EDUCATION POLICY MINUTES

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the meeting to order at 3:04 PM on March 5, 2024 in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

PRYOR, Laurie, Chair HILL, Josiah, Vice Chair BENNETT, Peggy, Republican Lead BAKEBERG, Ben BERG, Kaela FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick LEE, Liz MUELLER, Patricia URDAHL, Dean YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Members Excused:

KEELER, Heather KNUDSEN, Krista

A quorum was present.

Representative Frazier moved that the minutes from February 28, 2024, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF3744 (Edelson); Read Act amended, report required, and money appropriated.

Representative Frazier moved that HF3744 be re-referred to the committee on education finance.

Representative Mueller moved the H3744DE4 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Edelson presented HF3744 as amended.

Testimony on HF3744 as amended:

- Dr. Kim Gibbons, Director, Center for Applied Research & Educational Improvement
- Dr. Justin Killian, Education Issues Specialist, Education Minnesota

- Laura Mogelson, Legislative Liaison, Minnesota Association of Colleges of Teacher Education
- David Law, Superintendent, Minnetonka Public Schools
- Julia Quanrud, CEO, ServeMinnesota
- Amy Walstien, Senior Policy Director of Education, Minnesota Business Partnership

Representative Frazier renewed the motion that HF3744 as amended be re-referred to the committee on education finance. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF3995 (Hill); Working group on special education licensure reciprocity established, and report required.

Vice Chair Hill moved that HF3995 be laid over for further consideration.

Vice Chair Hill moved the H3995A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Vice Chair Hill presented HF3995 as amended.

Testimony on HF3995 as amended:

• Tanya Tacker, Executive Director of Special Education, Rum River Special Education Cooperative

Chair Pryor renewed the motion that HF3995 as amended be laid over for further consideration. The bill as amended was laid over.

HF4361 (Hill); Teacher licensure provisions modified, and reports required.

Vice Chair Hill moved that HF4361 be re-referred to the committee on education finance.

Vice Chair Hill presented HF4361.

Presentation by Professional Educators Licensing and Standards Board on HF4361.

- Dr. Yelena Bailey, Executive Director, Professional Educators Licensing and Standards Board
- Michelle Vaught, Chief of Staff, Professional Educators Licensing and Standards Board

Testimony on HF4361:

• Laura Mogelson, Legislative Liaison, Minnesota Association of Colleges of Teacher Education

• Matt Shaver, Policy Director, EdAllies

Vice Chair Hill renewed the motion that HF4361 be re-referred to the committee on education finance. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED</u>.

HF3973 (Virnig); Requirements for administration of drugs and medicine in schools modified.

Representative Feist moved that HF3973 be laid over for further consideration.

Representative Feist moved the H3973A1 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Virnig presented HF3973 as amended.

Testimony on HF3973 as amended:

• Denise Hermann, Technical Expert, Minnesota Department of Health

Chair Pryor renewed the motion that HF3973 as amended be laid over for further consideration. The bill as amended was laid over.

HF3959 (Virnig); modifying requirements for administering epinephrine auto-injectors in schools

Representative Feist moved that HF3959 be laid over for further consideration.

Representative Feist moved the H3959A2 amendment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE</u> <u>AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

Representative Virnig presented HF3959 as amended.

Testimony on HF3959 as amended:

• Denise Hermann, Technical Expert, Minnesota Department of Health

Chair Pryor renewed the motion that HF3959 as amended be laid over for further consideration. The bill as amended was laid over.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm.

Representative Laurie Pryor, Chair

Isabel Anderson, Committee Legislative Assistant