STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

TWENTY-SEVENTH MEETING NINETY-THIRD LEGISLATURE

Agriculture Finance & Policy Committee Minutes

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair of the Agriculture Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on February 29, 2024, in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present

VANG, Samantha, Chair PURSELL, Kristi, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul, Republican Lead BURKEL, John CHA, Ethan FREDERICK, Luke HANSEN, Rick HARDER, Bobbie JACOB, Steven NELSON, Nathan REHM, Lucy SENCER-MURA, Samantha

Members participating remotely, in accordance with House Rule 10.05 TABKE, Brad

A quorum was present.

Presentation from Future Farmers of America.

Presenting:

- Tyler Ratka, State Vice President, ROCORI
- Alison Murrell, State Secretary, Braham

Presentation from Freshwater Society.

Presenting:

• Carrie Jennings, Ph.D., Research and Policy Director, Freshwater

Presentation from Minnesota Farmers Union.

Presenting:

• Peter Schwagerl, Big Stone County President and Representative on the Clean Water Council, Minnesota Farmers Union

Presentation from Minnesota Farm Bureau.

Presenting:

• Dan Glessing, President, Minnesota Farm Bureau

Presentation from Land Stewardship Project.

Presenting:

• Martin Larson, SWCD Technician, Olmstead County

Presentation from Minnesota Corn Growers.

Presenting:

• Dana Allen-Tully, President, Minnesota Corn Growers Association

Presentation from Minnesota Pork Producers.

Presenting:

• Maddie Hokanson, Farmer, Minnesota Pork Producers Association

Presentation from Friends of the Mississippi River.

Presenting:

• Peter LaFontaine, Agriculture Policy Manager, Friends of the Mississippi River

Presentation from Minnesota Milk Producers.

Presenting:

• Lucas Sjostrom, Executive Director, Minnesota Milk Producers

Presentation from Minnesota Crop Production Retailers.

Presenting:

- Lee Helgen, Executive Director, Minnesota Crop Production Retailers
- Joel Johanningmeier, Advanced Yield Systems (AYS) Specialist, Ag Partners Coop

Representative Pursell moved that the minutes from February 22, 2024 be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF 4135 (Hansen) Agricultural fertilizer research fee and program extended by one year, drinking-water fee established for nitrogen fertilizer and private well drinking-water assistance program, testing of biosolids for perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances required, reports required, and money appropriated.

Representative Hansen moved that HF4135 be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy.

Hansen moved H4135A3 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> <u>ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Hansen presented HF 4135 as amended.

Representative Anderson moved the H4135A1 amendment.

Representative Anderson requested a roll call on H4135A1.

The clerk took the roll on the H4135A1 amendment.

AYES: Anderson Burkel Frederick Harder Jacob Nelson

NAYS: Vang Pursell Cha Hansen Rehm Sencer-Mura Tabke

There being 6 ayes and 7 nays, <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> <u>NOT ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Anderson moved the H4135A2 amendment.

Testifying on the H4135A2 amendment:

• Thom Petersen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Representative Anderson requested a roll call on H4135A2.

The clerk took the roll on the H4135A2 amendment.

AYES: Anderson Burkel Harder Jacob Nelson NAYS: Vang Pursell Cha Frederick Hansen Rehm Sencer-Mura Tabke

There being 5 ayes and 8 nays, <u>THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS</u> <u>NOT ADOPTED.</u>

Testifying on HF 4135 as amended:

• Thom Petersen, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Representative Hansen renewed the motion that HF 4135 as amended be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Committee on Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy.

Representative Anderson requested a roll call on HF 4135 as amended.

The clerk took the roll on HF 4135 as amended.

AYES: Anderson Burkel Frederick Harder Jacob Nelson NAYS: Vang Pursell Cha Hansen Rehm Sencer-Mura

Tabke

There being 6 ayes and 7 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:32 PM.

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair

Jared Margolis, Committee Legislative Assistant