

May 1, 2023

Representative Kelly Moller, Chair Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee Minnesota House of Representatives 479 State Office Building Saint Paul, MN 55155

Senator Ron Latz, Chair Judiciary and Public Safety Committee Minnesota State Senate 3105 Minnesota Senate Building Saint Paul, MN 55155

Dear Chairs Moller and Latz:

Thank you for allowing Rural AIDS Action Network to weigh-in on specific legislation included in the House and Senate versions of the Omnibus Judiciary and Public Safety Finance bills, SF2909.

The House version of the Omnibus Judiciary and Public Safety Finance bill includes HF2041 (Gomez)/SF2261 (Oumou Verbeten), a bill that authorizes syringe services to possess, distribute, and dispose of syringes; authorizes the hypodermic syringes and changes to the state statute related to drug paraphernalia (See House version, Article 16, Sections 1-6 and 13-15).

We are pleased to see HF2041's language included in the Omnibus Judiciary and Public Safety Finance bill as drug paraphernalia policy should be focused on saving lives and reducing the risks of overdose.

History has shown that harsh penalties for drug use and paraphernalia do nothing to help people and only worsen the tragic overdose crisis. Tougher laws and sentences around drug paraphernalia results in more death, avoidable diseases, and creates greater risks when individuals seek drugs and drug paraphernalia in the illicit market, particularly impacting low-income people and communities of color. These drug paraphernalia laws also threaten to punish nonusers involved in harm reduction activities.

The legislation, as it now stands, allows Minnesota to move forward with allowing syringe services providers to operate under and within defined parameters as well as decriminalizing drug paraphernalia and residues contained therein. These changes will undoubtedly reduce harm and save lives of Minnesotans and we urge the conference committee members to support the inclusion of HF2041.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback to the conference committee.

Sincerely,

Mary McCarthy
Executive Director

C: Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn

Rep. Sandra Feist

Rep. Cedrick Frazier

Rep. Brion Curran

Sen. Clare Oumou Verbeten

Sen. Sandra Pappas

Sen. Judy Seeberger

Sen. Bonnie Westlin