EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM on February 21, 2023 in Room 120 of the Capitol.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair
HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair
BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead
BAKEBERG, Ben
BERG, Kaela
FEIST, Sandra
FRAZIER, Cedrick
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Liz
YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members Excused:

KNUDSEN, Krista MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean

A quorum was present.

Representative Lee moved to approve the minutes from February 15, 2023. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF1875 (Keeler); American Indian education provided for all students, report required, and money appropriated.

Representative Keeler moved that HF1875 be re-referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Representative Keeler presented HF1875.

The following testified on HF1875:

- Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education (MDE)
- Sam Strong, Secretary, Red Lake Nation

- Cyndy Milda, Public Education Program Coordinator, Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community
- Alicia Kozlowski, State Representative 8B, Minnesota
- Robert L. Larsen, President, Lower Sioux Indian Community

Representative Keeler renewed the motion that HF1875 be re-referred to the Committee on Education Finance. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Presentation from the Office of American Indian Education.

Presenters:

• Dr. Jane Harstad, Director of the Office of American Indian Education, Minnesota Department of Education (MDE)

The meeting was adjourned at 4:24 pm.	
	Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair
	Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant