0.5 /1.5 /0.4	DELUCOD	TEST A TEST	1010016
05/15/24	REVISOR	JFK/NH	A24-0346

1.1 moves to amend H.F. No. 4024, the second engrossment, as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

"ARTICLE 1

HIGHER EDUCATION APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. Laws 2022, chapter 42, section 2, is amended to read:

Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION; ALS RESEARCH.

(a) \$20,000,000 \$396,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease, and application review and grant recipient selection. Not more than \$400,000 \$396,000 may be used by the commissioner to administer the grant program. This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.

(b) \$19,604,000 in fiscal year 2024 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to award competitive grants to applicants for research into amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The commissioner may work with the Minnesota Department of Health to administer the grant program, including identifying clinical and translational research and innovations, developing outcomes and objectives with the goal of bettering the lives of individuals with ALS and finding a cure for the disease, and application review and grant recipient selection. Up to \$15,000,000 may be used by the commissioner for grants to the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender,

2.1	or other similar organizations to award and administer competitive grants to applicants for
2.2	research into ALS under this section. This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding
2.3	Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel
2.4	until June 30, 2029. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.98, subdivision 14,
2.5	the commissioner, the Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Association, Never Surrender, and
2.6	other similar organizations may use up to a total of five percent of this appropriation for
2.7	administrative costs.
2.8	(b) (c) Grants shall be awarded to support clinical and translational research related to
2.9	ALS. Research topics may include but are not limited to environmental factors, disease
2.10	mechanisms, disease models, biomarkers, drug development, clinical studies, precision
2.11	medicine, medical devices, assistive technology, and cognitive studies.
2.12	(e) (d) Eligible applicants for the grants are research facilities, universities, and health
2.13	systems located in Minnesota. Applicants must submit proposals to the commissioner in
2.14	the time, form, and manner established by the commissioner. Applicants may coordinate
2.15	research endeavors and submit a joint application. When reviewing the proposals, the
2.16	commissioner shall make an effort to avoid approving a grant for an applicant whose research
2.17	is duplicative of an existing grantee's research.
2.18	(d) (e) Beginning January 15, 2023, and annually thereafter until January 15, 2027 2030,
2.19	the commissioner shall submit a report to the legislature specifying the applicants receiving
2.20	grants under this section, the amount of each grant, the purposes for which the grant funds
2.21	were used, and the amount of the appropriation that is unexpended. The report must also
2.22	include relevant findings, results, and outcomes of the grant program, and any other
2.23	information which the commissioner deems significant or useful.
2.24	(e) This is a onetime appropriation. Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28,
2.25	unencumbered balances under this section do not cancel until June 30, 2026.
2.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
2.27	Sec. 2. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 2, subdivision 35, is amended to read:
2.28	Subd. 35. Hunger-Free Campus Grants 1,500,000 1,000,000
2.29	For the Hunger-Free Campus program under
2.30	Minnesota Statutes, section 135A.137. Of this
2.31	amount, up to \$500,000 the first year is for
2.32	grants not to exceed \$25,000 to institutions
2.33	for equipment necessary to operate an

	05/15/24	REVISOR	JFK/NH	A24-0346
3.1	on-campus food pantry, and is available	e until		
3.2	June 30, 2026. The commissioner shall			
3.3	establish an application and process for			
	•			
3.4	distributing the grant funds. This approp	rianon		
3.5	is available until June 30, 2026.			
3.6	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section	is effective the da	y following final	enactment.
3.7	Sec. 3. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article	e 1, section 2, sub	division 36, is ame	ended to read:
3.8	Subd. 36. Fostering Independence Hi	igher		4,416,000
3.9	Education Grants		4,247,000	9,456,000
3.10	\$4,247,000 the first year and \$4,416,00	90		
3.11	\$9,456,000 the second year are for gra	nts to		
3.12	eligible students under Minnesota Stati	utes,		
3.13	section 136A.1241. The Office of High	ner		
3.14	Education may use no more than three p	percent		
3.15	of the appropriation to administer grant	ts. The		
3.16	base for this appropriation is \$4,416,00	<u>00 for</u>		
3.17	fiscal year 2026 and thereafter.			
3.18	Sec. 4. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article	e 1, section 2, sub	division 49, as ame	ended by Laws
3.19	2024, chapter 85, section 111, is amend	ded to read:		
3.20				117,226,000
3.21	Subd. 49. North Star Promise		-0-	112,186,000

3.20 3.21	Subd. 49. North Star Promise	-0-	117,226,000 112,186,000
3 22	\$117.226.000 \$112.186.000 the second year		

\$117,226,000 \$112,186,000 the second year

is transferred from the general fund to the 3.23

account in the special revenue fund under 3.24

Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1465, 3.25

subdivision 8. The base for the transfer is 3.26

\$49,500,000 in fiscal year 2026 and thereafter. 3.27

Sec. 5. Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, section 4, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 3.28

686,558,000 676,294,000 Subd. 2. Operations and Maintenance 3.29

3.30 (a) \$15,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and

\$15,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are to: (1) 3.31

increase the medical school's research 3.32

- 4.1 capacity; (2) improve the medical school's
- 4.2 ranking in National Institutes of Health
- 4.3 funding; (3) ensure the medical school's
- 4.4 national prominence by attracting and
- 4.5 retaining world-class faculty, staff, and
- 4.6 students; (4) invest in physician training
- 4.7 programs in rural and underserved
- 4.8 communities; and (5) translate the medical
- 4.9 school's research discoveries into new
- 4.10 treatments and cures to improve the health of
- 4.11 Minnesotans.
- 4.12 (b) \$7,800,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
- 4.13 \$7,800,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for health
- 4.14 training restoration. This appropriation must
- be used to support all of the following: (1)
- 4.16 faculty physicians who teach at eight residency
- 4.17 program sites, including medical resident and
- 4.18 student training programs in the Department
- 4.19 of Family Medicine; (2) the Mobile Dental
- 4.20 Clinic; and (3) expansion of geriatric
- 4.21 education and family programs.
- 4.22 (c) \$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
- 4.23 \$4,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for the
- 4.24 Minnesota Discovery, Research, and
- 4.25 InnoVation Economy funding program for
- 4.26 cancer care research.
- 4.27 (d) \$500,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$500,000
- 4.28 in fiscal year 2025 are for the University of
- 4.29 Minnesota, Morris branch, to cover the costs
- 4.30 of tuition waivers under Minnesota Statutes,
- 4.31 section 137.16.
- 4.32 (e) \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2024 and
- 4.33 \$5,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 are for
- 4.34 systemwide safety and security measures on
- 4.35 University of Minnesota campuses. The base

5.1	amount for this appropriation is \$1,000,000
5.2	in fiscal year 2026 and later.
5.3	(f) \$366,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$366,000
5.4	in fiscal year 2025 are for unemployment
5.5	insurance aid under Minnesota Statutes,
5.6	section 268.193.
5.7	(g) \$10,000,000 the first year is for programs
5.8	at the University of Minnesota Medical School
5.9	Campus on the CentraCare Health System
5.10	Campus in St. Cloud. This appropriation may
5.11	be used for tuition support, a residency
5.12	program, a rural health research program, a
5.13	program to target scholarships to students from
5.14	diverse backgrounds, and a scholarship
5.15	program targeted at students who will practice
5.16	in rural areas including a scholarship
5.17	endowment fund targeted at students who will
5.18	practice in rural areas and targeted at students
5.19	from diverse backgrounds; costs associated
5.20	with opening and operating a new regional
5.21	campus; costs associated with the expansion
5.22	of a residency program; and costs associated
5.23	with starting and operating a rural health
5.24	research program. This appropriation is
5.25	available until June 30, 2027, and must be
5.26	spent on for activities on or associated with
5.27	the CentraCare Health System Campus in the
5.28	greater St. Cloud area. This is a onetime
5.29	appropriation.
5.30	(h) \$374,000 the first year and \$110,000 the
5.31	second year are to pay the cost of supplies and
5.32	equipment necessary to provide access to
5.33	menstrual products for purposes of article 2,
5.34	section 2.

- 6.1 (i) The total operations and maintenance base
- 6.2 for fiscal year 2026 and later is \$672,294,000.

6.4

6.5

6.6

6.7

6.8

6.9

6.10

6.11

6.12

6.13

6.14

6.15

6.16

6.17

6.18

6.19

6.20

6.21

6.24

6.25

6.26

6.27

6.28

6.29

6.30

6.31

6.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. APPROPRIATION; KIDS ON CAMPUS INITIATIVE.

\$500,000 in fiscal year 2025 is appropriated from the general fund to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities to participate in the Kids on Campus initiative with the National Head Start Association and the Association of Community College Trustees. This appropriation may be used for a temporary statewide project coordinator, stipends to campuses and Head Start centers where letters of intent to officially form a partnership have been signed, engaging with local Head Start programs, and other costs associated with creating campus Head Start partnerships. Stipends shall be used to support the formation of parenting student advisory panels to gather perspective and feedback on proposed partnerships. The duties of the temporary statewide project coordinator include assessing the feasibility of partnerships between Minnesota State Colleges and Universities campuses and Head Start programs across the state, consulting with the Minnesota Head Start Association and existing Head Start partnership programs to develop best practices, working with campus-based navigators for parenting students to provide resources for financial aid and basic needs support to Head Start programs, and developing strategies to grow the early childhood care and education workforce through partnerships between Head Start programs and early childhood degree and certificate programs. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until June 30, 2026.

6.22 ARTICLE 2 6.23 POLICY PROVISIONS

Section 1. [135A.062] CONSIDERATION OF CRIMINAL RECORDS LIMITED.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. This section applies to postsecondary institutions under section 136A.155, except that the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this section.

Subd. 2. **Definition.** As used in this section, "a violent felony or sexual assault" includes a felony-level violation or attempted violation of section 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.221; 609.2242, subdivision 4; 609.2247; 609.245, subdivision 1; 609.247, subdivision 2; 609.282; 609.322; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451; 609.3458; 609.561, subdivision 1 or 2; 609.582, subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision 1e; or 609.749; or a statute

7.1 <u>from another state, the United States, or a foreign jurisdiction, in conformity with any of</u>
7.2 these sections.

- Subd. 3. Consideration of criminal records limited. A postsecondary institution may not inquire into, consider, or require disclosure of the criminal record or criminal history of an applicant for admission. After a postsecondary institution has made an offer of admission, the postsecondary institution may inquire into, consider, or require disclosure of a conviction or delinquency adjudication that occurred within the previous five years for a violent felony or sexual assault. The postsecondary institution must provide the applicant with an opportunity to submit an explanatory statement, letters of recommendation, evidence of rehabilitation, and any other supporting documents. The institution must provide clear and detailed instructions and guidance to applicants related to what criminal history requires disclosure. The institution must not require the applicant to provide official records of criminal history. A postsecondary institution that rescinds an offer of admission must:
- 7.14 (1) provide an explanation of the basis for the decision to rescind the offer of admission;
 7.15 and
- 7.16 (2) provide the applicant with an opportunity to appeal the decision to rescind.
- Subd. 4. Other information. This section shall not prohibit or limit a postsecondary
 institution from inquiring about student conduct records at the applicant's prior postsecondary
 institution after making an offer of admission. This section shall not prohibit or limit a
 postsecondary institution from inquiring about a student's ability to meet licensure
 requirements in a professional program after making an offer of admission.
 - Subd. 5. Limitation on admissibility. (a) A postsecondary institution that complies with this section is immune from liability in a civil action arising out of the institution's decision to admit a student with a criminal history or the institution's failure to conduct a criminal background check.
- 7.26 (b) Nothing in this section creates or establishes a legal duty upon a postsecondary
 7.27 institution to inquire into or require disclosure of the criminal history or criminal convictions
 7.28 of a student or an applicant for admission.
- 7.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.121, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 7.31 Subd. 2. **Eligibility.** To be eligible each year for the program a student must:
- 7.32 (1) be enrolled in an undergraduate certificate, diploma, or degree program at the
 T.33 University of Minnesota or a Minnesota state college or university;

7.3

7.4

7.5

7.6

7.7

7.8

7.9

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.22

7.23

7.24

8.1	(2) be either (i) a Minnesota resident for resident tuition purposes who is an enrolled
8.2	member or citizen of a federally recognized American Indian Tribe or Canadian First Nation,
8.3	or (ii) an enrolled member or citizen of a Minnesota Tribal Nation, regardless of resident
8.4	tuition status; and
8.5	(3) have not (i) obtained a baccalaureate degree, or (ii) been enrolled for 180 credits 12
8.6	semesters or the equivalent, excluding courses taken that qualify as developmental education
8.7	or below college-level-; and
8.8	(4) meet satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101, subdivision
8.9	<u>10.</u>
8.10	Sec. 3. [135A.144] TRANSCRIPT ACCESS.
8.11	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) The terms defined in this subdivision apply to this section.
8.12	(b) "Debt" means any money, obligation, claim, or sum, due or owed, or alleged to be
8.13	due or owed, from a student. Debt does not include the fee, if any, charged to all students
8.14	for the actual costs of providing the transcripts.
8.15	(c) "School" means a public institution governed by the Board of Trustees of the
8.16	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, private postsecondary educational institution
8.17	as defined under section 136A.62 or 136A.821, or public or private entity that is responsible
8.18	for providing transcripts to current or former students of an educational institution.
8.19	Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are requested
8.20	to comply with this section.
8.21	(d) "Transcript" means the statement of an individual's academic record, including
8.22	official transcripts or the certified statement of an individual's academic record provided
8.23	by a school, and unofficial transcripts or the uncertified statement of an individual's academic
8.24	record provided by a school.
8.25	Subd. 2. Prohibited practices. (a) A school must not refuse to provide a transcript for
8.26	a current or former student because the student owes a debt to the school if:
8.27	(1) the debt owed is less than \$1,000;
8.28	(2) the student has entered into and, as determined by the institution, is in compliance
8.29	with a payment plan with the school;
8.30	(3) the transcript request is made by a prospective employer for the student;

(4) the school has sent the debt for repayment to the Department of Revenue or to a
collection agency, as defined in section 332.31, subdivision 3, external to the institution
and the debt has not been returned to the institution unpaid; or
(5) the person is incarcerated at a Minnesota correctional facility.
(b) A school must not charge an additional or higher fee for obtaining a transcript or
provide less favorable treatment of a transcript request because a student owes a debt to the
originating school.
Subd. 3. Institutional policy. (a) A school that uses transcript issuance as a tool for debt
collection must have a policy accessible to students that outlines how the school collects
on debts owed to the school.
(b) A school shall seek to use transcript issuance as a tool for debt collection for the
fewest number of cases possible and in a manner that allows for the quickest possible
resolution of the debt benefitting the student's educational progress.
Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 135A.15, as amended by Laws 2023, chapter 52,
article 5, section 79, is amended to read:
135A.15 <u>CAMPUS</u> SEXUAL HARASSMENT AND VIOLENCE <u>MISCONDUCT</u>
POLICY.
Subdivision 1. Applicability; policy required. (a) This section applies to the following
postsecondary institutions:
(1) institutions governed by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and
Universities; and
(2) private postsecondary institutions that offer in-person courses on a campus located
in Minnesota and which are eligible institutions as defined in section 136A.103, provided
that a private postsecondary institution with a systemwide enrollment of fewer than 100
students in the previous academic year is exempt from subdivisions 4 to 10 paragraph (a),
that are participating in the federal program under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of
1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended.
Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are
requested to comply with this section.
(b) A postsecondary institution must adopt a clear, understandable written policy on
sexual harassment and sexual violence misconduct that informs victims of their rights under
the crime victims hill of rights, including the right to assistance from the Crime Victims

Reimbursement Board and the commissioner of public safety. The policy must apply to students and employees and must provide information about their rights and duties. The policy must apply to criminal incidents against a student or employee of a postsecondary institution occurring on property owned or leased by the postsecondary system or institution or at any activity, program, organization, or event sponsored by the system or institution, or by a fraternity and or sorority, or any activity, program, organization, or event sponsored by the system or institution, or by a fraternity or sorority, regardless of whether the activity, program, organization, or event occurs on or off property owned or leased by the postsecondary system or institution. It must include procedures for reporting incidents of sexual harassment or sexual violence misconduct and for disciplinary actions against violators. During student registration, a postsecondary institution shall provide each student with information regarding its policy. A copy of the policy also shall be posted at appropriate locations on campus at all times.

- Subd. 1a. Sexual assault definition Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
- (b) "Advisor" means a person who is selected by a responding or reporting party to serve as a support during a campus investigation and disciplinary process. This person may be 10.17 an attorney. An advisor serves as a support to a party by offering comfort or attending 10.18 meetings. 10.19
 - (c) "Domestic violence" has the meaning giving in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.
 - (b) (d) "Incident" means one report of sexual assault misconduct to a postsecondary institution, regardless of the number of complainants included in the report, the number of respondents included in the report, and whether or not the identity of any party is known by the reporting postsecondary institution. Incident encompasses all nonconsensual events included within one report if multiple events have been identified.
 - (e) "Intimate partner violence" means any physical or sexual harm or a pattern of any other coercive behavior committed, enabled, or solicited to gain or maintain power and control over a victim, including verbal, psychological, economic, or technological abuse that may or may not constitute criminal behavior against an individual, that may be classified as a sexual misconduct, dating violence, or domestic violence caused by:
 - (1) a current or former spouse of the individual; or
- (2) a person in a sexual or romantic relationship with the individual. 10.32

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

(f) "Nonconsensual dissemination of sexual images" has the meaning given in sec	ction
<u>617.261.</u>	
(g) "Reporting party" means the party in a disciplinary proceeding who has report	<u>ted</u>
being subjected to conduct or communication that could constitute sexual misconduc	<u>:t.</u>
(h) "Responding party" means the party in a disciplinary proceeding who has been	<u>:n</u>
reported to be the perpetrator of conduct or communication that could constitute sexu	<u>ual</u>
misconduct.	
(e) (i) "Sexual assault" means rape, sex offenses - fondling, sex offenses - incest, of	or sex
offenses - statutory rape as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, part 668, su	ıbpar
D, appendix A, as amended.	
(j) "Sexual extortion" has the meaning given in section 609.3458.	
(k) "Sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.	
(l) "Sexual harassment" has the meaning given in section 363A.03, subdivision 43	<u>3.</u>
(m) "Sexual misconduct" means an incident of sexual violence, intimate partner viol	lence
domestic violence, sexual assault, sexual harassment, nonconsensual distribution of s	exua
images, sexual extortion, nonconsensual dissemination of a deepfake depicting intim	ate
parts or sexual acts, sex trafficking, or stalking.	
(n) "Stalking" has the meaning given in section 609.749.	
Subd. 2. Victims' rights. (a) The policy required under subdivision 1 shall, at a minim	mum
require that students and employees be informed of the policy, and shall include provi	isions
for:	
(1) filing criminal charges with local law enforcement officials in sexual assault of	cases
defined as sexual misconduct that may constitute criminal behavior;	
(2) the prompt assistance of campus authorities, at the request of the victim, in noti	ifying
the appropriate law enforcement officials and disciplinary authorities of a sexual asse	ault
misconduct incident;	
(3) allowing sexual assault misconduct victims to decide whether to report a case to	o law
enforcement or not report altogether; participate in a campus investigation, disciplina	ary
proceeding, or nondisciplinary informal resolution; or not participate altogether;	
(4) requiring campus authorities to treat sexual assault misconduct victims with dig	gnity

12.1	(5) requiring campus authorities to offer sexual assault misconduct victims fair and
12.2	respectful health care, counseling services, or referrals to such services;
12.3	(6) preventing campus authorities from suggesting to a victim of sexual assault
12.4	misconduct that the victim is at fault for the crimes or violations that occurred;
12.5	(7) preventing campus authorities from suggesting to a victim of sexual assault
12.6	misconduct that the victim should have acted in a different manner to avoid such a crime;
12.7	(8) subject to subdivision subdivisions 2a and 10, protecting the privacy of sexual assault
12.8	misconduct victims by only disclosing data collected under this section to the victim, persons
12.9	whose work assignments reasonably require access, and, at a sexual assault misconduct
12.10	victim's request, police conducting a criminal investigation;
12.11	(9) an investigation and resolution of a sexual assault misconduct complaint by campus
12.12	disciplinary authorities;
12.13	(10) a sexual assault misconduct victim's participation in and the presence of the victim's
12.14	attorney or other support person who is not a fact witness to the sexual assault advisor at
12.15	any meeting with campus officials concerning the victim's sexual assault misconduct
12.16	complaint or campus disciplinary proceeding concerning a sexual assault misconduct
12.17	complaint;
12.18	(11) ensuring that a sexual assault misconduct victim may decide when to repeat a
12.19	description of the incident of sexual assault misconduct;
12.20	(12) notice to a sexual assault misconduct victim of the availability of a campus or local
12.21	program providing sexual assault victim advocacy services and information on free legal
12.22	resources and services;
12.23	(13) notice to a sexual assault misconduct victim of the outcome of any campus
12.24	disciplinary proceeding concerning a sexual assault misconduct complaint, consistent with
12.25	laws relating to data practices;
12.26	(14) the complete and prompt assistance of campus authorities, at the direction of law
12.27	enforcement authorities, in obtaining, securing, and maintaining evidence in connection
12.28	with a sexual assault misconduct incident;
12.29	(15) the assistance of campus authorities, at the request of the sexual misconduct victim,
12.30	in preserving for a sexual assault complainant or victim materials relevant to a campus
12.31	disciplinary proceeding;

(16) during and after the process of investigating a complaint and conducting a campus
disciplinary procedure, the assistance of campus personnel, in cooperation with the
appropriate law enforcement authorities, at a sexual assault misconduct victim's request, in
shielding the victim from unwanted contact with the alleged assailant, including transfer of
the victim to alternative classes or to alternative college-owned housing, if alternative classes
or housing are available and feasible;
(17) forbidding retaliation, and establishing a process for investigating complaints of

- (17) forbidding retaliation, and establishing a process for investigating complaints of retaliation, against sexual <u>assault misconduct</u> victims by campus authorities, the accused, organizations affiliated with the accused, other students, and other employees;
- (18) at the request of the victim, providing students who reported sexual assaults misconduct to the institution and subsequently choose to transfer to another postsecondary institution with information about resources for victims of sexual assault misconduct at the institution to which the victim is transferring; and
- (19) consistent with laws governing access to student records, providing a student who reported an incident of sexual <u>assault misconduct</u> with access to the student's description of the incident as it was reported to the institution, including if that student transfers to another postsecondary institution.
- (b) None of the rights given to a student by the policy required by subdivision 1 may be made contingent upon the victim entering into a nondisclosure agreement or other contract restricting the victim's ability to discuss information in connection with a sexual misconduct complaint, investigation, or hearing.
- (c) A nondisclosure agreement or other contract restricting the victim's ability to discuss information in connection with a sexual misconduct complaint, investigation, or hearing may not be used as a condition of financial aid or remedial action.
- Subd. 2a. Campus investigation and disciplinary hearing procedures. (a) A postsecondary institution must provide a reporting party an opportunity for an impartial, timely, and thorough investigation of a report of sexual misconduct against a student. If an investigation reveals that sexual misconduct has occurred, the institution must take prompt and effective steps reasonably calculated to end the sexual misconduct, prevent its recurrence, and, as appropriate, remedy its effects.
- (b) Throughout any investigation or disciplinary proceeding, a postsecondary institution must treat the reporting parties, responding parties, witnesses, and other participants in the proceeding with dignity and respect.

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

13.32

(c) If a postsecondary institution conducts a hearing, an advisor may provide opening and closing remarks on behalf of a party or assist with formulating questions to the other party or witnesses about related evidence or credibility.

- Subd. 3. **Uniform amnesty.** The sexual harassment and violence misconduct policy required by subdivision 1 must include a provision that a witness or victim of an incident of sexual assault misconduct who reports the incident in good faith shall not be sanctioned by the institution for admitting in the report to a violation of the institution's student conduct policy on the personal use of drugs or alcohol.
- Subd. 4. Coordination with local law enforcement. (a) A postsecondary institution must enter into a memorandum of understanding with the primary local law enforcement agencies that serve its campus. The memorandum must be entered into no later than January 1, 2017, and updated every two years thereafter. This memorandum shall clearly delineate responsibilities and require information sharing, in accordance with applicable state and federal privacy laws, about certain crimes including, but not limited to, sexual assault. This memorandum of understanding shall provide:
 - (1) delineation and sharing protocols of investigative responsibilities;
- 14.17 (2) protocols for investigations, including standards for notification and communication 14.18 and measures to promote evidence preservation; and
 - (3) a method of sharing information about specific crimes, when directed by the victim, and a method of sharing crime details anonymously in order to better protect overall campus safety.
 - (b) Prior to the start of each academic year, a postsecondary institution shall distribute an electronic copy of the memorandum of understanding to all employees on the campus that are subject to the memorandum.
 - (c) An institution is exempt from the requirement that it develop a memorandum of understanding under this section if the institution and local or county law enforcement agencies establish a sexual <u>assault misconduct</u> protocol team to facilitate effective cooperation and collaboration between the institution and law enforcement.
 - Subd. 5. **Online reporting system.** (a) A postsecondary institution must provide an online reporting system to receive complaints of sexual harassment and sexual violence misconduct from students and employees. The system must permit anonymous reports, provided that the institution is not obligated to investigate an anonymous report unless a

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

14.5

14.6

14.7

14.8

14.9

14.10

14.11

14.12

14.13

14.14

14.15

14.16

14.19

14.20

14.21

14.22

14.23

14.24

14.25

14.26

14.27

14.28

14.29

14.30

14.31

formal report is submitted through the process established in the institution's sexual harassment and sexual violence misconduct policy.

- (b) A postsecondary institution must provide students making reports under this subdivision with information about who will receive and have access to the reports filed, how the information gathered through the system will be used, and contact information for on-campus and off-campus organizations serving victims of sexual violence misconduct.
- (c) Data collected under this subdivision is classified as private data on individuals as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12. Postsecondary institutions not otherwise subject to chapter 13 must limit access to the data to only the data subject and persons whose work assignments reasonably require access.
- Subd. 6. **Data collection and reporting.** (a) Postsecondary institutions must annually report statistics on sexual <u>assault misconduct</u>. This report must be prepared in addition to any federally required reporting on campus security, including reports required by the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act, United States Code, title 20, section 1092(f). The report must include, but not be limited to, the number of incidents of sexual <u>assault misconduct of each offense listed under the definition in subdivision 1a, reported to the institution in the previous calendar year, as follows:</u>
 - (1) the number that were investigated by the institution;
- 15.19 (2) the number that were referred for a disciplinary proceeding at the institution;
- 15.20 (3) the number the victim chose to report to local or state law enforcement;
- 15.21 (4) the number for which a campus disciplinary proceeding is pending, but has not reached a final resolution;
 - (5) the number in which the alleged perpetrator was found responsible by the disciplinary proceeding at the institution;
- 15.25 (6) the number that resulted in any action by the institution greater than a warning issued to the accused;
- 15.27 (7) the number that resulted in a disciplinary proceeding at the institution that closed without resolution;
- 15.29 (8) the number that resulted in a disciplinary proceeding at the institution that closed without resolution because the accused withdrew from the institution;
- 15.31 (9) the number that resulted in a disciplinary proceeding at the institution that closed without resolution because the victim chose not to participate in the procedure; and

15.1

15.2

15.3

15.4

15.5

15.6

15.7

15.8

15.9

15.10

15.11

15.12

15.13

15.14

15.15

15.16

15.17

15.18

15.23

(10) the number of reports made through the online reporting system established in subdivision 5, excluding reports submitted anonymously.

- (b) If an institution previously submitted a report indicating that one or more disciplinary proceedings was pending, but had not reached a final resolution, and one or more of those disciplinary proceedings reached a final resolution within the previous calendar year, that institution must submit updated totals from the previous year that reflect the outcome of the pending case or cases.
- (c) The reports required by this subdivision must be submitted to the Office of Higher Education by October 1 of each year. Each report must contain the data required under paragraphs (a) and (b) from the previous calendar year.
- (d) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall calculate statewide numbers for each data item reported by an institution under this subdivision. The statewide numbers must include data from postsecondary institutions that the commissioner could not publish due to federal laws governing access to student records.
 - (e) The Office of Higher Education shall publish on its website:
 - (1) the statewide data calculated under paragraph (d); and
- 16.17 (2) the data items required under paragraphs (a) and (b) for each postsecondary institution in the state.
 - Each postsecondary institution shall publish on the institution's website the data items required under paragraphs (a) and (b) for that institution.
 - (f) Reports and data required under this subdivision must be prepared and published as summary data, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 19, and must be consistent with applicable law governing access to educational data. If an institution or the Office of Higher Education does not publish data because of applicable law, the publication must explain why data are not included.
- Subd. 7. Access to data; audit trail. (a) Data on incidents of sexual assault misconduct shared with campus security officers or campus administrators responsible for investigating or adjudicating complaints of sexual assault misconduct are classified as private data on individuals as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12, for the purposes of postsecondary institutions subject to the requirements of chapter 13. Postsecondary institutions not otherwise subject to chapter 13 must limit access to the data to only the data subject and persons whose work assignments reasonably require access.

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

(b) Only individuals with explicit authorization from an institution may enter, update, or access electronic data related to an incident of sexual assault misconduct collected, created, or maintained under this section. The ability of authorized individuals to enter, update, or access these data must be limited through the use of role-based access that corresponds to the official duties or training level of the individual and the institutional authorization that grants access for that purpose. All actions in which the data related to an incident of sexual assault misconduct are entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated outside of the institution must be recorded in a data audit trail. An institution shall immediately and permanently revoke the authorization of any individual determined to have willfully entered, updated, accessed, shared, or disseminated data in violation of this subdivision or any provision of chapter 13. If an individual is determined to have willfully gained access to data without explicit authorization, the matter shall be forwarded to a county attorney for prosecution.

Subd. 8. Comprehensive training. (a) A postsecondary institution must provide campus security officers and campus administrators responsible for investigating or adjudicating complaints of sexual assault misconduct with comprehensive training on preventing and responding to sexual assault misconduct in collaboration with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension or another law enforcement agency with expertise in criminal sexual conduct. The training for campus security officers shall include a presentation on the dynamics of sexual assault, neurobiological responses to trauma, and best practices for preventing, responding to, and investigating sexual assault misconduct. The training for campus administrators responsible for investigating or adjudicating complaints on sexual assault misconduct shall include presentations on preventing sexual assault misconduct, responding to incidents of sexual assault misconduct, the dynamics of sexual assault, neurobiological responses to trauma, and compliance with state and federal laws on sexual assault misconduct.

- (b) The following categories of students who attend, or will attend, one or more courses on campus or will participate in on-campus activities must be provided sexual assault misconduct training:
 - (1) students pursuing a degree or certificate;
- 17.30 (2) students who are taking courses through the Postsecondary Enrollment Options Act; 17.31 and
- 17.32 (3) any other categories of students determined by the institution.
- 17.33 Students must complete such training no later than ten business days after the start of a 17.34 student's first semester of classes. Once a student completes the training, institutions must

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

document the student's completion of the training and provide proof of training completion to a student at the student's request. Students enrolled at more than one institution within the same system at the same time are only required to complete the training once.

The training shall include information about topics including but not limited to sexual assault misconduct as defined in subdivision 1a; consent as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 4; preventing and reducing the prevalence of sexual assault misconduct; procedures for reporting campus sexual assault misconduct; and campus resources on sexual assault misconduct, including organizations that support victims of sexual assault misconduct.

- (c) A postsecondary institution shall annually train individuals responsible for responding to reports of sexual <u>assault misconduct</u>. This training shall include information about best practices for interacting with victims of sexual <u>assault misconduct</u>, including how to reduce the emotional distress resulting from the reporting, investigatory, and disciplinary process.
- (d) To the extent possible, trainings must be culturally responsive and address the unique experiences and challenges faced by students based on race, ethnicity, color, national origin, disability, socioeconomic status, religion, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, and pregnancy or parenting status.
- Subd. 9. **Student health services.** (a) An institution's student health service providers must screen students for incidents of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct. Student health service providers shall offer students information on resources available to victims and survivors of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct including counseling, mental health services, and procedures for reporting incidents to the institution.
- (b) Each institution offering student health or counseling services must designate an existing staff member or existing staff members as confidential resources for victims of sexual violence or sexual harassment misconduct. The confidential resource must be available to meet with victims of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct. The confidential resource must provide victims with information about locally available resources for victims of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct including, but not limited to, mental health services and legal assistance. The confidential resource must provide victims with information about the process for reporting an incident of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct to campus authorities or local law enforcement. The victim shall decide whether to report an incident of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct to campus authorities or local law enforcement. Confidential resources must be trained in all aspects of responding to incidents of sexual violence and sexual harassment misconduct including, but not limited to, best practices for interacting with victims of trauma, preserving

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

18.33

evidence, campus disciplinary and local legal processes, and locally available resources for 19.1 victims. Data shared with a confidential resource is classified as sexual assault 19.2 communication data as defined by section 13.822, subdivision 1. 19.3 Subd. 10. Applicability of other laws. This section does not exempt mandatory reporters 19.4 from the requirements of section 626.557 or chapter 260E governing the reporting of 19.5 maltreatment of minors or vulnerable adults. Nothing in this section limits the authority of 19.6 19.7 an institution to comply with other applicable state or federal laws related to investigations 19.8 or reports of sexual harassment, sexual violence, or sexual assault misconduct. **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2025. 19.9 Sec. 5. [135A.1581] NAVIGATORS FOR PARENTING STUDENTS. 19.10 Subdivision 1. Applicability. (a) This section applies to the following postsecondary 19.11 institutions: 19.12 19.13 (1) institutions governed by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; and 19.14 19.15 (2) private postsecondary institutions that offer in-person courses on a campus located in Minnesota and which are eligible institutions as defined in section 136A.103. 19.16 (b) Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are 19.17 requested to comply with this section. 19.18 Subd. 2. **Definitions.** (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the 19.19 meanings given. 19.20 (b) "Institutions of higher education" means an institution of higher education under 19.21 subdivision 1. 19.22 (c) "Parenting student" means a student enrolled at an institution of higher education 19.23 who is the parent or legal guardian of or can claim as a dependent a child under the age of 19.24 18. 19.25 19.26 Subd. 3. Navigators. An institution of higher education must designate at least one employee of the institution to act as a college navigator for current or incoming students at 19.27 the institution who are parenting students. The navigator must provide to the students 19.28 information regarding support services and other resources available to the students at the 19.29 19.30 institution, including: (1) medical and behavioral health coverage and services; 19.31

20.1	(2) public benefit programs, including programs related to food security, affordable
20.2	housing, and housing subsidies;
20.3	(3) parenting and child care resources;
20.4	(4) employment assistance;
20.5	(5) transportation assistance; and
20.6	(6) any other resources developed by the institution to assist the students, including
20.7	student academic success strategies.
20.8	Subd. 4. Report. (a) By June 30, 2026, an institution of higher education must establish
20.9	a process for collecting the parenting status of each enrolled student. By November 30,
20.10	2026, the Office of Higher Education shall establish a process for collecting this information
20.11	from institutions.
20.12	(b) Annually, beginning January 15, 2028, the Office of Higher Education must submit
20.13	a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
20.14	jurisdiction over higher education and children, youth, and families. The report must include
20.15	the following for parenting students:
20.16	(1) summary demographic data;
20.17	(2) enrollment patterns;
20.18	(3) retention rates;
20.19	(4) completion rates;
20.20	(5) average cumulative debt at exit or graduation as possible; and
20.21	(6) time to completion.
20.22	Data must be disaggregated by institution, academic year, race and ethnicity, gender, and
20.23	other factors determined to be relevant by the commissioner.
20.24	Sec. 6. [135A.1582] PROTECTIONS FOR PREGNANT AND PARENTING
20.25	STUDENTS.
20.23	
20.26	Subdivision 1. Definition. (a) For the purpose of this section, the following term has
20.27	the meaning given.
20.28	(b) "Parenting student" means a student enrolled at a public college or university who
20.29	is the parent or legal guardian of or can claim as a dependent a child under the age of 18.

21.1	Subd. 2. Rights and protections. (a) A Minnesota state college or university may not
21.2	require and the University of Minnesota is requested not to require a pregnant or parenting
21.3	student, solely because of the student's status as a pregnant or parenting student or due to
21.4	issues related to the student's pregnancy or parenting, to:
21.5	(1) take a leave of absence or withdraw from the student's degree or certificate program;
21.6	(2) limit the student's studies;
21.7	(3) participate in an alternative program;
21.8	(4) change the student's major, degree, or certificate program; or
21.9	(5) refrain from joining or cease participating in any course, activity, or program at the
21.10	college or university.
21.11	(b) A Minnesota state college or university shall provide and the University of Minnesota
21.12	is requested to provide reasonable modifications to a pregnant student, including
21.13	modifications that:
21.14	(1) would be provided to a student with a temporary medical condition; or
21.15	(2) are related to the health and safety of the student and the student's unborn child, such
21.16	as allowing the student to maintain a safe distance from substances, areas, and activities
21.17	known to be hazardous to pregnant women or unborn children.
21.18	(c) A Minnesota state college or university must and the University of Minnesota is
21.19	requested to, for reasons related to a student's pregnancy, childbirth, or any resulting medical
21.20	status or condition:
21.21	(1) excuse the student's absence;
21.22	(2) allow the student to make up missed assignments or assessments;
21.23	(3) allow the student additional time to complete assignments in the same manner as the
21.24	institution allows for a student with a temporary medical condition; and
21.25	(4) provide the student with access to instructional materials and video recordings of
21.26	lectures for classes for which the student has an excused absence under this section to the
21.27	same extent that instructional materials and video recordings of lectures are made available
21.28	to any other student with an excused absence.
21.29	(d) A Minnesota state college or university must and the University of Minnesota is
21.30	requested to allow a pregnant or parenting student to:
21.31	(1) take a leave of absence; and

22.1	(2) if in good academic standing at the time the student takes a leave of absence, return
22.2	to the student's degree or certificate program in good academic standing without being
22.3	required to reapply for admission.
22.4	(e) If a public college or university provides early registration for courses or programs
22.5	at the institution for any group of students, the Minnesota state college or university must
22.6	provide and the University of Minnesota is requested to provide early registration for those
22.7	courses or programs for pregnant or parenting students in the same manner.
22.8	Subd. 3. Policy on discrimination. Each Minnesota state college or university must
22.9	adopt and the University of Minnesota is requested to adopt a policy for students on
22.10	pregnancy and parenting discrimination. The policy must:
22.11	(1) include the contact information of the Title IX coordinator who is the designated
22.12	point of contact for a student requesting each protection or modification under this section.
22.13	Contact information must include the Title IX coordinator's name, phone number, email,
22.14	and office;
22.15	(2) be posted in an easily accessible, straightforward format on the college or university's
22.16	website; and
22.17	(3) be made available annually to faculty, staff, and employees of the college or
22.18	university.
22.19	Subd. 4. Administration. The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education must,
22.20	in consultation with the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
22.21	and the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, establish guidelines, as necessary,
22.22	to administer this section. The guidelines must establish minimum periods for which a
22.23	pregnant or parenting student must be given a leave of absence under subdivision 2, paragraph
22.24	(d). In establishing the minimum periods, the Office of Higher Education shall consider the
22.25	maximum amount of time a student may be absent without significantly interfering with
22.26	the student's ability to complete the student's degree or certificate program.
22.27	Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.161, is amended by adding a
22.28	subdivision to read:
22.29	Subd. 5. Reporting. The director must evaluate the development and implementation
22.30	of the Minnesota inclusive higher education initiatives receiving a grant under section
22.31	135A.162. The director must submit an annual report by October 1 on the progress to expand
22.32	Minnesota inclusive higher education options for students with intellectual disabilities to
22.32	the commissioner and chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
44.33	are commissioner and chans and ranking inflicitly incliners of the registative committees

23.1	with jurisdiction over higher education policy and finance. The report must include statutory
23.2	and budget recommendations.
23.3	Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.162, subdivision 2, is amended
23.4	to read:
23.5	Subd. 2. Eligible grantees. A Tribal college or public or nonprofit postsecondary
23.6	two-year or four-year institution is eligible to apply for a grant under this section if the
23.7	institution:
23.8	(1) is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission; and
23.9	(2) meets the eligibility requirements under section 136A.103.
23.10	Sec. 9. [135A.163] STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES; ACCOMMODATIONS;
23.11	GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.
23.12	Subdivision 1. Short title. This act may be cited as the "Minnesota Respond, Innovate,
23.13	Succeed, and Empower (RISE) Act."
23.14	Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
23.15	meanings given.
23.16	(b) "Institution of higher education" means a public institution of higher education,
23.17	Tribal college, and private institution of higher education that receives federal funding. The
23.18	Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this section.
23.19	(c) "Plain language" means communication the audience can understand the first time
23.20	the audience reads or hears it.
23.21	(d) "Student with a disability" means an admitted or enrolled student who meets the
23.22	definition of an individual with a disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act and
23.23	includes a student with an intellectual disability as defined in Code of Federal Regulations,
23.24	title 34, section 668.231, who is admitted or enrolled in a comprehensive transition and
23.25	postsecondary program.
23.26	Subd. 3. Students with disabilities policy; dissemination of policy. (a) Each institution
23.27	of higher education shall adopt a policy making self-disclosure by a student with a disability
23.28	sufficient to start the interactive process for reasonable accommodations under subdivision
23.29	<u>4.</u>
23.30	(b) The policy adopted under this section must be transparent and explicit. The policy
23 31	must include information describing the process by which the institution of higher education

24.1	determines eligibility for accommodations for an individual with a disability and information
24.2	about the disability resource center and other areas within the institution that provide student
24.3	accommodations, such as housing and residence life. Each institution of higher education
24.4	shall disseminate the information to applicants, students, parents, and faculty in plain
24.5	language and in accessible formats. The information must be available during the student
24.6	application process, during student orientation, in academic catalogs, and on the institution's
24.7	public website.
24.8	Subd. 4. Establishment of reasonable accommodation; documentation. (a) An
24.9	institution of higher education shall engage in an interactive process to document the student's
24.10	accommodation needs to establish a reasonable accommodation. An institution may request
24.11	documentation as part of the interactive process to establish accommodations for the student
24.12	with a disability.
24.13	(b) The following documentation submitted by an admitted or enrolled student is
24.14	sufficient documentation for the interactive process to establish reasonable accommodations
24.15	for a student with a disability:
24.16	(1) documentation that the individual has had an individualized education program (IEP).
24.17	The institution of higher education may request additional documentation from an individual
24.18	who has had an IEP if the IEP was not in effect immediately before the date when the
24.19	individual exited high school;
24.20	(2) documentation that the individual has received services or accommodations under
24.21	a section 504 plan. The institution of higher education may request additional documentation
24.22	from an individual who has received services or accommodations provided to the individual
24.23	under a section 504 plan if the section 504 plan was not in effect immediately before the
24.24	date when the individual exited high school;
24.25	(3) documentation of a plan or record of service for the individual from a private school,
24.26	a local educational agency, a state educational agency, or an institution of higher education
24.27	provided under a section 504 plan or in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities
24.28	Act of 1990;
24.29	(4) a record or evaluation from an appropriately qualified health or other service
24.30	professional who is knowledgeable about the individual's condition, finding that the
24.31	individual has a disability;
24.32	(5) a plan or record of a disability from another institution of higher education;
24.33	(6) documentation of a disability due to military service; or

25.1	(7) additional information from an appropriately qualified health or other service
25.2	professional who is knowledgeable about the student's condition and can clarify the need
25.3	for a new accommodation not included in subdivision 4, paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (6).
25.4	(c) An institution of higher education may establish less burdensome criteria to determine
25.5	reasonable accommodations for an enrolled or admitted student with a disability.
25.6	(d) An institution of higher education shall include a representative list of potential
25.7	reasonable accommodations and disability resources for individuals with a disability that
25.8	is accessible to applicants, students, parents, and faculty in plain language and in accessible
25.9	formats. The information must be provided during the student application process, during
25.10	student orientation, in academic catalogs, and on the institution's public website. The
25.11	reasonable accommodations and disability resources available to students are individualized
25.12	and not limited to the list.
25.13	Subd. 5. Higher education requirements for students with disabilities. Institutions
25.14	of higher education shall:
25.15	(1) before the beginning of each academic term, offer an opportunity for admitted students
25.16	to self-identify as having a disability for which they may request an accommodation. The
25.17	person or office responsible for arranging accommodations at the institution must initiate
25.18	contact with any student who has self-identified under this clause. This does not preclude
25.19	a student from requesting an accommodation for a disability at any other time;
25.20	(2) not require a student to be reevaluated for or submit documentation to prove the
25.21	presence of a permanent disability if the student previously provided proof of their disability
25.22	status and is not requesting any new accommodations;
25.23	(3) provide the student's accommodation letter to the student's instructors, if the student
25.24	gives affirmative permission to share the information, and, if requested by the student,
25.25	facilitate communication between the student and the student's instructors;
25.26	(4) if a course instructor cannot provide an accommodation because it would
25.27	fundamentally alter the nature of that course, require an instructor to provide a notification
25.28	detailing why an accommodation cannot be provided to the student and submit that
25.29	information to the student and the person or office responsible for arranging accommodations;
25.30	<u>and</u>
25.31	(5) provide a student with a disability who is denied accommodations the option to
25.32	include the person or office responsible for arranging accommodations in the institution's

26.1	grievance or appeal process, to resolve equitable access barriers and prevent academic or
26.2	financial penalty due to no fault of the student.
26.3	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
26.4	Sec. 10. [135A.195] REQUIREMENTS RELATED TO ONLINE PROGRAM
26.5	MANAGEMENT COMPANIES.
26.6	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
26.7	the meanings given.
26.8	(b) "Contract" means an agreement entered into by an institution of higher education
26.9	with an online program management company. Contract includes any amendment or
26.10	addendum to the agreement.
26.11	(c) "Institution of higher education" means an institution governed by either the Board
26.12	of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities or the Board of Regents of the
26.13	University of Minnesota. The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested
26.14	to comply with this section.
26.15	(d) "Managed program" means an online course or program that is fully delivered online
26.16	in a virtual space.
26.17	(e) "Online program management company" means a private, for-profit, third-party
26.18	entity that enters into a contract with an institution of higher education to provide bundled
26.19	products and services to develop, deliver, or provide managed programs, when the services
26.20	provided include recruitment and marketing.
26.21	(f) "Tuition sharing" means compensation or payment to an online program management
26.22	company based on a percentage of revenue or fees collected from managed programs.
26.23	Subd. 2. Contract stipulations. A contract must not contain any provision that:
26.24	(1) includes or allows for tuition sharing;
26.25	(2) grants the online program management company ownership rights to any or all
26.26	intellectual property rights, patentable discoveries, or inventions of faculty members of an
26.27	institution of higher education; or
26.28	(3) grants the online program management company decision making authority over:
26.29	(i) curriculum development, design, or maintenance;
26.30	(ii) student assessment and grading;
26.31	(iii) course assessment;

27.1	(iv) admissions requirements;
27.2	(v) appointment of faculty;
27.3	(vi) faculty assessment;
27.4	(vii) decision to award course credit or credential; or
27.5	(viii) institutional governance.
27.6	Subd. 3. Mandatory contract review and approval. Prior to being executed, a contract
27.7	must be reviewed and approved by the institution of higher education's governing board.
27.8	The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this
27.9	subdivision. The review must include an analysis of the contract's compliance with
27.10	subdivision 2 prior to approval. A governing board must not approve a contract unless the
27.11	contract complies with subdivision 2.
27.12	Subd. 4. Reporting requirements. An institution of higher education that contracts
27.13	with an online program management company shall annually submit to the chairs and
27.14	ranking minority members of the committees in the senate and house of representatives
27.15	with jurisdiction over higher education finance an assessment and analysis that provides
27.16	for a rigorous review and monitoring of online program management. The Board of Regents
27.17	of the University of Minnesota is requested to comply with this subdivision. The report
27.18	must, at a minimum, include:
27.19	(1) a comparison of the actual enrollment and revenue and the enrollment and revenue
27.20	projections outlined in the financial pro forma;
27.21	(2) enrollment data reporting in 2026 and each year thereafter that includes measures
27.22	of student persistence and completion;
27.23	(3) evidence of good standing and engagement with the Higher Learning Commission
27.24	and any applicable specialized accreditors and licensing bodies, and evidence of any
27.25	approvals that may be required to offer courses and programs;
27.26	(4) an assessment of the degree to which the programs offered compete with similar
27.27	programs;
27.28	(5) a description and evidence of how institutions gather student feedback and student
27.29	complaints related to online program management courses and program offerings, and the
27.30	process for addressing any concerns and complaints; and
27 31	(6) the most recent compliance analysis under subdivision 3

28.1	Subd. 5. Marketing requirements. (a) An institution of higher education that retains
28.2	an online program management company to provide marketing services for its academic
28.3	degree programs shall require that:
28.4	(1) the online program management company must clearly disclose the third-party
28.5	relationship between the online program management company and the institution each
28.6	time it engages in recruitment or marketing activities for an academic program of the
28.7	institution; and
28.8	(2) all recruitment and marketing communications from the online program management
28.9	company receive prior approval from the institution.
28.10	(b) An institution of higher education that contracts with an online program management
28.11	company shall make publicly available on its website a list of the online programs that are
28.12	supported by the online program management company.
28.13	Subd. 6. Exemption. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (b), this section does
28.14	not apply to an addendum or amendment to a contract entered into by an institution of higher
28.15	education on or before July 1, 2023, that increases or decreases the number of managed
28.16	programs. This subdivision expires July 1, 2028.
28.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024, and applies to contracts
28.18	entered into on or after that date, subject to the exemption in subdivision 6.
28.19	Sec. 11. [136A.053] CONSOLIDATED STUDENT AID REPORTING.
28.20	(a) The commissioner of the Office of Higher Education shall report annually beginning
28.21	February 15, 2026, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
28.22	with jurisdiction over higher education, on the details of programs administered under
28.23	sections 136A.091 to 136A.1276, 136A.1465, and 136A.231 to 136A.246, including the:
28.24	(1) total funds appropriated and expended;
28.25	(2) total number of students applying for funds;
28.26	(3) total number of students receiving funds;
28.27	(4) average and total award amounts;
28.28	(5) summary demographic data on award recipients;
28.29	(6) retention rates of award recipients;
28.30	(7) completion rates of award recipients;
28.31	(8) average cumulative debt at exit or graduation; and

(9) average time to completion.

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.7

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

- (b) Data must be disaggregated by program, institution, aid year, race and ethnicity, gender, income, family type, dependency status, and any other factors determined to be relevant by the commissioner. The commissioner must report any additional data and outcomes relevant to the evaluation of programs administered under sections 136A.091 to 136A.1276, 136A.1465, and 136A.231 to 136A.246 as evidenced by activities funded under each program.
- Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.091, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 3. **Financial need.** Need for financial assistance is based on student eligibility for free or reduced-price school meals <u>under the national school lunch program</u>. Student eligibility shall be verified by sponsors of approved academic programs. The office shall award stipends for students within the limits of available appropriations for this section. If the amount appropriated is insufficient, the office shall allocate the available appropriation in the manner it determines. A stipend must not exceed \$1,000 per student.

Sec. 13. [136A.097] ORDER OF AID CALCULATIONS.

- The commissioner must calculate aid for programs in the order of their original enactment from oldest to most recent. The commissioner may determine the order of calculating state financial aid if:
- 29.19 (1) a student is eligible for multiple state financial aid programs; and
- 29.20 (2) two or more of those programs calculate funding after accounting for other state aid.

 29.21 If the commissioner determines that a greater amount of financial aid would be available

 29.22 to students by calculating aid in a particular order, the commissioner may calculate aid in
- 29.23 that order.
- Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.1241, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Eligibility.** (a) An individual who is eligible for the Education and Training
 Voucher Program is eligible for a foster grant.
- 29.27 (b) If the individual is not eligible for the Education and Training Voucher Program, in order to receive a foster grant, an individual must:
- 29.29 (1) meet the definition of a resident student under section 136A.101, subdivision 8;
- 29.30 (2) be at least 13 years of age but fewer than 27 years of age;

30.1	(3) after the individual's 13th birthday, be in or have been in foster care in Minnesota
30.2	before, on, or after June 27, 2021, including any of the following:
30.3	(i) placement in foster care at any time while 13 years of age or older;
30.4	(ii) adoption from foster care at any time after reaching 13 years of age; or
30.5	(iii) placement from foster care with a permanent legal custodian at any time after
30.6	reaching 13 years of age;
30.7	(4) have graduated from high school or completed the equivalent as approved by the
30.8	Department of Education;
30.9	(5) have been accepted for admission to, or be currently attending, an eligible institution
30.10	(6) have submitted a FAFSA; and
30.11	(7) be meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101,
30.12	subdivision 10 - ;
30.13	(8) not be in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational
30.14	<u>loan;</u>
30.15	(9) not be more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected
30.16	or enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the
30.17	applicant is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or
30.18	enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, be complying
30.19	with a written payment agreement under section 518A.69 or order for arrearages; and
30.20	(10) not have been convicted of or pled nolo contendere or guilty to a crime involving
30.21	fraud in obtaining federal Title IV funds within the meaning of Code of Federal Regulations
30.22	subtitle B, chapter VI, part 668, subpart C.
30.23	Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1241, subdivision 5, is
30.24	amended to read:
30.25	Subd. 5. Foster grant amount; payment; opt-out. (a) Each student shall be awarded
30.26	a foster grant based on the federal need analysis. Applicants are encouraged to apply for all
30.27	other sources of financial aid. The amount of the foster grant must be equal to the applicant's
30.28	recognized cost of attendance after accounting for:
30.29	(1) the results of the federal need analysis;
30.30	(2) the amount of a federal Pell Grant award for which the applicant is eligible;
30.31	(3) the amount of the state grant;

(4) the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant; 31.1 (5) the sum of all Tribal scholarships; 31.2 (6) the amount of any other state and federal gift aid; 31.3 (7) the Education and Training Voucher Program; 31.4 (8) extended foster care benefits under section 260C.451; 31.5 (9) the amount of any private grants or scholarships, excluding grants and scholarships 31.6 provided by the private institution of higher education in which the eligible student is 31.7 enrolled; and 31.8 (10) for public institutions, the sum of all institutional grants, scholarships, tuition 31.9 waivers, and tuition remission amounts. 31.10 (b) The foster grant shall be paid directly to the eligible institution where the student is 31.11 enrolled. 31.12 (c) An eligible private institution may opt out of participating in the foster grant program 31.13 established under this section. To opt out, the institution shall provide notice to the office 31.14 by March 1 for the next academic year. An institution that opts out of participating, but 31.15 participated in the program a previous year, must hold harmless currently enrolled recipients 31.16 by continuing to provide the benefit under paragraph (d) as long as the student remains 31.17 eligible. 31.18 (d) An eligible private institution that does not opt out under paragraph (c) and accepts 31.19 the student's application to attend the institution must provide institutional grants, 31.20 scholarships, tuition waivers, or tuition remission in an amount equal to the difference 31.21 between: 31.22 (1) the institution's cost of attendance as calculated under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), 31.23 31.24 clause (1); and (2) the sum of the foster grant under this subdivision and the sum of the amounts in 31.25 31.26 paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (9). (e) An undergraduate student who is eligible may apply for and receive a foster grant 31.27 in any year of undergraduate study unless the student has obtained a baccalaureate degree 31.28 or received foster grant funds for a period of ten full-time semesters or the equivalent for a 31.29 four-year undergraduate degree. A foster grant student enrolled in a two-year degree, 31.30

31.31

certificate, or diploma program may apply for and receive a foster grant in any year of

undergraduate study unless the student has obtained a baccalaureate degree or received 32.1 foster grant funds for a period of six full-time semesters or the equivalent. 32.2 (f) Foster grants may be awarded to an eligible student for four quarters, three semesters, 32.3 or the equivalent during the course of a single fiscal year. In calculating the award amount, 32.4 the office must use the same calculation it would for any other term. 32.5 (g) The commissioner shall establish a priority application deadline. 32.6 32.7 (h) If there is a projected shortfall in available resources, the commissioner must proportionately reduce awards to keep spending within available resources. 32.8 (i) Applicants applying after the priority deadline for whom the office has received a 32.9 completed application must be placed on a waiting list in order of application completion 32.10 date. Awards must be made on a first-come, first-served basis in the order complete 32.11 applications are received. Students who received the Fostering Independence Grant in the 32.12 previous year shall be given priority. If there are multiple applications with identical 32.13 completion dates, those applications must be further sorted by application receipt date. 32.14 Awards must be made to eligible students until the appropriation is expended. 32.15 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 1, is 32.16 amended to read: 32.17 32.18 Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** The following terms have the meanings given: (1) "eligible student" means a resident student under section 136A.101, subdivision 8, 32.19 who is enrolled in any public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college and 32.20 who meets the eligibility requirements in subdivision 2; 32.21 (2) "gift aid" means all includes: 32.22 (i) all federal financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program; 32.23 (ii) state financial aid, unless designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant 32.24 32.25 to a work-study program; (iii) institutional financial aid designated for the student's educational expenses, including 32.26 a grant, scholarship, tuition waiver, fellowship stipend, or other third-party payment, unless 32.27 32.28 designated for other expenses, that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program; and (iv) all private financial aid that is not a loan or pursuant to a work-study program. 32.29

.1	Financial aid from the state, public postsecondary educational institutions, and Tribal colleges
.2	that is specifically designated for other expenses is not gift aid for purposes of the North
.3	Star Promise scholarship.
.4	(3) "office" means the Office of Higher Education;
.5	(3) "other expenses" includes books, required supplies, child care, emergency assistance,
.6	food, and housing;
.7	(4) "public postsecondary educational institution" means an institution operated by this
.8	state, or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, or a Tribal college;
.9	(5) "recognized cost of attendance" has the meaning given in United States Code, title
.10	20, chapter 28, subchapter IV, part F, section 108711;
.11	(5) "scholarship" means funds to pay 100 percent of tuition and fees remaining after
.12	deducting grants and other scholarships;
.13	(6) "Tribal college" means a college defined in section 136A.1796, subdivision 1,
.14	paragraph (c); and
15	(7) "tuition and fees" means the actual tuition and mandatory fees charged by an
16	institution.
17	Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 2, is
.18	amended to read:
19	Subd. 2. Conditions for eligibility. A scholarship may be awarded to an eligible student
20	who:
21	(1) has completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the state
22	aid application;
23	(2) has a family adjusted gross income below \$80,000;
24	(3) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over
25	and has met all requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or university;
26	(3) (4) has not earned a baccalaureate degree at the time the scholarship is awarded;
27	(4) (5) is enrolled in at least one credit per fall, spring, or summer semester; and
8	(6) is enrolled in a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or
29	certificate;

34.1	(7) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational
34.2	<u>loan;</u>
34.3	(8) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or
34.4	enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant
34.5	is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced
34.6	by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, but is complying with a
34.7	written payment agreement under section 518A.69 or order for arrearages;
34.8	(9) has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere or guilty to a crime involving
34.9	fraud in obtaining federal Title IV funds within the meaning of Code of Federal Regulations,
34.10	subtitle B, chapter VI, part 668, subpart C; and
34.11	(5) (10) is meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined in section 136A.101,
34.12	subdivision 10.
34.13	Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 3, is
34.14	amended to read:
54.14	
34.15	Subd. 3. Scholarship. (a) Beginning in the <u>fall term of the</u> 2024-2025 academic year,
34.16	scholarships shall be awarded to eligible students in an amount not to exceed 100 percent
34.17	of tuition and fees after grants and other scholarships are gift aid is deducted.
34.18	(b) For the 2024-2025, 2025-2026, and 2026-2027 academic years, if funds remain after
34.19	scholarships are awarded under paragraph (a), supplemental grants shall be awarded to
34.20	eligible students in an amount equal to 100 percent of tuition and fees plus, subject to
34.21	available funds, up to 50 percent of the amount of a Pell grant the student would receive
34.22	based on household size, family adjusted gross income, and results of the federal needs
34.23	analysis after other gift aid is deducted, not to exceed the student's recognized cost of
34.24	attendance. The commissioner may adjust the supplemental grant amount based on the
34.25	availability of funds.
34.26	Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 4, is
34.27	amended to read:
34.28	Subd. 4. Maintain current levels of institutional assistance. (a) Commencing with
34.29	the 2024-2025 academic year, a public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal
34.30	<u>college</u> shall not reduce the institutional gift aid offered or awarded to a student who is
34.31	eligible to receive funds under this program unless the student's gift aid exceeds the student's
34 32	annual recognized cost of attendance

35.1	(b) The public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college may reduce the
35.2	institutional gift aid offer of a student who is eligible to receive funds under this program
35.3	by no more than the amount of the student's gift aid that is in excess of the student's annual
35.4	recognized cost of attendance.
35.5	(c) The public postsecondary educational institution or Tribal college shall not consider
35.6	receipt or anticipated receipt of funds under this program when considering a student for
35.7	qualification for institutional gift aid.
35.8	(d) To ensure financial aid is maximized, a public postsecondary educational institution
35.9	or Tribal college is encouraged to implement efforts to avoid scholarship displacement
35.10	through consultation with the Office of Higher Education and students to avoid situations
35.11	where institutional gift aid can only be used for specific purposes.
35.12	Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.1465, subdivision 5, is
35.13	amended to read:
35.14	Subd. 5. Duration of scholarship authorized; scholarship paid to institution. (a)
35.15	Each scholarship is for a period of one semester. A scholarship may be renewed provided
35.16	that the eligible student continues to meet the conditions of eligibility.
35.17	(b) Scholarships may be provided to an eligible student for up to 60 eredits for pursuing
35.18	the completion of a certificate or an associate degree and up to 120 credits for the completion
35.19	of a bachelor's degree who has not previously received the scholarship for four full-time
35.20	semesters or the equivalent. Scholarships may be provided to an eligible student pursuing
35.21	the completion of a bachelor's degree who has not previously received the scholarship for
35.22	eight full-time semesters or the equivalent. The maximum eredits for which a student is
35.23	eligible is a total of 120 credits eight full-time semesters or the equivalent. Courses taken
35.24	that qualify as developmental education or below college-level shall be excluded from the
35.25	<u>limit.</u>
35.26	(c) A student is entitled to an additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility
35.27	if the student withdraws from enrollment:
35.28	(1) for active military service because the student was ordered to active military service
35.29	as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5b or 5c;
35.30	(2) for a serious health condition, while under the care of a medical professional, that
35.31	substantially limits the student's ability to complete the term; or
35 32	(3) while providing care that substantially limits the student's ability to complete the

term to the student's spouse, child, or parent who has a serious health condition.

(c) The commissioner shall determine a time frame by which the eligible student must complete the credential.

- (d) The scholarship must be paid directly to the eligible institution where the student is enrolled.
- Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.1701, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Terms and conditions of loans.** (a) The office may loan money upon such terms and conditions as the office may prescribe.
 - (b) The minimum loan amount and a maximum loan amount to students must be determined annually by the office. Loan limits are defined based on the type of program enrollment, such as a certificate, an associate's degree, a bachelor's degree, or a graduate program. The aggregate principal amount of all loans made subject to this paragraph to a student as an undergraduate and graduate student must not exceed \$140,000. The amount of the loan must not exceed the cost of attendance as determined by the eligible institution less all other financial aid, including PLUS loans or other similar parent loans borrowed on the student's behalf. A student may borrow up to the maximum amount twice in the same grade level.
 - (c) The cumulative borrowing maximums must be determined annually by the office and are defined based on program enrollment. In determining the cumulative borrowing maximums, the office shall, among other considerations, take into consideration the maximum SELF loan amount, student financing needs, funding capacity for the SELF program, delinquency and default loss management, and current financial market conditions.
 - Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.1701, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 7. **Repayment of loans.** The office shall establish repayment procedures for loans made under this section in accordance with the policies, rules, and conditions authorized under section 136A.16, subdivision 2. The office will take into consideration the loan limits and current financial market conditions when establishing repayment terms. The office shall not require a minimum annual payment, though the office may require minimum monthly payments.
- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.29, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
- Subd. 9. **Revenue bonds; limit.** The authority is authorized and empowered to issue revenue bonds whose aggregate principal amount at any time shall not exceed \$1,300,000,000 \$2,000,000,000 and to issue notes, bond anticipation notes, and revenue refunding bonds

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

of the authority under the provisions of sections 136A.25 to 136A.42, to provide funds for acquiring, constructing, reconstructing, enlarging, remodeling, renovating, improving, furnishing, or equipping one or more projects or parts thereof.

- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.62, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- 37.6 Subd. 3. **School.** "School" means:

37.1

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.17

37.18

37.19

- (1) a Tribal college that has a physical presence in Minnesota;
- (2) any partnership, company, firm, society, trust, association, corporation, or any combination thereof, with a physical presence in Minnesota, which: (i) is, owns, or operates a private, nonprofit postsecondary education institution; (ii) is, owns, or operates a private, for-profit postsecondary education institution; or (iii) provides a postsecondary instructional program or course leading to a degree whether or not for profit; or
- (3) any public or private postsecondary educational institution located in another state or country which offers or makes available to a Minnesota resident any course, program or educational activity which does not require the leaving of the state for its completion; or with a physical presence in Minnesota.
- (4) any individual, entity, or postsecondary institution located in another state that contracts with any school located within the state of Minnesota for the purpose of providing educational programs, training programs, or awarding postsecondary credits or continuing education credits to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a degree program.
- Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.62, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 8. Postsecondary education. "Postsecondary education" means the range of formal learning opportunities beyond high school, including those aimed at learning an occupation or earning an academic credential.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.62, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 9. Physical presence. "Physical presence" means a presence within the state of
 Minnesota for the purpose of conducting activity related to any program at the degree level
 or courses that may be applied to a degree program. Physical presence includes:
- 37.31 (1) operating a location within the state;

38.1	(2) offering instruction within or originating from Minnesota designed to impart
38.2	knowledge with response utilizing teachers, trainers, counselors or computer resources,
38.3	computer linking, or any form of electronic means; and
38.4	(3) granting an educational credential from a location within the state or to a student
38.5	within the state.
38.6	Physical presence does not include field trips, sanctioned sports recruiting activities, or
38.7	college fairs or other assemblies of schools in Minnesota. No school may enroll an individual,
38.8	allow an individual to sign any agreement obligating the person to the school, accept any
38.9	moneys from the individual, or follow up with an individual by means of an in-person
38.10	meeting in Minnesota at a college fair or assembly.
38.11	Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.63, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
38.12	Subdivision 1. Annual registration. All schools located within Minnesota and all schools
38.13	located outside Minnesota with a physical presence in Minnesota which offer degree
38.14	programs or courses within Minnesota shall register annually with the office.
38.15	Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.646, is amended to read:
38.16	136A.646 ADDITIONAL SECURITY.
38.17	(a) New institutions that have been granted conditional approval for degrees or names
38.18	to allow them the opportunity to apply for and receive accreditation under section 136A.65,
38.19	subdivision 7, shall provide a surety bond in a sum equal to ten percent of the net revenue
38.20	from tuition and fees in the registered institution's prior fiscal year, but in no case shall the
38.21	bond be less than \$10,000.
38.22	(b) Any registered institution that is notified by the United States Department of Education
38.23	that it has fallen below minimum financial standards and that its continued participation in
38.24	Title IV will be conditioned upon its satisfying either the Zone Alternative, an alternative
38.25	standard set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175, paragraph (f),
38.26	or a Letter of Credit Alternative, Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175,
38.27	paragraph (e), shall provide a surety bond in a sum equal to the "letter of credit" required
38.28	by the United States Department of Education in the Letter of Credit Alternative, but in no
38.29	event shall such bond be less than \$10,000 nor more than \$250,000. If the letter of credit
38.30	required by the United States Department of Education is higher than ten percent of the
38.31	Title IV, Higher Education Act program funds received by the institution during its most

recently completed fiscal year, the office shall reduce the office's surety requirement to

represent ten percent of the Title IV, Higher Education Act program funds received by the institution during its most recently completed fiscal year, subject to the minimum and maximum in this paragraph.

- (c) In lieu of a bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management and budget:
 - (1) a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash;
- 39.7 (2) securities, as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds, in an aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond; or
 - (3) an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a financial institution to the amount of the required surety bond.
 - (d) The surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the office and shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date of cancellation.
 - (e) In the event of a school closure, the additional security must first be used to destroy any private educational data under section 13.32 left at a physical campus in Minnesota after all other governmental agencies have recovered or retrieved records under their record retention policies. Any remaining funds must then be used to reimburse tuition and fee costs to students that were enrolled at the time of the closure or had withdrawn in the previous $\frac{120}{180}$ calendar days but did not graduate. Priority for refunds will be given to students in the following order:
 - (1) cash payments made by the student or on behalf of a student;
- 39.22 (2) private student loans; and

39.1

39.2

39.3

39.4

39.5

39.6

39.9

39.10

39.11

39.12

39.13

39.14

39.15

39.16

39.17

39.18

39.19

39.20

- 39.23 (3) Veteran Administration education benefits that are not restored by the Veteran
 39.24 Administration. If there are additional security funds remaining, the additional security
 39.25 funds may be used to cover any administrative costs incurred by the office related to the
 39.26 closure of the school.
- Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.65, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Criteria for approval.** (a) A school applying to be registered and to have its degree or degrees and name approved must substantially meet the following criteria:
- 39.30 (1) the school has an organizational framework with administrative and teaching personnel to provide the educational programs offered;

(2) the school has financial resources sufficient to meet the school's financial obligations,
including refunding tuition and other charges consistent with its stated policy if the institution
is dissolved, or if claims for refunds are made, to provide service to the students as promised,
and to provide educational programs leading to degrees as offered;

- (3) the school operates in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles according to the type of school;
 - (4) the school provides an educational program leading to the degree it offers;
- 40.8 (5) the school provides appropriate and accessible library, laboratory, and other physical facilities to support the educational program offered;
 - (6) the school has a policy on freedom or limitation of expression and inquiry for faculty and students which is published or available on request;
 - (7) the school uses only publications and advertisements which are truthful and do not give any false, fraudulent, deceptive, inaccurate, or misleading impressions about the school, its personnel, programs, services, or occupational opportunities for its graduates for promotion and student recruitment;
- 40.16 (8) the school's compensated recruiting agents who are operating in Minnesota identify 40.17 themselves as agents of the school when talking to or corresponding with students and 40.18 prospective students;
 - (9) the school provides information to students and prospective students concerning:
- 40.20 (i) comprehensive and accurate policies relating to student admission, evaluation, 40.21 suspension, and dismissal;
- 40.22 (ii) clear and accurate policies relating to granting credit for prior education, training, 40.23 and experience and for courses offered by the school;
- 40.24 (iii) current schedules of fees, charges for tuition, required supplies, student activities, 40.25 housing, and all other standard charges;
- 40.26 (iv) policies regarding refunds and adjustments for withdrawal or modification of 40.27 enrollment status; and
- 40.28 (v) procedures and standards used for selection of recipients and the terms of payment 40.29 and repayment for any financial aid program;
- 40.30 (10) the school must not withhold a student's official transcript because the student is 40.31 in arrears or in default on any loan issued by the school to the student if the loan qualifies 40.32 as an institutional loan under United States Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b); and

40.2

40.3

40.4

40.5

40.6

40.7

40.10

40.11

40.12

40.13

40.14

40.15

41.1	(11) the school has a process to receive and act on student complaints:
41.2	(12) the school includes a joint and several liability provision for torts and compliance
41.3	with the requirements of sections 136A.61 to 136A.71 in any contract effective after July
41.4	1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school located in another state for the
41.5	purpose of providing educational or training programs or awarding postsecondary credits
41.6	or continuing education credits to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a degree
41.7	program; and
41.8	(13) the school must not use nondisclosure agreements or other contracts restricting a
41.9	student's ability to disclose information in connection with school actions or conduct that
41.10	would be covered under section 136A.672.
41.11	(b) An application for degree approval must also include:
41.12	(i) title of degree and formal recognition awarded;
41.13	(ii) location where such degree will be offered;
41.14	(iii) proposed implementation date of the degree;
41.15	(iv) admissions requirements for the degree;
41.16	(v) length of the degree;
41.17	(vi) projected enrollment for a period of five years;
41.18	(vii) the curriculum required for the degree, including course syllabi or outlines;
41.19	(viii) statement of academic and administrative mechanisms planned for monitoring the
41.20	quality of the proposed degree;
41.21	(ix) statement of satisfaction of professional licensure criteria, if applicable;
41.22	(x) documentation of the availability of clinical, internship, externship, or practicum
41.23	sites, if applicable; and
41.24	(xi) statement of how the degree fulfills the institution's mission and goals, complements
41.25	existing degrees, and contributes to the school's viability.
41.26	Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.675, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
41.27	Subd. 2. Additional reporting. (a) In addition to the information required for the
41.28	indicators in subdivision 1, an institution must notify the office within ten business days if
41.29	any of the events in paragraphs (b) to (e) occur.

(b) Related to revenue, debt, and cash flow, notice is required if:

12.1	(1) the institution defaulted on a debt payment or covenant and has not received a waiver
12.2	of the violation from the financial institution within 60 days;
12.3	(2) for institutions with a federal composite score of less than 1.5, the institution's owner
12.4	withdraws equity that directly results in a composite score of less than 1.0, unless the
12.5	withdrawal is a transfer between affiliated entities included in a common composite score
12.6	(3) the United States Department of Education requires a 25 percent or greater Letter of
12.7	Credit, except when the Letter of Credit is imposed due to a change of ownership;
12.8	(4) the United States Department of Education requires Heightened Cash Monitoring 2
12.9	(5) the institution receives written notification that it violated the United States
12.10	Department of Education's revenue requirement under United States Code, title 20, section
12.11	1094(a)(24), as amended; or
12.12	(6) the institution receives written notification by the United States Department of
12.13	Education that it has fallen below minimum financial standards and that its continued
12.14	participation in Title IV is conditioned upon satisfying either the Zone Alternative, an
12.15	alternative standard set forth in Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175,
12.16	paragraph (f), or a Letter of Credit Alternative, Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section
12.17	668.175, paragraph (c).
12.18	(c) Related to accreditation and licensing, notice is required if:
12.19	(1) the institution receives written notification of probation, warning, show-cause, or
12.20	loss of institutional accreditation;
12.21	(2) the institution receives written notification that its institutional accreditor lost federal
12.22	recognition; or
12.23	(3) the institution receives written notification that it has materially violated state
12.24	authorization or institution licensing requirements in a different state that may lead to or
12.25	has led to the termination of the institution's ability to continue to provide educational
12.26	programs or otherwise continue to operate in that state.
12.27	(d) Related to securities, notice is required if:
12.28	(1) the Securities and Exchange Commission (i) issues an order suspending or revoking
12.29	the registration of the institution's securities, or (ii) suspends trading of the institution's
12.30	securities on any national securities exchange:

05/15/24 REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346

(2) the national securities exchange on which the institution's securities are traded notifies the institution that it is not in compliance with the exchange's listing requirements and the institution's securities are delisted; or

- (3) the Securities and Exchange Commission is not in timely receipt of a required report and did not issue an extension to file the report.
- (e) Related to criminal and civil investigations, notice is required if:

43.1

43.2

43.3

43.4

43.5

43.6

- 43.7 (1) the institution receives written notification of a felony criminal indictment or charges of the institution's owner; 43.8
- (2) the institution receives written notification of criminal indictment or charges of the 43.9 institution's officers related to operations of the institution; or 43.10
- (3) there has been a criminal, civil, or administrative adjudication of fraud or 43.11 misrepresentation in Minnesota or in another state or jurisdiction against the institution or 43.12 its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization. 43.13
- Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.69, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 43.14
- 43.15 Subdivision 1. Registration fees. (a) The office shall collect reasonable registration fees that are sufficient to recover, but do not exceed, its costs of administering the registration 43.16 program. The office shall charge the fees listed in paragraphs (b) and (c) to (d) for new 43.17 registrations. 43.18
- (b) A new school offering no more than one degree at each level during its first year 43.19 must pay registration fees for each applicable level in the following amounts: 43.20

43.21	associate degree	\$2,000
43.22	baccalaureate degree	\$2,500
43.23	master's degree	\$3,000
43.24	doctorate degree	\$3,500

(c) A new school that will offer more than one degree per level during its first year must 43.25 pay registration fees in an amount equal to the fee for the first degree at each degree level 43.26 under paragraph (b), plus fees for each additional nondegree program or degree as follows: 43.27

43.28	nondegree program	\$250
43.29	additional associate degree	\$250
43.30	additional baccalaureate degree	\$500
43.31	additional master's degree	\$750
43.32	additional doctorate degree	\$1,000

(d) In addition to the fees under paragraphs (b) and (c), a fee of \$600 must be paid for an initial application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

(d) (e) The annual renewal registration fee is \$1,500.

44.1

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.12

44.13

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.18

44.19

44.20

44.21

44.22

44.23

44.24

(f) In addition to the fee under paragraph (e), a fee of \$600 must be paid for a renewal application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same application or registration requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license application and the school seeks to continue with the application process with additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the school may submit two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.65, subdivision 8. This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

- Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.821, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. **Private career school.** "Private career school" means a person who maintains, advertises, administers, solicits for, or conducts a physical presence for any program at less than an associate degree level; is not registered as a private institution under sections 136A.61 to 136A.71; and is not specifically exempted by section 136A.833.
- Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.821, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 20. Physical presence. "Physical presence" means presence within the state of
 Minnesota for the purpose of conducting activity related to any program at less than an
 associate degree level. Physical presence includes:

45.1	(1) operating a location within the state;
45.2	(2) offering instruction within or originating from Minnesota designed to impart
45.3	knowledge with response utilizing teachers, trainers, counselors or computer resources,
45.4	computer linking, or any form of electronic means;
45.5	(3) granting an educational credential from a location within the state or to a student
45.6	within the state; and
45.7	(4) using an agent, recruiter, institution, or business that solicits for enrollment or credits
45.8	or for the award of an educational credential.
45.9	Physical presence does not include field trips, sanctioned sports recruiting activities, or
45.10	college fairs or other assemblies of schools in Minnesota. No school may enroll an individual,
45.11	allow an individual to sign any agreement obligating the person to the school, accept any
45.12	moneys from the individual, or follow up with an individual by means of an in-person
45.13	meeting in Minnesota at a college fair or assembly.
45.14	Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
45.15	Subdivision 1. Required. A private career school must not maintain, advertise, solicit
45.16	for, administer, or conduct a physical presence for any program in Minnesota without first
45.17	obtaining a license from the office.
45.18	Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
45.10	
45.19	Subd. 2. Contract unenforceable. A contract entered into with a person for a program
45.20	by or on behalf of a person operating a private career school with a physical presence in
45.21	Minnesota to which a license has not been issued under sections 136A.821 to 136A.833, is
45.22	unenforceable in any action.
45.23	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
45.24	Subd. 6. Bond. (a) No license shall be issued to any private career school which
45.25	maintains, conducts, solicits for, or advertises with a physical presence within the state of
45.26	Minnesota for any program, unless the applicant files with the office a continuous corporate
45.27	surety bond written by a company authorized to do business in Minnesota conditioned upon
45.28	the faithful performance of all contracts and agreements with students made by the applicant.
45.29	(b)(1) The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net
45.30	revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected, but in
45.31	no event less than \$10,000, except that a private career school may deposit a greater amount

at its own discretion. A private career school in each annual application for licensure must compute the amount of the surety bond and verify that the amount of the surety bond complies with this subdivision. A private career school that operates at two or more locations may combine net revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected for all locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond requirement. The net revenue from tuition and fees used to determine the amount of the surety bond required for a private career school having a license for the sole purpose of recruiting students in Minnesota shall be only that paid to the private career school by the students recruited from Minnesota.

- (2) A person required to obtain a private career school license due to the use of "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in its name and which is also licensed by another state agency or board, except not including those schools licensed exclusively in order to participate in state grants or SELF loan financial aid programs, shall be required to provide a school bond of \$10,000.
- (c) The bond shall run to the state of Minnesota and to any person who may have a cause of action against the applicant arising at any time after the bond is filed and before it is canceled for breach of any contract or agreement made by the applicant with any student. The aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the conditions of the bond shall not exceed the principal sum deposited by the private career school under paragraph (b). The surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the office and shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date of cancellation.
- (d) In lieu of bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management and budget a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a financial institution equal to the amount of the required surety bond, or securities as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond.
- (e) Failure of a private career school to post and maintain the required surety bond or deposit under paragraph (d) may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of the school's license.
- Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Resident agent.** Private career schools located outside the state of Minnesota that offer, advertise, solicit for, or conduct any program have a physical presence within the state of Minnesota shall first file with the secretary of state a sworn statement designating

46.1

46.2

46.3

46.4

46.5

46.6

46.7

46.8

46.9

46.10

46.11

46.12

46.13

46.14

46.15

46.16

46.17

46.18

46.19

46.20

46.21

46.22

46.23

46.24

46.25

46.26

46.27

46.28

46.29

46.30

a resident agent authorized to receive service of process. The statement shall designate the secretary of state as resident agent for service of process in the absence of a designated agent. If a private career school fails to file the statement, the secretary of state is designated as the resident agent authorized to receive service of process. The authorization shall be irrevocable as to causes of action arising out of transactions occurring prior to the filing of written notice of withdrawal from the state of Minnesota filed with the secretary of state.

- Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.822, subdivision 8, is amended to read:
- Subd. 8. **Minimum standards.** A license shall be issued if the office first determines:
- 47.9 (1) that the applicant has a sound financial condition with sufficient resources available to:
- (i) meet the private career school's financial obligations;

47.1

47.2

47.3

47.4

47.5

47.6

47.7

47.12

47.13

47.14

47.24

47.25

47.26

47.27

47.28

47.29

47.30

- (ii) refund all tuition and other charges, within a reasonable period of time, in the event of dissolution of the private career school or in the event of any justifiable claims for refund against the private career school by the student body;
- 47.15 (iii) provide adequate service to its students and prospective students; and
- 47.16 (iv) maintain and support the private career school;
- 47.17 (2) that the applicant has satisfactory facilities with sufficient tools and equipment and
 47.18 the necessary number of work stations to prepare adequately the students currently enrolled,
 47.19 and those proposed to be enrolled;
- 47.20 (3) that the applicant employs a sufficient number of qualified teaching personnel to 47.21 provide the educational programs contemplated;
- 47.22 (4) that the private career school has an organizational framework with administrative 47.23 and instructional personnel to provide the programs and services it intends to offer;
 - (5) that the quality and content of each occupational course or program of study provides education and adequate preparation to enrolled students for entry level positions in the occupation for which prepared;
 - (6) that the premises and conditions where the students work and study and the student living quarters which are owned, maintained, recommended, or approved by the applicant are sanitary, healthful, and safe, as evidenced by certificate of occupancy issued by the municipality or county where the private career school is physically situated, a fire inspection by the local or state fire marshal, or another verification deemed acceptable by the office;

(7) that the contract or enrollment agreement used by the private career school complies 48.1 with the provisions in section 136A.826; 48.2 (8) that contracts and agreements do not contain a wage assignment provision or a 48.3 confession of judgment clause; and 48.4 48.5 (9) that there has been no adjudication of fraud or misrepresentation in any criminal, civil, or administrative proceeding in any jurisdiction against the private career school or 48.6 its owner, officers, agents, or sponsoring organization; 48.7 (10) that the private career school or its owners, officers, agents, or sponsoring 48.8 organization has not had a license revoked under section 136A.829 or its equivalent in other 48.9 states or has closed the institution prior to all students, enrolled at the time of the closure, 48.10 completing their program within two years of the effective date of the revocation; and 48.11 (11) that the school includes a joint and several liability provision for torts and compliance 48.12 with the requirements of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834 in any contract effective after July 48.13 1, 2026, with any individual, entity, or postsecondary school located in another state for the 48.14 purpose of providing educational or training programs or awarding postsecondary credits 48.15 to Minnesota residents that may be applied to a program. 48.16 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 48.17 48.18 Subdivision 1. Initial licensure fee. (a) The office processing fee for an initial licensure application is: 48.19 48.20 (1) \$2,500 for a private career school that will offer no more than one program during its first year of operation; 48.21 (2) \$750 for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term 48.22 "college," "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, or licensed exclusively in 48.23 order to participate in state grant or SELF loan financial aid programs; and 48.24 (3) \$2,500, plus \$500 for each additional program offered by the private career school, 48.25 for a private career school during its first year of operation. 48.26 (b) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of \$600 must be paid for an initial 48.27 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application 48.28 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had 48.29 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license 48.30 48.31 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with

48.32

additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit

two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application, initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application, and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application. Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.824, subdivision 2, is amended to read: Subd. 2. Renewal licensure fee; late fee. (a) The office processing fee for a renewal licensure application is: (1) for a private career school that offers one program, the license renewal fee is \$1,150; (2) for a private career school that offers more than one program, the license renewal 49.10 fee is \$1,150, plus \$200 for each additional program with a maximum renewal licensing 49.11 fee of \$2,000; 49.12 49.13 (3) for a private career school licensed exclusively due to the use of the term "college," "university," "academy," or "institute" in its name, the license renewal fee is \$750; and 49.14 49.15 (4) for a private career school licensed by another state agency and also licensed with the office exclusively in order to participate in state student aid programs, the license renewal 49.16 fee is \$750. 49.17 (b) If a license renewal application is not received by the office by the close of business 49.18 at least 60 days before the expiration of the current license, a late fee of \$100 per business 49.19 day, not to exceed \$3,000, shall be assessed. 49.20 (c) In addition to the fee under paragraph (a), a fee of \$600 must be paid for a renewal 49.21 application that: (1) has had four revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application 49.22 reminders for the same application or licensure requirement; or (2) cumulatively has had 49.23 six revisions, corrections, amendment requests, or application reminders for the same license 49.24 application and the private career school seeks to continue with the application process with 49.25 additional application submissions. If this fee is paid, the private career school may submit 49.26 two final application submissions for review prior to application denial under section 49.27 136A.829, subdivision 1, clause (2). This provision excludes from its scope nonrepetitive 49.28 questions or clarifications initiated by the school before the submission of the application, 49.29

49.30

49.31

49.1

49.2

49.3

49.4

49.5

49.6

49.7

49.8

49.9

initial interpretation questions or inquiries from the office regarding a completed application,

and initial requests from the office for verification or validation of a completed application.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.828, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **False statements.** (a) A private career school, agent, or solicitor shall not make, or cause to be made, any statement or representation, oral, written or visual, in connection with the offering or publicizing of a program, if the private career school, agent, or solicitor knows or reasonably should have known the statement or representation to be false, fraudulent, deceptive, substantially inaccurate, or misleading.
- (b) Other than opinion-based statements or puffery, a school shall only make claims that are evidence-based, can be validated, and are based on current conditions and not on conditions that are no longer relevant.
 - (c) A school shall not guarantee or imply the guarantee of employment.
- (d) A school shall not guarantee or advertise any certain wage or imply earnings greater than the prevailing wage for entry-level wages in the field of study for the geographic area unless advertised wages are based on verifiable wage information from graduates.
- (e) If placement statistics are used in advertising or other promotional materials, the school must be able to substantiate the statistics with school records. These records must be made available to the office upon request. A school is prohibited from reporting the following in placement statistics:
 - (1) a student required to receive a job offer or start a job to be classified as a graduate;
- (2) a graduate if the graduate held a position before enrolling in the program, unless graduating enabled the graduate to maintain the position or the graduate received a promotion or raise upon graduation;
 - (3) a graduate who works less than 20 hours per week; and
- 50.23 (4) a graduate who is not expected to maintain the position for at least 180 days.
 - (f) A school shall not use endorsements, commendations, or recommendations by a student in favor of a school except with the consent of the student and without any offer of financial or other material compensation. Endorsements may be used only when they portray current conditions.
 - (g) A school may advertise that the school or its programs have been accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, but shall not advertise any other accreditation unless approved by the office. The office may approve an institution's advertising of accreditation that is not recognized by the United States Department of Education or the Council for

50.1

50.2

50.3

50.4

50.5

50.6

50.7

50.8

50.9

50.10

50.11

50.12

50.13

50.14

50.15

50.16

50.17

50.18

50.19

50.20

50.21

50.22

50.24

50.25

50.26

50.27

50.28

50.29

50.30

50.31

Higher Education if that accreditation is industry specific. Clear distinction must be made when the school is in candidacy or application status versus full accreditation.

- (h) A school may advertise that financial aid is available, including a listing of the financial aid programs in which the school participates, but federal or state financial aid shall not be used as a primary incentive in advertisement, promotion, or recruitment.
- (i) A school may advertise placement or career assistance, if offered, but shall not use the words "wanted," "help wanted," or "trainee," either in the headline or the body of the advertisement.
- 51.9 (j) A school shall not be advertised under any "help wanted," "employment," or similar classification.
- 51.11 (k) A school shall not falsely claim that it is conducting a talent hunt, contest, or similar test.
- (l) A school shall not make a claim that its program qualifies for a national certification if that national certification entity is not accepted or recognized by Minnesota employers.

 A school may validate that a national certification is accepted or recognized by Minnesota employers by providing three certified letters from employers that the national certification entity is recognized in Minnesota by employers.
- (1) (m) The commissioner, at any time, may require a retraction of a false, misleading, or deceptive claim. To the extent reasonable, the retraction must be published in the same manner as the original claim.
- Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.828, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 7. Nondisclosure agreements. No private career school shall use nondisclosure agreements or other contracts restricting a student's ability to disclose information in connection with school actions or conduct that would be covered under section 136A.8295.
- Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.829, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Powers and duties.** The office shall have (in addition to the powers and duties now vested therein by law) the following powers and duties:
- (a) To negotiate and enter into interstate reciprocity agreements with similar agencies in other states, if in the judgment of the office such agreements are or will be helpful in effectuating the purposes of Laws 1973, chapter 714;

51.3

51.4

52.1	(b) To grant conditional private career school license for periods of less than one year
52.2	if in the judgment of the office correctable deficiencies exist at the time of application and
52.3	when refusal to issue private career school license would adversely affect currently enrolled
52.4	students;
52.5	(c) The office may upon its own motion, and shall upon the verified complaint in writing
52.6	of any person setting forth fact which, if proved, would constitute grounds for refusal or
52.7	revocation under Laws 1973, chapter 714, investigate the actions of any applicant or any
52.8	person or persons holding or claiming to hold a license or permit. However, before proceeding
52.9	to a hearing on the question of whether a license or permit shall be refused, revoked or
52.10	suspended for any cause enumerated in subdivision 1, the office shall grant a reasonable
52.11	time to the holder of or applicant for a license or permit to correct the situation. If within
52.12	such time the situation is corrected and the private career school is in compliance with the
52.13	provisions of sections 136A.82 to 136A.834, no further action leading to refusal, revocation,
52.14	or suspension shall be taken.
52.15	(d) To grant a private career school a probationary license for periods of less than three
52.16	years if, in the judgment of the office, correctable deficiencies exist at the time of application
52.17	that need more than one year to correct and when the risk of harm to students can be
52.18	minimized through the use of restrictions and requirements as conditions of the license.
52.19	Probationary licenses may include requirements and restrictions for:
52.20	(1) periodic monitoring and submission of reports on the school's deficiencies to ascertain
52.21	whether compliance improves;
52.22	(2) periodic collaborative consultations with the school on noncompliance with sections
52.23	136A.82 to 136A.834 or how the institution is managing compliance;
52.24	(3) the submission of contingency plans such as teach-out plans or transfer pathways
52.25	for students;
52.26	(4) a prohibition from accepting tuition and fee payments prior to the add/drop period
52.27	of the current period of instruction or before the funds have been earned by the school
52.28	according to the refund requirements of section 136A.827;
52.29	(5) a prohibition from enrolling new students;
52.30	(6) enrollment caps;
52.31	(7) the initiation of alternative processes and communications with students enrolled at
52.32	the school to notify students of deficiencies or probation status;

53.1	(8) the submission of a surety under section 136A.822, subdivision 6, paragraph (b),
53.2	clause (1), that exceeds ten percent of the preceding year's net revenue from student tuition,
53.3	fees, and other required institutional charges collected; or
53.4	(9) submission of closure information under section 136A.8225.
53.5	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 136A.829, is amended by adding a subdivision
53.6	to read:
53.7	Subd. 4. Effect. A private career school or its owners, officers, or sponsoring organization
53.8	is prohibited from applying for licensure under section 136A.822 within two years of the
53.9	effective date of a revocation or within two years from the last date of instruction if the
53.10	school closed prior to all students completing their courses and programs. A school applying
53.11	for licensure must:
53.12	(1) meet the requirements for licensure under section 136A.822;
53.13	(2) pay the licensure fees as a new school under section 136A.824, subdivision 1;
53.14	(3) correct any deficiencies that were identified in the revocation order or closed school
53.15	requests under section 136A.8225;
53.16	(4) pay any outstanding fines or penalties under section 136A.832; and
53.17	(5) pay any outstanding student refunds under section 136A.827.
53.18	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136A.833, subdivision 2, is amended
53.19	to read:
53.20	Subd. 2. Exemption reasons. Sections 136A.821 to 136A.832 shall not apply to the
53.21	following:
53.22	(1) public postsecondary institutions;
53.23	(2) postsecondary institutions registered under sections 136A.61 to 136A.71;
53.24	(3) postsecondary institutions exempt from registration under sections 136A.653,
53.25	subdivisions 1b, 2, 3, and 3a; 136A.657; and 136A.658;
53.26	(4) private career schools of nursing accredited by the state Board of Nursing or an
53.27	equivalent public board of another state or foreign country;
53.28	(5) (4) private schools complying with the requirements of section 120A.22, subdivision
53.29	4;

(6) (5) courses taught to students in an apprenticeship program registered by the United States Department of Labor or Minnesota Department of Labor and taught by or required by a trade union. A trade union is an organization of workers in the same skilled occupation or related skilled occupations who act together to secure all members favorable wages, hours, and other working conditions; (7) (6) private career schools exclusively engaged in training physically or mentally disabled persons for the state of Minnesota; (8) (7) private career schools licensed or approved by boards authorized under Minnesota law to issue licenses for training programs except private career schools required to obtain a private career school license due to the use of "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in their names; (9) (8) private career schools and educational programs, or training programs, contracted for by persons, firms, corporations, government agencies, or associations, for the training of their own employees, for which no fee is charged the employee, regardless of whether that fee is reimbursed by the employer or third party after the employee successfully completes the training; (10) (9) private career schools engaged exclusively in the teaching of purely avocational, recreational, or remedial subjects that are not advertised or maintained for vocational or career advancement, including adult basic education, as determined by the office except private career schools required to obtain a private career school license due to the use of "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in their names unless the private career school used "academy" or "institute" in its name prior to August 1, 2008; (11) (10) classes, courses, or programs conducted by a bona fide trade, professional, or fraternal organization, solely for that organization's membership and not available to the public. In making the determination that the organization is bona fide, the office may request the school provide three certified letters from persons that qualify as evaluators under section 136A.828, subdivision 3, paragraph (1), that the organization is recognized in Minnesota; (11) programs in the fine arts provided by organizations exempt from taxation under section 290.05 and registered with the attorney general under chapter 309. For the purposes of this clause, "fine arts" means activities resulting in artistic creation or artistic performance of works of the imagination which are engaged in for the primary purpose of creative expression rather than commercial sale, vocational or career advancement, or employment. In making this determination the office may seek the advice and recommendation of the Minnesota Board of the Arts;

54.1

54.2

54.3

54.4

54.5

54.6

54.7

54.8

54.9

54.10

54.11

54.12

54.13

54.14

54.15

54.16

54.17

54.18

54.19

54.20

54.21

54.22

54.23

54.24

54.25

54.26

54.27

54.28

54.29

54.30

54.31

54.32

54.33

(13) (12) classes, courses, or programs intended to fulfill the continuing education requirements for a bona fide licensure or certification in a profession, that have been approved by a legislatively or judicially established board or agency responsible for regulating the practice of the profession or by an industry-specific certification entity, and that are offered exclusively to individuals with the professional licensure or certification. In making the determination that the licensure or certification is bona fide, the office may request the school provide three certified letters from persons that qualify as evaluators under section 136A.828, subdivision 3, paragraph (1), that the licensure and certification is recognized in Minnesota; (14) (13) review classes, courses, or programs intended to prepare students to sit for undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, or occupational licensing, certification, or entrance examinations and does not include the instruction to prepare students for that license, occupation, certification, or exam; (15) (14) classes, courses, or programs providing 16 or fewer clock hours of instruction; (16) (15) classes, courses, or programs providing instruction in personal development that is not advertised or maintained for vocational or career advancement, modeling, or acting; (17) (16) private career schools with no physical presence in Minnesota, as determined by the office, engaged exclusively in offering distance instruction that are located in and regulated by other states or jurisdictions if the distance education instruction does not include internships, externships, field placements, or clinical placements for residents of Minnesota; and (18) (17) private career schools providing exclusively training, instructional programs, or courses where tuition, fees, and any other charges, regardless of payment or reimbursement method, for a student to participate do not exceed \$100. Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 136F.38, subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. **Program eligibility.** (a) Scholarships shall be awarded only to a student eligible for resident tuition, as defined in section 135A.043, who is enrolled in any of the following programs of study or certification: (1) advanced manufacturing; (2) agriculture; (3) health care services; (4) information technology; (5) early childhood; (6) transportation; (7) construction; (8) education; (9) public safety; (10) energy; or (10) (11) a program of study under paragraph (b).

55.1

55.2

55.3

55.4

55.5

55.6

55.7

55.8

55.9

55.10

55.11

55.12

55.13

55.14

55.15

55.16

55.17

55.18

55.19

55.20

55.21

55.22

55.23

55.24

55.25

55.26

55.27

55.28

55.29

55.30

55.31

55.32

56.1	(b) Each institution may add one additional area of study or certification, based on a
56.2	workforce shortage for full-time employment requiring postsecondary education that is
56.3	unique to the institution's specific region, as reported in the most recent Department of
56.4	Employment and Economic Development job vacancy survey data for the economic
56.5	development region in which the institution is located. A workforce shortage area is one in
56.6	which the job vacancy rate for full-time employment in a specific occupation in a region is
56.7	higher than the state average vacancy rate for that same occupation. The institution may
56.8	change the area of study or certification based on new data once every two years.
56.9	(c) The student must be enrolled for at least nine credits in a two-year college in the
56.10	Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system to be eligible for first- and second-year
56.11	scholarships.
56.12	(d) The student is eligible for a one-year transfer scholarship if the student transfers from
56.13	a two-year college after two or more terms, and the student is enrolled for at least nine
56.14	credits in a four-year university in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
56.15	Sec. 47. [137.375] DISABLED VETERANS; UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA
56.16	LANDSCAPE ARBORETUM.
56.17	(a) For purposes of this section, "disabled veteran" means a veteran as defined in section
56.18	197.447 who is certified as disabled. "Certified as disabled" means certified in writing by
56.19	the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or the state commissioner of veterans
56.20	affairs as having a permanent service-connected disability.
56.21	(b) The University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum is requested to provide a disabled
56.22	veteran unlimited access to the University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum located in
56.23	the city of Chaska free of charge. The disabled veteran must provide a veteran photo
56.24	identification card with the term "service-connected" on the identification card, verifying
56.25	that the disabled veteran has a service-connected disability.
56.26	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
56.27	Sec. 48. REPEALER.
56.28	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 135A.16, is repealed.
56.29	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.162, subdivision 7, is repealed.
56.30	EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (a) is effective January 1, 2025."

Delete the title and insert:

05/15/24 REVISOR JFK/NH A24-0346

57.1 "A bill for an act

57.2 relating to higher education; providing for funding and policy and technical changes to certain higher education provisions, including student sexual misconduct, student 57.3 admissions, student aid, student supports, and institutional registration and contract 57.4 provisions; modifying the bonding authority of the Minnesota Higher Education 57.5 Facilities Authority; modifying previous appropriations; establishing fees; requiring 57.6 reports; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 57.7 135A.15, as amended; 136A.091, subdivision 3; 136A.1241, subdivision 3; 57.8 136A.1701, subdivisions 4, 7; 136A.29, subdivision 9; 136A.62, by adding 57.9 subdivisions; 136A.63, subdivision 1; 136A.646; 136A.65, subdivision 4; 57.10 136A.675, subdivision 2; 136A.69, subdivision 1; 136A.821, subdivision 5, by 57.11 adding a subdivision; 136A.822, subdivisions 1, 2, 6, 7, 8; 136A.824, subdivisions 57.12 1, 2; 136A.828, subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 136A.829, subdivision 3, 57.13 by adding a subdivision; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, sections 135A.121, 57.14 57.15 subdivision 2; 135A.161, by adding a subdivision; 135A.162, subdivision 2; 136A.1241, subdivision 5; 136A.1465, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5; 136A.62, 57.16 subdivision 3; 136A.833, subdivision 2; 136F.38, subdivision 3; Laws 2022, 57.17 chapter 42, section 2; Laws 2023, chapter 41, article 1, sections 2, subdivisions 57.18 35, 36, 49, as amended; 4, subdivision 2; proposing coding for new law in 57.19 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 135A; 136A; 137; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2022, 57.20 section 135A.16; Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 135A.162, 57.21 subdivision 7." 57.22