	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
51.24	Sec. 10. [168E.07] COLLECTION AND ADMINISTRATION.
51.25	Subdivision 1. Returns; payment of fees. (a) A retailer must report the fee on a return
51.26 51.27	prescribed by the commissioner and must remit the fee with the return. The return and fee must be filed and paid using the filing cycle and due dates provided for taxes imposed under
51.27	chapter 297A.

51.28 chapter 297A.

11.30 must collect the fee in the same manner as the tax collected under chapter 297A. A retailer 12.10 using a third-party entity to collect and remit the tax imposed under chapter 297A may elect 12.11 to have that third-party entity to collect and remit the tax imposed under chapter 297A may elect 12.12 to have that third-party entity to collect and remit the fee imposed under this chapter. 12.13 subd. 3. Administration. Unless specifically provided otherwise by this chapter. the 12.14 administrative provisions of chapters 270C and 289A, that are applicable to taxes imposed 12.14 under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter. 12.15 Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an 12.16 overpayment refunded or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment 12.10 is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee until 12.11 EFFECTIVE DATE . This section is effective July 1, 2024. 12.12 Sec. 11. [Id8E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. 12.13 Subdivision 1, Costs deduced. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not 12.14 exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and 12.15 Subd. 2. Deposits, After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit </th <th>51.29</th> <th>Subd. 2. Collection and remittance. A retailer that collects the fee from the purchaser</th>	51.29	Subd. 2. Collection and remittance. A retailer that collects the fee from the purchaser
 io have that third-party entity collect and remit the fee imposed under this chapter. Subd. 3. Administration. Unless specifically provided otherwise by this chapter, the audit, assessment, refund, penalty, interest, enforcement, collection remedies, appeal, and administrative provisions of chapters 270C and 289A, that are applicable to taxes imposed under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter. Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an overpayment refunded or credited to the retailer from the date of payment of the fee until the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 11. [I68E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability, "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United Status Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2)		
Subd. 3. Administration. Unless specifically provided otherwise by this chapter, the audit, assessment, refund, penalty, interest, enforcement, collection remedies, appeal, and administrative provisions of chapters 270C and 289A, that are applicable to taxes imposed under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter. Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an overpayment refunded or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subd. 2. Deposits, After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. Subd. 2. Deposits, After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: service-connected disability, "weeras a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to t		
 audit, assessment, refund, penalty, interest, enforcement, collection remedies, appeal, and administrative provisions of chapters 270C and 289A, that are applicable to taxes imposed under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter. Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an overpayment refunded or credited to the retailer from the date of payment of the fee until the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 11. [I68E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and fund. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the ve	52.2	to have that third-party entity collect and remit the fee imposed under this chapter.
administrative provisions of chapters 270C and 289A, that are applicable to taxes imposed under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter. Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an overpayment refunded or credited to the retailer from the date of payment of the fee until the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the service-connected disability means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commesisoner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the	52.3	Subd. 3. Administration. Unless specifically provided otherwise by this chapter, the
 ^{52.6} under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter. ^{52.7} Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an ^{52.8} overpayment refunded or credited to the retailer from the date of payment of the fee until ^{52.9} the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment ^{52.10} is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. ^{52.11} EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. ^{52.12} Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. ^{52.13} Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not ^{52.14} exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and ^{52.15} must deposit. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit ^{52.16} the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account ^{52.17} under section 174.49. ^{52.20} EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. ^{52.21} Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to ^{52.22} read: ^{52.23} Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total ^{52.24} service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides ^{52.25} to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans ^{52.26} Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the ^{52.27} sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to ^{52.28} read branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a ^{52.29} 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. ^{52.29} EFFECTIVE DATE. Th	52.4	
52.7 Subd. 4. Interest on overpayments. The commissioner must pay interest on an 52.8 overpayment refunded or credited to the retailer from the date of payment of the fee until 52.9 the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment 52.10 the date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. 52.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.12 Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. 52.13 Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not 52.14 exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and 52.15 Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit 52.16 the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account 52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to 52.22 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total 52.23 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran board of one of the 52.24 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is issued by the Department of Veterans		
 overpayment refunded or credited to the retailer from the date of payment of the fee until the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue find. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United Statuse Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 	52.6	under chapter 297A, apply to the fee imposed under this chapter.
 the date the refund is paid or credited. For purposes of this subdivision, the date of payment is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.7	
 52.10 is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later. 52.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.12 Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. 52.13 Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not 62.14 exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and 52.17 must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue 52.17 Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit 52.18 the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account 52.19 under section 174.49. 52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to 52.23 read: 52.24 service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 52.28 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 		
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.11 Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. 52.13 Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not 52.14 exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and 52.15 must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue 52.16 fund. 52.17 Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit 52.18 the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account 52.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to 52.23 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total 52.24 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 service-connected disability rating. 52.28		
 Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS. Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 	52.10	is the due date of the return or the date of actual payment of the fee, whichever is later.
 Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 	52.11	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
 52.14 exceed the total cost of collecting, administering, and enforcing the retail delivery fee and must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue 52.16 fund. 52.17 Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit 52.18 the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account 52.19 under section 174.49. 52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to 52.23 service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total 52.24 service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 52.29 IOP perfective DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.12	Sec. 11. [168E.09] DEPOSIT OF PROCEEDS.
 52.15 must deposit the amount in the revenue department service and recovery special revenue fund. 52.16 fund. 52.17 Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. 52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 52.23 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 	52.13	Subdivision 1. Costs deducted. The commissioner must retain an amount that does not
 52.16 <u>fund.</u> 52.17 <u>Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit</u> 52.18 <u>the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account</u> 52.19 <u>under section 174.49.</u> 52.20 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.</u> 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to 52.23 <u>Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability.</u> "Veteran with a total 52.24 service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 <u>Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the</u> 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 52.29 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.</u> 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 52.29 read: 	52.14	
Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sale Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to sec Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total		
 52.18 the balance of proceeds from the retail delivery fee in the transportation advancement account under section 174.49. 52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 52.23 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.16	<u>fund.</u>
 52.19 <u>under section 174.49.</u> 52.20 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 52.23 <u>Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability.</u> "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 <u>EFFECTIVE DATE.</u> This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 53.3 <u>Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans.</u> For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.17	Subd. 2. Deposits. After deposits under subdivision 1, the commissioner must deposit
52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024. 52.21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 52.23 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability." means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total	52.18	
 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.19	under section 174.49.
 read: <u>Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability.</u> "Veteran with a total service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
 52.23 Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total 52.24 service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.21	Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to
 52.24 service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.22	read:
 52.24 service-connected disability" means a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, who provides 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.23	Subd. 51. Veteran with a total service-connected disability. "Veteran with a total
 52.25 to the commissioner satisfactory evidence that: (1) is issued by the Department of Veterans 52.26 Affairs, the United States Veterans Administration, or the retirement board of one of the 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 		
 52.27 several branches of the armed forces; and (2) demonstrates that the veteran has received a 52.28 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.25	
 52.28 100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating. 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.26	
 52.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 		
 53.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to 53.2 read: 53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.28	100 percent total and permanent service-connected disability rating.
 read: Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total 	52.29	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
53.3 Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total	53.1	Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
	53.2	read:
	53.3	Subd. 2c. Exemption; certain veterans. For an applicant who is a veteran with a total
	53.4	

Transportation Part C - Taxes / Finance House H2887-4

- 53.5 (1) a license or endorsement fee, including fees and surcharges specified under:
- 53.6 (i) subdivisions 2 and 2a; and
- 53.7 (ii) section 171.02, subdivision 3;
- 53.8 (2) a filing fee under subdivision 2 or section 171.061, subdivision 4; or
- 53.9 (3) a fee for an identification card under section 171.07, subdivision 3 or 3a.
- 53.10 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2024.

- 53.11 Sec. 14. [174.49] TRANSPORTATION ADVANCEMENT ACCOUNT.
- 53.12 Subdivision 1. Transportation advancement account. A transportation advancement
- 53.13 account is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds under
- 53.14 sections 168.33, subdivision 7; 168.54, subdivision 5; 168E.09, subdivision 2; and as
- 53.15 provided by law and any other money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided
- 53.16 to the account.
- 53.17 Subd. 2. Account allocation. The commissioner of transportation must transfer funds
- 53.18 in the transportation advancement account as follows:
- 53.19 (1) 33 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;
- 53.20 (2) 18 percent to the county state-aid highway fund;
- 53.21 (3) 12 percent to the municipal state-aid street fund;
- 53.22 (4) 24 percent to the small cities assistance account under section 162.145, subdivision
- 53.23 <u>2;</u>
- 53.24 (5) 12 percent to the town road account under section 162.081; and
- 53.25 (6) one percent to the food delivery support account under section 256.9752, subdivision
- 53.26 <u>1a.</u>

- 40.23 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 174.38, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 40.24 Subd. 3. Active transportation account. An active transportation account is established
- 40.25 in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds provided by law and any other
- 40.26 money donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the
- 40.27 account is annually appropriated to the commissioner and must be expended only on a
- 40.28 project projects that receives receive financial assistance under this section.

- 54.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9752, is amended by adding a subdivision 54.2 to read:
- 54.3 Subd. 1a. Food delivery support account; appropriation. (a) A food delivery support
- 54.4 account is established in the special revenue fund. The account consists of funds under
- 54.5 section 174.49, subdivision 2, and as provided by law and any other money donated, allotted,
- 54.6 transferred, or otherwise provided to the account.
- 54.7 (b) Money in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner of human services
- 54.8 for grants to nonprofit organizations to provide transportation of home-delivered meals,
- 54.9 groceries, purchased food, or a combination, to Minnesotans who are experiencing food
- 54.10 insecurity and have difficulty obtaining or preparing meals due to limited mobility, disability,
- 54.11 age, or resources to prepare their own meals. A nonprofit organization must have a
- 54.12 demonstrated history of providing and distributing food customized for the population that
- 54.13 they serve.
- 54.14 (c) Grant funds under this subdivision must supplement, but not supplant, any state or
- 54.15 federal funding used to provide prepared meals to Minnesotans experiencing food insecurity.
- 54.16 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 270C.15, is amended to read:
- 54.17 270C.15 REVENUE DEPARTMENT SERVICE AND RECOVERY SPECIAL
 54.18 REVENUE FUND.
- 54.19 A Revenue Department service and recovery special revenue fund is created for the
- 54.20 purpose of recovering the costs of furnishing government data and related services or
- 54.21 products, as well as recovering costs associated with collecting local taxes on sales and the
- 54.22 retail delivery fee established under chapter 168E. All money collected under this section
- 54.23 is deposited in the Revenue Department service and recovery special revenue fund. Money
- 54.24 in the fund is appropriated to the commissioner to reimburse the department for the costs
- 54.25 incurred in administering the tax law or providing the data, service, or product. Any money 54.26 paid to the department as a criminal fine for a violation of state revenue law that is designated
- 54.26 by the court to fund enforcement of state revenue law is appropriated to this fund.
- 54.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2024.
- 55.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
- 55.2 **297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.**
- 55.3 (a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
- 55.4 including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
- 55.5 treasury and credit them to the general fund.
- 55.6 (b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
- 55.7 account in the special revenue fund if:

- 41.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
- 41.2 **297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.**
- 41.3 (a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
- 41.4 including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
- 41.5 treasury and credit them to the general fund.
- 41.6 (b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
- 41.7 account in the special revenue fund if:

55.8 (1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the

55.9 construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and

55.10 (2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was

55.11 made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.

55.12 The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on

- 55.13 which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
- 55.14 guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
- 55.15 of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.

55.16 (c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived

- 55.17 from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
- 55.18 paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

55.19	(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
55.20	year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

55.21 (2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

55.22 (d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit

- in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including
 interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution
 fund.
- 55.26 (e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
- 55.27 collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
- 55.28 general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
- 55.29 tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
- 55.30 subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.

55.31 (f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit

- 55.32 of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and
- 56.1 credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues
- 56.2 derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or
- 56.3 rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The
- 56.4 commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph
- 56.5 based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).
- 56.6 (g) The commissioner shall deposit an amount of the remittances monthly into the state
- 56.7 treasury and credit them to the highway user tax distribution fund as a portion of the estimated
- 56.8 amount of taxes collected from the sale and purchase of motor vehicle repair and replacement
- 56.9 parts in that month. The monthly deposit amount is \$12,137,000. Between July 1, 2023,
- 56.10 and June 30, 2027, the commissioner must deposit \$14,887,000 monthly in the highway
- 56.11 user tax distribution fund, as a portion of the revenue derived from the taxes imposed under
- 56.12 section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the sale and purchase of motor vehicle repair and
- 56.13 replacement parts. On and after July 1, 2027, the commissioner must deposit in the highway

- 41.8 (1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and
 41.10 (2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.
- 41.12 The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
- 41.13 which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
- 41.14 guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
- 41.15 of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.
- 41.16 (c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
- 41.17 from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
- 41.18 paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

41.21 (2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

- 41.22 (d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit
- 41.23 in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including

41.24 interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution41.25 fund.

- 41.26 (e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
- 41.27 collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
- 41.28 general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
- 41.29 tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
- 41.30 subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.
- 41.31 (f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit
- 41.32 of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and
- 42.1 credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues
- 42.2 derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or
- 42.3 rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The
- 42.4 commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph
- 42.5 based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).
- 42.6 (g) The commissioner shall deposit an amount of the remittances monthly into the state
- 42.7 treasury and credit them to the highway user tax distribution fund as a portion of the estimated
- 42.8 amount of taxes collected from the sale and purchase of motor vehicle repair and replacement
- 42.9 parts in that month. The monthly deposit amount is \$12,137,000. For purposes of this
- 42.10 paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 297B.01, subdivision 11, and
- 42.11 "motor vehicle repair and replacement parts" includes (i) all parts, tires, accessories, and
- 42.12 equipment incorporated into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle
- 42.13 maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or in the motor

- 56.14 user tax distribution fund the revenue derived from the taxes imposed under section 297A.62,
- 56.15 subdivision 1, on the sale and purchase of motor vehicle repair and replacement parts.
- 56.16 For purposes of this paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 297B.01,
- 56.17 subdivision 11, and "motor vehicle repair and replacement parts" includes (i) all parts, tires,
- 56.18 accessories, and equipment incorporated into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the
- 56.19 motor vehicle maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or
- 56.20 in the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance or repair. For purposes of this
- 56.21 paragraph, "tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially
- 56.22 made of rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use.

- 42.14 vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance or repair. For purposes of this paragraph,
- 42.15 "tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially made of
- 42.16 rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use. The commissioner
- 42.17 must deposit the revenues derived from the taxes imposed on the sale and purchase of motor
- 42.18 vehicle repair and replacement parts in the state treasury and credit:
- 42.19 (1) 47.5 percent in each year to the highway user tax distribution fund;
- 42.20 (2) to the general fund as follows:
- 42.21 (i) in fiscal year 2024, 50 percent;
- 42.22 (ii) in fiscal year 2025, 48 percent;
- 42.23 (iii) in fiscal year 2026, 46 percent;
- 42.24 (iv) in fiscal year 2027, 44 percent;
- 42.25 (v) in fiscal year 2028, 35 percent;
- 42.26 (vi) in fiscal year 2029, 28 percent;
- 42.27 (vii) in fiscal year 2030, 21 percent;
- 42.28 (viii) in fiscal year 2031, 14 percent;
- 42.29 (ix) in fiscal year 2032, seven percent; and
- 42.30 (x) in fiscal year 2033 and thereafter, zero percent; and
- 42.31 (3) the remainder in each year as follows:
- 43.1 (i) 60 percent to the county state-aid highway fund;
- 43.2 (ii) 22 percent to the municipal state-aid street fund;
- 43.3 (iii) nine percent to the small cities assistance account under section 162.145; and
- 43.4 (iv) nine percent to the larger cities assistance account under section 162.146.
- 43.5 (h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
- 43.6 commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state43.7 treasury as follows:
- 43.8 (1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
- 43.9 the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect

- 56.23 (h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the 56.24 commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state 56.25 treasury as follows:
- 56.26 (1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
- 56.27 the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect

56.28 fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land, 56.29 water, and other natural resources of the state;

56.30 (2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may 56.31 be spent only for state parks and trails;

56.32 (3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may56.33 be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;

(4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, andmay be spent only on local trail grants; and

57.3 (5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
57.4 be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
57.5 and the Duluth Zoo.

57.6 (i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for

57.7 traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall

57.8 supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money

57.9 deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting 57.10 and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands

57.10 and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands 57.11 where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times

57.12 of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in

57.12 of the year and number in year and number of promoted. At least of percent of the money deposited in 57.13 the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife

57.14 resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.

57.15 (j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus

57.16 any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,

57.17 that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by

57.18 the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

57.19 (1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section 57.20 88.068;

57.21 (2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 297I.06, subdivision 57.22 3; and

57.23 (3) the remainder to the general fund.

57.24 For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived

57.25 from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be

57.26 sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public

57.27 under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in 57.28 the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter

57.29 1, article 3, section 39.

57.30 (k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) do not include the revenues,

57.31 including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,

43.10 fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,

43.11 water, and other natural resources of the state;

43.12 (2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may43.13 be spent only for state parks and trails;

43.14 (3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may43.15 be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;

43.16 (4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and 43.17 may be spent only on local trail grants; and

(5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
and the Duluth Zoo.

43.21 (i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for

43.22 traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall

43.23 supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money

43.24 deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting

43.25 and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands

43.26 where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times

43.27 of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in

43.28 the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife

43.29 resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.

43.30 (j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus

43.31 any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,

44.1 that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by

44.2 the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

44.3 (1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section44.4 88.068;

44.5 (2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 297I.06, subdivision44.6 3; and

44.7 (3) the remainder to the general fund.

44.8 For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived

44.9 from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be

44.10 sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public

44.11 under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in

44.12 the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter

44.13 1, article 3, section 39.

44.14 (k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) do not include the revenues,

44.15 including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,

45.18 the meanings given.

House H2887-4

- 57.32 subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution, 57.33 article XI, section 15.
- 58.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297A.99, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 58.2 Subdivision 1. Authorization; scope. (a) A political subdivision of this state may impose
- 58.3 a general sales tax (1) under section 297A.992, (2) under section 297A.9925, (3) under
- 58.4 section 297A.993, (3) (4) if permitted by special law, or (4) (5) if the political subdivision
- 58.5 enacted and imposed the tax before January 1, 1982, and its predecessor provision.
- (b) This section governs the imposition of a general sales tax by the political subdivision.The provisions of this section preempt the provisions of any special law:
- 58.8 (1) enacted before June 2, 1997, or
- (2) enacted on or after June 2, 1997, that does not explicitly exempt the special lawprovision from this section's rules by reference.

(c) This section does not apply to or preempt a sales tax on motor vehicles. Beginning
July 1, 2019, no political subdivision may impose a special excise tax on motor vehicles
unless it is imposed under section 297A.993.

58.14 (d) A political subdivision may not advertise or expend funds for the promotion of a

- 58.15 referendum to support imposing a local sales tax and may only spend funds related to 58.16 imposing a local sales tax to:
- 58.17 (1) conduct the referendum;

(2) disseminate information included in the resolution adopted under subdivision 2, but
only if the disseminated information includes a list of specific projects and the cost of each
individual project;

(3) provide notice of, and conduct public forums at which proponents and opponents on
 the merits of the referendum are given equal time to express their opinions on the merits of
 the referendum:

- (4) provide facts and data on the impact of the proposed local sales tax on consumerpurchases; and
- 58.26 (5) provide facts and data related to the individual programs and projects to be funded 58.27 with the local sales tax.
- 58.28 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.
- 58.29 Sec. 19. [297A.9925] METROPOLITAN REGION SALES AND USE TAX.
- 58.30 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
- 58.31 the meanings given.

subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution. 44.16 article XI, section 15. 44.17 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297A.99, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 44.18 Subdivision 1. Authorization; scope. (a) A political subdivision of this state may impose 44.19 a general sales tax (1) under section 297A.992, (2) under section 297A.9925, (3) under 44.20 section 297A.993, (3) (4) if permitted by special law, or (4) (5) if the political subdivision 44.21 enacted and imposed the tax before January 1, 1982, and its predecessor provision. 44.22 44.23 (b) This section governs the imposition of a general sales tax by the political subdivision. The provisions of this section preempt the provisions of any special law: 44.24 44.25 (1) enacted before June 2, 1997, or (2) enacted on or after June 2, 1997, that does not explicitly exempt the special law 44.26 provision from this section's rules by reference. 44.27 (c) This section does not apply to or preempt a sales tax on motor vehicles. Beginning 44.28 July 1, 2019, no political subdivision may impose a special excise tax on motor vehicles 44.29 44.30 unless it is imposed under section 297A.993. (d) A political subdivision may not advertise or expend funds for the promotion of a 45.1 referendum to support imposing a local sales tax and may only spend funds related to 45.2 45.3 imposing a local sales tax to: (1) conduct the referendum; 45.4 (2) disseminate information included in the resolution adopted under subdivision 2, but 45.5 only if the disseminated information includes a list of specific projects and the cost of each 45.6 individual project; 45.7 (3) provide notice of, and conduct public forums at which proponents and opponents on 45.8 the merits of the referendum are given equal time to express their opinions on the merits of 45.9 45.10 the referendum: (4) provide facts and data on the impact of the proposed local sales tax on consumer 45.11 purchases; and 45.12 45.13 (5) provide facts and data related to the individual programs and projects to be funded with the local sales tax. 45.14 45.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 45.16 Sec. 10. [297A.9925] METROPOLITAN REGION SALES AND USE TAX. Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have 45.17

59.1 (b) "Metropolitan area" means the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, 59.2 Scott, and Washington. 59.3 (c) "Metropolitan Council" or "council" means the Metropolitan Council established by 59.4 section 473.123. 59.5 (d) "Metropolitan sales tax" means the metropolitan region sales and use tax imposed 59.6 under this section. 59.7 Subd. 2. Sales tax imposition; rate. Notwithstanding section 473.123, subdivision 1, 59.8 the Metropolitan Council must impose a metropolitan region sales and use tax at a rate of three-quarters of one percent on retail sales and uses taxable under this chapter made in the 59.9 metropolitan area or to a destination in the metropolitan area. 59.10 59.11 Subd. 3. Administration; collection; enforcement. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the provisions of section 297A.99, subdivisions 4, and 6 to 12a, govern the 59.12 administration, collection, and enforcement of the metropolitan sales tax. 59.13 59.14 Subd. 4. Deposit. Proceeds of the metropolitan sales tax must be deposited in the metropolitan area transit account under section 16A.88. 59.15 59.16 Subd. 5. Revenue bonds. (a) In addition to other authority granted in this section, and notwithstanding section 473.39, subdivision 7, or any other law to the contrary, the council 59.17 59.18 may, by resolution, authorize the sale and issuance of revenue bonds, notes, or obligations to provide funds to (1) implement the council's transit capital improvement program, and 59.19 59.20 (2) refund bonds issued under this subdivision. 59.21 (b) The bonds are payable from and secured by a pledge of all or part of the revenue received under subdivision 4 and associated investment earnings on debt proceeds. The 59.22 council may, by resolution, authorize the issuance of the bonds as general obligations of 59.23 the council. The bonds must be sold, issued, and secured in the manner provided in chapter 59.24 59.25 475, and the council has the same powers and duties as a municipality and its governing body in issuing bonds under chapter 475, except that no election is required and the net debt 59.26 limitations in chapter 475 do not apply to such bonds. The proceeds of the bonds may also 59.27 59.28 be used to fund necessary reserves and to pay credit enhancement fees, issuance costs, and 59.29 other financing costs during the life of the debt. 59.30 (c) The bonds may be secured by a bond resolution, or a trust indenture entered into by the council with a corporate trustee within or outside the state, which must define the 59.31 revenues and bond proceeds pledged for the payment and security of the bonds. The pledge 59.32 must be a valid charge on the revenues received under section 297A.99, subdivision 11. 59.33 Neither the state, nor any municipality or political subdivision except the council, nor any 60.1 member or officer or employee of the council, is liable on the obligations. No mortgage or 60.2 security interest in any tangible real or personal property is granted to the bondholders or 60.3

45.19	(b) "Metropolitan area" has the meaning given in section 473.121, subdivision 2.
45.20 45.21	(c) "Metropolitan Council" or "council" means the Metropolitan Council established by section 473.123.
45.22 45.23	(d) "Metropolitan sales tax" means the metropolitan region sales and use tax imposed under this section.
45.24 45.25 45.26 45.27	Subd. 2. Sales tax imposition; rate. The Metropolitan Council must impose a metropolitan region sales and use tax at a rate of one-half of one percent on retail sales and uses taxable under this chapter made in the metropolitan area or to a destination in the metropolitan area.
45.28 45.29 45.30	Subd. 3. Administration; collection; enforcement. Except as otherwise provided in this section, the provisions of section 297A.99, subdivisions 4, and 6 to 12a, govern the administration, collection, and enforcement of the metropolitan sales tax.
45.31	Subd. 4. Deposit. Proceeds of the metropolitan sales tax must be deposited as follows:
46.1	(1) 83 percent in the metropolitan area transit account under section 16A.88; and
46.2	(2) 17 percent in the county state-aid highway fund.
46.3 46.4 46.5 46.6 46.7	Subd. 5. Revenue bonds. (a) In addition to other authority granted in this section, and notwithstanding section 473.39, subdivision 7, or any other law to the contrary, the council may, by resolution, authorize the sale and issuance of revenue bonds, notes, or obligations to provide funds to (1) implement the council's transit capital improvement program, and (2) refund bonds issued under this subdivision.
46.8 46.9 46.10 46.11 46.12 46.13 46.14 46.15 46.16	(b) The bonds are payable from and secured by a pledge of all or part of the revenue received under subdivision 4, clause (1), and associated investment earnings on debt proceeds. The council may, by resolution, authorize the issuance of the bonds as general obligations of the council. The bonds must be sold, issued, and secured in the manner provided in chapter 475, and the council has the same powers and duties as a municipality and its governing body in issuing bonds under chapter 475, except that no election is required and the net debt limitations in chapter 475 do not apply to such bonds. The proceeds of the bonds may also be used to fund necessary reserves and to pay credit enhancement fees, issuance costs, and other financing costs during the life of the debt.
46.17 46.18 46.19 46.20 46.21 46.22 46.23	(c) The bonds may be secured by a bond resolution, or a trust indenture entered into by the council with a corporate trustee within or outside the state, which must define the revenues and bond proceeds pledged for the payment and security of the bonds. The pledge must be a valid charge on the revenues received under section 297A.99, subdivision 11. Neither the state, nor any municipality or political subdivision except the council, nor any member or officer or employee of the council, is liable on the obligations. No mortgage or security interest in any tangible real or personal property is granted to the bondholders or

Transportation Part C - Taxes / Finance

House H2887-4

60.4	the trustee, but they have a valid security interest in the revenues and bond proceeds received
60.5	by the council and pledged to the payment of the bonds. In the bond resolution or trust
60.6	indenture, the council may make such covenants as it determines to be reasonable for the
60.7	protection of the bondholders.
60.8	EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
60.9	final enactment for sales and purchases made on or after October 1, 2023, and applies in
60.10	the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.
60.11	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
60.12	Subdivision 1. Rate. (a) There is imposed an excise tax of 6.5 6.875 percent on the
60.13	purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state
60.14	of Minnesota, which is required to be registered under the laws of this state.
60.15	(b) The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or
60.16	acquired on Indian reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor
60.17	vehicles refund agreement with the state of Minnesota.
60.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases on or after July
60.19	1, 2023.
60.20	Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297B.03, is amended to read:
60.21	297B.03 EXEMPTIONS.
60.22	There is specifically exempted from the provisions of this chapter and from computation
60.23	of the amount of tax imposed by it the following:
60.24	(1) purchase or use, including use under a lease purchase agreement or installment sales
60.25	contract made pursuant to section 465.71, of any motor vehicle by the United States and its
60.26	agencies and instrumentalities and by any person described in and subject to the conditions
60.27	provided in section 297A.67, subdivision 11;
60.28	(2) purchase or use of any motor vehicle by any person who was a resident of another
60.28	state or country at the time of the purchase and who subsequently becomes a resident of
60.30	Minnesota, provided the purchase occurred more than 60 days prior to the date such person
60.31	began residing in the state of Minnesota and the motor vehicle was registered in the person's
60.32	name in the other state or country;
61.1	(3) purchase or use of any motor vehicle by any person making a valid election to be
61.2	taxed under the provisions of section 297A.90;
61.3	(4) purchase or use of any motor vehicle previously registered in the state of Minnesota
61.4 61.5	when such transfer constitutes a transfer within the meaning of section 118, 331, 332, 336, 337, 338, 351, 355, 368, 721, 731, 1031, 1033, or 1563(a) of the Internal Revenue Code,
61.5 61.6	as amended through December 16, 2016;
01.0	as amenaea anough becomber 10, 2010,

46.24 46.25 46.26	the trustee, but they have a valid security interest in the revenues and bond proceeds received by the council and pledged to the payment of the bonds. In the bond resolution or trust indenture, the council may make such covenants as it determines to be reasonable for the
46.27 46.28 46.29 46.30	<u>EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION.</u> This section is effective the day following final enactment for sales and purchases made after October 1, 2023, and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.
47.1 47.2 47.3 47.4	Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Rate. (a) There is imposed an excise tax of 6.5 6.875 percent on the purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or acquired, either in or outside of the state of Minnesota, which is required to be registered under the laws of this state.
47.5 47.6 47.7	(b) The excise tax is also imposed on the purchase price of motor vehicles purchased or acquired on Indian reservations when the tribal council has entered into a sales tax on motor vehicles refund agreement with the state of Minnesota.
47.8 47.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for sales and purchases on or after July 1, 2023.

- 61.7 (5) purchase or use of any vehicle owned by a resident of another state and leased to a
- 61.8 Minnesota-based private or for-hire carrier for regular use in the transportation of persons 61.9 or property in interstate commerce provided the vehicle is titled in the state of the owner or
- 61.9 or property in interstate commerce provided the vehicle is titled in the state of the owner or 61.10 secured party, and that state does not impose a sales tax or sales tax on motor vehicles used
- 61.11 in interstate commerce;
- 61.12 (6) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a private nonprofit or public educational
- 61.13 institution for use as an instructional aid in automotive training programs operated by the
- 61.14 institution. "Automotive training programs" includes motor vehicle body and mechanical
- 61.15 repair courses but does not include driver education programs;
- 61.16 (7) purchase of a motor vehicle by an ambulance service licensed under section 144E.10
- 61.17 when that vehicle is equipped and specifically intended for emergency response or for 61.18 providing ambulance service;
- 61.19 (8) purchase of a motor vehicle by or for a public library, as defined in section 134.001, 61.20 subdivision 2, as a bookmobile or library delivery vehicle;
- 61.21 (9) purchase of a ready-mixed concrete truck;
- 61.22 (10) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a town for use exclusively for road
- 61.23 maintenance, including snowplows and dump trucks, but not including automobiles, vans, 61.24 or pickup trucks;
- 61.25 (11) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a corporation, society, association, foundation,
- 61.26 or institution organized and operated exclusively for charitable, religious, or educational
- 61.27 purposes, except a public school, university, or library, but only if the vehicle is:
- (i) a truck, as defined in section 168.002, a bus, as defined in section 168.002, or a
- 61.29 passenger automobile, as defined in section 168.002, if the automobile is designed and used 61.30 for carrying more than nine persons including the driver; and
- 61.31 (ii) intended to be used primarily to transport tangible personal property or individuals,
- 61.32 other than employees, to whom the organization provides service in performing its charitable,
- 61.33 religious, or educational purpose;
- 62.1 (12) purchase of a motor vehicle for use by a transit provider exclusively to provide
- 62.2 transit service is exempt if the transit provider is either (i) receiving financial assistance or
- reimbursement under section 174.24 or 473.384, or (ii) operating under section 174.29,
 473.388, or 473.405;
- 62.5 (13) purchase or use of a motor vehicle by a qualified business, as defined in section
- 62.6 469.310, located in a job opportunity building zone, if the motor vehicle is principally
- 62.7 garaged in the job opportunity building zone and is primarily used as part of or in direct
- 62.8 support of the person's operations carried on in the job opportunity building zone. The
- 62.9 exemption under this clause applies to sales, if the purchase was made and delivery received
- 62.10 during the duration of the job opportunity building zone. The exemption under this clause
- 62.11 also applies to any local sales and use tax;

- 62.12 (14) purchase of a leased vehicle by the lessee who was a participant in a lease-to-own 62.13 program from a charitable organization that is:
- 62.14 (i) described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code; and
- 62.15 (ii) licensed as a motor vehicle lessor under section 168.27, subdivision 4; and
- 62.16 (15) purchase of a motor vehicle used exclusively as a mobile medical unit for the
- 62.17 provision of medical or dental services by a federally qualified health center, as defined
- 62.18 under title 19 of the Social Security Act, as amended by Section 4161 of the Omnibus Budget 62.19 Reconciliation Act of 1990-; and
- 62.20 (16) purchase of a motor vehicle by a veteran having a total service-connected disability, 62.21 as defined in section 171.01, subdivision 51.
- 62.22 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective for sales and purchases made after June 30, 2024.
- 62.24 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297B.09, is amended to read:
- 62.25 **297B.09** ALLOCATION OF REVENUE.
- 62.26 Subdivision 1. **Deposit of revenues.** (a) Money collected and received under this chapter 62.27 must be deposited as provided in this subdivision. as follows:
- 62.28 (b) (1) 60 percent of the money collected and received must be deposited in the highway 62.29 user tax distribution fund, 36 percent must be deposited;
- 62.30 (2) 34.3 percent in the metropolitan area transit account under section 16A.88; and four 62.31 percent must be deposited
- 63.1 (3) 5.7 percent in the greater Minnesota transit account under section 16A.88.
- 63.2 (c) (b) It is the intent of the legislature that the allocations under paragraph (b) remain
 63.3 unchanged for fiscal year 2012 2024 and all subsequent fiscal years.
- 63.4 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.
- 63.5 Sec. 23. [473.4465] METROPOLITAN REGION SALES AND USE TAX
 63.6 ALLOCATION.
- 63.7 Subdivision 1. **Definition.** For purposes of this section, "sales tax revenue" means
- 63.8 revenue from the metropolitan region sales and use tax under section 297A.9925 that is
- 63.9 deposited in the metropolitan area transit account under section 16A.88.
- 63.10 Subd. 2. Distribution. Sales tax revenue is allocated:
- 63.11 (1) five-sixths to the council; and
- 63.12 (2) one-sixth to the Transportation Advisory Board.

- 47.10 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 297B.09, is amended to read:
- 47.11 **297B.09 ALLOCATION OF REVENUE.**
- 47.12 Subdivision 1. **Deposit of revenues.** (a) Money collected and received under this chapter 47.13 must be deposited as provided in this subdivision. as follows:
- 47.14 (b) (1) 60 percent of the money collected and received must be deposited in the highway 47.15 user tax distribution fund, 36 percent must be deposited;
- 47.16 (2) 34.5 percent in the metropolitan area transit account under section
- 47.16 (2) 34.5 percent in the metropolitan area transit account under section 16A.88; and four
 47.17 percent must be deposited
- 47.18 (3) 5.5 percent in the greater Minnesota transit account under section 16A.88.
- 47.19 (c) (b) It is the intent of the legislature that the allocations under paragraph (b) remain 47.20 unchanged for fiscal year 2012 2024 and all subsequent fiscal years.
- 47.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.
- 47.22 Sec. 13. [473.4465] METROPOLITAN REGION SALES AND USE TAX
- 47.23 ALLOCATION.
- 47.24 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "sales tax revenue" means
- 47.25 revenue from the metropolitan region sales and use tax under section 297A.9925 that is
- 47.26 deposited in the metropolitan area transit account under section 16A.88.

63.13 Subd. 3. Use of funds; Metropolitan Council. (a) Sales tax revenue allocated to the

- 63.14 council under subdivision 2, clause (1), is available for transit system purposes under sections
- 63.15 473.371 to 473.452, including but not limited to operations, maintenance, and capital projects.

- 63.17 following categories:
- 63.18 (1) improvements to regular route bus service levels;
- 63.19 (2) improvements related to transit safety;
- 63.20 (3) maintenance and improvements to bus accessibility at transit stops and transit centers;
- 63.21 (4) transit shelter replacement and improvements under section 473.41;
- 63.22 (5) planning and project development for expansion of arterial bus rapid transit lines;
- 63.23 (6) operations and capital maintenance of arterial bus rapid transit;
- 63.24 (7) planning and project development for expansion of highway bus rapid transit and63.25 bus guideway lines;
- 63.26 (8) operations and capital maintenance of highway bus rapid transit and bus guideways;
- 63.27 (9) zero-emission bus procurement and associated costs in conformance with the
- 63.28 zero-emission and electric transit vehicle transition plan under section 473.3927;
- 63.29 (10) demand response microtransit service provided by the council; and
- 64.1 (11) financial assistance to replacement service providers under section 473.388, to
- 64.2 provide for service, vehicle purchases, and capital investments related to demand response
- 64.3 microtransit service.

47.27 47.28	Subd. 2. Use of funds; Metropolitan Council. (a) Sales tax revenue is available as follows:
47.29 47.30	(1) five percent for the metropolitan area active transportation program under section 473.248; and
48.1 48.2	(2) 95 percent for transit system purposes under sections 473.371 to 473.452, including but not limited to operations, maintenance, and capital projects.
48.3 48.4	(b) The council must annually expend a portion of sales tax revenue in each of the following categories:
48.5	(1) improvements to regular route bus service levels;
48.6 48.7	(2) improvements related to transit safety, including additional transit officials, as defined under section 473.4075;
48.8	(3) maintenance and improvements to bus accessibility at transit stops and transit centers;
48.9	(4) transit shelter replacement and improvements under section 473.41;
48.10	(5) planning and project development for expansion of arterial bus rapid transit lines;
48.11	(6) operations and capital maintenance of arterial bus rapid transit;
48.12 48.13	(7) planning and project development for expansion of highway bus rapid transit and bus guideway lines;
48.14	(8) operations and capital maintenance of highway bus rapid transit and bus guideways;
48.15 48.16	(9) zero-emission bus procurement and associated costs in conformance with the zero-emission and electric transit vehicle transition plan under section 473.3927;
48.17	(10) demand response microtransit service provided by the council;
48.18 48.19 48.20	(11) financial assistance to replacement service providers under section 473.388, to provide for service, vehicle purchases, and capital investments related to demand response microtransit service;
48.21 48.22 48.23	(12) financial assistance to political subdivisions and tax-exempt organizations under section $501(c)(3)$ of the Internal Revenue Code for the metropolitan area active transportation program established in section 473.248; and
48.24	(13) cost of living wage adjustments for Metro Transit hourly operations employees.
48.25 48.26 48.27	(c) The chair of the Metropolitan Council must annually transfer a portion of sales tax revenue to the commissioner of transportation for the cost of construction of nonarterial bus rapid transit facilities under section 174.48 and the cost of construction of light rail

48.28 transit facilities under sections 473.3993 to 473.3997. The amount for transfer must be

- (c) Subject to subdivision 5, nothing in paragraph (b) prevents expenditure for additional
- 64.5 purposes as determined by the council.

64.4

- 64.6 Subd. 4. Use of funds; Transportation Advisory Board. (a) Sales tax revenue allocated
- 64.7 to the Transportation Advisory Board under subdivision 2, clause (2), is for grants for
- 64.8 highway projects that provide for one or more of the following: safety improvements; crash
- 64.9 reduction; support for active transportation; or maintenance.
- 64.10 (b) The Transportation Advisory Board must establish eligibility requirements and a
- 64.11 project selection process to provide the grant awards. The process must include: solicitation;
- 64.12 evaluation and prioritization, including technical review, scoring, and ranking; project
- 64.13 selection; and award of funds. To the extent feasible, the process must align with procedures
- 64.14 and requirements established for allocation of other sources of funds.
- 64.15 Subd. 5. Prohibition. (a) The council is prohibited from expending sales tax revenue
- 64.16 on the Southwest light rail transit (Green Line Extension) project.
- 64.17 (b) Paragraph (a) expires on the date of expiration of the Metropolitan Governance Task
- 64.18 Force as specified under article 4, section 65, subdivision 11.
- 64.19 Subd. 6. Tracking and information. (a) The council must maintain separate financial
- 64.20 information on sales tax revenue that includes:
- 64.21 (1) a summary of annual revenue and expenditures, including but not limited to balances
- 64.22 and anticipated revenue in the forecast period under section 16A.103; and
- 64.23 (2) for each of the categories specified under subdivision 2 in the most recent prior three 64.24 fiscal years:

- 48.29 annually certified by the commissioner of transportation in consultation with the
- 48.30 commissioner of management and budget.
- 49.1 Subd. 3. Use of funds; Department of Transportation. (a) Notwithstanding any other
- 49.2 law to the contrary, the commissioner of transportation must allocate the funds deposited
- 49.3 under section 297A.9925, subdivision 4, clause (2), to the metropolitan counties, as defined
- 49.4 in section 473.121, subdivision 4, as follows:
- 49.5 (1) 30 percent apportioned among the counties so that each county receives of such
- 49.6 amount the percentage that its population, as defined in section 477A.011, subdivision 3,
- 49.7 bears to the total population of the counties receiving funds under this subdivision; and
- 49.8 (2) 70 percent apportioned among the counties so that each county receives of such
- 49.9 amount the percentage that its money needs, as defined under section 162.07, subdivision
- 49.10 2, bears to the sum of the money needs of all of the individual counties receiving funds
- 49.11 under this subdivision.

- 49.12 Subd. 4. Tracking and information. (a) The council must maintain separate financial
- 49.13 <u>information on sales tax revenue that includes:</u>
- 49.14 (1) a summary of annual revenue and expenditures, including but not limited to balances
- 49.15 and anticipated revenue in the forecast period under section 16A.103; and
- 49.16 (2) for each of the categories specified under subdivision 2 in the most recent prior three 49.17 fiscal years:

- 64.26 (ii) an overview of the projects or services.
- 64.27 (b) The council must publish the information required under paragraph (a) on the council's
- 64.28 website.
- 64.29 **EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION.** This section is effective October 1, 2023, and
- 64.30 applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Senate UEH2887-2

49.18 (i) specification of annual expenditures; and 49.19 (ii) an overview of the projects or services. (b) The council must publish the information required under paragraph (a) on the council's 49.20 49.21 website. 49.22 EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective October 1, 2023, and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington. 49.23 Sec. 14. OPERATING AND CAPITAL ASSISTANCE; GREATER MINNESOTA 49.24 49.25 TRANSIT. (a) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 174.24, subdivision 3b, the commissioner 49.26 of transportation must fund the operating costs of any eligible public transit system under 49.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 174.24, subdivision 2, such that the percentage of total contracted 49.28 operating costs paid by any recipient from local sources will not exceed five percent. 49.29 49.30 (b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 174.24, subdivision 3c, and Minnesota Rules, part 8835.0320, the commissioner of transportation must fund 90 percent of the 49.31 49.32 capital costs approved by the commissioner under the public transit participation program under Minnesota Statutes, section 174.24. The recipient must provide the remaining ten 50.1 percent of the approved capital costs from local sources. 50.2 50.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 21, 2023, and expires June 30, 2025.