Minnesota House of Representatives Education Finance Committee

Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair

Thursday February 22nd, 2024 10:30am Basement Hearing Room

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of the Minutes from February 20th, 2024
- III. HF 3722 (Hicks) Grant application process for P-TECH program clarified.
 - Dr. Kent Pekel, Superintendent, Rochester Public Schools
- IV. HF 2764 (Norris) Approved recovery program grant amounts increased, and money appropriated.
 - Michael Durchslag, P.E.A.S.E. Academy, Director
 - Lucy Getschow, P.E.A.S.E. Academy, Current Student, Class of 2024
- V. HF 3535 (Sencer-Mura) Minnesota Alliance With Youth Promise Fellow program grant authorized, and money appropriated.
 - Jim Davnie, Executive Director, Minnesota Alliance With Youth
 - Meleah Follen, Youth Engagement and Northfield Community College Collaborative Director with Healthy Communities Initiative
 - Martha Lundin, Youth Engagement Coordinator with Healthy Communities Initiative
 - Colleen Kaibel, Director of Student Retention and Recovery for Minneapolis Public Schools
- VI. HF 3534 (Sencer-Mura) Minnesota Youth Council grant activities authorized, and money appropriated.
 - Priscilla Mayowa, Director of the Minnesota Youth Council, Minnesota Alliance With Youth
 - Charlie Schmit, Washburn High School, member, Minnesota Youth Council
 - Aaimah Khawaja, Lakeville North High School, member, Minnesota Youth Council

VII. Adjournment