









February 19, 2024

Senator Bonnie Westlin Representative Cedrick Frazier

RE: SF 3534/HF 3489--School resource officer (SRO) legislation

Dear Senator Westlin and Representative Frazier,

Thank you for authoring legislation aimed at clarifying the roles and duties of school resource officers (SROs). While our organizations do not advise cities on whether to take part in SRO programs, we support the authority cities and school districts have to enter into agreements for the purpose of keeping schools safe. Our hope is the final version of this bill will support school safety and other important objectives of police/school relations, while minimizing potential civil and criminal liability risks created by ambiguity in the current law.

The legislation provides clarity around key issues. Our organizations support provisions in the bill that make it clear SROs are not employees or agents of school districts and are not present in school settings for school disciplinary purposes. We also appreciate the provision clarifying SROs have explicit authority provided in Minn. Stat. § 609.06, the state statute governing use of force.

We have reviewed the author's amendment that may be offered this week and we believe it strengthens the bill by addressing concerns we previously raised about the "duties" provisions in section 9 of the bill. We appreciate you listening to our concerns and addressing them with the amendment, and we look forward to helping you advance this legislation.

Sincerely,

Anne Finn

ame sm

Intergovernmental Relations Director

League of Minnesota Cities

Patricia Nauman **Executive Director**

Metro Cities

Bradley Peterson

Executive Director

Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities

Cap O'Rourke **Executive Director**

Minnesota Association of Small Cities

145 University Avenue West St. Paul, Minnesota 55103

PH: (651) 281-1200 TF: (800) 925-1122

FX: (651) 281-1299 www.lmc.org James Hovland
Mayor of Edina
President
Municipal Logislative Commissi

Municipal Legislative Commission

Cc: Governor Tim Walz

Speaker of the House Melissa Hortman Senate Majority Leader Erin Murphy House Minority Leader Lisa Demuth Senate Minority Leader Mark Johnson