
70.7 ARTICLE 2​

70.8 CONTINUING CARE FOR OLDER ADULTS​

574.26 ARTICLE 12​

574.27 CONTINUING CARE FOR OLDER ADULTS​

574.28 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

574.29 Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an​
574.30 employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032,​
574.31 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.214​
575.1 to 181.217, 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, or with any​
575.2 rule promulgated under section 177.28 or 181.213. The commissioner shall issue an order​
575.3 requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated.​
575.4 For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two​
575.5 years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer​
575.6 for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the commissioner and​
575.7 the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay​
575.8 back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve​
575.9 the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by​
575.10 certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the​
575.11 order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15​
575.12 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be​
575.13 held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being​
575.14 served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the​
575.15 commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.​

575.16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

575.17 Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have​
575.18 violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28 or​
575.19 181.213, and the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the​
575.20 employer to cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such​
575.21 affirmative steps that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes of​
575.22 the section or rule violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the​
575.23 aggrieved parties back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually​
575.24 paid to the employee by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated​
575.25 damages. Any employer who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully​
575.26 violated a section or sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a civil penalty​
575.27 of up to $1,000 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount of a civil​
575.28 penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the​
575.29 employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the​
575.30 commissioner may order the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general​
575.31 for all appropriate litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting​
575.32 the contested case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial​
575.33 hardship on the employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship,​
575.34 then the commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that​
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575.35 will not cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of​
576.1 services rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department,​
576.2 administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of​
576.3 transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's​
576.4 order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annual rate​
576.5 provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish​
576.6 escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.​

576.7 Sec. 3. [181.211] DEFINITIONS.​

576.8 Subdivision 1. Application. The terms defined in this section apply to sections 181.211​
576.9 to 181.217.​

576.10 Subd. 2. Board. "Board" means the Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce Standards​
576.11 Board established under section 181.212.​

576.12 Subd. 3. Certified worker organization. "Certified worker organization" means a​
576.13 worker organization that is certified by the board to conduct nursing home worker trainings​
576.14 under section 181.214.​

576.15 Subd. 4. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry.​

576.16 Subd. 5. Employer organization. "Employer organization" means:​

576.17 (1) an organization that is exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(6)​
576.18 of the Internal Revenue Code and that represents nursing home employers; or​

576.19 (2) an entity that employers, who together employ a majority of nursing home workers​
576.20 in Minnesota, have selected as a representative.​

576.21 Subd. 6. Nursing home. "Nursing home" means a nursing home licensed under chapter​
576.22 144A, or a boarding care home licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56.​

576.23 Subd. 7. Nursing home employer. "Nursing home employer" means an employer of​
576.24 nursing home workers.​

576.25 Subd. 8. Nursing home worker. "Nursing home worker" means any worker who provides​
576.26 services in a nursing home in Minnesota, including direct care staff, administrative staff,​
576.27 and contractors.​

576.28 Subd. 9. Retaliatory personnel action. "Retaliatory personnel action" means any form​
576.29 of intimidation, threat, reprisal, harassment, discrimination, or adverse employment action,​
576.30 including discipline, discharge, suspension, transfer, or reassignment to a lesser position in​
576.31 terms of job classification, job security, or other condition of employment; reduction in pay​
576.32 or hours or denial of additional hours; informing another employer that a nursing home​
577.1 worker has engaged in activities protected under sections 181.211 to 181.217; or reporting​
577.2 or threatening to report the actual or suspected citizenship or immigration status of a nursing​
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577.3 home worker, former nursing home worker, or family member of a nursing home worker​
577.4 to a federal, state, or local agency.​

577.5 Subd. 10. Worker organization. "Worker organization" means an organization that is​
577.6 exempt from federal income taxation under section 501(c)(3), 501(c)(4), or 501(c)(5) of​
577.7 the Internal Revenue Code, that is not dominated or controlled by any nursing home employer​
577.8 within the meaning of United States Code, title 29, section 158a(2), and that has at least​
577.9 five years of demonstrated experience engaging with and advocating for nursing home​
577.10 workers.​

577.11 Sec. 4. [181.212] MINNESOTA NURSING HOME WORKFORCE STANDARDS​
577.12 BOARD; ESTABLISHMENT.​

577.13 Subdivision 1. Board established; membership. The Minnesota Nursing Home​
577.14 Workforce Standards Board is created with the powers and duties established by law. The​
577.15 board is composed of the following members:​

577.16 (1) the commissioner of human services or a designee;​

577.17 (2) the commissioner of health or a designee;​

577.18 (3) the commissioner of labor and industry or a designee;​

577.19 (4) three members who represent nursing home employers or employer organizations,​
577.20 appointed by the governor; and​

577.21 (5) three members who represent nursing home workers or worker organizations,​
577.22 appointed by the governor.​

577.23 Subd. 2. Terms; vacancies. (a) Board members appointed under subdivision 1, clause​
577.24 (4) or (5), shall serve four-year terms following the initial staggered-lot determination. The​
577.25 initial terms of members appointed under subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall be​
577.26 determined by lot by the secretary of state and shall be as follows:​

577.27 (1) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve​
577.28 a two-year term;​

577.29 (2) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve​
577.30 a three-year term; and​

577.31 (3) one member appointed under each of subdivision 1, clauses (4) and (5), shall serve​
577.32 a four-year term.​

578.1 (b) For members appointed under subdivision 1, clause (4) or (5), the governor shall fill​
578.2 vacancies occurring prior to the expiration of a member's term by appointment for the​
578.3 unexpired term. A member appointed under subdivision 1, clause (4) or (5), must not be​
578.4 appointed to more than two consecutive four-year terms.​
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578.5 Subd. 3. Chairperson. The board shall elect a member by majority vote to serve as its​
578.6 chairperson and shall determine the term to be served by the chairperson.​

578.7 Subd. 4. Staffing. The board may employ an executive director and other personnel to​
578.8 carry out duties of the board under sections 181.211 to 181.217.​

578.9 Subd. 5. Compensation. Compensation of board members is governed by section​
578.10 15.0575.​

578.11 Subd. 6. Application of other laws. Meetings of the board are subject to chapter 13D.​
578.12 The board is subject to chapter 13.​

578.13 Subd. 7. Voting. The affirmative vote of five board members is required for the board​
578.14 to take any action, including action to establish minimum nursing home employment​
578.15 standards under section 181.213.​

578.16 Subd. 8. Hearings and investigations. To carry out its duties, the board shall hold public​
578.17 hearings on, and conduct investigations into, working conditions in the nursing home​
578.18 industry.​

578.19 Sec. 5. [181.213] DUTIES OF THE BOARD; MINIMUM NURSING HOME​
578.20 EMPLOYMENT STANDARDS.​

578.21 Subdivision 1. Authority to establish minimum nursing home employment​
578.22 standards. (a) The board must adopt rules establishing minimum nursing home employment​
578.23 standards that are reasonably necessary and appropriate to protect the health and welfare​
578.24 of nursing home workers, to ensure that nursing home workers are properly trained and​
578.25 fully informed of their rights under sections 181.211 to 181.217, and to otherwise satisfy​
578.26 the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. Standards established by the board must​
578.27 include, as appropriate, standards on compensation, working hours, and other working​
578.28 conditions for nursing home workers. Any standards established by the board under this​
578.29 section must be at least as protective of or beneficial to nursing home workers as any other​
578.30 applicable statute or rule or any standard previously established by the board. In establishing​
578.31 standards under this section, the board may establish statewide standards, standards that​
578.32 apply to specific nursing home occupations, standards that apply to specific geographic​
578.33 areas within the state, or any combination thereof.​

579.1 (b) The board must adopt rules establishing initial standards for wages and working​
579.2 hours for nursing home workers no later than August 1, 2023. The board may use the​
579.3 authority in section 14.389 to adopt rules under this paragraph.​

579.4 (c) To the extent that any minimum standards that the board finds are reasonably​
579.5 necessary and appropriate to protect the health and welfare of nursing home workers fall​
579.6 within the jurisdiction of chapter 182, the board shall not adopt rules establishing the​
579.7 standards but shall instead recommend the standards to the commissioner of labor and​
579.8 industry. The commissioner of labor and industry shall adopt nursing home health and safety​
579.9 standards under section 182.655 as recommended by the board, unless the commissioner​
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579.10 determines that the recommended standard is outside the statutory authority of the​
579.11 commissioner or is otherwise unlawful and issues a written explanation of this determination.​

579.12 Subd. 2. Investigation of market conditions. The board must investigate market​
579.13 conditions and the existing wages, benefits, and working conditions of nursing home workers​
579.14 for specific geographic areas of the state and specific nursing home occupations. Based on​
579.15 this information, the board must seek to adopt minimum nursing home employment standards​
579.16 that meet or exceed existing industry conditions for a majority of nursing home workers in​
579.17 the relevant geographic area and nursing home occupation. The board must consider the​
579.18 following types of information in making wage rate determinations that are reasonably​
579.19 necessary to protect the health and welfare of nursing home workers:​

579.20 (1) wage rate and benefit data collected by or submitted to the board for nursing home​
579.21 workers in the relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations;​

579.22 (2) statements showing wage rates and benefits paid to nursing home workers in the​
579.23 relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations;​

579.24 (3) signed collective bargaining agreements applicable to nursing home workers in the​
579.25 relevant geographic area and nursing home occupations;​

579.26 (4) testimony and information from current and former nursing home workers, worker​
579.27 organizations, nursing home employers, and employer organizations;​

579.28 (5) local minimum nursing home employment standards;​

579.29 (6) information submitted by or obtained from state and local government entities; and​

579.30 (7) any other information pertinent to establishing minimum nursing home employment​
579.31 standards.​

579.32 Subd. 3. Review of standards. At least once every two years, the board shall:​

580.1 (1) conduct a full review of the adequacy of the minimum nursing home employment​
580.2 standards previously established by the board; and​

580.3 (2) following that review, adopt new rules, amend or repeal existing rules, or make​
580.4 recommendations to adopt new rules or amend or repeal existing rules, as appropriate to​
580.5 meet the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217.​

580.6 Subd. 4. Conflict. In the event of a conflict between a standard established by the board​
580.7 in rule and a rule adopted by another state agency, the rule adopted by the board shall apply​
580.8 to nursing home workers and nursing home employers, except where the conflicting rule​
580.9 is issued after the board's standard, and the rule issued by the other state agency is more​
580.10 protective or more beneficial, then the subsequent more protective or more beneficial rule​
580.11 must apply to nursing home workers and nursing home employers.​
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580.12 Subd. 5. Effect on other agreements. Nothing in sections 181.211 to 181.217 shall be​
580.13 construed to:​

580.14 (1) limit the rights of parties to a collective bargaining agreement to bargain and agree​
580.15 with respect to nursing home employment standards; or​

580.16 (2) diminish the obligation of a nursing home employer to comply with any contract,​
580.17 collective bargaining agreement, or employment benefit program or plan that meets or​
580.18 exceeds, and does not conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements in sections​
580.19 181.211 to 181.217 or established by the board.​

580.20 Sec. 6. [181.214] DUTIES OF THE BOARD; TRAINING FOR NURSING HOME​
580.21 WORKERS.​

580.22 Subdivision 1. Certification of worker organizations. The board shall certify worker​
580.23 organizations that it finds are qualified to provide training to nursing home workers according​
580.24 to this section. The board shall by rule establish certification criteria that a worker​
580.25 organization must meet in order to be certified. In adopting rules to establish initial​
580.26 certification criteria under this subdivision, the board may use the authority in section 14.389.​
580.27 The criteria must ensure that a worker organization, if certified, is able to provide:​

580.28 (1) effective, interactive training on the information required by this section; and​

580.29 (2) follow-up written materials and responses to inquiries from nursing home workers​
580.30 in the languages in which nursing home workers are proficient.​

581.1 Subd. 2. Curriculum. (a) The board shall establish requirements for the curriculum for​
581.2 the nursing home worker training required by this section. A curriculum must at least provide​
581.3 the following information to nursing home workers:​

581.4 (1) the applicable compensation, working hours, and working conditions in the minimum​
581.5 standards or local minimum standards established by the board;​

581.6 (2) the antiretaliation protections established in section 181.216;​

581.7 (3) information on how to enforce sections 181.211 to 181.217 and on how to report​
581.8 violations of sections 181.211 to 181.217 or of standards established by the board, including​
581.9 contact information for the Department of Labor and Industry, the board, and any local​
581.10 enforcement agencies, and information on the remedies available for violations;​

581.11 (4) the purposes and functions of the board and information on upcoming hearings,​
581.12 investigations, or other opportunities for nursing home workers to become involved in board​
581.13 proceedings;​

581.14 (5) other rights, duties, and obligations under sections 181.211 to 181.217;​

581.15 (6) any updates or changes to the information provided according to clauses (1) to (5)​
581.16 since the most recent training session;​
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581.17 (7) any other information the board deems appropriate to facilitate compliance with​
581.18 sections 181.211 to 181.217; and​

581.19 (8) information on other applicable local, state, and federal laws, rules, and ordinances​
581.20 regarding nursing home working conditions or nursing home worker health and safety.​

581.21 (b) Before establishing initial curriculum requirements, the board must hold at least one​
581.22 public hearing to solicit input on the requirements.​

581.23 Subd. 3. Topics covered in training session. A certified worker organization is not​
581.24 required to cover all of the topics listed in subdivision 2 in a single training session. A​
581.25 curriculum used by a certified worker organization may provide instruction on each topic​
581.26 listed in subdivision 2 over the course of up to three training sessions.​

581.27 Subd. 4. Annual review of curriculum requirements. The board must review the​
581.28 adequacy of its curriculum requirements at least annually and must revise the requirements​
581.29 as appropriate to meet the purposes of sections 181.211 to 181.217. As part of each annual​
581.30 review of the curriculum requirements, the board must hold at least one public hearing to​
581.31 solicit input on the requirements.​

581.32 Subd. 5. Duties of certified worker organizations. A certified worker organization:​

582.1 (1) must use a curriculum for its training sessions that meets requirements established​
582.2 by the board;​

582.3 (2) must provide trainings that are interactive and conducted in the languages in which​
582.4 the attending nursing home workers are proficient;​

582.5 (3) must, at the end of each training session, provide attending nursing home workers​
582.6 with follow-up written or electronic materials on the topics covered in the training session,​
582.7 in order to fully inform nursing home workers of their rights and opportunities under sections​
582.8 181.211 to 181.217 and other applicable laws, rules, and ordinances governing nursing​
582.9 home working conditions or worker health and safety;​

582.10 (4) must make itself reasonably available to respond to inquiries from nursing home​
582.11 workers during and after training sessions; and​

582.12 (5) may conduct surveys of nursing home workers who attend a training session to assess​
582.13 the effectiveness of the training session and industry compliance with sections 181.211 to​
582.14 181.217 and other applicable laws, rules, and ordinances governing nursing home working​
582.15 conditions or worker health and safety.​

582.16 Subd. 6. Nursing home employer duties regarding training. (a) A nursing home​
582.17 employer must ensure, and must provide proof to the commissioner of labor and industry,​
582.18 that every six months each of its nursing home workers completes one hour of training that​
582.19 meets the requirements of this section and is provided by a certified worker organization.​
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582.20 A nursing home employer may, but is not required to, host training sessions on the premises​
582.21 of the nursing home.​

582.22 (b) If requested by a certified worker organization, a nursing home employer must, after​
582.23 a training session provided by the certified worker organization, provide the certified worker​
582.24 organization with the names and contact information of the nursing home workers who​
582.25 attended the training session, unless a nursing home worker opts out according to paragraph​
582.26 (c).​

582.27 (c) A nursing home worker may opt out of having the worker's nursing home employer​
582.28 provide the worker's name and contact information to a certified worker organization that​
582.29 provided a training session attended by the worker by submitting a written statement to that​
582.30 effect to the nursing home employer.​

582.31 Subd. 7. Compensation. A nursing home employer must compensate its nursing home​
582.32 workers at their regular hourly rate of wages and benefits for each hour of training completed​
582.33 as required by this section.​

583.1 Sec. 7. [181.215] REQUIRED NOTICES.​

583.2 Subdivision 1. Provision of notice. (a) Nursing home employers must provide notices​
583.3 informing nursing home workers of the rights and obligations provided under sections​
583.4 181.211 to 181.217 of applicable minimum nursing home employment standards or local​
583.5 minimum standards and that for assistance and information, nursing home workers should​
583.6 contact the Department of Labor and Industry. A nursing home employer must provide​
583.7 notice using the same means that the nursing home employer uses to provide other​
583.8 work-related notices to nursing home workers. Provision of notice must be at least as​
583.9 conspicuous as:​

583.10 (1) posting a copy of the notice at each work site where nursing home workers work​
583.11 and where the notice may be readily observed and reviewed by all nursing home workers​
583.12 working at the site; or​

583.13 (2) providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to all nursing home workers and​
583.14 applicants for employment as a nursing home worker.​

583.15 (b) The notice required by this subdivision must include text provided by the board that​
583.16 informs nursing home workers that they may request the notice to be provided in a particular​
583.17 language. The nursing home employer must provide the notice in the language requested​
583.18 by the nursing home worker. The board must assist nursing home employers in translating​
583.19 the notice in the languages requested by their nursing home workers.​

583.20 Subd. 2. Minimum content and posting requirements. The board must adopt rules​
583.21 specifying the minimum content and posting requirements for the notices required in​
583.22 subdivision 1. The board must make available to nursing home employers a template or​
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583.23 sample notice that satisfies the requirements of this section and rules adopted under this​
583.24 section.​

583.25 Sec. 8. [181.216] RETALIATION ON CERTAIN GROUNDS PROHIBITED.​

583.26 A nursing home employer must not retaliate against a nursing home worker, including​
583.27 taking retaliatory personnel action, for:​

583.28 (1) exercising any right afforded to the nursing home worker under sections 181.211 to​
583.29 181.217;​

583.30 (2) participating in any process or proceeding under sections 181.211 to 181.217,​
583.31 including but not limited to board hearings, investigations, or other proceedings; or​

583.32 (3) attending or participating in the training required by section 181.214.​

584.1 Sec. 9. [181.217] ENFORCEMENT.​

584.2 Subdivision 1. Minimum nursing home employment standards. The minimum wages,​
584.3 maximum hours of work, and other working conditions established by the board in rule as​
584.4 minimum nursing home employment standards shall be the minimum wages, maximum​
584.5 hours of work, and standard conditions of labor for nursing home workers or a subgroup​
584.6 of nursing home workers as a matter of state law. It shall be unlawful for a nursing home​
584.7 employer to employ a nursing home worker for lower wages or for longer hours than those​
584.8 established as the minimum nursing home employment standards or under any other working​
584.9 conditions that violate the minimum nursing home employment standards.​

584.10 Subd. 2. Investigations. The commissioner may investigate possible violations of sections​
584.11 181.214 to 181.217 or of the minimum nursing home employment standards established by​
584.12 the board whenever it has cause to believe that a violation has occurred, either on the basis​
584.13 of a report of a suspected violation or on the basis of any other credible information, including​
584.14 violations found during the course of an investigation.​

584.15 Subd. 3. Enforcement authority. The Department of Labor and Industry shall enforce​
584.16 sections 181.214 to 181.217 and compliance with the minimum nursing home employment​
584.17 standards established by the board according to the authority in section 177.27, subdivisions​
584.18 4 and 7.​

584.19 Subd. 4. Civil action by nursing home worker. (a) One or more nursing home workers​
584.20 may bring a civil action in district court seeking redress for violations of sections 181.211​
584.21 to 181.217 or of any applicable minimum nursing home employment standards or local​
584.22 minimum nursing home employment standards. Such an action may be filed in the district​
584.23 court of the county where a violation or violations are alleged to have been committed or​
584.24 where the nursing home employer resides, or in any other court of competent jurisdiction,​
584.25 and may represent a class of similarly situated nursing home workers.​

584.26 (b) Upon a finding of one or more violations, a nursing home employer shall be liable​
584.27 to each nursing home worker for the full amount of the wages, benefits, and overtime​
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584.28 compensation, less any amount the nursing home employer is able to establish was actually​
584.29 paid to each nursing home worker and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages.​
584.30 In an action under this subdivision, nursing home workers may seek damages and other​
584.31 appropriate relief provided by section 177.27, subdivision 7, or otherwise provided by law,​
584.32 including reasonable costs, disbursements, witness fees, and attorney fees. A court may also​
584.33 issue an order requiring compliance with sections 181.211 to 181.217 or with the applicable​
584.34 minimum nursing home employment standards or local minimum nursing home employment​
585.1 standards. A nursing home worker found to have experienced a retaliatory personnel action​
585.2 in violation of section 181.216 shall be entitled to reinstatement to the worker's previous​
585.3 position, wages, benefits, hours, and other conditions of employment.​

585.4 (c) An agreement between a nursing home employer and nursing home worker or labor​
585.5 union that fails to meet the minimum standards and requirements in sections 181.211 to​
585.6 181.217 or established by the board is not a defense to an action brought under this​
585.7 subdivision.​

585.8 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0913, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

585.9 Subd. 4. Eligibility for funding for services for nonmedical assistance recipients. (a)​
585.10 Funding for services under the alternative care program is available to persons who meet​
585.11 the following criteria:​

585.12 (1) the person is a citizen of the United States or a United States national;​

585.13 (2) the person has been determined by a community assessment under section 256B.0911​
585.14 to be a person who would require the level of care provided in a nursing facility, as​
585.15 determined under section 256B.0911, subdivision 4e, but for the provision of services under​
585.16 the alternative care program;​

585.17 (3) the person is age 65 or older;​

585.18 (4) the person would be eligible for medical assistance within 135 days of admission to​
585.19 a nursing facility;​

585.20 (5) the person is not ineligible for the payment of long-term care services by the medical​
585.21 assistance program due to an asset transfer penalty under section 256B.0595 or equity​
585.22 interest in the home exceeding $500,000 as stated in section 256B.056;​

585.23 (6) the person needs long-term care services that are not funded through other state or​
585.24 federal funding, or other health insurance or other third-party insurance such as long-term​
585.25 care insurance;​

585.26 (7) except for individuals described in clause (8), the monthly cost of the alternative​
585.27 care services funded by the program for this person does not exceed 75 percent of the​
585.28 monthly limit described under section 256S.18. This monthly limit does not prohibit the​
585.29 alternative care client from payment for additional services, but in no case may the cost of​
585.30 additional services purchased under this section exceed the difference between the client's​
585.31 monthly service limit defined under section 256S.04, and the alternative care program​
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585.32 monthly service limit defined in this paragraph. If care-related supplies and equipment or​
586.1 environmental modifications and adaptations are or will be purchased for an alternative​
586.2 care services recipient, the costs may be prorated on a monthly basis for up to 12 consecutive​
586.3 months beginning with the month of purchase. If the monthly cost of a recipient's other​
586.4 alternative care services exceeds the monthly limit established in this paragraph, the annual​
586.5 cost of the alternative care services shall must be determined. In this event, the annual cost​
586.6 of alternative care services shall must not exceed 12 times the monthly limit described in​
586.7 this paragraph;​

586.8 (8) for individuals assigned a case mix classification A as described under section​
586.9 256S.18, with (i) no dependencies in activities of daily living, or (ii) up to two dependencies​
586.10 in bathing, dressing, grooming, walking, and eating when the dependency score in eating​
586.11 is three or greater as determined by an assessment performed under section 256B.0911, the​
586.12 monthly cost of alternative care services funded by the program cannot exceed $593 per​
586.13 month for all new participants enrolled in the program on or after July 1, 2011. This monthly​
586.14 limit shall be applied to all other participants who meet this criteria at reassessment. This​
586.15 monthly limit shall must be increased annually as described in section 256S.18. This monthly​
586.16 limit does not prohibit the alternative care client from payment for additional services, but​
586.17 in no case may the cost of additional services purchased exceed the difference between the​
586.18 client's monthly service limit defined in this clause and the limit described in clause (7) for​
586.19 case mix classification A; and​

586.20 (9) the person is making timely payments of the assessed monthly fee.; and​

586.21 (10) for a person participating in consumer-directed community supports, the person's​
586.22 monthly service limit must be equal to the monthly service limits in clause (7), except that​
586.23 a person assigned a case mix classification L must receive the monthly service limit for​
586.24 case mix classification A.​

586.25 A person is ineligible if payment of the fee is over 60 days past due, unless the person agrees​
586.26 to:​

586.27 (i) the appointment of a representative payee;​

586.28 (ii) automatic payment from a financial account;​

586.29 (iii) the establishment of greater family involvement in the financial management of​
586.30 payments; or​

586.31 (iv) another method acceptable to the lead agency to ensure prompt fee payments.​

586.32 The lead agency may extend the client's eligibility as necessary while making​
586.33 arrangements to facilitate payment of past-due amounts and future premium payments.​
587.1 Following disenrollment due to nonpayment of a monthly fee, eligibility shall must not be​
587.2 reinstated for a period of 30 days.​

587.3 (b) Alternative care funding under this subdivision is not available for a person who is​
587.4 a medical assistance recipient or who would be eligible for medical assistance without a​
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587.5 spenddown or waiver obligation. A person whose initial application for medical assistance​
587.6 and the elderly waiver program is being processed may be served under the alternative care​
587.7 program for a period up to 60 days. If the individual is found to be eligible for medical​
587.8 assistance, medical assistance must be billed for services payable under the federally​
587.9 approved elderly waiver plan and delivered from the date the individual was found eligible​
587.10 for the federally approved elderly waiver plan. Notwithstanding this provision, alternative​
587.11 care funds may not be used to pay for any service the cost of which: (i) is payable by medical​
587.12 assistance; (ii) is used by a recipient to meet a waiver obligation; or (iii) is used to pay a​
587.13 medical assistance income spenddown for a person who is eligible to participate in the​
587.14 federally approved elderly waiver program under the special income standard provision.​

587.15 (c) Alternative care funding is not available for a person who resides in a licensed nursing​
587.16 home, certified boarding care home, hospital, or intermediate care facility, except for case​
587.17 management services which are provided in support of the discharge planning process for​
587.18 a nursing home resident or certified boarding care home resident to assist with a relocation​
587.19 process to a community-based setting.​

587.20 (d) Alternative care funding is not available for a person whose income is greater than​
587.21 the maintenance needs allowance under section 256S.05, but equal to or less than 120 percent​
587.22 of the federal poverty guideline effective July 1 in the fiscal year for which alternative care​
587.23 eligibility is determined, who would be eligible for the elderly waiver with a waiver​
587.24 obligation.​

587.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

587.26 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256B.0913, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

587.27 Subd. 5. Services covered under alternative care. Alternative care funding may be​
587.28 used for payment of costs of:​

587.29 (1) adult day services and adult day services bath;​

587.30 (2) home care;​

587.31 (3) homemaker services;​

587.32 (4) personal care;​

588.1 (5) case management and conversion case management;​

588.2 (6) respite care;​

588.3 (7) specialized supplies and equipment;​

588.4 (8) home-delivered meals;​

588.5 (9) nonmedical transportation;​

588.6 (10) nursing services;​
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588.7 (11) chore services;​

588.8 (12) companion services;​

588.9 (13) nutrition services;​

588.10 (14) family caregiver training and education;​

588.11 (15) coaching and counseling;​

588.12 (16) telehome care to provide services in their own homes in conjunction with in-home​
588.13 visits;​

588.14 (17) consumer-directed community supports under the alternative care programs which​
588.15 are available statewide and limited to the average monthly expenditures representative of​
588.16 all alternative care program participants for the same case mix resident class assigned in​
588.17 the most recent fiscal year for which complete expenditure data is available;​

588.18 (18) environmental accessibility and adaptations; and​

588.19 (19) discretionary services, for which lead agencies may make payment from their​
588.20 alternative care program allocation for services not otherwise defined in this section or​
588.21 section 256B.0625, following approval by the commissioner.​

588.22 Total annual payments for discretionary services for all clients served by a lead agency​
588.23 must not exceed 25 percent of that lead agency's annual alternative care program base​
588.24 allocation, except that when alternative care services receive federal financial participation​
588.25 under the 1115 waiver demonstration, funding shall be allocated in accordance with​
588.26 subdivision 17.​

588.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

70.9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:​

70.10 Subd. 16. Dietary costs. "Dietary costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of​
70.11 the dietary supervisor, dietitians, chefs, cooks, dishwashers, and other employees assigned​
70.12 to the kitchen and dining room, and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes. Dietary​
70.13 costs also includes the salaries or fees of dietary consultants, dietary supplies, and food​
70.14 preparation and serving.​

70.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
70.16 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
70.17 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​
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70.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
70.19 read:​

70.20 Subd. 16a. Dietary labor costs. "Dietary labor costs" means the costs for the salaries​
70.21 and wages of the dietary supervisor, dietitians, chefs, cooks, dishwashers, and other​
70.22 employees assigned to the kitchen and dining room, and associated fringe benefits and​
70.23 payroll taxes.​

70.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
70.25 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
70.26 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

70.27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 24, is amended to read:​

70.28 Subd. 24. Housekeeping costs. "Housekeeping costs" means the costs for the salaries​
70.29 and wages of the housekeeping supervisor, housekeepers, and other cleaning employees​
71.1 and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes. It also includes the cost of housekeeping​
71.2 supplies, including, but not limited to, cleaning and lavatory supplies and contract services.​

71.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
71.4 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
71.5 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

71.6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
71.7 read:​

71.8 Subd. 24a. Housekeeping labor costs. "Housekeeping labor costs" means the costs for​
71.9 the salaries and wages of the housekeeping supervisor, housekeepers, and other cleaning​
71.10 employees, and associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes.​

71.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
71.12 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
71.13 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

71.14 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
71.15 read:​

71.16 Subd. 25b. Known cost change factor. "Known cost change factor" means 1.00 plus​
71.17 the forecasted percentage change in the CPI-U index from July 1 of the reporting period to​
71.18 July 1 of the rate year as determined by the national economic consultant used by the​
71.19 commissioner of management and budget.​

71.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
71.21 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
71.22 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​
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71.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 26, is amended to read:​

71.24 Subd. 26. Laundry costs. "Laundry costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages​
71.25 of the laundry supervisor and other laundry employees, associated fringe benefits, and​
71.26 payroll taxes. It also includes the costs of linen and bedding, the laundering of resident​
71.27 clothing, laundry supplies, and contract services.​

71.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
71.29 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
71.30 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

72.1 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
72.2 read:​

72.3 Subd. 26a. Laundry labor costs. "Laundry labor costs" means the costs for the salaries​
72.4 and wages of the laundry supervisor and other laundry employees, and associated fringe​
72.5 benefits and payroll taxes.​

72.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
72.7 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
72.8 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

SECTION 256R.02, SUBDIVISION 29, IS ALSO AMENDED IN UES4410-2,​
ARTICLE 11, SECTION 13.​

72.9 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 29, is amended to read:​

72.10 Subd. 29. Maintenance and plant operations costs. "Maintenance and plant operations​
72.11 costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of the maintenance supervisor, engineers,​
72.12 heating-plant employees, and other maintenance employees and associated fringe benefits​
72.13 and payroll taxes. It also includes identifiable costs for maintenance and operation of the​
72.14 building and grounds, including, but not limited to, fuel, electricity, medical waste and​
72.15 garbage removal, water, sewer, supplies, tools, and repairs.​

72.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
72.17 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
72.18 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

72.19 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
72.20 read:​

72.21 Subd. 29a. Maintenance and plant operations labor costs. "Maintenance and plant​
72.22 operations labor costs" means the costs for the salaries and wages of the maintenance​
72.23 supervisor, engineers, heating-plant employees, and other maintenance employees, and​
72.24 associated fringe benefits and payroll taxes.​
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72.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
72.26 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
72.27 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

72.28 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.02, subdivision 34, is amended to read:​

72.29 Subd. 34. Other care-related costs. "Other care-related costs" means the sum of activities​
72.30 costs, other direct care costs, raw food costs, dietary labor costs, housekeeping labor costs,​
73.1 laundry labor costs, maintenance and plant operations labor costs, therapy costs, and social​
73.2 services costs.​

73.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
73.4 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
73.5 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

73.6 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.23, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

73.7 Subd. 2. Calculation of direct care cost per standardized day. Each facility's direct​
73.8 care cost per standardized day is the product of the facility's direct care costs and the known​
73.9 cost change factor, divided by the sum of the facility's standardized days. A facility's direct​
73.10 care cost per standardized day is the facility's cost per day for direct care services associated​
73.11 with a case mix index of 1.00.​

73.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
73.13 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
73.14 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

73.15 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.23, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

73.16 Subd. 3. Calculation of other care-related cost per resident day. Each facility's other​
73.17 care-related cost per resident day is the product of its other care-related costs and the known​
73.18 cost change factor, divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.​

73.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
73.20 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
73.21 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

73.22 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.24, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

73.23 Subdivision 1. Determination of other operating cost per day. Each facility's other​
73.24 operating cost per day is the product of its other operating costs and the known cost change​
73.25 factor, divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.​

73.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
73.27 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
73.28 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​
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74.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256R.25, is amended to read:​

74.2 256R.25 EXTERNAL FIXED COSTS PAYMENT RATE.​

74.3 (a) The payment rate for external fixed costs is the sum of the amounts in paragraphs​
74.4 (b) to (o).​

74.5 (b) For a facility licensed as a nursing home, the portion related to the provider surcharge​
74.6 under section 256.9657 is equal to $8.86 per resident day. For a facility licensed as both a​
74.7 nursing home and a boarding care home, the portion related to the provider surcharge under​
74.8 section 256.9657 is equal to $8.86 per resident day multiplied by the result of its number​
74.9 of nursing home beds divided by its total number of licensed beds.​

74.10 (c) The portion related to the licensure fee under section 144.122, paragraph (d), is the​
74.11 amount of the fee divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.​

74.12 (d) The portion related to development and education of resident and family advisory​
74.13 councils under section 144A.33 is $5 per resident day divided by 365.​

74.14 (e) The portion related to scholarships is determined under section 256R.37.​

74.15 (f) The portion related to planned closure rate adjustments is as determined under section​
74.16 256R.40, subdivision 5, and Minnesota Statutes 2010, section 256B.436.​

74.17 (g) The portion related to consolidation rate adjustments shall be as determined under​
74.18 section 144A.071, subdivisions 4c, paragraph (a), clauses (5) and (6), and 4d.​

74.19 (h) The portion related to single-bed room incentives is as determined under section​
74.20 256R.41.​

74.21 (i) The portions related to real estate taxes, special assessments, and payments made in​
74.22 lieu of real estate taxes directly identified or allocated to the nursing facility are the allowable​
74.23 amounts divided by the sum of the facility's resident days. Allowable costs under this​
74.24 paragraph for payments made by a nonprofit nursing facility that are in lieu of real estate​
74.25 taxes shall not exceed the amount which the nursing facility would have paid to a city or​
74.26 township and county for fire, police, sanitation services, and road maintenance costs had​
74.27 real estate taxes been levied on that property for those purposes.​

74.28 (j) The portion related to employer health insurance costs is the product of the allowable​
74.29 costs and the known cost change factor, divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.​

74.30 (k) The portion related to the Public Employees Retirement Association is the allowable​
74.31 costs divided by the sum of the facility's resident days.​

75.1 (l) The portion related to quality improvement incentive payment rate adjustments is​
75.2 the amount determined under section 256R.39.​

75.3 (m) The portion related to performance-based incentive payments is the amount​
75.4 determined under section 256R.38.​
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75.5 (n) The portion related to special dietary needs is the amount determined under section​
75.6 256R.51.​

75.7 (o) The portion related to the rate adjustments for border city facilities is the amount​
75.8 determined under section 256R.481.​

75.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for the rate year beginning January 1,​
75.10 2024, or upon federal approval, whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services​
75.11 shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

588.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

588.29 Subd. 2. Foster care limit. The elderly waiver payment for the foster care service in​
588.30 combination with the payment for all other elderly waiver services, including case​
589.1 management, must not exceed the monthly case mix budget cap for the participant as​
589.2 specified in sections 256S.18, subdivision 3, and 256S.19, subdivisions subdivision 3 and​
589.3 4.​

589.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

SEC. 15. MINNESOTA STATUTES 2020, SECTION 256S.16, AMENDMENT​
MOVED TO MATCH UES4410-2, ARTICLE 9, SECTION 23.​

589.5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.18, is amended by adding a subdivision​
589.6 to read:​

589.7 Subd. 3a. Monthly case mix budget caps for consumer-directed community​
589.8 supports. The monthly case mix budget caps for each case mix classification for​
589.9 consumer-directed community supports must be equal to the monthly case mix budget caps​
589.10 in subdivision 3.​

589.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

589.12 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

589.13 Subd. 3. Calculation of monthly conversion budget cap without consumer-directed​
589.14 community supports caps. (a) The elderly waiver monthly conversion budget cap for the​
589.15 cost of elderly waiver services without consumer-directed community supports must be​
589.16 based on the nursing facility case mix adjusted total payment rate of the nursing facility​
589.17 where the elderly waiver applicant currently resides for the applicant's case mix classification​
589.18 as determined according to section 256R.17.​

589.19 (b) The elderly waiver monthly conversion budget cap for the cost of elderly waiver​
589.20 services without consumer-directed community supports shall must be calculated by​
589.21 multiplying the applicable nursing facility case mix adjusted total payment rate by 365,​
589.22 dividing by 12, and subtracting the participant's maintenance needs allowance.​
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589.23 (c) A participant's initially approved monthly conversion budget cap for elderly waiver​
589.24 services without consumer-directed community supports shall must be adjusted at least​
589.25 annually as described in section 256S.18, subdivision 5.​

589.26 (d) Conversion budget caps for individuals participating in consumer-directed community​
589.27 supports are also set as described in paragraphs (a) to (c).​

589.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

75.25 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.205, is amended to read:​

75.26 256S.205 CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES; DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE​
75.27 RATE ADJUSTMENTS.​

75.28 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this​
75.29 subdivision have the meanings given.​

75.30 (b) "Application year" means a year in which a facility submits an application for​
75.31 designation as a disproportionate share facility.​

76.1 (c) "Assisted living facility" or "facility" means an assisted living facility licensed under​
76.2 chapter 144G "Customized living resident" means a resident of a facility who is receiving​
76.3 either 24-hour customized living services or customized living services authorized under​
76.4 the elderly waiver, the brain injury waiver, or the community access for disability inclusion​
76.5 waiver.​

76.6 (d) "Disproportionate share facility" means an assisted living a facility designated by​
76.7 the commissioner under subdivision 4.​

76.8 (e) "Facility" means either an assisted living facility licensed under chapter 144G or a​
76.9 setting that is exempt from assisted living licensure under section 144G.08, subdivision 7,​
76.10 clauses (10) to (13).​

76.11 (f) "Rate year" means January 1 to December 31 of the year following an application​
76.12 year.​

76.13 Subd. 2. Rate adjustment application. An assisted living A facility may apply to the​
76.14 commissioner for designation as a disproportionate share facility. Applications must be​
76.15 submitted annually between October September 1 and October 31 September 30. The​
76.16 applying facility must apply in a manner determined by the commissioner. The applying​
76.17 facility must document as a percentage the census of elderly waiver participants each of the​
76.18 following on the application:​

76.19 (1) the number of customized living residents in the facility on September 1 of the​
76.20 application year, broken out by specific waiver program; and​
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76.21 (2) the total number of people residing in the facility on October September 1 of the​
76.22 application year.​

76.23 Subd. 3. Rate adjustment eligibility criteria. Only facilities with a census of at least​
76.24 80 percent elderly waiver participants satisfying all of the following conditions on October​
76.25 September 1 of the application year are eligible for designation as a disproportionate share​
76.26 facility:​

76.27 (1) at least 80 percent of the residents of the facility are customized living residents; and​

76.28 (2) at least 50 percent of the customized living residents are elderly waiver participants.​

76.29 Subd. 4. Designation as a disproportionate share facility. (a) By November October​
76.30 15 of each application year, the commissioner must designate as a disproportionate share​
76.31 facility a facility that complies with the application requirements of subdivision 2 and meets​
76.32 the eligibility criteria of subdivision 3.​

77.1 (b) An annual designation is effective for one rate year.​

77.2 Subd. 5. Rate adjustment; rate floor. (a) Notwithstanding the 24-hour customized​
77.3 living monthly service rate limits under section 256S.202, subdivision 2, and the component​
77.4 service rates established under section 256S.201, subdivision 4, the commissioner must​
77.5 establish a rate floor equal to $119 $139 per resident per day for 24-hour customized living​
77.6 services provided to an elderly waiver participant in a designated disproportionate share​
77.7 facility for the purpose of ensuring the minimal level of staffing required to meet the health​
77.8 and safety needs of elderly waiver participants.​

77.9 (b) The commissioner must apply the rate floor to the services described in paragraph​
77.10 (a) provided during the rate year.​

77.11 (b) (c) The commissioner must adjust the rate floor at least annually in the manner​
77.12 described under section 256S.18, subdivisions 5 and 6 by the same amount and at the same​
77.13 time as any adjustment to the 24-hour customized living monthly service rate limits under​
77.14 section 256S.202, subdivision 2.​

77.15 (c) (d) The commissioner shall not implement the rate floor under this section if the​
77.16 customized living rates established under sections 256S.21 to 256S.215 will be implemented​
77.17 at 100 percent on January 1 of the year following an application year.​

77.18 Subd. 6. Budget cap disregard. The value of the rate adjustment under this section​
77.19 must not be included in an elderly waiver client's monthly case mix budget cap.​

77.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval,​
77.21 whichever is later, and applies to services provided on or after October 1, 2022, or on or​
77.22 after the date upon which federal approval is obtained, whichever is later. The commissioner​
77.23 of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​
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590.1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.21, is amended to read:​

590.2 256S.21 RATE SETTING; APPLICATION.​

590.3 The payment methodologies in sections 256S.2101 to 256S.215 apply to:​

590.4 (1) elderly waiver, elderly waiver customized living, and elderly waiver foster care under​
590.5 this chapter;​

590.6 (2) alternative care under section 256B.0913;​

590.7 (3) essential community supports under section 256B.0922; and​

590.8 (4) homemaker services under the developmental disability waiver under section​
590.9 256B.092 and community alternative care, community access for disability inclusion, and​
590.10 brain injury waiver under section 256B.49; and​

590.11 (5) community access for disability inclusion customized living and brain injury​
590.12 customized living under section 256B.49.​

590.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

77.24 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.2101, is amended to read:​

77.25 256S.2101 RATE SETTING; PHASE-IN.​

590.14 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.2101, subdivision 2, is​
590.15 amended to read:​

77.26 Subdivision 1. Phase-in for disability waiver customized living rates. All rates and​
77.27 rate components for community access for disability inclusion customized living and brain​
77.28 injury customized living under section 256B.4914 shall be the sum of ten 27.2 percent of​
77.29 the rates calculated under sections 256S.211 to 256S.215 and 90 72.8 percent of the rates​
77.30 calculated using the rate methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017.​

77.31 Subd. 2. Phase-in for elderly waiver rates. Except for home-delivered meals as​
77.32 described in section 256S.215, subdivision 15, all rates and rate components for elderly​

590.16 Subd. 2. Phase-in for elderly waiver rates. Except for home-delivered meals as​
590.17 described in section 256S.215, subdivision 15, all rates and rate components for elderly​

78.1 waiver, elderly waiver customized living, and elderly waiver foster care under this chapter;​590.18 waiver, elderly waiver customized living, and elderly waiver foster care under this chapter;​
78.2 alternative care under section 256B.0913; and essential community supports under section​590.19 alternative care under section 256B.0913; and essential community supports under section​
78.3 256B.0922 shall be the sum of 18.8 27.2 percent of the rates calculated under sections​590.20 256B.0922 shall must be the sum of 18.8 21.6 percent of the rates calculated under sections​
78.4 256S.211 to 256S.215, and 81.2 72.8 percent of the rates calculated using the rate​590.21 256S.211 to 256S.215, and 81.2 78.4 percent of the rates calculated using the rate​
78.5 methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017. The rate for home-delivered meals shall be the​590.22 methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017. The rate for home-delivered meals shall be the​
78.6 sum of the service rate in effect as of January 1, 2019, and the increases described in section​
78.7 256S.215, subdivision 15.​

590.23 sum of the service rate in effect as of January 1, 2019, and the increases described in section​
590.24 256S.215, subdivision 15.​

590.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

78.8 Subd. 3. Spending requirements. (a) At least 80 percent of the marginal increase in​
78.9 revenue from the implementation of adjusted phase-in proportions under this section,​
78.10 including any concurrent or subsequent adjustments to the base wage indices, for services​
78.11 rendered on or after the day of implementation of the modified phase-in proportion or​
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78.12 applicable adjustment to the base wage indices must be used to increase compensation-related​
78.13 costs for employees directly employed by the provider.​

78.14 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision, compensation-related costs include:​

78.15 (1) wages and salaries;​

78.16 (2) the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment​
78.17 taxes, workers' compensation, and mileage reimbursement;​

78.18 (3) the employer's paid share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability​
78.19 insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, pensions, and contributions to​
78.20 employee retirement accounts; and​

78.21 (4) benefits that address direct support professional workforce needs above and beyond​
78.22 what employees were offered prior to the implementation of adjusted phase-in proportions​
78.23 under this section, including any concurrent or subsequent adjustments to the base wage​
78.24 indices.​

78.25 (c) Compensation-related costs for persons employed in the central office of a corporation​
78.26 or entity that has an ownership interest in the provider or exercises control over the provider,​
78.27 or for persons paid by the provider under a management contract, do not count toward the​
78.28 80 percent requirement under this subdivision.​

78.29 (d) A provider or individual provider that receives additional revenue subject to the​
78.30 requirements of this subdivision shall prepare, and upon request submit to the commissioner,​
78.31 a distribution plan that specifies the amount of money the provider expects to receive that​
78.32 is subject to the requirements of this subdivision, including how that money was or will be​
78.33 distributed to increase compensation-related costs for employees. Within 60 days of final​
79.1 implementation of the new phase-in proportion or adjustment to the base wage indices​
79.2 subject to the requirements of this subdivision, the provider must post the distribution plan​
79.3 and leave it posted for a period of at least six months in an area of the provider's operation​
79.4 to which all direct support professionals have access. The posted distribution plan must​
79.5 include instructions regarding how to contact the commissioner, or the commissioner's​
79.6 representative, if an employee has not received the compensation-related increase described​
79.7 in the plan.​

79.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,​
79.9 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes​
79.10 when federal approval is obtained.​

590.26 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.2101, is amended by adding​
590.27 a subdivision to read:​

590.28 Subd. 3. Phase-in for home-delivered meals rate. The home-delivered meals rate for​
590.29 elderly waiver under this chapter; alternative care under section 256B.0913; and essential​
590.30 community supports under section 256B.0922 must be the sum of 65 percent of the rate in​
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591.1 section 256S.215, subdivision 15, and 35 percent of the rate calculated using the rate​
591.2 methodology in effect as of June 30, 2017.​

591.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

591.4 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.211, is amended by adding a subdivision​
591.5 to read:​

591.6 Subd. 3. Updating homemaker services rates. On January 1, 2023, and every two​
591.7 years thereafter, the commissioner shall recalculate rates for homemaker services as directed​
591.8 by section 256S.215, subdivisions 9 to 11. Prior to recalculating the rates, the commissioner​
591.9 shall:​

591.10 (1) update the base wage index for homemaker services in section 256S.212, subdivisions​
591.11 8 to 10, based on the most recently available Bureau of Labor Statistics Minneapolis-St.​
591.12 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA data;​

591.13 (2) update the payroll taxes and benefits factor in section 256S.213, subdivision 1, and​
591.14 the general and administrative factor in section 256S.213, subdivision 2, based on the most​
591.15 recently available nursing facility cost report data;​

591.16 (3) update the registered nurse management and supervision wage component in section​
591.17 256S.213, subdivision 4, based on the most recently available Bureau of Labor Statistics​
591.18 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA data; and​

591.19 (4) update the adjusted base wage for homemaker services as directed in section 256S.214.​

591.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

591.21 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.211, is amended by adding a subdivision​
591.22 to read:​

591.23 Subd. 4. Updating the home-delivered meals rate. On July 1 of each year, the​
591.24 commissioner shall update the home-delivered meals rate in section 256S.215, subdivision​
591.25 15, by the percent increase in the nursing facility dietary per diem using the two most recent​
591.26 and available nursing facility cost reports.​

591.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022.​

592.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.212, is amended to read:​

592.2 256S.212 RATE SETTING; BASE WAGE INDEX.​

592.3 Subdivision 1. Updating SOC codes. If any of the SOC codes and positions used in​
592.4 this section are no longer available, the commissioner shall, in consultation with stakeholders,​
592.5 select a new SOC code and position that is the closest match to the previously used SOC​
592.6 position.​

592.7 Subd. 2. Home management and support services base wage. For customized living,​
592.8 and foster care, and residential care component services, the home management and support​
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592.9 services base wage equals 33.33 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI​
592.10 MetroSA average wage for home health and personal and home care aide aides (SOC code​
592.11 39-9021 31-1120); 33.33 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA​
592.12 average wage for food preparation workers (SOC code 35-2021); and 33.34 percent of the​
592.13 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for maids and​
592.14 housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012).​

592.15 Subd. 3. Home care aide base wage. For customized living, and foster care, and​
592.16 residential care component services, the home care aide base wage equals 50 75 percent of​
592.17 the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for home health​
592.18 and personal care aides (SOC code 31-1011 31-1120); and 50 25 percent of the​
592.19 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants​
592.20 (SOC code 31-1014 31-1131).​

592.21 Subd. 4. Home health aide base wage. For customized living, and foster care, and​
592.22 residential care component services, the home health aide base wage equals 20 33.33 percent​
592.23 of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed​
592.24 practical and licensed vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061); and 80 33.33 percent of the​
592.25 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants​
592.26 (SOC code 31-1014 31-1131); and 33.34 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington,​
592.27 MN-WI MetroSA average wage for home health and personal care aides (SOC code​
592.28 31-1120).​

592.29 Subd. 5. Medication setups by licensed nurse base wage. For customized living, and​
592.30 foster care, and residential care component services, the medication setups by licensed nurse​
592.31 base wage equals ten 25 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA​
592.32 average wage for licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061);​
592.33 and 90 75 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average​
592.34 wage for registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141).​

593.1 Subd. 6. Chore services base wage. The chore services base wage equals 100 50 percent​
593.2 of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for landscaping​
593.3 and groundskeeping workers (SOC code 37-3011); and 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
593.4 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for maids and housekeeping cleaners​
593.5 (SOC code 37-2012).​

593.6 Subd. 7. Companion services base wage. The companion services base wage equals​
593.7 50 80 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage​
593.8 for home health and personal and home care aides (SOC code 39-9021 31-1120); and 50​
593.9 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for​
593.10 maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012).​

593.11 Subd. 8. Homemaker services and assistance with personal care base wage. The​
593.12 homemaker services and assistance with personal care base wage equals 60 50 percent of​
593.13 the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for home health​
593.14 and personal and home care aide aides (SOC code 39-9021 31-1120); 20 and 50 percent of​
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593.15 the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants​
593.16 (SOC code 31-1014 31-1131); and 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington,​
593.17 MN-WI MetroSA average wage for maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012).​

593.18 Subd. 9. Homemaker services and cleaning base wage. The homemaker services and​
593.19 cleaning base wage equals 60 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI​
593.20 MetroSA average wage for personal and home care aide (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent​
593.21 of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing​
593.22 assistants (SOC code 31-1014); and 20 100 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington,​
593.23 MN-WI MetroSA average wage for maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012).​

593.24 Subd. 10. Homemaker services and home management base wage. The homemaker​
593.25 services and home management base wage equals 60 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
593.26 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for home health and personal and home​
593.27 care aide aides (SOC code 39-9021 31-1120); 20 and 50 percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
593.28 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code​
593.29 31-1014 31-1131); and 20 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI​
593.30 MetroSA average wage for maids and housekeeping cleaners (SOC code 37-2012).​

593.31 Subd. 11. In-home respite care services base wage. The in-home respite care services​
593.32 base wage equals five 15 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA​
593.33 average wage for registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141); 75 percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
593.34 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants home health and​
594.1 personal care aides (SOC code 31-1014 31-1120); and 20 ten percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
594.2 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical and licensed​
594.3 vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061).​

594.4 Subd. 12. Out-of-home respite care services base wage. The out-of-home respite care​
594.5 services base wage equals five 15 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI​
594.6 MetroSA average wage for registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141); 75 percent of the​
594.7 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants​
594.8 home health and personal care aides (SOC code 31-1014 31-1120); and 20 ten percent of​
594.9 the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical​
594.10 and licensed vocational nurses (SOC code 29-2061).​

594.11 Subd. 13. Individual community living support base wage. The individual community​
594.12 living support base wage equals 20 60 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington,​
594.13 MN-WI MetroSA average wage for licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses social​
594.14 and human services aides (SOC code 29-2061 21-1093); and 80 40 percent of the​
594.15 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants​
594.16 (SOC code 31-1014 31-1131).​

594.17 Subd. 14. Registered nurse base wage. The registered nurse base wage equals 100​
594.18 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for​
594.19 registered nurses (SOC code 29-1141).​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R25-A12​

May 05, 2022 03:18 PM​Continuing Care for Older Adults Finance​
Senate Language S4410-3​House Language UES4410-2​



594.20 Subd. 15. Social worker Unlicensed supervisor base wage. The social worker​
594.21 unlicensed supervisor base wage equals 100 percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
594.22 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for medical and public health social​
594.23 first-line supervisors of personal service workers (SOC code 21-1022 39-1098).​

594.24 Subd. 16. Adult day services base wage. The adult day services base wage equals 75​
594.25 percent of the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for home​
594.26 health and personal care aides (SOC code 31-1120); and 25 percent of the Minneapolis-St.​
594.27 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage for nursing assistants (SOC code​
594.28 31-1131).​

594.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

595.1 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.213, is amended to read:​

595.2 256S.213 RATE SETTING; FACTORS AND SUPERVISION WAGE​
595.3 COMPONENTS.​

595.4 Subdivision 1. Payroll taxes and benefits factor. The payroll taxes and benefits factor​
595.5 is the sum of net payroll taxes and benefits, divided by the sum of all salaries for all nursing​
595.6 facilities on the most recent and available cost report.​

595.7 Subd. 2. General and administrative factor. The general and administrative factor is​
595.8 the difference of net general and administrative expenses and administrative salaries, divided​
595.9 by total operating expenses for all nursing facilities on the most recent and available cost​
595.10 report 14.4 percent.​

595.11 Subd. 3. Program plan support factor. (a) The program plan support factor is 12.8 ten​
595.12 percent for the following services to cover the cost of direct service staff needed to provide​
595.13 support for home and community-based the service when not engaged in direct contact with​
595.14 participants.:​

595.15 (1) adult day services;​

595.16 (2) customized living; and​

595.17 (3) foster care.​

595.18 (b) The program plan support factor is 15.5 percent for the following services to cover​
595.19 the cost of direct service staff needed to provide support for the service when not engaged​
595.20 in direct contact with participants:​

595.21 (1) chore services;​

595.22 (2) companion services;​

595.23 (3) homemaker services and assistance with personal care;​

595.24 (4) homemaker services and cleaning;​
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595.25 (5) homemaker services and home management;​

595.26 (6) in-home respite care;​

595.27 (7) individual community living support; and​

595.28 (8) out-of-home respite care.​

596.1 Subd. 4. Registered nurse management and supervision factor wage component. The​
596.2 registered nurse management and supervision factor wage component equals 15 percent of​
596.3 the registered nurse adjusted base wage as defined in section 256S.214.​

596.4 Subd. 5. Social worker Unlicensed supervisor supervision factor wage​
596.5 component. The social worker unlicensed supervisor supervision factor wage component​
596.6 equals 15 percent of the social worker unlicensed supervisor adjusted base wage as defined​
596.7 in section 256S.214.​

596.8 Subd. 6. Facility and equipment factor. The facility and equipment factor for adult​
596.9 day services is 16.2 percent.​

596.10 Subd. 7. Food, supplies, and transportation factor. The food, supplies, and​
596.11 transportation factor for adult day services is 24 percent.​

596.12 Subd. 8. Supplies and transportation factor. The supplies and transportation factor​
596.13 for the following services is 1.56 percent:​

596.14 (1) chore services;​

596.15 (2) companion services;​

596.16 (3) homemaker services and assistance with personal care;​

596.17 (4) homemaker services and cleaning;​

596.18 (5) homemaker services and home management;​

596.19 (6) in-home respite care;​

596.20 (7) individual community living support; and​

596.21 (8) out-of-home respite care.​

596.22 Subd. 9. Absence factor. The absence factor for the following services is 4.5 percent:​

596.23 (1) adult day services;​

596.24 (2) chore services;​

596.25 (3) companion services;​

596.26 (4) homemaker services and assistance with personal care;​
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596.27 (5) homemaker services and cleaning;​

596.28 (6) homemaker services and home management;​

596.29 (7) in-home respite care;​

597.1 (8) individual community living support; and​

597.2 (9) out-of-home respite care.​

597.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

597.4 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.214, is amended to read:​

597.5 256S.214 RATE SETTING; ADJUSTED BASE WAGE.​

597.6 For the purposes of section 256S.215, the adjusted base wage for each position equals​
597.7 the position's base wage under section 256S.212 plus:​

597.8 (1) the position's base wage multiplied by the payroll taxes and benefits factor under​
597.9 section 256S.213, subdivision 1;​

597.10 (2) the position's base wage multiplied by the general and administrative factor under​
597.11 section 256S.213, subdivision 2; and​

597.12 (3) (2) the position's base wage multiplied by the applicable program plan support factor​
597.13 under section 256S.213, subdivision 3.; and​

597.14 (3) the position's base wage multiplied by the absence factor under section 256S.213,​
597.15 subdivision 9, if applicable.​

597.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

597.17 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.215, is amended to read:​

597.18 256S.215 RATE SETTING; COMPONENT RATES.​

597.19 Subdivision 1. Medication setups by licensed nurse component rate. The component​
597.20 rate for medication setups by a licensed nurse equals the medication setups by licensed​
597.21 nurse adjusted base wage.​

597.22 Subd. 2. Home management and support services component rate. The component​
597.23 rate for home management and support services is calculated as follows:​

597.24 (1) sum the home management and support services adjusted base wage plus and the​
597.25 registered nurse management and supervision factor. wage component;​

597.26 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor; and​

597.27 (3) sum the results of clauses (1) and (2).​
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597.28 Subd. 3. Home care aide services component rate. The component rate for home care​
597.29 aide services is calculated as follows:​

598.1 (1) sum the home health aide services adjusted base wage plus and the registered nurse​
598.2 management and supervision factor. wage component;​

598.3 (2) multiply clause (1) by the general and administrative factor; and​

598.4 (3) sum the results of clauses (1) and (2).​

598.5 Subd. 4. Home health aide services component rate. The component rate for home​
598.6 health aide services is calculated as follows:​

598.7 (1) sum the home health aide services adjusted base wage plus and the registered nurse​
598.8 management and supervision factor. wage component;​

598.9 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor; and​

598.10 (3) sum the results of clauses (1) and (2).​

598.11 Subd. 5. Socialization component rate. The component rate under elderly waiver​
598.12 customized living for one-to-one socialization equals the home management and support​
598.13 services component rate.​

598.14 Subd. 6. Transportation component rate. The component rate under elderly waiver​
598.15 customized living for one-to-one transportation equals the home management and support​
598.16 services component rate.​

598.17 Subd. 7. Chore services rate. The 15-minute unit rate for chore services is calculated​
598.18 as follows:​

598.19 (1) sum the chore services adjusted base wage and the social worker unlicensed supervisor​
598.20 supervision factor wage component; and​

598.21 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

598.22 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

598.23 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

598.24 Subd. 8. Companion services rate. The 15-minute unit rate for companion services is​
598.25 calculated as follows:​

598.26 (1) sum the companion services adjusted base wage and the social worker unlicensed​
598.27 supervisor supervision factor wage component; and​

598.28 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

598.29 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

598.30 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​
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599.1 Subd. 9. Homemaker services and assistance with personal care rate. The 15-minute​
599.2 unit rate for homemaker services and assistance with personal care is calculated as follows:​

599.3 (1) sum the homemaker services and assistance with personal care adjusted base wage​
599.4 and the registered nurse management and unlicensed supervisor supervision factor wage​
599.5 component; and​

599.6 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

599.7 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

599.8 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

599.9 Subd. 10. Homemaker services and cleaning rate. The 15-minute unit rate for​
599.10 homemaker services and cleaning is calculated as follows:​

599.11 (1) sum the homemaker services and cleaning adjusted base wage and the registered​
599.12 nurse management and unlicensed supervisor supervision factor base wage; and​

599.13 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

599.14 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

599.15 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

599.16 Subd. 11. Homemaker services and home management rate. The 15-minute unit rate​
599.17 for homemaker services and home management is calculated as follows:​

599.18 (1) sum the homemaker services and home management adjusted base wage and the​
599.19 registered nurse management and unlicensed supervisor supervision factor wage component;​
599.20 and​

599.21 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

599.22 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

599.23 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

599.24 Subd. 12. In-home respite care services rates. (a) The 15-minute unit rate for in-home​
599.25 respite care services is calculated as follows:​

599.26 (1) sum the in-home respite care services adjusted base wage and the registered nurse​
599.27 management and supervision factor wage component; and​

599.28 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

599.29 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

599.30 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

600.1 (b) The in-home respite care services daily rate equals the in-home respite care services​
600.2 15-minute unit rate multiplied by 18.​
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600.3 Subd. 13. Out-of-home respite care services rates. (a) The 15-minute unit rate for​
600.4 out-of-home respite care is calculated as follows:​

600.5 (1) sum the out-of-home respite care services adjusted base wage and the registered​
600.6 nurse management and supervision factor wage component; and​

600.7 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

600.8 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

600.9 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

600.10 (b) The out-of-home respite care services daily rate equals the 15-minute unit rate for​
600.11 out-of-home respite care services multiplied by 18.​

600.12 Subd. 14. Individual community living support rate. The individual community living​
600.13 support rate is calculated as follows:​

600.14 (1) sum the home care aide individual community living support adjusted base wage​
600.15 and the social worker registered nurse management and supervision factor wage component;​
600.16 and​

600.17 (2) multiply the result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor;​

600.18 (3) multiply the result of clause (1) by the supplies and transportation factor; and​

600.19 (4) sum the results of clauses (1) to (3) and divide the result of clause (1) by four.​

600.20 Subd. 15. Home-delivered meals rate. The home-delivered meals rate equals $9.30​
600.21 $8.17. The commissioner shall increase the home delivered meals rate every July 1 by the​
600.22 percent increase in the nursing facility dietary per diem using the two most recent and​
600.23 available nursing facility cost reports.​

600.24 Subd. 16. Adult day services rate. The 15-minute unit rate for adult day services, with​
600.25 an assumed staffing ratio of one staff person to four participants, is the sum of is calculated​
600.26 as follows:​

600.27 (1) one-sixteenth of the home care aide divide the adult day services adjusted base wage,​
600.28 except that the general and administrative factor used to determine the home care aide​
600.29 services adjusted base wage is 20 percent by five to reflect an assumed staffing ratio of one​
600.30 to five;​

601.1 (2) one-fourth of the registered nurse management and supervision factor sum the result​
601.2 of clause (1) and the registered nurse management and supervision wage component; and​

601.3 (3) $0.63 to cover the cost of meals. multiply the result of clause (2) by the general and​
601.4 administrative factor;​

601.5 (4) multiply the result of clause (2) by the facility and equipment factor;​
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601.6 (5) multiply the result of clause (2) by the food, supplies, and transportation factor; and​

601.7 (6) sum the results of clauses (2) to (5) and divide the result by four.​

601.8 Subd. 17. Adult day services bath rate. The 15-minute unit rate for adult day services​
601.9 bath is the sum of calculated as follows:​

601.10 (1) one-fourth of the home care aide sum the adult day services adjusted base wage,​
601.11 except that the general and administrative factor used to determine the home care aide​
601.12 services adjusted base wage is 20 percent and the nurse management and supervision wage​
601.13 component;​

601.14 (2) one-fourth of the registered nurse management and supervision factor multiply the​
601.15 result of clause (1) by the general and administrative factor; and​

601.16 (3) $0.63 to cover the cost of meals. multiply the result of clause (1) by the facility and​
601.17 equipment factor;​

601.18 (4) multiply the result of clause (1) by the food, supplies, and transportation factor; and​

601.19 (5) sum the results of clauses (1) to (4) and divide the result by four.​

601.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

601.21 Sec. 24. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; INITIAL PACE IMPLEMENTATION​
601.22 FUNDING.​

601.23 The commissioner of human services must work with stakeholders to develop​
601.24 recommendations for financing mechanisms to complete the actuarial work and cover the​
601.25 administrative costs of a program of all-inclusive care for the elderly (PACE). The​
601.26 commissioner must recommend a financing mechanism that could begin July 1, 2024. By​
601.27 December 15, 2023, the commissioner shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members​
601.28 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health care funding on the commissioner's​
601.29 progress toward developing a recommended financing mechanism.​

602.1 Sec. 25. TITLE.​

602.2 Sections 181.212 to 181.217 shall be known as the "Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce​
602.3 Standards Board Act."​

602.4 Sec. 26. INITIAL APPOINTMENTS.​

602.5 The governor shall make initial appointments to the Minnesota Nursing Home Workforce​
602.6 Standards Board under Minnesota Statutes, section 181.212, no later than August 1, 2022.​

602.7 Sec. 27. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.​

602.8 (a) In Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256S, the revisor of statutes shall change the following​
602.9 terms:​
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602.10 (1) "homemaker services and assistance with personal care" to "homemaker assistance​
602.11 with personal care services";​

602.12 (2) "homemaker services and cleaning" to "homemaker cleaning services"; and​

602.13 (3) "homemaker services and home management" to "homemaker home management​
602.14 services" wherever the terms appear.​

602.15 (b) The revisor shall also make necessary grammatical changes related to the changes​
602.16 in terms.​

602.17 Sec. 28. REPEALER.​

602.18 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 256S.19, subdivision 4, is repealed.​

602.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.​

79.11 Sec. 18. NURSING FACILITY FUNDING.​

79.12 (a) Effective July 1, 2022, through December 31, 2024, the total payment rate for all​
79.13 facilities reimbursed under this section must be increased by $28.65 per resident day.​

79.14 (b) To be eligible to receive a payment under this section, a nursing facility must attest​
79.15 to the commissioner of human services that the additional revenue will be used exclusively​
79.16 to increase compensation-related costs for employees directly employed by the facility on​
79.17 or after July 1, 2022, excluding:​

79.18 (1) owners of the building and operation;​

79.19 (2) persons employed in the central office of an entity that has any ownership interest​
79.20 in the nursing facility or exercises control over the nursing facility;​

79.21 (3) persons paid by the nursing facility under a management contract; and​

79.22 (4) persons providing separately billable services.​

79.23 (c) Contracted housekeeping, dietary, and laundry employees providing services on site​
79.24 at the nursing facility are eligible for compensation-related cost increases under this section,​
79.25 provided the agency that employs them submits to the nursing facility proof of the costs of​
79.26 the increases provided to those employees.​

79.27 (d) For purposes of this section, compensation-related costs include:​

79.28 (1) permanent new increases to wages and salaries implemented on or after July 1, 2022,​
79.29 and before September 1, 2022, for nursing facility employees;​

79.30 (2) permanent new increases to wages and salaries implemented on or after July 1, 2022,​
79.31 and before September 1, 2022, for employees in the organization's shared services​
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80.1 departments of hospital-attached nursing facilities for the nursing facility allocated share​
80.2 of wages; and​

80.3 (3) the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment​
80.4 taxes, PERA, workers' compensation, and pension and employee retirement accounts directly​
80.5 associated with the wage and salary increases in clauses (1) and (2) incurred no later than​
80.6 December 31, 2024, and paid for no later than June 30, 2025.​

80.7 (e) A facility that receives a rate increase under this section must complete a distribution​
80.8 plan in the form and manner determined by the commissioner. This plan must specify the​
80.9 total amount of money the facility is estimated to receive from this rate increase and how​
80.10 that money will be distributed to increase the allowable compensation-related costs described​
80.11 in paragraph (d) for employees described in paragraphs (b) and (c). This estimate must be​
80.12 computed by multiplying $28.65 by the sum of the medical assistance and private pay​
80.13 resident days as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256R.02, subdivision 45, for the​
80.14 period beginning October 1, 2020, through September 30, 2021, dividing this sum by 365​
80.15 and multiplying the result by 915. A facility must submit its distribution plan to the​
80.16 commissioner by October 1, 2022. The commissioner may review the distribution plan to​
80.17 ensure that the payment rate adjustment per resident day is used in accordance with this​
80.18 section. The commissioner may allow for a distribution plan amendment under exceptional​
80.19 circumstances to be determined at the sole discretion of the commissioner.​

80.20 (f) By September 1, 2022, a facility must post the distribution plan summary and leave​
80.21 it posted for a period of at least six months in an area of the facility to which all employees​
80.22 have access. The posted distribution plan summary must be in the form and manner​
80.23 determined by the commissioner. The distribution plan summary must include instructions​
80.24 regarding how to contact the commissioner or the commissioner's representative if an​
80.25 employee believes the employee is covered by paragraph (b) or (c) and has not received the​
80.26 compensation-related increases described in paragraph (d). The instruction to such employees​
80.27 must include the e-mail address and telephone number that may be used by the employee​
80.28 to contact the commissioner's representative. The posted distribution plan summary must​
80.29 demonstrate how the increase in paragraph (a) received by the nursing facility from July 1,​
80.30 2022, through December 1, 2024, will be used in full to pay the compensation-related costs​
80.31 in paragraph (d) for employees described in paragraphs (b) and (c).​

80.32 (g) If the nursing facility expends less on new compensation-related costs than the amount​
80.33 that was made available by the rate increase in this section for that purpose, the amount of​
80.34 this rate adjustment must be reduced to equal the amount utilized by the facility for purposes​
80.35 authorized under this section. If the facility fails to post the distribution plan summary in​
81.1 its facility as required, fails to submit its distribution plan to the commissioner by the due​
81.2 date, or uses these funds for unauthorized purposes, these rate increases must be treated as​
81.3 an overpayment and subsequently recovered.​

81.4 (h) The commissioner shall not treat payments received under this section as an applicable​
81.5 credit for purposes of setting total payment rates under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256R.​
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81.6 Sec. 19. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES;​
81.7 IMPLEMENTATION OF DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE RATE ADJUSTMENTS.​

81.8 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the definitions in Minnesota​
81.9 Statutes, section 256S.205, apply.​

81.10 Subd. 2. Modified implementation of rate years 2022 and 2023. (a) Notwithstanding​
81.11 the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, section 256S.205, subdivisions 2 to 5, regarding​
81.12 application dates, eligibility dates, designation dates, and payment adjustment dates, a​
81.13 facility may apply between July 1, 2022, and July 31, 2022, to be designated a​
81.14 disproportionate share facility on the basis of the conditions outlined in Minnesota Statutes,​
81.15 section 256S.205, subdivision 3, as of July 1, 2022. The commissioner shall designate​
81.16 disproportionate share facilities by August 15, 2022. Between October 1, 2022, and December​
81.17 31, 2023, the commissioner shall apply the rate floor under Minnesota Statutes, section​
81.18 256S.205, as amended in this act, to eligible customized living services provided in​
81.19 disproportionate share facilities between those dates. On January 1, 2023, the commissioner​
81.20 shall adjust the rate floor amount as directed in Minnesota Statutes, section 256S.205,​
81.21 subdivision 5, paragraph (c).​

81.22 Subd. 3. Rate year 2023. The commissioner shall not administer an application between​
81.23 September 1, 2022, and September 30, 2022, as described in Minnesota Statutes, section​
81.24 256S.205, subdivisions 2 to 4, for the purposes of rate year 2023.​

81.25 Subd. 4. Treatment of prior rate adjustments. (a) The commissioner shall apply rate​
81.26 adjustments required under Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.205, until​
81.27 September 30, 2022. Beginning October 1, 2022, the commissioner shall remove all rate​
81.28 adjustments required under Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 256S.205.​

81.29 (b) A disproportionate share facility receiving a rate adjustment under Minnesota Statutes​
81.30 2021 Supplement, section 256S.205, as of July 1, 2022, may apply for an adjustment under​
81.31 this section.​

81.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) Subdivisions 1 to 3 are effective July 1, 2022, or upon federal​
81.33 approval, whichever is later, and apply to services provided on or after October 1, 2022, or​
82.1 on or after the date upon which federal approval is obtained, whichever is later. The​
82.2 commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval​
82.3 is obtained.​

82.4 (b) Subdivision 4 is effective July 1, 2022.​

82.5 Sec. 20. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES; ELDERLY​
82.6 WAIVER BASE WAGE INDEX ADJUSTMENTS.​

82.7 On January 1, 2023, the commissioner shall update the base wage indices in Minnesota​
82.8 Statutes, section 256S.212, based on the most recently available Minneapolis-St.​
82.9 Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI MetroSA average wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.​
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82.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, or upon federal approval,​
82.11 whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall inform the revisor of​
82.12 statutes when federal approval is obtained.​
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