1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 5020 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.9657, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.4	to read:
1.5	Subd. 2a. Teaching hospital surcharge. (a) Each teaching hospital shall pay to the
1.6	medical assistance account a surcharge equal to 0.01 percent of net non-Medicare patient
1.7	care revenue. The initial surcharge must be paid 60 days after both this subdivision and
1.8	section 256.969, subdivision 2g, have received federal approval, and subsequent surcharge
1.9	payments must be made annually in the form and manner specified by the commissioner.
1.10	(b) Revenue from the surcharge shall be used by the commissioner only to pay the
1.11	nonfederal share of the medical assistance supplemental payments described in section
1.12	256.969, subdivision 2g, and shall be used to supplement, and not supplant, medical
1.13	assistance reimbursement to teaching hospitals. The surcharge must comply with Code of
1.14	Federal Regulations, title 42, section 433.63.
1.15	(c) For purposes of this subdivision, "teaching hospital" means any Minnesota hospital,
1.16	except facilities of the federal Indian Health Service and regional treatment centers, with a
1.17	Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services designation of "teaching hospital" as reported
1.18	on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet S-2, line 56, that is eligible for reimbursement under
1.19	section 256.969, subdivision 2g.
1.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025; or upon federal approval
1.21	of this section, the amendment in this act to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision
1.22	2b, and Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g; whichever is later. The
1.23	commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal approval
1.24	is obtained.

- Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 256.969, subdivision 2b, is amended 2.1 to read: 2.2
- Subd. 2b. Hospital payment rates. (a) For discharges occurring on or after November 2.3 1, 2014, hospital inpatient services for hospitals located in Minnesota shall be paid according 2.4 to the following: 2.5
- (1) critical access hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid using a cost-based 2.6 methodology; 2.7
- 2.8

(2) long-term hospitals as defined by Medicare shall be paid on a per diem methodology under subdivision 25; 2.9

(3) rehabilitation hospitals or units of hospitals that are recognized as rehabilitation 2.10 distinct parts as defined by Medicare shall be paid according to the methodology under 2.11 subdivision 12; and 2.12

(4) all other hospitals shall be paid on a diagnosis-related group (DRG) methodology. 2.13

(b) For the period beginning January 1, 2011, through October 31, 2014, rates shall not 2.14 be rebased, except that a Minnesota long-term hospital shall be rebased effective January 2.15 1, 2011, based on its most recent Medicare cost report ending on or before September 1, 2.16 2008, with the provisions under subdivisions 9 and 23, based on the rates in effect on 2.17 December 31, 2010. For rate setting periods after November 1, 2014, in which the base 2.18 years are updated, a Minnesota long-term hospital's base year shall remain within the same 2.19 period as other hospitals. 2.20

(c) Effective for discharges occurring on and after November 1, 2014, payment rates 2.21 for hospital inpatient services provided by hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade 2.22 area, except for the hospitals paid under the methodologies described in paragraph (a), 2.23 clauses (2) and (3), shall be rebased, incorporating cost and payment methodologies in a 2.24 manner similar to Medicare. The base year or years for the rates effective November 1, 2.25 2014, shall be calendar year 2012. The rebasing under this paragraph shall be budget neutral, 2.26 ensuring that the total aggregate payments under the rebased system are equal to the total 2.27 aggregate payments that were made for the same number and types of services in the base 2.28 year. Separate budget neutrality calculations shall be determined for payments made to 2.29 critical access hospitals and payments made to hospitals paid under the DRG system. Only 2.30 the rate increases or decreases under subdivision 3a or 3c that applied to the hospitals being 2.31 rebased during the entire base period shall be incorporated into the budget neutrality 2.32 calculation. 2.33

3.1	(d) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, through the next rebasing
3.2	that occurs, the rebased rates under paragraph (c) that apply to hospitals under paragraph
3.3	(a), clause (4), shall include adjustments to the projected rates that result in no greater than
3.4	a five percent increase or decrease from the base year payments for any hospital. Any
3.5	adjustments to the rates made by the commissioner under this paragraph and paragraph (e)
3.6	shall maintain budget neutrality as described in paragraph (c).
3.7	(e) For discharges occurring on or after November 1, 2014, the commissioner may make
3.8	additional adjustments to the rebased rates, and when evaluating whether additional
3.9	adjustments should be made, the commissioner shall consider the impact of the rates on the
3.10	following:
3.11	(1) pediatric services;
3.12	(2) behavioral health services;
3.13	(3) trauma services as defined by the National Uniform Billing Committee;
3.14	(4) transplant services;
3.15	(5) obstetric services, newborn services, and behavioral health services provided by
3.16	hospitals outside the seven-county metropolitan area;
3.17	(6) outlier admissions;
3.18	(7) low-volume providers; and
3.19	(8) services provided by small rural hospitals that are not critical access hospitals.
3.20	(f) Hospital payment rates established under paragraph (c) must incorporate the following:
3.21	(1) for hospitals paid under the DRG methodology, the base year payment rate per
3.22	admission is standardized by the applicable Medicare wage index and adjusted by the
3.23	hospital's disproportionate population adjustment;
3.24	(2) for critical access hospitals, payment rates for discharges between November 1, 2014,
3.25	and June 30, 2015, shall be set to the same rate of payment that applied for discharges on
3.26	October 31, 2014;
3.27	(3) the cost and charge data used to establish hospital payment rates must only reflect
3.28	inpatient services covered by medical assistance; and
3.29	(4) in determining hospital payment rates for discharges occurring on or after the rate
3.30	year beginning January 1, 2011, through December 31, 2012, the hospital payment rate per
3.31	discharge shall be based on the cost-finding methods and allowable costs of the Medicare

4.1 program in effect during the base year or years. In determining hospital payment rates for
4.2 discharges in subsequent base years, the per discharge rates shall be based on the cost-finding
4.3 methods and allowable costs of the Medicare program in effect during the base year or
4.4 years.

(g) The commissioner shall validate the rates effective November 1, 2014, by applying
the rates established under paragraph (c), and any adjustments made to the rates under
paragraph (d) or (e), to hospital claims paid in calendar year 2013 to determine whether the
total aggregate payments for the same number and types of services under the rebased rates
are equal to the total aggregate payments made during calendar year 2013.

4.10 (h) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2017, and every two years thereafter, payment rates under this section shall be rebased to reflect only those changes 4.11 in hospital costs between the existing base year or years and the next base year or years. In 4.12 any year that inpatient claims volume falls below the threshold required to ensure a 4.13 statistically valid sample of claims, the commissioner may combine claims data from two 4.14 consecutive years to serve as the base year. Years in which inpatient claims volume is 4.15 reduced or altered due to a pandemic or other public health emergency shall not be used as 4.16 a base year or part of a base year if the base year includes more than one year. Changes in 4.17 costs between base years shall be measured using the lower of the hospital cost index defined 4.18 in subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or the percentage change in the case mix adjusted cost per 4.19 claim. The commissioner shall establish the base year for each rebasing period considering 4.20 the most recent year or years for which filed Medicare cost reports are available, except 4.21 that the base years for the rebasing effective July 1, 2023, are calendar years 2018 and 2019. 4.22 The estimated change in the average payment per hospital discharge resulting from a 4.23 scheduled rebasing must be calculated and made available to the legislature by January 15 4.24 of each year in which rebasing is scheduled to occur, and must include by hospital the 4.25 differential in payment rates compared to the individual hospital's costs. 4.26

(i) Effective for discharges occurring on or after July 1, 2015, inpatient payment rates 4.27 for critical access hospitals located in Minnesota or the local trade area shall be determined 4.28 using a new cost-based methodology. The commissioner shall establish within the 4.29 methodology tiers of payment designed to promote efficiency and cost-effectiveness. 4.30 Payment rates for hospitals under this paragraph shall be set at a level that does not exceed 4.31 the total cost for critical access hospitals as reflected in base year cost reports. Until the 4.32 next rebasing that occurs, the new methodology shall result in no greater than a five percent 4.33 decrease from the base year payments for any hospital, except a hospital that had payments 4.34 that were greater than 100 percent of the hospital's costs in the base year shall have their 4.35

rate set equal to 100 percent of costs in the base year. The rates paid for discharges on and
after July 1, 2016, covered under this paragraph shall be increased by the inflation factor
in subdivision 1, paragraph (a). The new cost-based rate shall be the final rate and shall not
be settled to actual incurred costs. Hospitals shall be assigned a payment tier based on the
following criteria:

5.6 (1) hospitals that had payments at or below 80 percent of their costs in the base year
5.7 shall have a rate set that equals 85 percent of their base year costs;

(2) hospitals that had payments that were above 80 percent, up to and including 90
percent of their costs in the base year shall have a rate set that equals 95 percent of their
base year costs; and

5.11 (3) hospitals that had payments that were above 90 percent of their costs in the base year
5.12 shall have a rate set that equals 100 percent of their base year costs.

(j) The commissioner may refine the payment tiers and criteria for critical access hospitals
to coincide with the next rebasing under paragraph (h). The factors used to develop the new
methodology may include, but are not limited to:

5.16 (1) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the
5.17 hospital's charges to the medical assistance program;

5.18 (2) the ratio between the hospital's costs for treating medical assistance patients and the
5.19 hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical
5.20 assistance patients;

5.21 (3) the ratio between the hospital's charges to the medical assistance program and the
5.22 hospital's payments received from the medical assistance program for the care of medical
5.23 assistance patients;

5.24 (4) the statewide average increases in the ratios identified in clauses (1), (2), and (3);

5.25 (5) the proportion of that hospital's costs that are administrative and trends in
5.26 administrative costs; and

5.27 (6) geographic location.

(k) Subject to section 256.969, subdivision 2g, paragraph (i), effective for discharges
occurring on or after January 1, 2024, the rates paid to hospitals described in paragraph (a),
clauses (2) to (4), must include a rate factor specific to each hospital that qualifies for a
medical education and research cost distribution under section 62J.692, subdivision 4,
paragraph (a).

6.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025; or upon federal approval
6.2	of this section, Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g, and the teaching hospital
6.3	surcharge described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657, subdivision 2a; whichever is
6.4	later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes when federal
6.5	approval is obtained.
6.6	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.969, is amended by adding a subdivision to
6.7	read:
6.8	Subd. 2g. Annual supplemental payments; direct and indirect physician graduate
6.9	medical education. (a) For discharges occurring on or after January 1, 2025, the
6.10	commissioner shall determine and pay annual supplemental payments to all eligible hospitals
6.11	as provided in this subdivision for direct and indirect physician graduate medical education
6.12	cost reimbursement. A hospital must be an eligible hospital to receive an annual supplemental
6.13	payment under this subdivision.
6.14	(b) The commissioner must use the following information to calculate the total cost of
6.15	direct graduate medical education incurred by each eligible hospital:
6.16	(1) the total allowable direct graduate medical education cost, as calculated by adding
6.17	form CMS-2552-10, worksheet B, part 1, columns 21 and 22, line 202; and
0.17	
6.18	(2) the Medicaid share of total allowable direct graduate medical education cost
6.19	percentage, representing the allocation of total graduate medical education costs to Medicaid
6.20	based on the share of all Medicaid inpatient days, as reported on form CMS-2552-10,
6.21	worksheets S-2 and S-3, divided by the hospital's total inpatient days, as reported on
6.22	worksheet S-3.
6.23	(c) The commissioner may obtain the information in paragraph (b) from an eligible
6.24	hospital, upon request by the commissioner, or from the eligible hospital's most recently
6.25	filed form CMS-2552-10.
6.26	(d) The commissioner must use the following information to calculate the total allowable
6.27	indirect cost of graduate medical education incurred by each eligible hospital:
6.28	(1) for eligible hospitals that are not children's hospitals, the indirect graduate medical
6.29	education amount attributable to Medicaid, calculated based on form CMS-2552-10,
6.30	worksheet E, part A, including:
0.50	<u>_</u>
6.31	(i) the Medicare indirect medical education formula, using Medicaid variables;

7.1	(ii) Medicaid payments for inpatient services under fee-for-service and managed care,
7.2	as determined by the commissioner in consultation with each eligible hospital;
7.3	(iii) total inpatient beds available, as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet E, part
7.4	A, line 4; and
7.5	(iv) full-time employees, as determined by adding form CMS-2552-10, worksheet E,
7.6	part A, lines 10 and 11; and
7.7	(2) for eligible hospitals that are children's hospitals:
7.8	(i) the Medicare indirect medical education formula, using Medicaid variables;
7.9	(ii) Medicaid payments for inpatient services under fee-for-service and managed care,
7.10	as determined by the commissioner in consultation with each eligible hospital;
7.11	(iii) total inpatient beds available, as reported on form CMS-2552-10, worksheet S-3,
7.12	part 1; and
7.13	(iv) full-time equivalent interns and residents, as determined by adding form
7.14	CMS-2552-10, worksheet E-4, lines 6, 10.01, and 15.01.
7.15	(e) The commissioner shall determine each eligible hospital's maximum allowable
7.16	Medicaid direct graduate medical education supplemental payment amount by calculating
7.17	the sum of:
7.18	(1) the total allowable direct graduate medical education costs determined under paragraph
7.19	(b), clause (1), multiplied by the Medicaid share of total allowable direct graduate medical
7.20	education cost percentage in paragraph (b), clause (2); and
7.21	(2) the total allowable direct graduate medical education costs determined under paragraph
7.22	(b), clause (1), multiplied by the most recently updated Medicaid utilization percentage
7.23	from form CMS-2552-10, as submitted to Medicare by each eligible hospital.
7.24	(f) The commissioner shall determine each eligible hospital's indirect graduate medical
7.25	education supplemental payment amount by multiplying the total allowable indirect cost
7.26	of graduate medical education amount calculated in paragraph (d) by:
7.27	(1) 0.95 for prospective payment system, for hospitals that are not children's hospitals
7.28	and have fewer than 50 full-time equivalent trainees;
7.29	(2) 1.0 for prospective payment system, for hospitals that are not children's hospitals
7.30	and have equal to or greater than 50 full-time equivalent trainees; and
7.31	(3) 1.05 for children's hospitals.

8.1	(g) An eligible hospital's annual supplemental payment under this subdivision equals
8.2	the sum of the amount calculated for the eligible hospital under paragraph (e) and the amount
8.3	calculated for the eligible hospital under paragraph (f).
8.4	(h) The annual supplemental payments under this subdivision are contingent upon federal
8.5	approval and must conform with the requirements for permissible supplemental payments
8.6	for direct and indirect graduate medical education under all applicable federal laws.
8.7	(i) An eligible hospital is only eligible for reimbursement under section 62J.692 for
8.8	nonphysician graduate medical education training costs which are not accounted for in the
8.9	calculation of an annual supplemental payment under this section. An eligible hospital must
8.10	not accept reimbursement under section 62J.692 for physician graduate medical education
8.11	training costs which are accounted for in the calculation of an annual supplemental payment
8.12	under this section.
8.13	(j) For purposes of this subdivision, "children's hospital" means a Minnesota hospital
8.14	designated as a children's hospital under Medicare.
8.15	(k) For purposes of this subdivision, "eligible hospital" means a hospital located in
8.16	Minnesota:
8.17	(1) participating in Minnesota's medical assistance program;
8.18	(2) that has received fee-for-service medical assistance payments in the payment year;
8.19	and
8.20	(3) that is either:
8.21	(i) eligible to receive graduate medical education payments from the Medicare program
8.22	under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 413.75; or
8.23	(ii) a children's hospital.
8.24	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025; or upon federal approval
8.25	of this section, the amendment in this act to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision
8.26	2b, and the teaching hospital surcharge described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657,
8.27	subdivision 2a; whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the
8.28	revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.
8.29	Sec. 4. CONTINGENT PROPOSAL TO FUND MEDICAL EDUCATION.
8.30	(a) If the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services deny the request by the
8.31	commissioner of human services to implement the teaching hospital surcharge under
8.32	Minnesota Statutes, section 256.9657, subdivision 2a, the commissioner of human services,

8

Sec. 4.

9.1	in cooperation with the commissioner of health, shall work with a third-party consultant
9.2	identified by the Health Care Workforce and Education Committee established by the
9.3	commissioner of health, that has agreed to provide consulting services without charge to
9.4	the state, to develop a proposal to finance the nonfederal share of the medical assistance
9.5	supplemental payments described in Minnesota Statutes, section 256.969, subdivision 2g.
9.6	(b) The proposal must be designed to:
9.7	(1) enhance health care quality and the economic benefits that result from a well-trained
9.8	workforce;
9.9	(2) ensure that Minnesota has trained a sufficient number of adult and pediatric primary
9.10	and specialty care physicians by 2030;
9.11	(3) improve the cultural competence of, and health care equity within, the state's medical
9.12	workforce;
9.13	(4) maintain and improve the quality of academic medical centers and teaching hospitals
9.14	within the state;
9.15	(5) strengthen Minnesota's health care infrastructure; and
9.16	(6) satisfy any requirements that would be required for approval by the federal Centers
9.17	for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
9.18	(c) The commissioner of human services shall present the proposal to the chairs and
9.19	ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over medical
9.20	education within six months of federal denial of the request by the commissioner to
9.21	implement the teaching hospital surcharge."

9.22 Amend the title accordingly