TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Committee on Transportation Finance and Policy, called the meeting to order at 8:34 AM on February 29, 2024, in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

Hornstein, Frank, Chair
Petersburg, John, Republican Lead
Brand, Jeff
Elkins, Steve
Fogelman, Marj
Kraft, Larry
Koegel, Erin
Murphy, Tom
Nelson, Michael
Norris, Matt
Olson, Bjorn
Sencer-Mura, Samantha
West, Nolan

Members excused:

Tabke, Brad, Vice Chair Hudella, Shane

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the minutes of February 22, 2024, be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 3613 (Hornstein) Forecasted Metro Mobility funding clarifications provided.

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 3613 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Chair Hornstein moved the H3613DE1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Chair Hornstein presented HF 3613 as amended.

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion that HF 3613 as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 120 (Edelson) Rotary International special license plates established.

Chair Hornstein moved HF 120 before the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Hornstein moved the H0120A3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying on HF 120 as amended:

- Tom Gump, Director, Rotary International
- Glenn Bowers, Rotary International

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 120 as amended.

HF4168 (Rehm) Transportation commissioner required to adopt revisions to traffic engineering studies and investigations for setting speed limits.

Chair Hornstein moved HF 4168 before the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Elkins moved the H4168A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying on HF 4168 as amended:

• Ken Johnson, Assistant State Traffic Engineer, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 4168 as amended.

HF2098 (Sencer-Mura) Speed safety camera enforcement authorized, pilot program created, petty misdemeanor penalty imposed, reports required, and money appropriated.

Representative Sencer-Mura moved that HF 2098 be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

Representative Sencer-Mura moved the H2098DE5 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u> <u>THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Sencer-Mura presented HF 2098 as amended.

Testifying on HF 2098 as amended:

- Dr. Nichole Morris
- Kelly McCarthy, Chief of Police, Mendota Height Police Department
- Ethan Foley, Program Coordinator, City of Minneapolis
- Michael Rainville, Council Member, City of Minneapolis
- Reed Leidle, Vice President, Safety Signs
- Joshua Houdek
- Rich Neumeister
- Abbey Bryduck, Executive Director, Minnesota Asphalt Pavement Association
- CJ Lindor, Education Manager, Bicycle Alliance Minnesota
- Ken Johnson, Assistant State Traffic Engineer, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Representative Petersburg requested a roll call on HF 2098 as amended.

The clerk took the roll on HF 2098 as amended:

AYES

Hornstein

Elkins

Kogel

Kraft

Norris

Sencer-Mura

NAYS

Petersburg

Fogelman

Murphy

Olson

West

ABSTAIN

Nelson

EXCUSED

Tabke

Hudella	
There being 6 ayes, 5 nays, 1 abstention, and	d 3 excused, <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>
The meeting was adjourned at 9:58 AM.	
	Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair
	Tenzin Tsangyang, Committee Legislative Assistant

Brand