1 1	moves to amend H.F. No. 5299 as follow	a.
1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 5299 as follow	5.
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:	
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.29, section 1.	ubdivision 9, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 9. Revenue bonds; limit. The authority is authority	orized and empowered to issue
1.5	revenue bonds whose aggregate principal amount at any tim	e shall not exceed \$1,300,000,000
1.6	\$2,000,000,000 and to issue notes, bond anticipation note	s, and revenue refunding bonds
1.7	of the authority under the provisions of sections 136A.25	to 136A.42, to provide funds for
1.8	acquiring, constructing, reconstructing, enlarging, remode	eling, renovating, improving,
1.9	furnishing, or equipping one or more projects or parts the	reof.
1.10	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.69, subd	ivision 1, is amended to read:
1.11	Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall co	ollect reasonable registration fees
1.12	that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of	of administering the registration
1.13	program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragra	phs (b) and (c) to (d) for new
1.14	registrations.	
1.15	(b) A new school offering no more than one degree at	each level during its first year
1.16	must pay registration fees for each applicable level in the	following amounts:
		2000
1.17		2,000
1.18		2,500
1.19	master's degree \$3	3,000
1.20	doctorate degree \$3	3,500

1.21 (c) A new school that will offer more than one degree per level during its first year must
1.22 pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee for the first degree at each degree level
1.23 under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additional nondegree program or degree as follows:

	04/15/24 02:25 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	NH/MC	H5299DE1
2.1	nondegree program	\$250		
2.2	additional associate degree	\$250		
2.3	additional baccalaureate degree	\$500		
2.4	additional master's degree	\$750		
2.5	additional doctorate degree	\$1,000		

(d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of \$600 must be paid for 2.6 an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or 2.7 application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively 2.8 has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the 2.9 same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with 2.10 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final 2.11 application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, 2.12 subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope any initial process or interpretation 2.13

2.14 questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not necessitate substantial staff

2.15 effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office requests initial verification

2.16 or validation of a completed application.

2.17 (d) (e) The annual renewal registration fee is 1,500.

(f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of \$600 must be paid for a renewal 2.18 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application 2.19 reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had 2.20 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license 2.21 application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional 2.22 application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application 2.23 submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8. 2.24 This provision excludes from its scope any initial process or interpretation questions or 2.25 inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not necessitate substantial staff effort to review 2.26 amendments or corrections, or when the office requests initial verification or validation of 2.27 a completed application. 2.28

```
2.29 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
```

2.30 Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure
2.31 application is:

2.32 (1) \$2,500 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program during
2.33 its first year of operation;

- 3.1 (2) \$750 for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term
 3.2 "college," "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, or licensed exclusively in
 3.3 order to participate in state grant or SELF loan financial aid programs; and
- 3.4 (3) \$2,500, plus \$500 for each additional program offered by the private career school,
 3.5 for a private career school during its first year of operation.
- 3.6 (b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of \$600 must be paid for an initial
- 3.7 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application
- 3.8 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had
- 3.9 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license
- 3.10 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with
- 3.11 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit
- 3.12 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section
- 3.13 <u>136A.829</u>, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope any initial
- 3.14 process or interpretation questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not
- 3.15 necessitate substantial staff effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office
- 3.16 requests initial verification or validation of a completed application.
- 3.17 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 3.18 Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal
 3.19 licensure application is:
- 3.20 (1) for a private career school that offers one program, the license renewal fee is \$1,150;
- 3.21 (2) for a private career school that offers more than one program, the license renewal
 3.22 fee is \$1,150, plus \$200 for each additional program with a maximum renewal licensing
 3.23 fee of \$2,000;
- 3.24 (3) for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term "college,"
 3.25 "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, the license renewal fee is \$750; and
- 3.26 (4) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed with
 3.27 the office exclusively in order to participate in state student aid programs, the license renewal
 3.28 fee is \$750.
- 3.29 (b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the close of business
 3.30 at least 60 days before the expiration of the current license, a late fee of \$100 per business
 3.31 day, not to exceed \$3,000, shall be assessed.

- (c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of \$600 must be paid for a renewal 4.1 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application 4.2 4.3 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license 4.4 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with 4.5 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit 4.6 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 4.7 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope any initial 4.8 process or interpretation questions or inquiries, initiated by the school, which do not 4.9 necessitate substantial staff effort to review amendments or corrections, or when the office 4.10 requests initial verification or validation of a completed application. 4.11
- 4.12 Sec. 5. Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, is amended to read:
- 4.13 Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.

(a) \$20,000,000 \$396,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to 4.14 the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants 4.15 for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with 4.16 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying 4.17 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives 4.18 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease, 4.19 and application review and grant recipient selection. Not more than \$400,000 may be used 4.20 by the commissioner to administer the grant program. This is a onetime appropriation. 4.21 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this 4.22 section do not cancel until June 30, 2026. 4.23

(b) \$19,604,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the 4.24 4.25 commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with 4.26 the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying 4.27 clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives 4.28 with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease, 4.29 and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to \$15,000,000 may be used by the 4.30 commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender, 4.31 or other similar organizations to award and administer a competitive grant to applicants for 4.32 research into ALS under this section. This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding 4.33

- 5.1 Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel
 5.2 until June 30, 2029.
- 5.3 (b) (c) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and translational research related to
 5.4 ALS. Research topics may include but are not limited to environmental factors, disease
 5.5 mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug development, clinical studies, precision
 5.6 medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cognitive studies.
- 5.7 (c) (d) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facilities, universities, and health 5.8 systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner in 5.9 the time, form, and manner established by the commissioner. Applicants may coordinate 5.10 research endeavors and submit a joint application. When reviewing the proposals, the 5.11 commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant for an applicant whose research 5.12 is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.
- (d) (e) Beginning January 15, 2023, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2027 2030,
 the commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving
 grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds
 were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also
 include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other
 information which the commissioner deems significant or useful.
- (e) This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,
 unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.
- 5.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment.

5.22 Sec. 6. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 36, is amended to read:

5.23 5.24	Subd. 36. Fostering Independence Higher Education Grants	4,247,000	4,416,000 9,456,000
5.25	\$4,247,000 the first year and \$4,416,000		
5.26	<u>\$9,456,000</u> the second year are for grants to		
5.27	eligible students under Minnesota Statutes,		
5.28	section 136A.1241. The Office of Higher		
5.29	Education may use no more than three percent		
5.30	of the appropriation to administer grants. The		
5.31	base for this appropriation is \$4,416,000 for		
5.32	fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.		

Sec. 6.

6.1	Sec. 7. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdiv	vision 49, is am	ended to read:
6.2 6.3	Subd. 49. North Star Promise	-0-	117,226,000 <u>112,186,000</u>
6.4	\$117,226,000 \$112,186,000 the second year		
6.5	is transferred from the general fund to the		
6.6	account in the special revenue fund under		
6.7	Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465,		
6.8	subdivision 6. The base for the transfer is		
6.9	\$49,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.		
6.10	Sec. 8. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.		
6.11	(a) The amount canceled on June 30, 2024, under Laws	2022, chapter	42, section 2, as
6.12	amended by this act is appropriated in fiscal year 2025 from	n the general fi	and to the
6.13	commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award c	competitive gra	nts to applicants
6.14	for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The	commissioner r	nay work with
6.15	the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant	program, inclu	ding identifying
6.16	clinical and translational research and innovations, develop	ing outcomes a	and objectives
6.17	with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS as	nd finding a cur	e for the disease,
6.18	and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to	\$15,000,000 m	inus the amount
6.19	used for the purpose of Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, p	aragraph (b), a	s amended, may
6.20	be used by the commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic	e Lateral Sclero	sis Association,
6.21	Never Surrender, or other similar organizations to award and	l administer a c	ompetitive grant
6.22	to applicants for research into ALS under this section. Not	more than \$400),000 minus the
6.23	amount used for the purpose of Laws 2022, chapter 42, section	on 2, paragraph	(c), as amended,
6.24	may be used by the commissioner to administer the grant p	rogram.	
6.25	(b) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and transl	ational research	related to ALS.
6.26	Research topics may include but are not limited to environ	mental factors,	disease
6.27	mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug developmen	nt, clinical stud	ies, precision
6.28	medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cogni	tive studies.	
6.29	(c) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facility	ies, universities	, and health
6.30	systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proj	posals to the co	mmissioner in
6.31	the time, form, and manner established by the commissione	er. Applicants n	nay coordinate
6.32	research endeavors and submit a joint application. When re	eviewing the pro-	oposals, the
6.33	commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant	for an applican	t whose research
6.34	is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.		

7.1	(d) Beginning January 15, 2025, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2030, the
7.2	commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving
7.3	grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds
7.4	were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also
7.5	include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other
7.6	information which the commissioner deems significant or useful. This report may be
7.7	combined with the report required under Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, as amended.
7.8	(e) This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2029.
7.9	Sec. 9. APPROPRIATION; KIDS ON CAMPUS INITIATIVE.
7.10	\$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of
7.11	Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities to participate in the Kids on
7.12	Campus initiative with the National Head Start Association and the Association of
7.13	Community College Trustees. This appropriation may be used for a temporary statewide
7.14	project coordinator, stipends to parenting students, engaging with local Head Start programs,
7.15	and for other costs associated with creating campus Head Start partnerships. The duties of
7.16	the temporary statewide project coordinator include assessing the feasibility of partnerships
7.17	between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities campuses and Head Start programs
7.18	across the state, consulting with the Minnesota Head Start Association and existing Head
7.19	Start partnership programs to develop best practices, working with campus-based navigators
7.20	for parenting students to provide resources for financial aid and basic needs support to Head
7.21	Start programs, and developing strategies to grow the early childhood care and education
7.22	workforce through partnerships between Head Start programs and early childhood degree
7.23	and certificate programs. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30,
7.24	<u>2026.</u> "
7.25	Amend the title accordingly